View Full Version : Bohs in financial trouble - FAI Licencing called into question again?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

13/11/2010, 7:07 PM
there was something in one of the papers today lads that if bohs are demoted that monaghan utd would take their place instead.. how could this be??

jinxy lilywhite
13/11/2010, 7:31 PM
I suppose that depends on the state that drogheda are in.

this is sad to see happen and in comical way is turning into an annual event.

passerrby
14/11/2010, 12:13 PM
there was something in one of the papers today lads that if bohs are demoted that monaghan utd would take their place instead.. how could this be??
proberly a Journo who has took a wild guess instead of doing some research.. whod have thought

ndrog
14/11/2010, 12:20 PM
I suppose that depends on the state that drogheda are in.

this is sad to see happen and in comical way is turning into an annual event.

But we wont know what " state " we are in until we know what division we are playing in . As we all know with sponsorship etc that it will be much easier to get money etc in the prem than the the graveyard . It needs to be sorted Asap either way or we will have no team to play in the prem . Cant see the fai wanting bohs to go down anyway tbh .

monsexile
14/11/2010, 1:21 PM
You've got my hopes up now (though I wish no ill will to Bohs or Fingal or anyone else), what paper was it?

15/11/2010, 1:09 PM
You've got my hopes up now (though I wish no ill will to Bohs or Fingal or anyone else), what paper was it?

Was listening to Richie Ryan on Phantom this morning. Was talking about a fundraising gig this weekend at 20quid a pop.

White Horse
15/11/2010, 1:12 PM
I didn't know Geldof was a Bohs fan.

legendz
15/11/2010, 1:41 PM

At the end of the season Drogheda were relegated. Though 10th Premier is higher than 2nd or 3rd in the First Division, Monaghan and Waterford played in the Premier Divison play-offs. The Premier Division play-offs at that stage are deemed to have a higher rank than finishing 10th in the Premier. 10th in the Premier are already relegated with no chance of retaining their status. Premier Division play-offs side whether Premier 8th and 9th or First Division 2nd and 3rd have a shot at Premier football giving them the higher rank.
If a side was demoted before the play-offs, it would have gone like last year when Bray instead of being automatically relegated got a chance through the play-offs.

15/11/2010, 1:48 PM
Depends if Bohs are demoted or made to finish 10th (and hence automatic relegation), bumping everyone up a place, I suppose

15/11/2010, 1:49 PM
The Premier Division play-offs at that stage are deemed to have a higher rank than finishing 10th in the Premier. 10th in the Premier are already relegated with no chance of retaining their status. Premier Division play-offs side whether Premier 8th and 9th or First Division 2nd and 3rd have a shot at Premier football giving them the higher rank.
If a side was demoted before the play-offs, it would have gone like last year when Bray instead of being automatically relegated got a chance through the play-offs.
Whats your basis for this?

15/11/2010, 2:14 PM
I didn't know Geldof was a Bohs fan.

LOL 2 for the day.

monsexile
15/11/2010, 2:19 PM
Got it.If Bohs go down, Drogheda, Waterford and Monaghan playoff over one leg on a pitch with three goals. The winner plays the Bray wall. Loser gets to choose Bohs' new name.

White Horse
15/11/2010, 3:41 PM
Got it.If Bohs go down, Drogheda, Waterford and Monaghan playoff over one leg on a pitch with three goals. The winner plays the Bray wall. Loser gets to choose Bohs' new name.

That is the clearest summary yet of the FAI's position.

15/11/2010, 7:22 PM

think it was the mail as far as i can remember monsexile

hoops1
15/11/2010, 8:44 PM
Loser gets to choose Bohs' new name.

# The U20's formerly known as the big club

bluemovie
16/11/2010, 1:54 PM

Ok, but it's our turn to choose the referee.

hoops1
17/11/2010, 7:21 AM
How did the meeting go? Whats the plan Europa league next year?

17/11/2010, 10:06 AM
From the Indo (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/bohs-in-new-cash-appeal-to-supporters-2423898.html):

BOHEMIANS last night made an appeal to their wider fan base as they admitted they are well short of their overall target needed tokeep the club alive.

17/11/2010, 3:17 PM
It did sound rather ambitious. Surely they need a big transfer fee to have any real chance of making it?

17/11/2010, 3:20 PM
Well its a serious of targets

The first one is the Revenue this friday (107k). They might get that.

If they do, they can think of another way of selling dalymount and they'll be OK

17/11/2010, 3:22 PM
It's in the Herald apparently that the players aren't happy with the E100k offer to buy their contracts out, and want E200k instead.

Edit - that was per Dodge on the Pat's forum. If it's not true, blame him! :p

peadar1987
17/11/2010, 3:32 PM
It's in the Herald apparently that the players aren't happy with the E100k offer to buy their contracts out, and want E200k instead.

