View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 [65] 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

25/09/2017, 1:58 PM
There is no use trying to make sense of anything Campbell says.

DannyInvincible
25/09/2017, 3:16 PM
Ha, maybe Campbell should try stick to politics to save himself embarrassment, although he doesn't do himself a huge deal of justice in that field either. He's a wind-up merchant who also happens to be shameless when it comes to hypocrisy, double standards, deflection and illogic, although I'm perhaps giving a possibly witless fool too much credit when I suggest he's calculated and knows exactly what he's doing.

One Campbell-related moment, or stunt, that always stuck with me vividly was from the time when Derry were playing PSG in the first round of the UEFA Cup back in 2006. There was a great buzz around the city for the first leg in the Brandywell and the BBC had a camera and reporter up the town during the day covering the atmosphere and build-up. I think it was Newsline, if I recall correctly. The sun was out and fans were happily drinking outside pubs with music, singing and chanting in the streets.

Anyway, the BBC interviewed some fans and local figures (mostly well-wishing) for their feature on Derry and the UEFA Cup. One of the figures interviewed was Gregory Campbell in Guildhall Square. He spoke a bit generally about the attraction of the UEFA Cup before the interviewer concluded the interview by asking: "So, Gregory, who will you be supporting tonight in the UEFA Cup?"

Campbell reached for the inner pocket of his blazer and pulled out a Rangers pendant and declared he'd be supporting Rangers, who also happened to be playing Molde of Norway that night in the competition.

Of course, he's fully entitled to support Rangers but the whole premeditated nature of the interview and the fact he wouldn't even wish one of his local teams good luck despite being part of the news feature was telling. The only reason he was interviewed was clearly for the wind-up factor.

25/09/2017, 8:16 PM
A few points Colin Kaepernick is actually half (or 1/4) Irish, apart from that the situations are quite different for a number of reasons.

Any how McClean is on the bench and West Brom are 1-0 down to Arsenal, wonder if he will get on the pitch?

The only game WB have lost this season is the one he played no part in, so hopefully he will get on the pitch.

DannyInvincible
20/10/2017, 4:43 AM
Ha, James was belting out the Wolfe Tones' 'Celtic Symphony' in the West Brom gym yesterday: http://www.talkingbaws.com/2017/10/video-james-mcclean-plays-celtic-symphony-over-speakers-in-west-brom-gym/

Allan Nyom seemed to be particularly enjoying it.

Diggs246
20/10/2017, 9:10 AM
That song is a disgrace. "uh ah up the ra" I want to vomit when I hear it

20/10/2017, 12:41 PM
That song is a disgrace. "uh ah up the ra" I want to vomit when I hear it

Triggered? LOL:)

DannyInvincible
29/10/2017, 2:43 PM
More booing for McClean yesterday, reportedly from both the home and away sections, as poppy season/hysteria gets under way: https://www.buzz.ie/football/fans-praise-james-mcclean-poppy-stance-gets-booed-259729

31/10/2017, 10:40 AM
The Daily Telegraph, of all papers, supports McLean's right not to have to wear the poppy http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/2017/10/30/arms-race-modern-sporting-remembrance-poppy-displays-have-lost/ I am afraid you have to subscribe to read the whole article.

DannyInvincible
07/11/2017, 3:02 AM
"James McClean Calls Out 'Cowards' In The Crowd At West Brom Game": https://www.balls.ie/football/james-mcclean-tackle-huddersfield-376225

Gather round
07/11/2017, 11:01 AM
"James McClean Calls Out 'Cowards' In The Crowd At West Brom Game": https://www.balls.ie/football/james-mcclean-tackle-huddersfield-376225

Albion are my local EPL club. The reaction to McClean seems to be changing. Last season, he didn't seem to be the comedy villain for most fans- that was flabby want-away striker Berahino. The Poppy stuff wasn't really talked about either side of November.

