View Full Version : Bohs in financial trouble - FAI Licencing called into question again?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

22/12/2010, 5:31 PM
Sure they do that every year. How hard is it to sort out licencing by year end and release fixtures then. It's pathetic.

22/12/2010, 6:16 PM
Does it not worry you re Nutsy that your Captain is doing this? To me it would seem that Nutsy may well be off as I'm sure if he planned for both he and Heary to be there next season he would've sorted this out privately. Is this potential Euro scout job for Celtic a full time thing or can he manage Bohs as well if he gets it?

Im worried for Bohs, of course. Why do you think i might not be? However, i dont really give a toss what it means in terms of Nutsy/Heary and next season as i dont want either Nutsy or Heary at Dalymount next season. Nutsy has been linked with the Motherwell job too by the way.

redobit
22/12/2010, 6:22 PM
Sure they do that every year. How hard is it to sort out licencing by year end and release fixtures then. It's pathetic.

Well if you ask Cork and Bray Id say they'd tell you very hard.

hoopy
22/12/2010, 6:29 PM
Im worried for Bohs, of course. Why do you think i might not be? However, i dont really give a toss what it means in terms of Nutsy/Heary and next season as i dont want either Nutsy or Heary at Dalymount next season. Nutsy has been linked with the Motherwell job too by the way.

Yeah so I heard. I wish yous would sort it out asap though, we need to get our players signed for pre season soon :D

bluewhitearmy
22/12/2010, 6:48 PM
They should be heading for Division One after all this. They'll be a good replacement for Derry City in the division.

You mean another team that gets to skip the A-Championship come into 1st division with bigger budget then anyone and cost someone that has done things properly promotion..Yep cant wait for that.

22/12/2010, 7:30 PM
How eloquent. Huzzah.

The Lep
22/12/2010, 7:37 PM
Sundance raises the point I was going to ask about. Can Boh's and Fingal CC work together for the relocation of Boh's? Boh's moving has been discussed before.

In part yes, as Bohs was at one stage thinking of a move out to Harristown which is in Fingal so they would have to have dealings with the council for planning etc.

legendz
22/12/2010, 10:32 PM
You mean another team that gets to skip the A-Championship come into 1st division with bigger budget then anyone and cost someone that has done things properly promotion..Yep cant wait for that.

Derry City were relegated just like Shel's. The only club that got to by pass the A-Championship was the new Cork City FORAS. Limerick 37 were facilitated by the FAI in the past. Every effort was made to make sure Limerick kept a side in the league of Ireland.

total hoofball
22/12/2010, 11:04 PM
Derry City were relegated just like Shel's. The only club that got to by pass the A-Championship was the new Cork City FORAS. Limerick 37 were facilitated by the FAI in the past. Every effort was made to make sure Limerick kept a side in the league of Ireland.
Derry City were never relegated, they were thrown out of the league and ceased to exist in order for a new Derry City to re-emerge debt free. The Derry City that won the FD this season is a new club disguised under the old name like the Cork City you'll see in 2011. The FAI facilitated their bypass of the A Championship in the exact same way as Cork City FORAS Co-Op.

bluewhitearmy
23/12/2010, 12:13 AM

Limerick didn't skip a league though. And as total hoofball said Derry and Shels situations were very different. Main difference being that Shels didnt get to get rid of their debt and have massive budget when they came down.

Jicked
23/12/2010, 1:17 AM
SkStu, I see you on the bohs forum accusing some of us dear rovers "FANS" as suggesting the deadline is something to do with Bohs mid-January promise.

The reason they chose 21 days to be paid their debts is because a s.213 winding up due to inability to pay debts as they fall requires a creditor to have a debt greater than €1,300 that isn't paid within 3 weeks of demanding it in writing. The two players would have sent a formal written request a couple of days ago to start this statutory clock ticking and ensure they get their money. Bohs releasing a statement is saying they'll have the money in mid-January seems to basically be a holding statement, acknowledging they have to pay the debt by (roughly) the 11th of Jan or they'll be considered very likely for liquidation by the courts. In other words "we're good for it, just give us up until the deadline to try and get cash from somewhere"

23/12/2010, 4:18 AM
Is it Madden? I can't think of anyone else I'd be surprised by.

