View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989
30/11/2012, 8:48 AM
My favourite 'study' was a Hungarian guy who announced to the world he would make a chess grand champion to prove the hypothesis, found a woman willing to give him kids as test subjects, and did it. His three daughters were (according to Syed) the best female players ever, the eldest was the first ever female grand master, and the youngest was the youngest grandmaster ever, of either gender. The middle daughter had to settle for a mere 4 chess olympiad medals. Remarkably, people didn't believe his theory about practice, instead saying he must have 'good chess genes' essentially
Wow what a great Dad! He used his kids as a science experiment. The fact he thought that way, should give you an insight into the kind of person he is. The kind that could breed a chess champion. Not really for this debate, but chess is less sport, more brain power, neural networks and artificial intelligence(if you ever programme a chess game its all about making the programme think for itself, based on a set amount of moves and the best possible outcome) coded into the brain. There are only certain types who could make the grade at chess, and you wouldn't find them in the lower/average IQ range.
Funny the snooker comparison, it was this example that kicked off my first discussion on the matter. A friend tried to make out if he practiced enough he would be as good as say ronnie o'sullivan. I remember thinking if only i'd been born a millionaire and then i would have paid for him to take a year out of college train that much, and disprove his theory.
30/11/2012, 8:50 AM
Nurture versus nature lads - literally thousands of psychologists, researchers and educators haven't ever reached any kind of definitive conclusion. I doubt you will here.
I think comedians would make good psychologists, but to be honest researchers, educators and psychologists don't have much in the way of science, and without sounding facetious or arrogant, I wouldn't put too much weight behind their studies. I do believe there is a definite scientific answer somewhere in there.
peadar1987
30/11/2012, 8:54 AM
I think comedians would make good psychologists, but to be honest researchers, educators and psychologists don't have much in the way of science, and without sounding facetious or arrogant, I wouldn't put too much weight behind their studies. I do believe there is a definite scientific answer somewhere in there.
Almost certainly, but the crusty old ethics committees won't allow the necessary twisted and immoral twin studies. They're holding back James McClean's career I tell you!
30/11/2012, 9:14 AM
but to be honest researchers, educators and psychologists don't have much in the way of science, and without sounding facetious or arrogant, I wouldn't put too much weight behind their studies. I do believe there is a definite scientific answer somewhere in there.
Don't worry, you don't sound facetious or arrogant, just totally f***king stupid. "Researchers don't have much in the way of science." Jesus wept, what a comment.
Who, if not researchers, is going to conduct the research to find the scientific answer you hope for?
30/11/2012, 9:37 AM
I know your background and you would be sensitive to the issue. Psychologists, educators and researchers, I gathered you meant a combination of educators and psychologists, did the research. That's my point. IF i misunderstood and you meant there was a 3rd independent element then fair enough, I didn't read it like that, and it was my mistake. You don't have to be a scientist to do research...:)
Look at the end of the day, I take anything thats not scientifically proven with a pinch of salt. Its all opinion and circumstantial to a point otherwise. Excuse me if i upset you, but thats my belief. I come from a different way of thinking than you.
I think there is also a 3rd element in the natural ability v nurturing, which is athleticism, it probably fits into natural ability moreso, but its not something I see as pure natural ability.
ArdeeBhoy
30/11/2012, 10:15 AM
There's an awful lot of sh*te in this thread recently.
Which normally would let go, but some of it, is the same eejits moaning about similar in other threads.
Lose the Hypocrisy, please...
Crosby87
30/11/2012, 11:38 AM
Let's not forget that you all probably mean to say "Psychiatrist" rather than "Psychologist". The former are actual doctors while the later are mere chiropracters. If it helps you, great, but.... It is essentially unsanctioned. Like Voodoo.
They call themselves "Doctors" but....do not have any scholarly bonafides to say the least. The phrase in the industry is 1 Psychiatrist equals 10 Psychologists. There is even a scene in Sopranos about it.
30/11/2012, 11:42 AM
There's an awful lot of sh*te in this thread recently.
Which normally would let go, but some of it, is the same eejits moaning about similar in other threads.
Lose the Hypocrisy, please...
The ironing is deliciouos
A N Mouse
30/11/2012, 12:05 PM
Funny the snooker comparison, it was this example that kicked off my first discussion on the matter. A friend tried to make out if he practiced enough he would be as good as say ronnie o'sullivan. I remember thinking if only i'd been born a millionaire and then i would have paid for him to take a year out of college train that much, and disprove his theory.
Not snooker, and don't think the guy is aiming for the elite of the elite, but this may interest you
http://thedanplan.com/theplan.php
30/11/2012, 1:45 PM
Not snooker, and don't think the guy is aiming for the elite of the elite, but this may interest you
http://thedanplan.com/theplan.php
"On April 5th, 2010, Dan quit his day job as a commercial photographer" and he has a donate link on his page...I've just read it mind and that's what stood out for me straight away.
2.5 years on how is he doing?
DannyInvincible
30/11/2012, 2:14 PM
Let's not forget that you all probably mean to say "Psychiatrist" rather than "Psychologist". The former are actual doctors while the later are mere chiropracters. If it helps you, great, but.... It is essentially unsanctioned. Like Voodoo.
