View Full Version : Bohs in financial trouble - FAI Licencing called into question again?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

hoopy
16/02/2011, 2:39 PM
...new season but nice to see hoops still (claim to) know more about Bohs than we do ourselves :D

Sorry, forgot you knew all along what was happening at Bohs last season but just didn't want to admit it on here. Anyway, people aren't stupid believing that figure and I assume you guys had a chuckle when you read it. A lot of people supporting Rovers and Pats know Ger well and know how much he's always hated Bohemian fc. There's only one reason he'd turn down Pats for Bohs, ching ching.

marinobohs
16/02/2011, 2:52 PM
Sorry, forgot you knew all along what was happening at Bohs last season but just didn't want to admit it on here. Anyway, people aren't stupid believing that figure and I assume you guys had a chuckle when you read it. A lot of people supporting Rovers and Pats know Ger well and know how much he's always hated Bohemian fc. There's only one reason he'd turn down Pats for Bohs, ching ching.

Sorry, forgot hoops know more about Bohs than anyone at Bohs. Why believe a figure given publicly when you can make up your own ? Do tell us, will your board gloss over your own losses by waving around a copy of Bohs accounts again this year ?

Ezeikial
16/02/2011, 3:06 PM
Why believe a figure given publicly when you can make up your own ?

Straight question MB (and other Bohs fans) - do you believe the €250k budget figure quoted in the Indo?

GerByrne
16/02/2011, 3:10 PM
"A lot of people supporting Rovers and Pats know Ger well and know how much he's always hated Bohemian fc"

Being fair, Ken Oman is from Finglas but has ALWAYS followed Rovers..In fact he's playing for them for free

16/02/2011, 3:17 PM
"....when you see people coming into the club and handing over money that they do not have.." Pat Fenlon

So its not just Bohemian FC but the fans also, must be something in the air 'round Phibsborough

16/02/2011, 3:25 PM
Straight question MB (and other Bohs fans) - do you believe the €250k budget figure quoted in the Indo?

Its no more than the 7k per week budget mentioned by Dundalk fans as being theirs for the season. Do you have trouble believing that too?

16/02/2011, 3:38 PM
A lot of people supporting Rovers and Pats know Ger well and know how much he's always hated Bohemian fc

He hates them about as much as he hates Rovers in fairness. He signed for Rovers, Derry, Fingal and now Bohs because at the time, they all offered him the best deal. As a good pro should do

One of the few geuine Pats fans around the league

Ezeikial
16/02/2011, 4:08 PM
Its no more than the 7k per week budget mentioned by Dundalk fans as being theirs for the season. Do you have trouble believing that too?

Stu - is that a yes or a no?

16/02/2011, 4:11 PM
Whatever way you answer the same question of Dundalk's budget is very likely the same answer as i would give.

16/02/2011, 4:13 PM
to avoid all the needless tarting around im doing - i find 250k to be a plausible playing budget. What now? Did the sky fall in?

Can you answer my question now?

16/02/2011, 4:26 PM
Imo as Dundalk have more players signed than last year then it is logical that there has been some increase in playing budget, closer to 8k possibly.

de bowez
16/02/2011, 4:45 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/give-me-time-to-get-bohs-firing-fenlon-2542219.html

Relax everyone, no need for the big fuss after all. Bohs are operating on a prudent budget of €250k!

Pat Fenlon should immediately be head hunted for the Dept of Finance if he can assemble this squad along with "two or three more players" on that budget

If you assume that he ends up with a small squad of 16 and that the four already under contract are only costing in the region of €3,000 per week over 52 weeks, that leaves an average of €210 per week over 37 weeks for each of the remaining 12 players

New Contracts

Liam Burns
Aidan Price
Ger O’Brien
Chris Fagan
Anto Flood
Robert Bayly .
Daniel Joyce

Gary Burke
Mark Rossiter

Previously under contract

Chris O’Connor
Brian Murphy
Owen Heary
Glenn Cronin

At the moment there is no Brian or Barry Murphy in the squad. Heary is the only one that may be on a 52 week contract. Daniel Joyce is on loan.

16/02/2011, 4:52 PM
can we please leave facts out of this de bowez?

Ezeikial
16/02/2011, 4:54 PM
to avoid all the needless tarting around im doing - i find 250k to be a plausible playing budget. What now? Did the sky fall in?