I'd say he'll be blamed anyway..

European exit, league loss, the plague, the great fire of london...

legendz
23/12/2010, 8:33 AM
Derry City were never relegated, they were thrown out of the league and ceased to exist in order for a new Derry City to re-emerge debt free. The Derry City that won the FD this season is a new club disguised under the old name like the Cork City you'll see in 2011. The FAI facilitated their bypass of the A Championship in the exact same way as Cork City FORAS Co-Op.

Limerick didn't skip a league though. And as total hoofball said Derry and Shels situations were very different. Main difference being that Shels didnt get to get rid of their debt and have massive budget when they came down.

New Limerick might not have skipped a league but they were facilitated. New Derry and New Cork were facilitated as well as the FAI wants clubs from these regions.
Personally I think an opportunity was lost to promote the A Championship. I would agree both clubs should have been entered at that level. It would have left a more even split league of two divisions of 10. I'd like an expanded league but when the Drog's are talking about possibly joining the A Championship and other clubs futures looks dicey, I'd have to question should there be a reduction in the number of clubs instead of looking to go the other way?

23/12/2010, 12:22 PM
The Derry and Cork (and Limerick) option of folding and reinventing themselves debt-free isn't available to Bohs as they own their own ground.

Well, it is available, but it would mean losing Dalymount, which I can only assume they're desperate to keep and eventually sell.

23/12/2010, 3:12 PM
confirmation coming from Dalymount today, apparently, that Sporting Fingal will be playing out of Dalymount next year.

e50k per season for 3 seasons according to the Mirror.

Can only hope thats an accurate figure. Would be great news for us if it was.

Buile Shuibhne
23/12/2010, 7:21 PM

Where will Franchise get that kind of money from - as well as pay their other costs - now that Gannon has pulled the plug?

23/12/2010, 7:29 PM
They'll get a handy lump sum from playing in Europe for one thing.

Alf Honn
23/12/2010, 7:45 PM
Where will Franchise get that kind of money from - as well as pay their other costs - now that Gannon has pulled the plug?

You of little faith.

23/12/2010, 7:57 PM

its less than a grand a week over a year if you think about it.

Ezeikial
23/12/2010, 8:29 PM
its less than a grand a week over a year if you think about it.

or about €2,500 per home game

White Horse
23/12/2010, 8:34 PM

If they get an average gate money of €10 a head, the money from the first 250 fans through the gate will go to pay the rent.

There won't be much to pay everything else.

24/12/2010, 12:28 AM

but theyre not paying per home game are they?

either way, with cup games, league cup games, setanta cup and euro games over the next 3 years they will be averaging far more than 20 home games a season.

24/12/2010, 6:51 AM
but theyre not paying per home game are they?

either way, with cup games, league cup games, setanta cup and euro games over the next 3 years they will be averaging far more than 20 home games a season.
Of course they are, they're not renting it to have a big game of chasing in it.

Regardless of how they pay, yearly, monthly, per game, it's the games that are costing them.

Even if they have 25 home games, 2k a game is expensive by anyone's standard. That's not far off their average paying attendance just on rent.

Obviously it's a great deal for Bohs, but I don't see how Fingal failed to strike a better bargain given how desperate ye are for cash.

24/12/2010, 8:42 AM
Paying per game is usually the way its done in LOI circles

passerrby
24/12/2010, 10:26 AM
Paying per game is usually the way its done in LOI circles
Aye dodge and it does not take a genius to work out why

total hoofball
24/12/2010, 1:04 PM

I don't believe that Bohs haven't negotiated a massive chunk of that upfront, if not all of it. 50k per season would be good deal in normal circumstances but Bohs need a serious injection of money now and Fingal certainly had leverage to extract a better deal than that if they payed a chunk upfront.

I did hear something about a 100k upfront sum for the 3 years but I can't verify how reliable that is since I heard it from a stranger

24/12/2010, 2:23 PM
honestly have no idea how much was received upfront and, i suppose, even how much the deal was for.

