View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989
31/12/2012, 2:04 PM
Anybody who seriously uses the 'anybody who knows anything about football would know .....' line, deserves castration.
Castigation will do fine for now.
I actually took it seriously. Amazing what a leading "But" will do for a sentence!
02/01/2013, 8:03 PM
Seems to be playing centrally as Sunderland are being monstered by Liverpool. Was hustled off the ball on the edge of his own box just now and then got booked for a silly foul in a dangerous position.
12/01/2013, 3:35 PM
Goall for McClean tucked it in from a narrow angle under the keeper from about 4? yards out out the left.
12/01/2013, 3:36 PM
Goal McClean: "There's a touch of good fortune about Sunderland's third goal as Stephane Sessegnon's miscued effort falls straight to James McClean, who finishes from a tight angle. No question that the Black Cats are good value for their lead though; West Ham have been poor."
12/01/2013, 4:56 PM
Well taken goal by McClean who had a good game today.
He's the highest scoring Irish midfielder in the EPL.
12/01/2013, 10:17 PM
Well taken goal by McClean who had a good game today.
He's the highest scoring Irish midfielder in the EPL.
Oh I was going comment on that, then I realised that I have to read the word Irish the first time,
I thought you said he was highest scoring *midfielder* in the EPL at first!!!
Anyhow, he had another chance at a goal terrific shot and I thought a terrific save.
ArdeeBhoy
13/01/2013, 10:44 AM
Surely, he's still 'rubbish'?
Irish_Praha
13/01/2013, 4:11 PM
Yes he is finished. Think of the last few decent games like a chicken who keeps moving after it's head has been cut off a last fulrry before his careere comes to a sudden and permanent end.
13/01/2013, 4:22 PM
Oh God, I forgot he was finished. Why is this thread still open?
13/01/2013, 4:32 PM
Apparently the sudden and permanent end will come during April's collapse to the relegation zone, after MON has flogged him mercilessly, playing him for the full 90 minutes in game after game.
ped_ped
19/01/2013, 11:40 PM
Wonderful, well-reasoned article here (http://www.ftbpro.com/posts/lawrence.rosenberg/107316/top-5-most-hated-players?ref=fb_post&team=Arsenal) naming McClean as the most hated footballer of the moment.
DannyInvincible
19/01/2013, 11:57 PM
Ha, that reads like a parody. Can't believe the guy's for real. He does look about 12 in his Twitter profile photo, mind.
Grafter
20/01/2013, 12:05 AM
Wonderful, well-reasoned article here (http://www.ftbpro.com/posts/lawrence.rosenberg/107316/top-5-most-hated-players?ref=fb_post&team=Arsenal) naming McClean as the most hated footballer of the moment.
Probably a stellar career in ITV sport beckons for the kid!:rolleyes:
20/01/2013, 12:15 AM
I agree with the 12 year old.
20/01/2013, 12:17 AM
This kid needs to be taught a lesson DI. He needs one of your eligibility beatdowns...
I mean, I really, really hate McClean too* - who doesn't - but this Lawrence Rosenberg is just a bit clueless.
*joke, joke, relax geysir, ArdeeBhoy etc...
Grafter
20/01/2013, 12:19 AM
I agree with the 12 year old.
I expected an ironic smiley after that statement.... you'll have to expand on why you agree with the child...?
20/01/2013, 4:14 AM
Hmmm.
20/01/2013, 9:05 AM
And now that we've all read that can we park any discussion about it in case it gives one of us an ulcer?
20/01/2013, 9:08 AM
That article just gives us a glimpse of an insight into the murky hateful mentality of some rationally challenged people, who, emboldened by a general prevailing level of prejudice/ignorance and probably craving attention since being ignored and treated like a bad smell all their life, then delve into their own murkiness to vent their stupidity on the theme of their perceptions of McClean.
Like the said person 'Im just expressing an opinion' :D
20/01/2013, 9:25 AM
Not much to report on McClean on the field yesterday, he had about 20 mins as a sub at a time when Wigan had all the ball. He had not much direct involvement while he was on. O'Shea had a busy time in the 2nd half and generally did well.
Fortunately Sunderland picked up another 3 points to strengthen their league position, before they become victims of fate, the annual collapse of a MON team.:eek:
ArdeeBhoy
20/01/2013, 12:37 PM
Surely his international career is now over...
Given he didn't play until so late in the game?
Crosby87
30/01/2013, 11:36 AM
http://cdn.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/multimedia/dynamic/00736/James_McClean_3_736430t.jpg
James and Erin set to be married.
is that the new trend amongst the WAGs? Earrings match your eyebrows?
Sullivinho
30/01/2013, 8:41 PM
That marriage won't last six months. He'll be found out. One-trick pony.
30/01/2013, 9:12 PM
That marriage won't last six months. He'll be found out. One-trick pony.
He's not matrimonial class. Boyfriend material at best.
31/01/2013, 7:52 AM
Look to the positives - 'McClean scores, at last!'
Though I was mainly watching the Wigan game, I was glancing over at the Sunderland game against Swansea, it looked to be a dreadful game.
I suspect the recent rejuvenation effect, caused by MON pinning up that RIP message from Charlie on the dressing room door, has run its course.
31/01/2013, 8:06 AM
Survival instinct is strong but they'll run out of steam eventually. And if they don't, I'll delete any post that suggested they would.
31/01/2013, 3:03 PM
Which RIP message is that and who is Charlie?
ArdeeBhoy
31/01/2013, 4:06 PM
Possibly up thread? From CD?
