View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

ArdeeBhoy
19/08/2015, 1:21 PM
All this seems unnecessary, er, McCleanism...

DannyInvincible
19/08/2015, 2:04 PM
Why is it that when Kirk Broadfoot racially abuses James McClean, Anthony Stokes gets sectarian abuse and death threats, Neil Lennon gets sectarian abuse, death threats and is assaulted several times, Aaron Doran and Richie Foran are victims of sectarian abuse and assaulted in the street, sectarian chanting is regularly heard at Hearts and Rangers games and Paul Paton retweets a sectarian tweet and I say Scottish society may have a sectarianism problem Danny belligerently rebuts me yet when Alan Parry says James McClean is from "Londonderry" (which despite my problems with it, is technically correct) he is a quote "race baiting" "insidious troll"?

The hypocrisy... :rolleyes:

Ack, TOWK, for heaven's sake; you're just making things up now. First of all, I'm not sure that would be hypocrisy on my part even if it were true. More importantly though, if you're going to start throwing such accusations around, at least get your facts straight and stop being so careless/loose with your words. You're a terror.

At the time we had a discussion following on from the abuse of Stokes and those other incidents you mention, far from me belligerently rebutting the notion that Scottish society had/has a sectarianism problem, I wrote the following to you, explicitly acknowledging said problem:

Nobody is saying there isn’t a sectarianism/anti-Irish problem in Scotland. There clearly is and we’re all well aware of that. But are you saying that the Scottish authorities are turning a blind eye to it, or worse, that it permeates even their execution of justice? Is that your point?

I was challenging other careless and reactionary points you were making; for one, you seemed, for some inexplicable reason, to be under the impression that you were in a better position, on account of having read a few newspaper articles, to judge the cases of Foran and Deegan than the Scottish judges who ruled on the cases with the benefit of the available evidence. You also seemed to be advocating the curbing of civil liberties with draconian legislation and didn't appear to see a problem with apportioning blame to selected people for having allegedly sent bullets in the post without a shred of evidence to support your assertions. These were just a few of the things with which I took issue during that exchange; not the notion that Scottish society has a sectarian problem.

19/08/2015, 7:50 PM
My apologies to Tets for that misunderstanding.

And to Geysir for that grumpiness. The festered shark's milk yogurts are on me next time in Keflavik ;)
Just because someone takes a considered issue with your post, you assume that person is grumpy :eek:
it just cant be because you offered a dud link to support some point?
Stick to the mind reading, at least it provides some mirth.

Gather round
20/08/2015, 9:01 AM
Just because someone takes a considered issue with your post, you assume that person is grumpy :eek:
it just cant be because you offered a dud link to support some point?
Stick to the mind reading, at least it provides some mirth

Er, I was apologising for my own grumpiness dear. Like I said, do better.

Wolfman
20/08/2015, 10:23 AM
Gather dust sounds more like it.

20/08/2015, 11:39 PM
Alright, alright, I'm sorry, GR's sorry, geysir's sorry (I think) let's all get past this

Wolfman
21/08/2015, 10:22 AM
Only two of you have anything to be sorry for.

23/08/2015, 9:44 PM
Taken off after an hour today against Chelsea as West Brom went with two strikers, but had a part in both goals: his cross was knocked back inside by Rondon for the first, and his quick free kick started the attack for the second.

DannyInvincible
28/08/2015, 1:43 AM
He seems to have played very well in WBA's League Cup game versus Port Vale earlier in the week, if these two tweets are anything to go by:

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/jmcc2_zpsush4czfz.png
https://twitter.com/TomFoster_17/status/636296983788036096

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/jmcc_zpsmoy9wt7p.png
https://twitter.com/SlothsRSick/status/636315632288538626

Pleasing to see his work ethic is being appreciated by WBA fans as he's been getting a bit of a rough time from opposition supporters.

Olé Olé
10/09/2015, 1:39 PM
http://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/james-mcclean-shows-what-a-great-guy-he-is-with-classiest-of-gestures-to-gaa-club/39155

Buys a new kit for his local GAA club. As far as I know, a full kit tends to come in at about €800. Not a huge sum for McClean but, following on from his generous donation towards Mark Farren's charity, demonstrates his character.