This time, it's different, largely because the team can't buy a win and Pulis is under pressure. He can't afford a squad player becoming a liability likely to get sent off at any moment- that foul on Tom Ince deserved a straight red. Of course JMC is even more crucial to your team- the real difference is that O'Neill can't just spend £20 million on some Polish/ Nigerian/ Korean replacement at Xmas the way Albion can.

The ********s bottling players from the Huddersfield stands are a separate issue, not a diversion from McClean's problems.

07/11/2017, 11:09 AM
Wladislaw Ogunda-Kim is some player alright.

seanfhear
07/11/2017, 11:25 AM
Albion are my local EPL club. The reaction to McClean seems to be changing. Last season, he didn't seem to be the comedy villain for most fans- that was flabby want-away striker Berahino. The Poppy stuff wasn't really talked about either side of November.

This time, it's different, largely because the team can't buy a win and Pulis is under pressure. He can't afford a squad player becoming a liability likely to get sent off at any moment- that foul on Tom Ince deserved a straight red. Of course JMC is even more crucial to your team- the real difference is that O'Neill can't just spend £20 million on some Polish/ Nigerian/ Korean replacement at Xmas the way Albion can.

The ********s bottling players from the Huddersfield stands are a separate issue, not a diversion from McClean's problems.
You’d expect the Police Authorities might be more interested in a citizen ( I presume James still is ) of the UK or anybody for that matter having bottles , coins , lighters thrown at them anywhere and even in a Public Place .

07/11/2017, 11:41 AM
Immortalised by David Squires this week: https://www.theguardian.com/football/ng-interactive/2017/nov/07/david-squires-on-football-and-poppygate-2017

Gather round
07/11/2017, 12:59 PM
You’d expect the Police Authorities might be more interested in a citizen ( I presume James still is ) of the UK or anybody for that matter having bottles , coins , lighters thrown at them anywhere and even in a Public Place

Who says they aren't? Huddersfield Town, their stewarding company or West Yorkshire Police can tell you how many arrests/ exclusions at the game.

I agree that TV companies should do more to cover criminality by fans.

seanfhear
07/11/2017, 1:59 PM
Who says they aren't? Huddersfield Town, their stewarding company or West Yorkshire Police can tell you how many arrests/ exclusions at the game.

I agree that TV companies should do more to cover criminality by fans.
I hope so . It doesn’t do the Poppy campaign any good when you have idiots behaving like this in the stands or on social media .

DannyInvincible
07/11/2017, 10:26 PM
http://i63.tinypic.com/fjozdw.png

DannyInvincible
07/11/2017, 10:40 PM
"'I saw James going 70 yards to lamp the lad' - Martin O'Neill urges McClean to cool down": https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/i-saw-james-going-70-yards-to-lamp-the-lad-martin-oneill-urges-mcclean-to-cool-down-36296352.html

11/11/2017, 12:09 PM
This is lovely:

Barcelona may be the cradle of football civilisation, and may one day gift the world with another Lionel Messi, but deep down they know they will never be capable of producing a player like James McClean. That’s because it’s impossible to imagine the Irish winger emerging from anywhere other than Derry City.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rebel-without-a-pause-the-relentless-james-mcclean-1.3287266

11/11/2017, 1:26 PM
Excellent article in the independent today on McClean as well, not online though.

DannyInvincible
11/12/2017, 1:41 PM
'James McClean, Michael Conlan and other prominent nationalists ask Taoiseach to protect northern citizens' rights': https://www.joe.ie/life-style/james-mcclean-michael-conlan-prominent-nationalists-ask-taoiseach-protect-northern-citizens-rights-609306

A group of high profile nationalists has called on Leo Varadkar to guarantee the rights of Irish citizens in the north.

Professional footballer James McClean, boxers Paddy Barnes and Michael Conlan, and GAA All-Star Peter Canavan were amongst the signatories of an open letter which urged the Taoiseach to address the "failure to both implement & defend the Good Friday and St Andrew's Agreements."