DannyInvincible
05/02/2013, 11:55 AM
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/529366_554846621200755_187848484_n.jpg
Flamboyant peacockery now! What ever will this young controvertialist do next?!
05/02/2013, 11:59 AM
#gawa
Sullivinho
05/02/2013, 12:15 PM
He looks like yer man from that survival show on discovery..
http://www.tacticalintelligence.net/images/david_canterbury.jpg
05/02/2013, 12:44 PM
He's making room for a few more tattoos.
https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/529366_554846621200755_187848484_n.jpg
for a fella that refused to wear a poppy, he's some tulip! ;)
05/02/2013, 3:56 PM
you all know that's for Today FM's Shave or Dye and most of the squad had it done too, right?
05/02/2013, 4:22 PM
Clearly we didn't know that tets.
05/02/2013, 4:29 PM
Score a goal hopefully.
Hibs4Ever
07/02/2013, 6:22 AM
Yet another terrible performance from him last night. What the fook was all the hype about!
07/02/2013, 1:53 PM
Yet another terrible performance from him last night. What the fook was all the hype about!
The hype was about Trap not picking him. He's suffering from 2nd season syndrome as many people suspected would happen. The usual media stuff. Hopefully he'll get off the Sunderland bench and start playing again or......well we know the rest from experience.
DannyInvincible
07/02/2013, 2:06 PM
John O'Shea on McClean (and Brady), albeit before last night's game: http://www.football.co.uk/republic_of_ireland/john_o_shea_wants_james_mcclean_to__cut_loose___rs s3691779.shtml
Skipper John O'Shea has told winger James McClean to cut loose as he attempts to establish himself in the Republic of Ireland team.
The 23-year-old Sunderland winger will win his seventh senior cap in Wednesday night's friendly against Poland at the Aviva Stadium after enduring a relatively slow start to his international career.
O'Shea said: "It's a fantastic opportunity for James. He hasn't played the last couple of games for Sunderland, but just before that a couple of months ago, he was scoring goals again and starting to show what I know especially James is capable of and what he has shown in the last couple of days in training."
He continued: "The maturity shows, especially defensively. He probably does it too much - he helps out his full-back too much. He probably needs to concentrate more on his attacking game.
"It's a great opportunity for him and I am more than confident he will take it with both hands because he has got the hunger to do well.
"Once you are doing the right things off the pitch, it should come right for you on it, and he has definitely been doing that."
McClean will line up on the left with 21-year-old Robbie Brady occupying the right wing weeks after taking the tough decision to leave Manchester United, the club he supports, for Hull in a bid to play regular first-team football.
O'Shea, of course, learned his trade at Old Trafford and eventually managed to force his way into Sir Alex Ferguson's plans, but he praised Brady for his bravery.
He said: "It's a very brave decision. I suppose in the back of a young lad's mind, you are thinking, 'I could get a chance, I could get a chance'. I had a couple of loan moves before it worked out for me with the first team at United, and there's always that doubt in your mind, will you get that chance? It's one of those things. I was fortunate, I got the chance and I was able to take it.
"Robbie could have waited, but you kind of get the feeling from the manager there if you are going to get that chance. Robbie was back at United for a few weeks training and he thought he might have been involved maybe in one or two games, and when wasn't, he has made the decision. It's a very brave one and I think one in the long term he will benefit from massively."
07/02/2013, 2:21 PM
I didn't fall for the hype last year when people were saying he should be in ahead of McGeady or Duff. At best he was a sub option for competitive games then.
I think for sure he deserves to be in the team, in the absence of Duff and in ahead of Brady.
ie if we are to go with 2 wide midfielders. Also he is a good sub option.
I compare him with our available options.
Some people need to observe the effort he put in last night and the effect it had. The Polish right back should have been sent off.
Possibly Brady will be a better starting option, but not now.
07/02/2013, 3:47 PM
Why ahead of Brady?
07/02/2013, 4:25 PM
He's a better option than Brady now because he's the stronger player to cover all the important areas of wide midfield, both defensively and offensively.
Last night, Brady did not make a case to displace McClean.
McClean does not have a case to answer as there was none made against him last night by Brady.
But Brady has made a case to be on the subs bench and can be used as sub until that time he has shown more. He has the ability.
Of all the subs made in our game it's highly likely that if we are playing with 2 wide midfielders, one of them will be subbed at some stage.
07/02/2013, 4:30 PM
Just thinking, was McClean given the nod on the left because he'd work harder than Brady, or possibly McGeady (who does work hard), and would provide better cover for the inexperienced Cunningham, like Kilbane in front of Harte instead of Duff?
08/02/2013, 1:11 PM
McClean picked up an ankle injury during the game against Poland which has him sidelined.
Probably was that first half, 2 footed studs up, horror lunge, by that hoor (Glick?) which connected with McClean's ankles.
gastric
10/02/2013, 9:03 AM
Shallow read from the Indo!
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mcclean-stands-firm-over-poppy-29059336.html
10/02/2013, 1:25 PM
Stirring.
DannyInvincible
12/02/2013, 5:30 PM
James is back on Twitter. And responding to trolls again: http://balls.ie/football/james-mcclean-is-responding-to-trolls-on-twitter-again/
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc12/poguemahone85/mcclean_zps03097876.png
http://i472.photobucket.com/albums/rr83/jjpvideoview/antimated%20icons/popcorn-gazelle-1.gif
12/02/2013, 5:40 PM
Good god, it's only a couple of days since he was talking about how he hopes the club let him back on twitter so he can show how much more mature he is.
ArdeeBhoy
12/02/2013, 5:48 PM
Yeah, this time he should definitely stay away from it...
Just block the eejits.