They call themselves "Doctors" but....do not have any scholarly bonafides to say the least. The phrase in the industry is 1 Psychiatrist equals 10 Psychologists. There is even a scene in Sopranos about it.
What are you talking about? :confused:
Psychology is the scientific study of mental functions and behaviours, which is what is being referred to. Psychiatry is the branch of medicine devoted to the study and treatment of mental disorders.
30/11/2012, 2:34 PM
I thin the problem is it is not nature v nurture is it more a case of nature and nurture.
You need innate ability and plenty of practise.
Shame the scientists didn't ask me earlier.:)
30/11/2012, 3:01 PM
Ya its not mutually exclusive, but one is definitely more dependent on the other.
DI, his post was tongue in cheek, but I'd agree completely with him. If I were to choose a route it would always be Psychiatry.
His point is one is wishy washy, the other is not. One is interpretation, one is fact.
http://thedanplan.com/stats.php interesting targets he is trying to hit on the putting. He is well off. But his pars have increased from august to november 2012, unless the average up until august was for more than 3 months.
wonder88
08/12/2012, 3:39 PM
I see he is getting booed by some of the crowd at the home game today against Chelsea. I suppose since he is not Jewish or Black it is OK, would not expect the Irish media to highlight this. After the job done on Aonthony Stokes last week and the booing of Coleman recently I think it is worrying.
What is worrying? The booing of Irish players?
He's been poor again today by the way.
Sullivinho
08/12/2012, 3:44 PM
It has all the sinister hallmarks of gingerism.
But they clapped Colback on...it goes way deeper than simple gingerism Sullvinho...way deeper than the two of us could even imagine...
08/12/2012, 4:05 PM
I see he is getting booed by some of the crowd at the home game today against Chelsea. I suppose since he is not Jewish or Black it is OK, would not expect the Irish media to highlight this. After the job done on Aonthony Stokes last week and the booing of Coleman recently I think it is worrying.
Why was Coleman booed? Did I miss that?
McClean was poor until late on when he got a few good crosses in. Ivanovic never looked worried when he had the ball at his feet.
08/12/2012, 4:07 PM
A decent striker would have struck home at least one of McClean's many inviting crosses.
I wonder would O'Neill be considering a short term loanee from the MLS?
08/12/2012, 4:09 PM
A decent striker would have struck home at least one of McClean's many inviting crosses.
I wonder would O'Neill be considering a short term loanee from the MLS?
How is Darren O'Dea going to help?
08/12/2012, 10:05 PM
Probably the presence of Chelsea fans multiplied the booing tenfold.
But I thought they had undergone a sudden transformation and become sensitive to ethnic slurs and such, so any booing (in all probability) was just normal football related booing.
youngirish
09/12/2012, 9:47 AM
How is Darren O'Dea going to help?
I ask myself that same question everytime I see him confirmed in the national team starting 11.
ArdeeBhoy
11/12/2012, 12:20 AM
According to MOTD, he set up their two best chances other than their goal...
Was even praised by Hansen. Worrying?
ArdeeBhoy
11/12/2012, 9:06 AM
And the latest WSC piece about you-know what, c/o. our very Rotund 'friend' in the West Mids.
Luckily RM's piece is more balanced...
http://i827.photobucket.com/albums/zz196/BillMcComish/poppy-day.jpg
DannyInvincible
11/12/2012, 10:04 AM
The Londonderry Democratic Unionist Party MP, Gregory Campbell, alluded to this in a radio interview in which he mentioned a series of other incidents, and said that McClean had abused the freedom of choice he had been given by those who had lost their lives in the wars.
Did Campbell actually say that? What an absurd and nonsensical thing to say.
ArdeeBhoy
11/12/2012, 10:14 AM
Be fair DI, GC's completely par for the course. And his 'constituency' of paranoid freaks...
TrapAPony
11/12/2012, 6:49 PM
Scores after 2 minutes against Reading
theworm2345
Goal McClean. Federici flaps at a corner, ball falls to the edge of the box, McClean, heading backward, strikes it on the turn in to the bottom corner at the near post.
DannyInvincible
Great finish from McClean to put Sunderland 1-0 up at home to Reading.
DannyInvincible
11/12/2012, 7:13 PM
McClean playing very well so far. According to the commentators on Fox Soccer, Steve Guppy is mentoring McClean in training.
11/12/2012, 7:34 PM
Dam I caught the game on about 4 minutes so I missed it.
Hopefully they show it now at half time.
11/12/2012, 7:37 PM
He's just taking up where he left off at last Saturday's game,
anyone who knows anything about football should know that. :D
11/12/2012, 7:46 PM
Much needed result for MON, assuming they win, anyone see his recent interview were his belief was questioned by
the reporter?
He gave a great reply.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lzne7kAYlqg
About 2:10 I bet the reporter wished he had not bothered asking.
11/12/2012, 8:47 PM
The Fox sports coverage of the premeere is awesome.
11/12/2012, 8:49 PM
Where do you see Fox sports?
