View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989
I am not overly impressed with your ( or Kenny's ) loyalty to a player that always gave his best / always turned up, if at all possible / which was pretty much always / always showed Kenny a lot of respect before Kenny didn't handle the parting of ways well ~ ~ It would not be unusual for a manager to finish a campaign with pretty much the same players that went through a campaign unless some one pretty exceptional turned up / or at least a marked improvement ~ ~ Kenny did not handle the end of James McClean's Ireland playing career well ~ ~ Then, Kenny did Not handle a lot of things well, while he was the Ireland manager ~ ~ This is just another mess-up by Kenny ~ One of very very many.
Yeah sorry that should be a given of any player that gets picked.
He lost the right to a send off or being selected when he signed for Wrexham, he should be grateful for what he got in the end. The main mistake Kenny made was selecting McClean in the first place, he should have been out of the squad once he dropped to league 2.
If we had any decent left backs he'd have been gone a lot sooner. International callups aren't an entitlement, the likes of him and Shane Long would do well to remember that.
There's 3 in the u21s that should be ahead of him, never mind the ones at senior level.
Eminence Grise
18/04/2024, 8:30 PM
Has said he'll come out of retirement if the next manager wants him to
Well that explains why the FAI have been dragging their heels with the new appointment. To rework an old line from Yes, Minister, it's not lethargy, it's strategy.
EalingGreen
18/04/2024, 9:17 PM
It's not compulsory to, love / even like, the King / Monarchy ~ Is it ? !Of course not. For you can dislike the King, even hate him if you want. Hell, you can join in a bunch of players singing about how much you "hate the phucking King", if you like.
But that's not the point, is it? Rather in the hoohaa which followed, rather than staying silent, or muttering something bland or mildly conciliatory ("Sorry, I just got carried away in the heat of the moment, apologies if I offended anyone etc"), no our James was entirely unrepentent, doubling down effectively.
And that's the thing with him: It's. Always. One. Thing. After. Another.
Meanwhile, contrast that with his brother Patrick. He's been playing for Glentoran, in the heart of (Loyalist) East Belfast since 2019, where he established himself as a bit of a fans' favourite. Then about a year ago, he had some sort of personal crisis (drink-related?) and suddenly walked out on his contract in mid-season, to take up work on a building site in Dublin - he was done with football, he said, at the age of 26.
A few months later he got himself sorted, regretted what he'd done, apologised to the club, his fellow players and the fans, and asked to come back. And he's been accepted back, no hard feelings:
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/irish-league/patrick-mcclean-im-sorry-to-glentoran-fans-but-happy-to-be-back/a1246876185.html
Now I don't suppose Patrick has any great affection for the King, either, unlike the club's fans! Then again, we don't know what he thinks, since he doesn't feel the need to tell everyone about this sort of crap all the time, nor (presumably) does he imagine that the rest of us want or need to hear it either.
Meaning that if James only had a fraction of the class of his brother, then he (James) would not be forever making headlines etc, to no good purpose whatever for himself, or anyone else.
seanfhear
18/04/2024, 10:21 PM
Of course not. For you can dislike the King, even hate him if you want. Hell, you can join in a bunch of players singing about how much you "hate the phucking King", if you like.
But that's not the point, is it? Rather in the hoohaa which followed, rather than staying silent, or muttering something bland or mildly conciliatory ("Sorry, I just got carried away in the heat of the moment, apologies if I offended anyone etc"), no our James was entirely unrepentent, doubling down effectively.
And that's the thing with him: It's. Always. One. Thing. After. Another.
Meanwhile, contrast that with his brother Patrick. He's been playing for Glentoran, in the heart of (Loyalist) East Belfast since 2019, where he established himself as a bit of a fans' favourite. Then about a year ago, he had some sort of personal crisis (drink-related?) and suddenly walked out on his contract in mid-season, to take up work on a building site in Dublin - he was done with football, he said, at the age of 26.