11/12/2017, 2:22 PM
Originally published by Irish News: http://www.irishnews.com/news/brexit/2017/12/11/news/prominent-nationalists-ask-taoiseach-to-protect-northern-citizens-rights-1207622/
List of signatories: http://www.irishnews.com/news/2017/12/11/news/appeal-to-taoiseach-list-of-signatories-1207300/

seanfhear
11/12/2017, 7:09 PM
James must be planning on a Political career after football . I don’t know if I am serious or not .

gastric
12/12/2017, 5:05 AM
It's great that James can now write his own signature and is an expert on Brexit. I am sure Leo will value the petition and will certainly discuss it with Theresa.

Gather round
12/12/2017, 10:32 AM
If Jack Lynch and Dick Spring can do it why not McClean?

12/12/2017, 1:15 PM
It's great that James can now write his own signature and is an expert on Brexit. I am sure Leo will value the petition and will certainly discuss it with Theresa.
James has shown time and again he's a very articulate man, not least in his public letter explaining his poppy stance. Disagree with him all you like but I don't get this sneering.

Olé Olé
12/12/2017, 1:16 PM
James has shown time and again he's a very articulate man, not least in his public letter explaining his poppy stance. Disagree with him all you like but I don't get this sneering.
Seconded. Particularly cheap shot.

Olé Olé
12/12/2017, 1:20 PM
I'm sure there's a very substantial number of people in the north that would consider James' support to carry a lot of weight for their cause. And I think the tone of the letter itself (asking that the Irish government help protect the wishes of the Irish people in the north) is an interesting one. The likes of Conlan and McClean do Ireland proud whenever they carry the flag or put on the tri colour and many of us are very happy to support them when they do so.

seanfhear
12/12/2017, 4:08 PM
If Jack Lynch and Dick Spring can do it why not McClean?He would be an Ideal Candidate to be A Sinn Fein First Minister and later a possible Taoiseach .

DannyInvincible
12/12/2017, 9:21 PM

It's entirely right, valid, appropriate and appreciated that James - a sort of informal or de facto community representative in a way - would use his platform to express his legitimate concerns about the potential effects of Brexit here by adding his name to what is a broadly-welcomed petition. After all, James grew up a mere two kilometres from the border in Creggan, an already marginalised area that has long experienced political and socio-economic neglect. Even if he himself earns a few grand a week (on account of his hard work, dedication and discipline over the years) and presently lives in England, where he might be a bit more insulated from the worst effects of the UK's misguided decision to leave the EU, Brexit will still have a direct impact - most likely detrimental - upon his home city, community, family and friends, all in spite of the fact that a majority of people in the north (including the overwhelming majority of nationalists) voted to remain in the EU.

This majority desire has been largely ignored with the DUP calling the shots and erroneously framed as "representing" the interests of the wider populace in the north simply on account of their cosy pact with the partial Tories in Westminster, so why wouldn't James, along with over 200 other prominent Irish nationals from the north, use their voices to correct this misframing of the DUP and raise issue with Brexit, a potential hardening of the partition of our country and the objectionable manner in which the DUP have been behaving towards the northern nationalist people (and indeed other minorities generally) of late?

The DUP have been reneging on agreements and pursuing a destructive path for all here, whilst their petty intransigence and bigotry in holding back full equality for all and minority rights (such as Irish language, legacy and LGBT+ rights) have been lamentably indulged by successive Irish governments/presidents and British government stooges like James Brokenshire. The petition keeps a public focus on this unacceptable obstinacy and makes it known that nationalists are here and that we're not going to roll over and accept it. There has been a distinct change in mood within nationalism over the past year due to developing events. The petition shows we're standing up and not going to take second-rate treatment by the DUP or the British government (who actually promised an Irish language act before the DUP signed the agreement at St. Andrew's and who are, as I say, dragging the north of Ireland out of the EU against its will). Consider us woke.