GypsyBlackCat
11/09/2015, 11:12 AM
He gave my two lads the thumbs up and high fives during the warm-up on Monday. I wasn't to happy with this because as I can't give him grief on an internet message board anymore.:mad:

Olé Olé
11/09/2015, 11:40 AM
He gave my two lads the thumbs up and high fives during the warm-up on Monday. I wasn't to happy with this because as I can't give him grief on an internet message board anymore.:mad:

Haha. This brings up a conundrum: Do you view McClean in light of how he treated your kids? Or how he treated Sunderland AFC?

11/09/2015, 11:42 AM
Haha. This brings up a conundrum: Do you view McClean in light of how he treated your kids? Or how he treated Sunderland AFC?
I view him as a poppy-hating charlatan.

GypsyBlackCat
11/09/2015, 1:19 PM

I didn't like the way he said the club let him hang out to dry. In hindsight I think the club should have let him make a statement but I understand why they thought it might have been a bad idea and maybe it was best to let it blow over. But fair play to him for acknowledging the kids. He didn't have to and I've seen players completely ignore fans. (Marco van Basten springs to mind) And he wasn't the only one in fairness. Keane, Given and O'Shea waved at them. Little things like that make the kids day so fair dues to all of them, it made their night.

Fixer82
11/09/2015, 5:52 PM
I didn't like the way he said the club let him hang out to dry. In hindsight I think the club should have let him make a statement but I understand why they thought it might have been a bad idea and maybe it was best to let it blow over. But fair play to him for acknowledging the kids. He didn't have to and I've seen players completely ignore fans. (Marco van Basten springs to mind) And he wasn't the only one in fairness. Keane, Given and O'Shea waved at them. Little things like that make the kids day so fair dues to all of them, it made their night.

If there was a World Cup for being sound we'd romp home!

15/09/2015, 7:14 PM
McClean has the support of Jeremy Corbyn,

Labour confirms Corbyn DIDN'T sing national anthem at service to honour Battle of Britain heroes - but insists new leader stood in 'respectful silence' (although he did get a free lunch out of it)

Jeremy Corbyn, who has campaigned for the Queen to be replaced by a president, did not sing God Save the Queen
New Labour (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/labour/index.html)leader paid tribute to the war dead and said his own mother and father had helped war effort
But he is at centre of row with his own MPs over wearing a poppy and has also questioned role of Armed Forces
Mr Corbyn paid tribute to the 'heroism' of the Royal Air Force but urged Government to prevent future military action

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3235116/Jeremy-Corbyn-gets-message-paying-tribute-Battle-Britain-greets-David-Cameron-time-Labour-leader.html

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2015/09/15/12/2C569E4400000578-3235116-image-m-54_1442318053464.jpg

http://www.newsletter.co.uk/webimage/1.6860027.1437419667!/image/3598244940.jpg
(http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3235116/Jeremy-Corbyn-gets-message-paying-tribute-Battle-Britain-greets-David-Cameron-time-Labour-leader.html)

punkrocket
16/09/2015, 8:48 AM
Yer man from Podemos never seems to have this problem.

DannyInvincible
16/09/2015, 2:02 PM
Corbyn is lucky to live where eejitry is easily accommodated (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/dion-fanning-james-mcclean-lucky-to-live-where-eejitry-is-easily-accommodated-31403912.html), I guess...

16/09/2015, 10:00 PM
It's not as if he is wearing a Nazi armband.

16/09/2015, 10:34 PM
Provisional Squad announced on Thursday, I expect McClean will be in it.

DannyInvincible
17/09/2015, 8:55 AM
It's not as if he is wearing a Nazi armband.

Indeed. :) I said what I said with a very heavy dose of sarcasm. I have great admiration for both Corbyn and James McClean. If you're going to accuse McClean of eejitry, as Fanning did, you might as well accuse Corbyn of the same, which would be just nonsensical.