Fair play to the players. I don't want to see any club go bust, but they have to collectively show the clubs that it's not okay to offer them contracts which you have no intention of paying in full.

CMcC
17/11/2010, 3:56 PM
Fair play to the players. I don't want to see any club go bust, but they have to collectively show the clubs that it's not okay to offer them contracts which you have no intention of paying in full.

Surely its them who owe the club money after their performances throughout the season.

17/11/2010, 4:14 PM
Surely its them who owe the club money after their performances throughout the season.
Yep. Disgraceful the way they lost the league on goal difference.

PartySaint
17/11/2010, 4:26 PM
Yep. Disgraceful the way they lost the league on goal difference.

And won the Setanta Cup, Bunch of wasters

SwanVsDalton
17/11/2010, 4:39 PM

Would've thought Gareth McGlynn and Ruaidhri Higgins are fairly accustomed to contracts not being honoured. Maybe only signing the one made them complacent.

CMcC
18/11/2010, 11:50 AM
And won the Setanta Cup, Bunch of wasters

Are ye both having a laugh? Can you with any credibilty argue that the players have NOT underperformed this season.

With the squad and resources available to them they managed to :
(1) Lose a league by 2 goals that they should easily have won. (the fact they got so close says more about the other teams IMO)
(2) Lose 4 -0 in Wales?
(3) Win only slightly more than 50% if their league games
(4) Score the lowest amount of goals in the Top 5.
(5) Take 1 point from 12 against a team who finished 3rd from bottom
(6) Only perform for 90 mins in a handful of games all season.

Ask anyone with any interset in Bohs or LoI and they will say that Bohs underperformed this season consistently and that the season was a total dissappointment to them. That is down to the players on the pitch - they didnt perform to a standard remotely close to acceptable for most parts of the season.

yes they won the Setanta Cup. But that would not be my idea of success with side they had and what they demonstrated they can do.

18/11/2010, 11:53 AM
What's any of that got to do with whether or not they should be paid?

hoops1
18/11/2010, 11:56 AM
There really needs to be a thanks for the laugh button as opposed to the normal thanks one. It could be a clowns face.

18/11/2010, 12:39 PM
Are ye both having a laugh? Can you with any credibilty argue that the players have NOT underperformed this season.

(1) Lose a league by 2 points that they should easily have won. (the fact they got so close says more about the other teams IMO)
(2) Lose 4 -0 in Wales?
(3) Win only slightly more than 50% if their league games
(4) Score the lowest amount of goals in the Top 5.
(5) Take 1 point from 12 against a team who finished 3rd from bottom
(6) Only perform for 90 mins in a handful of games all season.

Ask anyone with any interset in Bohs or LoI and they will say that Bohs underperformed this season consistently and that the season was a total dissappointment to them. That is down to the players on the pitch - they didnt perform to a standard remotely close to acceptable for most parts of the season.

yes they won the Setanta Cup. But that would not be my idea of success with side they had and what they demonstrated they can do.
They did underperform but that happens. Sligo and Fingal both had full-time setups but didn't come close to the title. Should they all be sued for a year's salary as well?

oriel
18/11/2010, 12:50 PM
So even if they have 100K in the pool to buy out contracts, where does this leave them ? Is the best to expect for Bohs fans to have a PD team with ambitions no higher than staying up next season ? Is this even too optimistic ? Reading between the lines, I cant see how they will get a PD licence, and remember this is only the start, when that is applied for in Jan, they could be in much much bigger trouble. Bad times.

18/11/2010, 12:51 PM
And more importantly, if Bohs do go belly up, when do we get into the Setanta?

bluemovie
18/11/2010, 12:54 PM
(1) Lose a league by 2 points that they should easily have won.

No they didn't.

CMcC
18/11/2010, 1:09 PM
They did underperform but that happens. Sligo and Fingal both had full-time setups but didn't come close to the title. Should they all be sued for a year's salary as well?

Nobody is sueing anyone. And my initial comment re the players owing the club money was ever so slightly tongue in cheek. (Should have put a smiley on it eh Pineapple?) My subsequent post was merely a response to you and Dodge inferring that coming 2nd and winning the setanta was success for Bohs, which it clearly isnt.

Sorry Bluemovie - obviously a typo but you get the point. Corrected now.

legendz
18/11/2010, 1:14 PM
Is much blame being attributed to Fenlon. The Pat's banner read The Next Shels, with Fenlon in charge...

poster
18/11/2010, 1:16 PM
Anyone see the Bohs official twitter's latest tweet?

18/11/2010, 1:18 PM
Anyone see the Bohs official twitter's latest tweet?