James is a hero for local people here (http://www.translink.co.uk/Services/Ulsterbus-Service-Page/foyle-legends/#video) and he channels a defiant voice for working-class nationalists especially, whose narrative may not often be articulated or heard across the water in particular. So many people in Britain would have remained completely unaware of the contentious nature of the poppy and 'GSTQ' for the nationalist community in the north if it wasn't for James. I'm sure he has helped and inspired many young nationalists and republicans in the north find the confidence to proudly assert and articulate their own Irish identity in the face of adversity, contempt and indifference.

Generally-speaking, it's heartening to see so many public and prominent figures from the nationalist community unashamed to make their voice heard at a pivotal moment in our history like this. It enhances the sense of unity, togetherness and solidarity within the community at a time when it's badly needed and represents a growing collective sense of confidence and determination.

gastric
13/12/2017, 2:23 AM
Ye great, I look forward to the Dublin City Council agreeing to revoke Suu Kyi's freedom of Dublin Award, based on U2's call for this to happen.

seanfhear
13/12/2017, 2:42 AM
Ye great, I look forward to the Dublin City Council agreeing to revoke Suu Kyi's freedom of Dublin Award, based on U2's call for this to happen.U2 might even pony up some Tax to actually help run the show rather than Only Advise .

DannyInvincible
13/12/2017, 3:15 AM
I'm just surprised that Aung San Suu Kyi hasn't handed back her Freedom of Dublin award for fear of being associated with the likes of Bono and Geldof.

seanfhear
13/12/2017, 9:31 AM
I'm just surprised that Aung San Suu Kyi hasn't handed back her Freedom of Dublin award for fear of being associated with the likes of Bono and Geldof.
Bo-NoTax giving his opinion on this that and the other . He is a notorious Tax Avoider and a Singer . He should be giving free tax avoidance seminars and perhaps some Pontification at the end .

DannyInvincible
13/12/2017, 12:32 PM
Bo-NoTax giving his opinion on this that and the other . He is a notorious Tax Avoider and a Singer . He should be giving free tax avoidance seminars and perhaps some Pontification at the end .

Bono once tellingly said (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_XfbHou88w) (whilst reciting in approval his father's supposed quoting of John Millington Synge at an earlier point in Bono's life) that Ireland was just a place that kept his feet from getting wet. In light of his tax-dodging, make of that what you will...

You'll enjoy this piece on how Bono and other philanthropic capitalists like Geldof who push charity to defend property (or "philanthropic poverty", in other words): https://www.jacobinmag.com/2014/11/philanthropic-poverty/

Bono, a mascot for neoliberal capitalism, urges the impoverished to trust the economic system that directly causes their poverty - which he incongruously claims to oppose - and encourages the notion that charity rather than social reform is a credible fix.

Anyway, to bring this back on topic (somewhat :p), here's a bit of Sinn Féin-related vintage Bono cringe:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gzRWYRyzX7I

It's Bono engaging in a sanctimonious rant (using a weird assortment of accents) against an unfortunate individual in the crowd during a 1987 U2 gig in San Francisco. Bono appears to assume in error that the fan's "SF U2" sign (obviously in reference to the city in which the gig is taking place) refers to Sinn Féin, who he quite clearly loathed with a passion.

Luckily, he didn't spot the advertisement down the back for Bank of America individual retirement accounts or he'd still be there to this day ranting away about the IRA!

17/12/2017, 12:37 AM
RTÉ Sports person of the year for 2017: https://www.rte.ie/sport/other-sport/2017/1216/927882-mcclean-voted-rte-sport-sportsperson-of-the-year/

DannyInvincible
17/12/2017, 12:06 PM
Video of his full acceptance speech/interview here: https://www.facebook.com/rtesoccer/videos/1531942936893359/

Well done to James. Good to see his dedication appreciated and rewarded by the Irish public.

DeLorean
17/12/2017, 12:12 PM
Mind boggling selection.