DannyInvincible
17/09/2015, 8:55 AM

James loves the provisionals.

punkrocket
17/09/2015, 9:15 AM

So when is the official one out.. er.. I mean the real one, I mean..oh never mind.

DeLorean
17/09/2015, 9:39 AM

Continuity is important.

17/09/2015, 10:19 AM
I can't believe its not the real squad....announcement.

18/09/2015, 4:42 AM

I must admit I stole that joke from another forum!!

18/09/2015, 4:44 AM
Have they gone away yet? Or will they join up later?

(this is desperate stuff but all my own work :p )

DannyInvincible
29/09/2015, 8:59 AM
Another charitable gesture by James: http://www.derrynow.com/news/big-hearted-james-mcclean-to-make-young-derry-girls-christmas-wish-come-true/46243

The West Bromwich and Republic of Ireland international (pictured) has offered pay for a special cycle for the little girl, who has spina bifida and has to use a wheelchair.

William Sweeney said the family had set up a Facebook page to raise funds to get his goddaughter, Kaylee, the £1,500 hand cycle for Christmas.

However, he has revealed the family have been contacted by the former Derry City winger who has offered to pay for the cycle.

In a message posted on the fundraising page, Creggan man McClean, a father of two, posted: “Lad that 1500 for the bike al pay it.”

William described the gesture as “amazing.”

He added: “The family set up a wee page trying to raise £1,500 to get her a hand cycle for Christmas.

“James McClean seen the page and has offered to pay the money.

“Me and my family can’t thank him enough. He truly is a legend with a heart of gold.”

Olé Olé
29/09/2015, 9:26 AM
Another charitable gesture by James: http://www.derrynow.com/news/big-hearted-james-mcclean-to-make-young-derry-girls-christmas-wish-come-true/46243

Ah jesus. Before I get too carried away, can someone who saw WBA v Everton last night tell me he was crap?

http://westbrom.com/forum/index.php?topic=17213.50 Seems to have got a decent reaction here (2 positive and 1 stating he worked hard but didn't offer much threat or quality).

gastric
29/09/2015, 9:39 AM

Could be the new host of Jim Will Fix It!;)

29/09/2015, 10:09 AM
Ah jesus. Before I get too carried away, can someone who saw WBA v Everton last night tell me he was crap?

http://westbrom.com/forum/index.php?topic=17213.50 Seems to have got a decent reaction here (2 positive and 1 stating he worked hard but didn't offer much threat or quality).
pretty much sums it up - worked hard but didn't create much. had one decent chance to make it three-nil when a ball broke to him outside the area, but he snatched at the chance and put it high and wide.

Fixer82
05/10/2015, 9:57 PM
Shame he's suspended. Watched West Bron's second half V Palace on Saturday and he was west Brom's only bright spark.
I don't remember him giving the ball away and he cut a very frustrated figure at his team-mates' inability to pass the ball properly

DeLorean
17/10/2015, 4:47 PM
Apparently McClean almost caused a riot by giving the Sunderland fans a fist pump after West Brom beat them 1-0 at The Hawthorns today. Good man James, things were pretty calm there for a month or so. Can't be having that.

17/10/2015, 5:04 PM
This is it I think just about off the screen at about 0.07

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZgFR8klWNHk

He is a bit unlucky if it were not for widescreen the incident would not have been recorded!

Olé Olé
17/10/2015, 5:12 PM
Bit rich seeing Graham taking umbrage with someone sticking it to the Sunderland supporters. Cattermole wasn't long after him getting stuck in, as would be expected.

You can see Gardner giving McClean a telling off as he walks him off the field.

He's a passionate boy is our James and I'm sure that he endured no end of abuse down that end of the field either.

17/10/2015, 5:12 PM
http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/west-bromwich-albions-james-mcclean-10281222

Olé Olé
17/10/2015, 5:16 PM
http://westbrom.com/forum/index.php?topic=17309.0

Mixed views from the Baggies fans on the incident and on his performance but the consensus is that he did well. One supporter asserting that he's just a workhorse with more saying he played well.

I think it's hilarious. Pulis hit the nail on the head, he just celebrated on the field after the game. He endured endless abuse from that section of support, it seems. Pretty pathetic by Graham charging over trying to act the hard man in front of the supporters.