250k may well be a plausible playing budget for Bohs in their current finanical circumstances, but I find it hard to accept that you believe that this is the actual reality - the numbers just dont add up in relation to the signings!!

Based on the signings of Hawkins, Bolger and Maher I would reckon Dundalks budget is certainly somewhere north of 8k.

shantykelly
16/02/2011, 5:20 PM
lot of uninformed speculation going on, seeing very little in the way of facts or supporting evidence. whilst i would tend towards skepticism, nay, cynicism, when the words fenlon and reduced/cost-effective budget are used in the same sentence, i don't have any facts, therefore any mud slinging done at bohs is purely speculative. maybe those pilloring the bohs fans could remember that, especially as some of them are actually trying to discuss the issue.

16/02/2011, 6:00 PM
250k may well be a plausible playing budget for Bohs in their current finanical circumstances, but I find it hard to accept that you believe that this is the actual reality - the numbers just dont add up in relation to the signings!!

please share those numbers with everyone so we can all be as informed as you Ezeikial. Otherwise, youre best to let this lie until you can back up your unfounded speculation.

El-Pietro
16/02/2011, 6:04 PM
jesus, at that budget we could have afforded everyone of those players, even if we had to pay them to relocate! Anto would have done nicely for a start

Ezeikial
16/02/2011, 6:17 PM
please share those numbers with everyone so we can all be as informed as you Ezeikial. Otherwise, youre best to let this lie until you can back up your unfounded speculation.

I don't know (and never claimed to know) what any Bohs player was being paid. If you read post #1193 you can easily understand the maths.

The 250K budget that is quoted in the Indo just does not add up, and I suggest that Bohs fans should we sceptical and cautious about the stuff that is being peddled from inside Dalymount Park to those who care most - Bohs fans.

I have no problem letting it lie and wish Bohs all the best for the season ahead

de bowez
16/02/2011, 6:30 PM
I don't know (and never claimed to know) what any Bohs player was being paid. If you read post #1193 you can easily understand the maths.

The 250K budget that is quoted in the Indo just does not add up, and I suggest that Bohs fans should we sceptical and cautious about the stuff that is being peddled from inside Dalymount Park to those who care most - Bohs fans.

I have no problem letting it lie and wish Bohs all the best for the season ahead

If you read my response you will see just how far off you were in post 1193.

16/02/2011, 6:30 PM

well here is what my assumptions tell me.

250k / 16 players / 36 weeks = 434.03 average per player per week. (40 week contracts make it e390.63 average per player per week).

Whose assumptions are more reasonable?

Thanks for the well wishes though (if sincere!) and best of luck to Dundalk too. I have a few quid on ye and think you'll do well.

placid casual
16/02/2011, 9:00 PM
So are Bohs safe for 6 months or so ..
nice one. look forward to the new season and our continued rivalry.

there's no fun arguin in an empty room,unless your an idiot like that keane fellow.

oman will f@@k up for us and Price will f@@k up for youse!!

dong
16/02/2011, 9:15 PM

Forgive my ignorance but have Bohs got a new board this year?

16/02/2011, 10:09 PM
This thread is on thin ice now. Any more maggot-acting and it'll be binned.

Jicked
16/02/2011, 11:00 PM
Oh dear, apparently Ruadhraí O'Connor in tomorrow's Indo will be revealing that "after #bohs seemed to be moving on yest, they took a step back today. Find out more in tomorrow's Indo"

HulaHoop
16/02/2011, 11:52 PM
Oh dear, apparently Ruadhraí O'Connor in tomorrow's Indo will be revealing that "after #bohs seemed to be moving on yest, they took a step back today. Find out more in tomorrow's Indo"

He could just mean Bohs are in for Gary O'Neill i.e. going back to a former player.

17/02/2011, 12:05 AM
Had a quick look on the Bohs forum they're none too impressed at the thoughts of signing him for a couple reasons. He sued the club recently apparently, for one, and they're concerned about what kind of wages they'd have to pay him considering Pats and Rovers are or were interested.

Mario
17/02/2011, 7:03 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/bohs-back-in-hot-water-2544479.html

JUST a day after they announced their new squad for this season, the financial clouds descended once again on Bohemians (http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Bohemian_FC) as they failed to pay the final amount due to the 2010 squad as scheduled, writes Ruaidhri O'Connor ...

Will the FAI turn another blind eye?