DannyInvincible
17/12/2017, 1:21 PM
Mind boggling selection.

Generally-speaking, I don't think it has been a great year for Irish sport in terms of success, but if the award was purely for sporting achievement alone, I'd have said Ryan Burnett, or possibly Katie Taylor, would have been worthy of the accolade. Respect and appreciation for sportspeople doesn't always have to be dependent upon them winning*, however, and, in terms of personality, dedication and commitment to the national cause, I don't think you can question James McClean. The general Irish public obviously connected with that. He's the physical embodiment of the spirit of the team and he's how every Irish fan imagines themselves if they ever had the privilege of wearing the jersey. I think the fact he won this award without the team actually having qualified for the World Cup just shows how much of an impact James' heart and endeavour had upon people. The dramatic and crucial goals he scored during the campaign, especially those against Austria and Wales (to pick up two unprecedented away victories against higher-level opposition), also helped, no doubt.

In a broader sense, I think it's another definite indication that the football team has well and truly re-captured the general public's attention/imagination over the past few years (in spite of the what happened in the play-off). The football team is respected again. That is a good sign. I've been critical of O'Neill, more so in latter times, but after the nightmare of Staunton and the anaemic lethargy of Trap, he has undeniably managed to bring the spark back.

The last time someone connected with the international football team won this award was Mick McCarthy in 2001 after qualifying for the 2002 World Cup. The last time a player won the award was Roy Keane in 1999 (for his treble-success at Manchester United) and, before that, Packie Bonner (for his penalty-save against Romania) in 1990.

*In 1986, cyclist Seán Kelly won the award after having finished third in the Vuelta a España, for example.

DeLorean
17/12/2017, 1:28 PM
It wasn't a great year but Con O'Callaghan won around twenty medals and was a massive part of all of his teams success. Rena Buckley won her eighteenth Senior All Ireland medal, let that sink in! Katie Taylor became world champion like you said. McClean could barely get a start for his club while all of this was going on and scored one goal for us. It was farcical that he was even nominated in my opinion, let alone actually selected, no matter how much he loves his country.

DannyInvincible
17/12/2017, 2:24 PM
It wasn't a great year but Con O'Callaghan won around twenty medals and was a massive part of all of his teams success. Rena Buckley won her eighteenth Senior All Ireland medal, let that sink in! Katie Taylor became world champion like you said. McClean could barely get a start for his club while all of this was going on and scored one goal for us. It was farcical that he was even nominated in my opinion, let alone actually selected, no matter how much he loves his country.

Not wishing to disparage the achievements of O'Callaghan and Buckley, which were superb and unparalleled within their respective fields, but they are smaller fields and international sport is undoubtedly a much larger and more competitive sphere. Also, doing something for Ireland on the international stage can truly be said to be nationally representative. I hear what you're saying, but I'd probably always have a personal preference or bias towards international achievement or endeavour over the domestic for those reasons.

DeLorean
17/12/2017, 3:03 PM
So why nominate GAA players at all then? And even if we are limiting it to international achievements, I still don't think McClean has any place there on the basis of, let's face it, one goal.

DannyInvincible
17/12/2017, 5:54 PM
So why nominate GAA players at all then? And even if we are limiting it to international achievements, I still don't think McClean has any place there on the basis of, let's face it, one goal.

I guess RTÉ can nominate whoever they want. I'm not sure how that's decided or by whom, but I was just giving my own opinion in terms of what I would value more within the chosen field of candidates.

I'm just realising that the goal against Austria would have been outside the strict confines of the past year, seeing as it was last November. Still, I think a compelling argument can be made for James. I don't see his win as making a mockery of the award.

DeLorean
17/12/2017, 9:45 PM
I don't think a compelling argument is possible for McClean in terms of sporting performance or achievement in 2017. I'm sure all of the candidates and others that didn't make it love their counties & country, they're just not as vocal about it. He's not getting any extra points off me for wearing his heart on his sleeve (I'm sure he's devastated).