A few months later he got himself sorted, regretted what he'd done, apologised to the club, his fellow players and the fans, and asked to come back. And he's been accepted back, no hard feelings:
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/irish-league/patrick-mcclean-im-sorry-to-glentoran-fans-but-happy-to-be-back/a1246876185.html
Now I don't suppose Patrick has any great affection for the King, either, unlike the club's fans! Then again, we don't know what he thinks, since he doesn't feel the need to tell everyone about this sort of crap all the time, nor (presumably) does he imagine that the rest of us want or need to hear it either.
Meaning that if James only had a fraction of the class of his brother, then he (James) would not be forever making headlines etc, to no good purpose whatever for himself, or anyone else.
Why don't you just ignore James McClean ~ ~ As I say if somebody dislikes, the King / the Monarchy, they are under no compunction to remain quite about that ~ ~ Free speech / Free thought / Freedom.
EalingGreen
18/04/2024, 10:59 PM
Why don't you just ignore James McClean ~ ~ As I say if somebody dislikes, the King / the Monarchy, they are under no compunction to remain quite about that ~ ~ Free speech / Free thought / Freedom.That's the whole point - you can't ignore him, he's forever going off on one.
Meanwhile, if these two can shake hands, maybe it's time for JMcC to stfu for a bit.
https://i.guim.co.uk/img/static/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2012/6/28/1340905896075/Martin-McGuinness-and-the-008.jpg?width=465&dpr=1&s=none
backstothewall
18/04/2024, 11:02 PM
In defence of Stephen Kenny...
(I didn't see myself saying that this year)
James gave terrific service to his country. He was the most committed player I've ever seen in an Irish jersey. But Stephen Kenny clearly prolonged his international career and gave him runs out off the bench to give him his 100th cap. McClean should probably have been dropped from the squad over a year before he retired. He wasn't able to get around the pitch in the way he used to and his game really relied on that.
The idea that he had any right to be considered from League 2 is mad. If he was planning a move to Wrexham he should have told Kenny as much and they could have made a big song and dance of his retirement at the Gibraltar game when he won his 100th cap. League 2 is no standard at all to be involved in international football. If it was Graham Coughlan would be part of the discussions to replace Kenny now. But he isn't.
McClean maybe should have had the armband vs New Zealand and had the chance to be subbed off on his own, but that's as far as there is any legitimacy to his complaints.
seanfhear
18/04/2024, 11:20 PM
That's the whole point - you can't ignore him, he's forever going off on one.
Meanwhile, if these two can shake hands, maybe it's time for JMcC to stfu for a bit.
https://i.guim.co.uk/img/static/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2012/6/28/1340905896075/Martin-McGuinness-and-the-008.jpg?width=465&dpr=1&s=none
It's very easy to ignore James McClean, if you choose to do so ~ ~ The question is, Why do you choose not to ignore James McClean ?
18/04/2024, 11:31 PM
It's very easy to ignore James McClean, if you choose to do so ~ ~ The question is, Why do you choose not to ignore James McClean ?
James McClean talks in ALL CAPS!!!
seanfhear
18/04/2024, 11:34 PM
James McClean talks in ALL CAPS!!!He does have more than 100 caps !
Eirambler
19/04/2024, 6:57 AM
McClean has autism I believe. Obviously people with autism often see the world quite differently to people who don't have it. Wondering if that's at play here because his comments are miles off track, but might be explained to some extent by how his condition causes him to see the world (rather than just being a spoilt primadonna footballer which isn't something I'd have considered him to be up to now).
19/04/2024, 7:23 AM
I don't see why autism is being brought into it, as if it's something that needs to be explained away.
His views are well known. If people were given the headline "Footballer ____(name)______ singing anti-monarchy songs", McClean would probably be the first footballer in the whole of UK football that comes to mind to fill that gap.
At this stage, he's probably just tired of the jaded outrage.
seanfhear
19/04/2024, 8:01 AM
McClean in a Royal China shop = = Why are the royals and their supporters ( especially the supporters ) so sensitive anyway ? !
Supporters of royalty are very insecure ~ ~ Maybe worried about, naked emperors / naked royals ! !
Eirambler
19/04/2024, 9:31 AM
I don't see why autism is being brought into it, as if it's something that needs to be explained away.
