View Full Version : Bohs in financial trouble - FAI Licencing called into question again?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

Albatross
24/11/2010, 10:33 AM
No, I'm an accountant, which is why I know you're talking crap.

That's interesting, I'm an accountant too so both of us must be right. If you take the time to read me comments properly you will see that we are both saying the same thing in different ways.

At the end of the day Bohs used the monies received for the ground to stay within the SCP

24/11/2010, 10:38 AM
They did. However, the cash in hand part of your post was completely irrelevant. The SCP is based on income, not cash flow.

24/11/2010, 12:15 PM
That's interesting, I'm an accountant too so both of us must be right.

Is this why the country has ended up the way it has?

24/11/2010, 12:26 PM
What's 2+2?

Whatever you want it to be so long as you pay the bill.

passerrby
24/11/2010, 12:28 PM
it was a number of reasons ranging from our accountantas not agreeing the way forward , our banks having two sets of books and our goverment not accepting we have no assests worth our liiabilities and and of course one man shows, all the same reasons our clubs continue to drag our league into the mire

Ezeikial
24/11/2010, 7:06 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/bohs-and-players-poles-apart-in-redundancy-talks-2432995.html

Wednesday November 24 2010

PFAI chief Stephen McGuinness believes that Bohemians and their contracted players remain miles apart in negotiations over redundancy packages, but he is unsure how relevant the November 30 deadline is, given the FAI's past record with respect to sanctions.
Bohs are trying to remove eight members of last year's squad from their wage bill by reaching a settlement to pay off the remainder of their deals. They also need to sort out unpaid wages to avoid being in breach of licensing.
That could jeopardise their Premier Division status for 2011, but McGuinness reckons that the real deadline of significance is next February when the committee sit down to hand out licenses.
Bohemians can bypass November and December deadlines if the players confirm they are in discussions about retrieving unpaid monies and sign an agreement to that effect.
The league authorities could hit the Gypsies with a retrospective points deduction that would affect their 2010 finishing position, but clubs haven't been punished in the past for failing to pay players on time.
"There are dates for this licensing that make the mind boggle," said the PFAI chief executive yesterday. "Person-ally, I don't think they mean anything. I think February 15 is the real date."
Certainly, a quick resolution at Dalymount Park appears out of the question. Bohs, who have resolved pressing issues with the Revenue Commissioners, are set to meet the PFAI later this week to reveal how much money they have raised to offer the players.
The individuals in question have a year left on their deals. Bohs have spoken about paying 13 weeks' wages to each player concerned to sever their ties; the players are looking for approximately 26 weeks.
"The 13 weeks is not acceptable," said McGuinness. "To ask anyone to rip up an employment contract, at this moment in time, in any job, is a hell of an ask. If there were full-time professional contracts out there for the players, I think they would do deals. But, at the moment, there's nothing out there for them."

24/11/2010, 7:47 PM
13 weeks is pretty decent. The players would need to be careful they don't kill the club and get nothing.

The Lep
25/11/2010, 12:12 AM
Agreed. The average joe soap would only get around 2 weeks pay for every year they worked at a company if they get made redundant so 13 weeks pay is not bad on that aspect and how can Bohs pay out money they dont have.?
One thing though,employment laws may not apply in the footballing world as if you get made redundant from a company that company cant employ anyone else to do the job that you was doing at a lower rate.
The players will get nothing if Bohs go bang so maybe its best to take the money and run knowing that unlike the average man on the street who gets let go ,footballers have a greater chance of finding alternative employment with other clubs home or abroad quick enough.

25/11/2010, 12:21 AM
The average Joe Soap isn't on a fixed contract, though, and they aren't out of work at the end of that fixed period. The players are entitled to the full value of their contracts so 26 weeks (presuming there are 52 weeks left on the contract) is hardly unreasonable.

25/11/2010, 12:24 AM
13 weeks is pretty decent. The players would need to be careful they don't kill the club and get nothing.

They'll be listed as creditors and will receive their money if Bohs have to be liquidated (Dalymount will pay for it all)

The Lep
25/11/2010, 12:28 AM
Surely there has to be a clear out of the managment at Bohs after this seeing that they were in the same position at the end of last season and asking players to take pay cuts. A new board with a positive way forward and the backing of the fans like they are doing with the fund raising may be the saving of Bohemian fc.

25/11/2010, 12:49 AM
A new board with a positive way forward and the backing of the fans

The fans voted the last board in too

The Lep
25/11/2010, 12:57 AM
Then ive no sympathy. Still want them to come through though.