White Horse
17/02/2011, 7:10 AM
According to the article, the taxpayer has a charge on Dalymount Park in relation to the potential repaying of grants. The article goes on to say that Bohemians want the government to lift this charge so that the fans who took out loans have rank higher in the event of insolvency.

Why should the government lift their charge? Do they consider the interests of Bohs more important than those of hard pressed taxpayers in a bankrupt country?

I can only imagine what fans of Galway Utd are thinking as they watch this farce continue.

Hibs4Ever
17/02/2011, 7:18 AM
Joke of a club

Spudulika
17/02/2011, 7:41 AM
I keep wondering what movie title best suits this and the LOI - Neverending Story?

HulaHoop
17/02/2011, 7:45 AM
You really have to wonder why the club didn't have a transfer embargo imposed on them until they paid off their existing player contracts. What a disgrace that Galway were booted out of the league yet Bohs got a premier licence.

Guitd
17/02/2011, 7:50 AM
You really have to wonder why the club didn't have a transfer embargo imposed on them until they paid off their existing player contracts. What a disgrace that Galway were booted out of the league yet Bohs got a premier licence.

I wonder if the FAIlure have looked at Galway and said right 3 teams thare tooo many lets shaft the frist one that slips up with licence application !!!!

superjohnny
17/02/2011, 7:57 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/bohs-back-in-hot-water-2544479.html

JUST a day after they announced their new squad for this season, the financial clouds descended once again on Bohemians (http://searchtopics.independent.ie/topic/Bohemian_FC) as they failed to pay the final amount due to the 2010 squad as scheduled, writes Ruaidhri O'Connor ...

Will the FAI turn another blind eye?

Oh Dear...!!!!!!!!!

GuisaSaigon
17/02/2011, 8:01 AM
Double standards in the FAI, why am I not surprised.

HulaHoop
17/02/2011, 8:04 AM
Bohs' licence wasn't even conditional on them meeting their agreed payments to players yet Limerick were only given a conditional licencce pending more financial assurances. What a joke.

Olander
17/02/2011, 8:16 AM
One rule for one club, one for another.... :(

17/02/2011, 8:29 AM
I keep wondering what movie title best suits this and the LOI - Neverending Story?

It's a Wonderful Life.

17/02/2011, 8:32 AM
One rule for one club, one for another.... :(

How so? Bohs had a tax clearance cert and signed agreements in place. They fulfilled the criteria.

Now you can argue that the criterai is wrong, but thats not going fit in with your self pity is it?

17/02/2011, 8:40 AM
People don't seem to get that the 2 situations are completely different. Sure there should be rules against whats going on but while there aren't Bohs are in the clear until they breach a rule.

Olander
17/02/2011, 8:49 AM
How so? Bohs had a tax clearance cert and signed agreements in place. They fulfilled the criteria.

Now you can argue that the criterai is wrong, but thats not going fit in with your self pity is it?

The licening committee has been shown up to be an absolute joke. What we should have done with our footballing creditors is, take out a big loan, commit to paying people what they're actually owed, renege on the payment due to footballing creditors. Go out and stage a press conference and sign 10 players.

We have fullfilled ALL payments to our footballing creditors. What good are signed agreements if you DON'T actually pay them? So by them, "fulfilling" the criteria, it's okay to make promises and commitments to people and then back down on them?

The Tax certificate was an unfortunate event, something that was out of GUST's hands. That has been rectified now and we are hopeful of attaining a Premier Division licence.

But, excuse us for actually COMMITING to paying off our creditors, instead of making up bull**** agreements that we had no intention of adhering to. The Trust's only real crime in this is being realist. We have only paid out what we have got in and we do NOT take out loans.

It really is hard to understand, do you actually believe the criteria that Bohs presented to the FAI was RIGHT and proper? They have already reneged on a payment after 4 days of being awarded a licence!!!!!

All we want is FAIR PLAY.

marinobohs
17/02/2011, 8:51 AM

..of course there should be a rule banning clubs delaying payments to players - because that never happened at Galway now did it ? and a rule banning clubs mortgaging grounds and....... as long as it only effects Bohs of course.

Hardly rocket science why Galway did not get a licence and Bohs did - clear transparent criteria, known to all clubs along with timelines for same. Bohs complied Galway didn't.