His views are well known. If people were given the headline "Footballer ____(name)______ singing anti-monarchy songs", McClean would probably be the first footballer in the whole of UK football that comes to mind to fill that gap.
At this stage, he's probably just tired of the jaded outrage.
There's a logic to his dislike of the British establishment though, whether you agree with it or not. Whereas his views on how his relegation from the Irish squad was handled are just bonkers.
Diggs246
19/04/2024, 10:26 AM
I doubt he's the sharpest tool in the box.
seanfhear
19/04/2024, 11:46 AM
I doubt he's the sharpest tool in the box.
Neither are the royals !
EalingGreen
19/04/2024, 2:01 PM
McClean in a Royal China shop = = Why are the royals and their supporters ( especially the supporters ) so sensitive anyway ? !
Supporters of royalty are very insecure ~ ~ Maybe worried about, naked emperors / naked royals ! !Try thinking of it this way.
Suppose some 20 y.o. English fella emigrated to the Republic ten years ago, having left school at 16 with no particular qualifications etc, to take up a job that he happened to be particularly good at. And that job paid him very handsomely, so that he could enjoy a lifestyle infinitely more privileged than he might have expected had he stayed at home.
But as well as doing a good job for his employer etc, he's also forever publicly slagging off the institutions of the State, including "hating the phucking President".
You'd be ok with that, I assume?
Eirambler
19/04/2024, 2:07 PM
It probably depends what those institutions did to/in the home city of the individual in question.
EalingGreen
19/04/2024, 2:09 PM
I doubt he's the sharpest tool in the box.Ya reckon? I mean, it's an easy mistake to make eg to buy a Lamborghini before you'd even got your driving licence - I'm sure we've all done that at one time or another.
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/opinion/columnists/james-mcclean-has-always-lacked-judgement-but-his-latest-action-is-indefensible/39083960.html
Diggs246
19/04/2024, 2:12 PM
Try thinking of it this way.
Suppose some 20 y.o. English fella emigrated to the Republic ten years ago, having left school at 16 with no particular qualifications etc, to take up a job that he happened to be particularly good at. And that job paid him very handsomely, so that he could enjoy a lifestyle infinitely more privileged than he might have expected had he stayed at home.
But as well as doing a good job for his employer etc, he's also forever publicly slagging off the institutions of the State, including "hating the phucking President".
Insane post, the British slaughtered us. you cant compare
WexCar.
19/04/2024, 2:21 PM
Don't matter if its a popular opinion or not. It's free speech, he is entitled to give an honest answer. There are plenty of people in the UK who hate the monarchy, this shouldn't surprise people just because someone openly admits it on a public forum.
Plus, I don't think I've met any Irish adult who doesn't slag off the institutions of this country and I know plenty of English in my time here in ireland who aren't shy about slagging off irish institutions.
EalingGreen
19/04/2024, 2:27 PM
It probably depends what those institutions did to/in the home city of the individual in question.
Try telling that eg to Martin O'Neill. You know, a Derry man who was actually alive during The Troubles. Or any of the Argentinians playing in England, post-Falklands. Or Serbs who saw Belgrade bombed by the RAF during the Yugoslav break-up. Or any of the countless footballers from any number of countries around the world which were colonised by Da Hated Brits.
Or indeed, the scores of other Irish footballers in GB. Or have none of them ever come from other Irish towns/cities which suffered eg Monaghan/Dublin?
Or maybe even Gentleman John Carey? He was born during the War of Independence, yet when WWII broke out 20 years later, rather than popping back to Dublin for the duration, he joined the British Army. Apparently this was on the basis that "A country that's prepared to give me a good living is worth fighting for".
But no, none of those people have ever suffered like our James, nor share his insight and understanding of the world, he's special.
EalingGreen
19/04/2024, 2:48 PM
Don't matter if its a popular opinion or not. It's free speech, he is entitled to give an honest answer.
Of course it's free speech. Which is why he hasn't been arrested for it, or suffered any other sort of consequence from the very state he hates. But just because his opinion is honest, it doesn't make him immune from other people giving their opinion about him, does it?