DannyInvincible
11/12/2012, 8:52 PM
I caught it being streamed.
peadar1987
12/12/2012, 9:35 AM
Where do you see Fox sports?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sn9otNdqPXo
The Yanks really know their soccerball!
12/12/2012, 7:03 PM
Kill -mon-ock. Although to be fair they do pronounce it as it is spelt.
They certainly don't undersell things in the USA.
15/12/2012, 2:27 PM
He just robbed Ferdinand at right back through on goal from a narrow angle, would have helped if he was right footed from that position
shot hit keeper.
NeverFeltBetter
16/12/2012, 4:36 PM
I thought he wasn't great overall, Phil Jones dealt with him easily enough. Just brushed him off the ball late in the first inside the penalty area like he was some 12 year old from the Carrington academy.
16/12/2012, 5:29 PM
I thought he wasn't great overall, Phil Jones dealt with him easily enough. Just brushed him off the ball late in the first inside the penalty area like he was some 12 year old from the Carrington academy.
Only saw a small part of he match, he didn't much feature in any of the highlight I saw. I could download the whole match but I think I have better thing to do than watch it lol.
26/12/2012, 4:38 PM
James had a very good game against Man City. He was hyperactive, either defending or being a handful for their defenders and his crossing continues to be generally excellent.
I think he's had a run of 5 or 6 full games now. And now that his team-mates are starting to pull their weight, the results are coming in.
But anybody who knows anything about football and who watched him play, could have seen this coming a mile away.
DannyInvincible
26/12/2012, 9:46 PM
Played very well again today, from what I've heard. I believe he got engaged yesterday as well.
Bungle
26/12/2012, 10:10 PM
Good to hear he's back in the team and showing some of last year's form. Hopefully Trap doesn't hold a grudge for his petulance and gives him a go in the Polish game.
27/12/2012, 12:30 AM
Played very well again today, from what I've heard. I believe he got engaged yesterday as well.
Glad to hear he's tied the missus up. I hope she's not planning poppies on the wedding day.
28/12/2012, 1:37 AM
But anybody who knows anything about football and who watched him play, could have seen this coming a mile away.
Don't do a Bonnie, you'll be castigated.
DannyInvincible
28/12/2012, 10:16 AM
'James McClean doing what he does best': http://www.journallive.co.uk/safc/safc-news/2012/12/28/james-mcclean-doing-what-he-does-best-61634-32505195/#ixzz2GKthXxjn
JAMES McClean has gone “back to basics” in a bid to rediscover his golden form of last season.
The Sunderland winger revealed he has simplified his game in recent weeks and put in extra hours on the training ground.
It is a formula which has worked because the Irishman’s performances have improved greatly, with his best display of the campaign coming in the Boxing Day defeat of Manchester City.
McClean (pictured left), 23, has looked much more confident and happier over the festive period, which so far has resulted in nine points from a possible 12 for his team.
And he has put this change down to going back to doing what he does best. Asked why his form has improved, McClean said: “I’ve just gone back to basics really and I’m working hard.
“I had a little break in the summer and that was the first break I’ve had in two years. I came back and it took a bit of getting used to.
“I kept working hard and I had confidence in my ability, so I always knew I would get back to my best because I knew what I could do. Hopefully now I can push on as well.
“It has been up and down in 2012, but we have finished quite strongly. Hopefully we can take the form we have shown in December into 2013 and that will
make it a nice New Year for the fans and for us.”
McClean believes that fortune, as well as improved performances, have been responsible for Sunderland’s season turning around.
He said: “I genuinely think we have started to get a bit more luck. We were not playing too badly, but everything seemed to be going against us during games. That luck has changed a bit in recent weeks. The important thing is that we all stayed together as a team and now we are getting our rewards. Confidence is high and the luck seems to have changed for us.
“I would have to say that we are looking more like the team everyone expected us to look like after the couple of signings in the summer.
“It’s been plain to see in the last few weeks just how much quality we have and it’s more like the real Sunderland, the one we had been expecting.
“We will take a lot more confidence from that and we just need to keep getting points on the board.”
Sunderland’s 1-0 win over the current Premier League champions could well be seen as a watershed moment if, as everyone connected with the club hopes, the team begin to drag themselves up the Premier League.
This was the best performance by Sunderland this season, played out in the best atmosphere at the Stadium of Light.
McClean said: “It was an incredible feeling last season when we beat Manchester City at home, so to beat the league champions again is fantastic.
“The atmosphere was amazing inside the Stadium of Light, so for the rest of the lads and me to be involved in that is something special.
“It was all about getting in the faces of the City players. We learned that from last season.
“They don’t like that and it was just about getting on top of them to try to stop them from playing football.
“We were confident, so there was a genuine belief among us that we could beat the champions again because we have now won three of our last four.
“The only defeat of that run was at Old Trafford, where we also gave a good account of ourselves, so we do feel good about ourselves at the minute and rightly so.”
28/12/2012, 6:04 PM
Nice to hear he is getting back to his best.
31/12/2012, 1:56 PM
Don't do a Bonnie, you'll be castigated.
Anybody who seriously uses the 'anybody who knows anything about football would know .....' line, deserves castration.