Dave_SRFC
17/02/2011, 8:51 AM
As always I look forward to playing them but they seem to be getting away with what other clubs get punished for only difference is the other clubs get punished for less. They're an absolute laughing stock at this stage. Has all the fundraising money gone towards paying new players? Surely an embargo on signing players must be put in place. How they got a licence should seriously be investigated into.
As always Bohs fans will bring up the way my club was run before our members took over but you need to take a hard look at the clowns who are in charge of your club or you will end up defunct.

Olander
17/02/2011, 8:57 AM
Hardly rocket science why Galway did not get a licence and Bohs did - clear transparent criteria, known to all clubs along with timelines for same. Bohs complied Galway didn't.
aha.

Clear and transparent. Brilliant. Ask some of your players from 2010 that are still owed money that they are supposed to have by now if the agreements were "clear and transparent".

Nedser
17/02/2011, 8:58 AM
As always I look forward to playing them but they seem to be getting away with what other clubs get punished for only difference is the other clubs get punished for less.

What exactly have Bohs got away with that other clubs got punished for? As has been pointed out several times already, whether you like it or not, Bohs complied with the criteria for licensing, hence got a licence.

Has all the fundraising money gone towards paying new players? Surely an embargo on signing players must be put in place.

Did you read the article? The supporters loans have not been released to the club yet, and the reason why is explained quite clearly.

17/02/2011, 9:00 AM
The licening committee has been shown up to be an absolute joke. What we should have done with our footballing creditors is, take out a big loan, commit to paying people what they're actually owed, renege on the payment due to footballing creditors. Go out and stage a press conference and sign 10 players.
Exactly.

We have fullfilled ALL payments to players. What good are signed agreements if you DON'T actually pay them? So by them, "fulfilling" the criteria, it's okay to make promises and commitments to people and then back down on them?
According to licensing, yeah.

The Tax certificate was an unfortunate event, something that was out of GUST's hands. That has been rectified now and we are hopeful of attaining a Premier Division licence.
Good. Bohs had one btw

But, excuse us for actually COMMITING to paying off our creditors, instead of making up bull**** agreements that we had no intention of adhering to. The Trust's only real crime in this is being realist. We have only paid out what we have got in and we do NOT take out loans.
None of which is related to licensing.

It really is hard to understand, do you actually believe the criteria that Bohs presented to the FAI was RIGHT and proper? They have already reneged on a payment after a 4 days of being awarded a licence!!!!!
No, Bohs have been run disgracefully. However they fulfilled the licensing criteria and Galway didn’t. That isn’t double standards, that’s having the wrong standards. Galway weren’t judged against other teams. They failed against the criteria. It really is that simple.

I absolutely thing the criteria should change, but as it is, Bohs did what they had to do, and Galway didn’t.

And again, its pretty precious from the DVD producers to call for fair play now when you were promoted on a similarly bizarre reason. And I say that as someone who wants Gakway in the premier (where they belong)

Dave_SRFC
17/02/2011, 9:03 AM
Do you seriously believe that? you're deluded if you do.

What exactly have Bohs got away with that other clubs got punished for? As has been pointed out several times already, whether you like it or not, Bohs complied with the criteria for licensing, hence got a licence.

Did you read the article? The supporters loans have not been released to the club yet, and the reason why is explained quite clearly.

Nedser
17/02/2011, 9:05 AM
Do you seriously believe that? you're deluded if you do.

Believe what? Being precise isn't your strong point, is it?

17/02/2011, 9:06 AM
It's a Wonderful Life.
http://www.irishdigest.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/07/John-Delaney-of-the-FAI.jpg
The money's not here. Your money's in Bohs' house...right next to yours. And in the Hoey house, and Lansdowne Road, and a hundred others.

Spudulika
17/02/2011, 9:15 AM
He looks like he's about to break out into Fiddler on the Roof - "Now that I'm a rich man la la la la la la etc"

WoodquayBoy
17/02/2011, 9:16 AM
Now every club knows what to do next year, including our naive selves. I agree with Dodge to be honest, we were judged against the licensing criteria and failed. Bohs played the system and didn't fail. Both clubs have been run in a shocking manner in recent years, but the thing that has me riled is the fact that we, the fans, have tried to stop that rot and behave in a proper manner, and look where it got us. From what I can see, Bohs, on the other hand, continue to sully the name of a league that now resembles confetti, such has been the constant shredding of its reputation.