There are plenty of people in the UK who hate the monarchyEr, they're not a guest in someone elses country.
Plus, I don't think I've met any Irish adult who doesn't slag off the institutions of this countryIt's your country, so you must be perfectly entitled to do so. But try going to any number of other countries and behaving like that and see what reaction you'd get.
I know plenty of English in my time here in ireland who aren't shy about slagging off irish institutions.It's one thing saying the government is crap/the Gardai are useless/the Health Service is a shambles etc.
But when you attack the very embodiment of the country, as McClean does when he sings about "hating the phucking King", then he's making it very clear that when it comes to it, it's the country itself he hates and everything which goes with it.
And I say all that as someone who doesn't ever sing GSTK before an NI match for instance, or fawn over the Royals generally. Indeed I reckon that the only (reluctant) justification for maintaining the Monarchy is to look at some of the people who get elected to be President elsewhere eg Putin, Trump, Mugabe etc.
But that's by-the-by, for if ever I found myself making a very good living in another country, I wouldn't spend my time insulting it or its people. And if I couldn't forbear from doing so, then I wouldn't go there to work in the first place.
EalingGreen
19/04/2024, 2:58 PM
Insane post, the British slaughtered us. you cant compareAh right. But when the very same people McClean celebrated eg with his famous "balaclava History lesson" slaughtered my people, I'm entitled to go around abusing him and all his kind in return?
Cue the usual "Ah, but you started it" shyte next, I suppose?
Anyhow, I'm outta here, before the Mods close it down.
seanfhear
19/04/2024, 3:33 PM
You'd be ok with that, I assume?Completely different history of the Irish President and the British Royal Family, and its connections to the British military and what that military has done in Ireland throughout history = = No way the same.
seanfhear
19/04/2024, 3:37 PM
Sure the UK claims part of James McClean's Country = = Big trouble for a start.
WexCar.
19/04/2024, 3:38 PM
Of course it's free speech. Which is why he hasn't been arrested for it, or suffered any other sort of consequence from the very state he hates. But just because his opinion is honest, it doesn't make him immune from other people giving their opinion about him, does it?
Nope, let them at it. No complaints about people not liking him or his opinion.
Er, they're not a guest in someone elses country.
It's your country, so you must be perfectly entitled to do so. But try going to any number of other countries and behaving like that and see what reaction you'd get.
He was born in the UK and therefore a British citizen, even though he and others may not be happy with that fact, he is not then a foreigner in Britain. So he is not a guest in the state/country/nation(however you want to define the UK).
But that's by-the-by, for if ever I found myself making a very good living in another country, I wouldn't spend my time insulting it or its people. And if I couldn't forbear from doing so, then I wouldn't go there to work in the first place.
Well, a good job will heal all wounds. You can hate a place and still work there, the money he has been able to make would quite likely make it bearable.
19/04/2024, 4:18 PM
Anyhow, I'm outta here, before the Mods close it down.
Dons mod hat. Tally-ho!
Doffs mod hat.
When did McClean emigrate exactly? If the British don't like mouthy northies, they can leave. We could call it a British Exit, or Brexit for short. Until then, he's a subject of the unelected scroungers like the rest of ye.
elatedscum
19/04/2024, 4:56 PM
all pretty tasteless on a day that the families of the bloody sunday victims have announced that the 15 soldiers who knowingly put forward false accounts to justify their killing of peaceful protesters won't be charged with perjury...
seanfhear
19/04/2024, 5:19 PM
all pretty tasteless on a day that the families of the bloody sunday victims have announced that the 15 soldiers who knowingly put forward false accounts to justify their killing of peaceful protesters won't be charged with perjury...British " " Law " " in Ireland has always been a farce.
elatedscum
27/11/2024, 5:38 PM
https://open.spotify.com/track/3qsh1XAfU4SRqzjTVMZT0F just heard this today
Fixer82
27/11/2024, 9:30 PM
https://open.spotify.com/track/3qsh1XAfU4SRqzjTVMZT0F just heard this today
A footballer with principles. A rarity!
Whether you like him or not, he can’t be accused of not standing by his principles. I admire him greatly for it!