Bohs fans fundraising night this Sat 20th Nov Phoenix bar, music, special guests, auction, raffle, please support

http://twitter.com/bohsofficial

Was there something after that that was removed or something?

passerrby
18/11/2010, 1:19 PM
the simple solution to this is to put dalyier on the open market ,enough will be made to paid of all debts and a few bob left for the christmas party ,at the same time applying to SDCC to be co anchor tenents in tallagh i mean club safety as well as ****ing of every rovers man in the country I mean its a win win

18/11/2010, 1:23 PM
subsequent post was merely a response to you and Dodge inferring that coming 2nd and winning the setanta was success for Bohs, which it clearly isnt

I inferred no such thing. I dind't even comment on it

Oh and the BohemianFC twitter account isn't official. It just takes feeds and reposts them. The IMF one was a mistake I'd imagine (if a funny enough one)

18/11/2010, 1:23 PM
http://twitter.com/bohsofficial

Was there something after that that was removed or something?
@bohemianfc gives an update on another national bail-out being denied.

peadar1987
18/11/2010, 1:25 PM
the simple solution to this is to put dalyier on the open market ,enough will be made to paid of all debts and a few bob left for the christmas party ,at the same time applying to SDCC to be co anchor tenents in tallagh i mean club safety as well as ****ing of every rovers man in the country I mean its a win win

Surely would make more sense to apply to Tolka if they're going to be tenants anywhere. Much closer to their core support base. Seeing as there's been no news on the sale of the ground, I assume that that's all fallen through.

18/11/2010, 1:32 PM
Nobody is sueing anyone. And my initial comment re the players owing the club money was ever so slightly tongue in cheek. (Should have put a smiley on it eh Pineapple?) My subsequent post was merely a response to you and Dodge inferring that coming 2nd and winning the setanta was success for Bohs, which it clearly isnt.

It's not a success but it's on a par with Manchester United finishing second in the EPL.

18/11/2010, 1:36 PM

The attendance of Mervue United v Salthill would be an ambitious target for every Bohs game in that case..

PartySaint
18/11/2010, 1:49 PM

As has been pointed out before not all Pats fans are called Dodge:)

I'm just comparing your wasters last season with our wasters from the season before, Your lot finished second by 2 goals, won the Setanta cup and got to the FAI Cup semi finals where as our lot just about avoided relegation on the last day of the season, I would hate to see what Bohs fans would be like if they had to put up with some of the players we had in 09

passerrby
18/11/2010, 1:55 PM
not at all if they get into the communty they could build a fanbase from the south and north side. kids in ten years will never know that bohs are from the south side.lets face most kids from the south side dont even know there is a north side
and tolka would not be an option as its future is unclear i think.
groudshare the best stadia in the country its a no brainer
question :would real bohs fans desert there club if the moved over the liffy

18/11/2010, 2:06 PM
I would hate to see what Bohs fans would be like if they had to put up with some of the players we had in 09
Tune in here in about twelve months' time.

passerrby
18/11/2010, 3:19 PM
i know its going of topic but does the location of a clubs stadia matter to its fans .for example is it important that pats are inchiore or bohs shels in tolka doesthat not have the effect of resticting you potential fanbase, and then does it follow that a teams name ie bray, monaghan, restricts you clubs fanbase if you are from a small town or area.
I kmow that it can positive thing in big areas like derry,cork etc.

PartySaint
18/11/2010, 3:25 PM
i know its going of topic but does the location of a clubs stadia matter to its fans .for example is it important that pats are inchiore or bohs shels in tolka doesthat not have the effect of resticting you potential fanbase, and then does it follow that a teams name ie bray, monaghan, restricts you clubs fanbase if you are from a small town or area.
I kmow that it can positive thing in big areas like derry,cork etc.

There was a good thread on our forum a few months back discussing would it be better if we could do what Rovers have done and move to a well populated suburb to try get more fans, somewhere like Clondalkin which would already be a Pats area, Some fans wouldn't mind this move but some (including myself) are dead against leaving Inchicore, It is where we belong, I would rather play in Richmond any day than move out of Inchicore to a stadium like the one in Tallaght, Ideally we can hopefully build a new stadium in Inchicore

passerrby
18/11/2010, 5:26 PM
I ask the question to because the name shamrock rovers does not identify with any one area in fact it draws support from all over the city and wider. If there name had been milltown rovers could they have survived the move and still continued to grow

18/11/2010, 7:38 PM
I ask the question to because the name shamrock rovers does not identify with any one area in fact it draws support from all over the city and wider. If there name had been milltown rovers could they have survived the move and still continued to grow

Very funny you should say that. Was thinking this the last night None of the big 4 Dublin clubs identify a particular area in Dublin whereas the the 2 smaller ones (kinda) do.
Shelbourne is not a place (although a road) and just happened to be the winning name of the club on a toss of the coin! It could've been Bath FC!
As a club there would be next to no younger generation people that would even guess we were from Ringsend/Irishtown.