If he had done something really special then, yeah, I'd give extra weight to his specialised sport given its global audience/participation compared to GAA, but he didn't and therefore some of the Gaelic players' achievements are far more remarkable in my opinion. And obviously some of the candidates who actually became world champions in their respective fields. He has no place amongst them to my mind.

17/12/2017, 10:21 PM
EDIT: I keep editing/deleting posts, but I've finally decided what I want to say. When you look back at the last 10 years of the award, there was always some element of genuine success and achievement there, but not this time, not to anywhere near the same extent.

Aidan O'Brien just had an astonishing 2017. Winner of both British and Irish derbies, British and Irish St Legers, British and Irish 1000 and 2000 Guineas. In terms of group and grade 1 races, it was literally the most successful season in the history of the sport.

I know he won manager of the year award, but it seems a bit secondary and somehow doesn't quite suit the magnitude of his achievement.

seanfhear
18/12/2017, 8:15 AM
James has that quality a Politician needs to gather Votes . He may be Taoiseach or President some day .

18/12/2017, 9:33 AM
He would be an Ideal Candidate to be A Sinn Fein First Minister and later a possible Taoiseach .

I think we're a long way from ever having a Sinn Fein Minister, let alone Taoiseach.

As regards the vote, the GAA players will only get the vote from their counties and a sprinkling from elsewhere. The women nominations, other than Katie Taylor, wouldn't be household names nor would the Para Athletes. Horse racing and boxing - again not media grabbing event. So we're left with Katie Taylor, Paul O’Donovan, Conor Murray and James McClean. Katie hasn't had the same exposure since she went professional and O'Donovan needs the Olympics to keep him top of the sports billing. So we're down to Murray and James and football is still bigger than rugby, so James won it.

DeLorean
18/12/2017, 9:41 AM
Spot on, so two points on that...

1) It shouldn't be a public vote (i.e. popularity contest). Can you imagine if a Manchester United or Liverpool player were in the running, they'd be virtually unbeatable regardless of what they've done.

2) McClean still shouldn't have been nominated in the first place. At least if they get that part right, we'd have a winner that actually achieved something significant or had consistently high performance levels.

18/12/2017, 10:25 AM
Is was sport personality of the year, not achievement of the year.

James suffered personal loss this year, brought Ireland to a play-off with his goal, showed immense pride in his captaining of Ireland on his 50th cap, displayed a great amount of dignity and generosity with a huge amount of charity work through the year, and on top of that, showed a serious amount of personality and pride in his country and where he's from on many levels.

I think he's a great recipient of this award to be honest.

DeLorean
18/12/2017, 10:42 AM
Is was sport personality of the year, not achievement of the year.

It was sportsperson of the year, not sports personality.

According to Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RT%C3%89_Sports_Person_of_the_Year)...

The winner is the Irish sportsperson (from the island of Ireland (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ireland)) judged to have achieved the most that year.

And RTÉ's own website (https://www.rte.ie/sport/other-sport/2017/1216/927882-mcclean-voted-rte-sport-sportsperson-of-the-year/)...

As well as acknowledging this year’s sporting achievements, the RTÉ Sport Awards recognised the 20th anniversary of his magnificent World Snooker Championship win as Ken Doherty was honoured with the Hall of Fame Award.

DeLorean
18/12/2017, 10:48 AM
James suffered personal loss this year, brought Ireland to a play-off with his goal, showed immense pride in his captaining of Ireland on his 50th cap, displayed a great amount of dignity and generosity with a huge amount of charity work through the year, and on top of that, showed a serious amount of personality and pride in his country and where he's from on many levels.

McClean's personal loss was high profile enough for us all to know about it, I don't think it's something that should be taken into account. Are we to assume all the other candidates didn't lose relatives or friends in 2017, just because McClean's loss hit the headlines? I don't mean that to sound heartless by the way, I just don't think it's relevant.