Eirambler
26/04/2025, 7:36 PM
James has worked his way back to the Championship one last time with Wrexham at 36. Looks to still be important enough to the team that he'll have a playing role for them again next season.
Unfortunately the other Irish players there are starting to lose their places in the team and probably aren't quite good enough to make the kind of impact the club will be aiming for next season. Thomas O'Connor might be kept involved as a utility player because he covers a lot of positions, but he's probably more League 1 standard. Eoghan O'Connell I think will struggle to see much game time in the Championship. Already some of their biggest names from their rise through the lower leagues have been found out a bit in League 1 - Paul Mullin and Ollie Palmer in particular.
Dunne and Sykes out of contract this summer. Wonder will Wrexham try throw some money at either player. Could see Sykes being more open than Dunne whose been linked to Sheffield United this year.
Fixer82
28/04/2025, 7:07 PM
James has worked his way back to the Championship one last time with Wrexham at 36. Looks to still be important enough to the team that he'll have a playing role for them again next season.
Unfortunately the other Irish players there are starting to lose their places in the team and probably aren't quite good enough to make the kind of impact the club will be aiming for next season. Thomas O'Connor might be kept involved as a utility player because he covers a lot of positions, but he's probably more League 1 standard. Eoghan O'Connell I think will struggle to see much game time in the Championship. Already some of their biggest names from their rise through the lower leagues have been found out a bit in League 1 - Paul Mullin and Ollie Palmer in particular.
Could any Irish players be in their sights to be signed I wonder?
It would be an attractive club to go to. High profile with a serious feel-good factor at the moment.
And owners who apparently care about the club and the players/families etc.
28/04/2025, 7:27 PM
There's probably going to be a few leaving as well, there's not a lot of Championship experience in the squad.
Eirambler
01/05/2025, 9:50 AM
I think Dunne and Sykes as mentioned would be possibilities. If Dunne doesn't get a Premier League move, which he probably won't, he'd be as well going to Wrexham as any other club. Sykes seems like a good fit as well. Also, both of them have stories to tell (Dunne's dad, Sykes history growing up in Belfast and what happened to his uncle) which could fit well with Wrexham liking having players who come with a narrative for the documentary.
Other possibilities might be the relegated Cardiff players Robinson and O'Dowda. Maybe the likes of Egan or Duffy also. Would Seamus Coleman do a job for them for a year? Might be too late for him.
~YTM~
01/05/2025, 11:35 AM
Don't think Coleman plays for another club in the English league after Everton.
Olé Olé
01/05/2025, 1:50 PM
I think Dunne and Sykes as mentioned would be possibilities. If Dunne doesn't get a Premier League move, which he probably won't, he'd be as well going to Wrexham as any other club. Sykes seems like a good fit as well. Also, both of them have stories to tell (Dunne's dad, Sykes history growing up in Belfast and what happened to his uncle) which could fit well with Wrexham liking having players who come with a narrative for the documentary.
Other possibilities might be the relegated Cardiff players Robinson and O'Dowda. Maybe the likes of Egan or Duffy also. Would Seamus Coleman do a job for them for a year? Might be too late for him.
Both fit nicely into the 3-5-2 shape that Wrexham have played for years now (recently 3-5-1-1). Dunne is your ideal right centre half but could cover right wing back. Sykes is a good option at right wing back and could cover the midfield 3 also. Would be really good signings for Wrexham and are great characters.
Eirambler
01/05/2025, 6:24 PM
There could be a push to get a Welsh player or two into the squad, there's a noticeable absence of them considering it's a Welsh club.
CraftyToePoke
02/06/2025, 9:55 PM
Heimir has met with JimmyMc in Derry lads.
The closest thing Irish football will ever produce to an actual Terminator on so many levels.
He's a player of interest... a character that could help us' - Ireland boss open to James McClean return
Defender retired from international football in 2023 but has returned to Championship with Wrexham.
The international boss confirmed discussions have taken place with the 36-year-old while in Derry recently, and that the 36-year-old would be considered for selection after the upcoming friendlies with Senegal and Luxembourg.
https://www.the42.ie/article.php?id=6721020