17/10/2015, 5:34 PM
I saw a little bit of the match and it included some good play from McClean, he seemed
confident, looked to be having a good game.

17/10/2015, 5:56 PM
James McClean ‘not the sharpest tool in the box’ says Pulis after WBA-Sunderland melee

http://www.the42.ie/james-mcclean-controversy-west-brom-sunderland-2395013-Oct2015/

http://i1.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article6652652.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/West-Brom-vs-Sunderland.jpg

A bit unfair that, I guess he is just trying to defuse the situation.

Actually that is qoted out of context he actuall said

"He's not the sharpest tool in the box, but he's a smashing lad"

Wolfman
17/10/2015, 6:18 PM
Nothing about nothing.

17/10/2015, 6:21 PM
Player gets abuse for 90 minutes and then decides to do a fist pump at the end. Big deal. I'd have done an Adebayor (When he scored for City vs Arsenal) in the same position. Good on him I say.

NeverFeltBetter
17/10/2015, 8:16 PM
McClean is just branded now. Anything he does in a game, other than play football, is hyper-anaylsed for something to get a few hits or sell a few papers.

17/10/2015, 8:50 PM
Speaking of newspapers, the acid test of public, the comment section of the Daily Mail, is more favourable to McClean than
not.

This is the highest rated comment.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3277318/Tony-Pulis-says-James-McClean-not-sharpest-tool-box-West-Brom-star-celebrates-win-away-fans.html

Hold on a second. The man was subject to sectarian abuse for most of the game by more than just a few fans. He reacted in the perfect manner. When Henry did it away in eastern Europe after getting racist chants, he was considered ( and rightly so) a legend. The same when Walcott put up the 2-0 to spurs. It was McCleans choice not to wear a poppy. If one is forced to wear a symbol, regardless of what it represents, good or bad, it kills the message behind it. The same when he didn't stand to the national anthem. It's his choice. No clubs ges ever play national anthems for this reason prior to games, and to have played it that day was just wrong. Football shouldn't be about race, beliefs, sexual orientation, political views etc. It's a game where everyone should be welcome and not asked to get involved in anything that has nothing to do with the game.

17/10/2015, 11:34 PM
Scummy Sunderland fans/players can dish out abuse all during the game but can't take it when it when it's returned in a small dose after the game. What a bunch of low grade cowardly whiners. McClean has nothing to answer to.

NeverFeltBetter
18/10/2015, 12:18 AM
McClean articles write themselves at this point. "...latest in a series of incidents", "courts controversy", "well known for his brash attitude" etc, etc. All because of that stupid flower.

18/10/2015, 3:33 AM
Poor form from James. Heart on his sleeve stuff.
He's a professional footballer and whilst he shouldn't have to put up with any kind of obuse, that doesn't mean he can retaliate or provocate.

18/10/2015, 7:52 AM
Poor form from James. Heart on his sleeve stuff.
He's a professional footballer and whilst he shouldn't have to put up with any kind of obuse, that doesn't mean he can retaliate or provocate.

easily provoked so. a couple of fist pumps a good 30m from the sunderland fans?! a total non event in my book

18/10/2015, 9:49 AM
Watched it a few times, there's nothing in it. Graham starts it IMO by squaring up to McClean, and the rest of the squad join in.

18/10/2015, 9:57 AM
Watched it a few times, there's nothing in it. Graham starts it IMO by squaring up to McClean, and the rest of the squad join in.
He leaves the rest of the both sets of players to go down to the Sunderland fans and gives a couple of fist pumps. No need for it and he's an idiot for doing it.

DeLorean
18/10/2015, 10:18 AM
Well I'd hardly say there's nothing in it, it is what it is, a fist pump to the opposition supporters. Just a matter of opinion then whether one considers that his entitlement or whether he should be professional enough to turn the other cheek. I like him and can see both sides, but it's pretty obvious it would be more beneficial for his club who pay him a decent wage, his own reputation and the general safety inside the stadium if he left it off, but I can see the temptation and a part of me loves him for it, I must admit.