Point taken on the "rent per game" issue. Though SFFC are a 52 week per year operation so despite the practicalities of paying per game it might not necessarily be what was agreed to or how it will be paid. Anyway, it is a minor issue.

24/12/2010, 3:04 PM
I doubt Fingal have 100k to pay upfront, especially when there doesn't seem to be any reason for them to do so.

Fr Damo
24/12/2010, 3:12 PM
50k a year is a fair amount.

If S F had their own ground they would have scosts such as the ones I have listed below.

Grounds man - 25k
Insurance - 5k (im guessing)
Floodlights 100 a game? = 3 grand.
Up keep and maintanance 7 k

That's 40 k very quickly, Just means that Bohs are having theirs paid for by Fingal!

Buile Shuibhne
24/12/2010, 3:50 PM
and Fingal certainly had leverage to extract a better deal than that if they payed a chunk upfront.

I did hear something about a 100k upfront sum for the 3 years but I can't verify how reliable that is since I heard it from a stranger

Gannon is gone.

Franchise have no money.

No money = No leverage

24/12/2010, 4:09 PM
I don't think you quite understand the concept of leverage.

Bohs need money. Fingal don't need to give it to them. Therefore Fingal have greater leverage.

The Lep
24/12/2010, 5:07 PM
Gannon is gone.

Franchise have no money.

No money = No leverage

Thats not strictly true now is it seeing the amount of prize money alone we won plus sponorship .

The Lep
02/01/2011, 7:19 PM
Seen a Save Our Bohs sign at the start of the first semi in the darts tonight. Nice one :)

Spudulika
12/01/2011, 8:26 AM
Has anyone any information on what's happening? I'm hoping to god that Bohs get through and line up in the league. There is a serious job being led to nobble the club form some sections of the media and this is only going to make matters worse.

12/01/2011, 8:47 AM
Apparently yesterday was the deadline the players had set. Haven't heard of any new developments though. There was an article in the Indo (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/gypsies-on-brink-of-going-to-the-wall-2491017.html) yesterday indicating that there hadn't really been any improvement in the situation though.

12/01/2011, 8:53 AM
There's more today: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/bohsrsquo-future-on-the-line-2492821.html

D.24saint
12/01/2011, 8:55 AM
Those players should be careful of letting their names enter the public domain after what the "Bohs Fans" did to Pete Mahon and his family a few years back they are capable of anything.

12/01/2011, 9:35 AM
Think everyone knows who they are at this stage. Can't post here as dahamsta will do his nut but PM me on the Pats board if you want to know...

superjohnny
12/01/2011, 10:51 AM
Think everyone knows who they are at this stage. Can't post here as dahamsta will do his nut but PM me on the Pats board if you want to know...

Just jump on the bohs forum.. they have named the two. dogs on the street know at this stage

12/01/2011, 11:07 AM
Is it Charlie Haughey and Ben Dunne?

12/01/2011, 11:39 AM
I wasn't aware one of them even played for Bohs, he's played that little.

12/01/2011, 11:54 AM
He played once against Pats last year, and was a huge help in our 3-1 win

12/01/2011, 1:44 PM
Those players should be careful of letting their names enter the public domain after what the "Bohs Fans" did to Pete Mahon and his family a few years back they are capable of anything.

damn right they should.

12/01/2011, 1:46 PM
I wasn't aware one of them even played for Bohs, he's played that little.

its a bit of a grey area alright.

12/01/2011, 2:57 PM
Gypoweb reminds me why I've never been able to visit the Ultras forum. Full of people who believe the entire planet is allied in a conspiracy against their football team that has a couple of thousand fans.

12/01/2011, 3:29 PM
Gypoweb reminds me why I've never been able to visit the Ultras forum. Full of people who believe the entire planet is allied in a conspiracy against their football team that has a couple of thousand fans.

i think every forum has their loonies in fairness!!

12/01/2011, 3:35 PM

Not foot.ie!

12/01/2011, 3:37 PM
It really does seem like the vast majority over there.

12/01/2011, 3:38 PM

Try finding even one on the Limerick forum

http://www.limerickfcforum.com/

SwanVsDalton
12/01/2011, 3:40 PM

Not termonbarry.ie!

Fixed.