25/11/2010, 6:37 PM
Multiple posts referencing rumours deleted. If you can't post evidence, save it for amateur hour.

http://foot.ie/faq.php?faq=rules#faq_rumours

25/11/2010, 11:56 PM
Dam my lack of internet earlier, seems I missed the fun stuff....although I love it when you flex your muscles like that Adam. Thank god I'm lying down! :-D

So is there actually any further news on the Bohs situation?

25/11/2010, 11:59 PM
We were all very bold especially me.

I actually used the "someone told me sometime" line. With hindsight I regret it.

Anyway, Bohs, hmm, finances, trouble, allegedly

26/11/2010, 12:01 AM
allegedly

Bad grammar and spelling is worse than a rumour imho and lord knows I partake in that enough.

26/11/2010, 12:05 AM
http://www.mytinyphone.com/uploads/users/kiveya/150901.gif

26/11/2010, 12:15 AM
:) :) :)

26/11/2010, 2:00 AM
Anyway, Bohs, hmm, finances, trouble, allegedly

withdraw "allegedly" right now please.

Dam my lack of internet earlier, seems I missed the fun stuff....although I love it when you flex your muscles like that Adam. Thank god I'm lying down! :-D

nothing major - just rumours out of Dalymount that the Bohs board have been sounded out by Fianna Fail to oversee the implementation of the national austerity measures. Logical choice really.

26/11/2010, 8:33 AM
nothing major - just rumours out of Dalymount that the Bohs board have been sounded out by Fianna Fail to oversee the implementation of the national austerity measures. Logical choice really.
Well your attempts to bring financial stability to bohs over the last few years are certainly only matched by FF's attempts to bring stability to the state's finances...

passerrby
26/11/2010, 8:34 AM

hopefully Iwill see you at the club party tonight where we can continue to milign these clubs in comfort without the interference of that pesky adam

26/11/2010, 10:43 AM
Lads, and lasses, ye might be ok with having your details handed over to legal types and Gardaí for investigations, but I have better things to do with my time than deal with the credulous, litigious idiots in this country's football clubs, who attack me with frankly retarded claims about unsupported statements on Foot.ie with embarrassing regularity. There's rarely a genuine reason behind it, but I still have to deal with it; so as ever, if you don't like the rules, don't play here. Now either get back on topic or shut your cakeholes.

Jicked
30/11/2010, 1:33 AM
False alarm, Roddy gushied his league winner's medal and it looks like everything was ok after all...

MEDIA RELEASE BOHEMIAN FC 29 NOVEMBER 2010

Bohemian FC has tonight (29th November) continued talks with the Professional Footballers' Association of Ireland. The club expects to be in a position tomorrow (30th November) to submit its application for a licence to play in the Premier Division of the Airtricity League.

marinobohs
30/11/2010, 10:27 AM
False alarm, Roddy gushied his league winner's medal and it looks like everything was ok after all...

Must be time for shams annual whine/"complaint" to the FAI so ?

Jicked
30/11/2010, 11:22 AM
Like the last one that seems to have been justified ? Looks like Rovers tried to do Bohs a favour last year by flagging some very obvious problems that later showed up in July.

One of the tabloids are apparently reporting that Fenlon is going to start trying to re-sign some of this year's squad who have just been released. Bohs are hilarious.

marinobohs
30/11/2010, 12:06 PM
Like the last one that seems to have been justified ? Looks like Rovers tried to do Bohs a favour last year by flagging some very obvious problems that later showed up in July.

One of the tabloids are apparently reporting that Fenlon is going to start trying to re-sign some of this year's squad who have just been released. Bohs are hilarious.

Yep, the one that was totally discredited by the FAI. Keep flogging that horse though.

Why would Bohs not resign players - on different terms - that have been released ? The terms were the problem not the players (they did come within a dodgy linesmans call of completing a SETANTA Cup / League double).

Cant see there being a shortage of takers for most of Bohs squad IF the terms are right.

30/11/2010, 12:11 PM
Doesn't the financial part of the Licence application go in in January anyway? Submitting the rest of it isn't usually the problem for any club.

Ezeikial
01/12/2010, 12:20 AM
Bohemians PRO Brian Trench on RTE Radio on the latest talks between the club and its players as they bid to reach a point where they can apply for a Premier League licence for 2011:
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2010/1130/bohs_av.html

Among the key points

1) Talks still ongoing with players, and although not resolved he believes licensing application can still go ahead even if incomplete.

2) Confirmation that Bohs are hoping to raise €400k from business community loans secured against Dalymount

3) EGM set for 13 Dec - possibility of levy being imposed on members

4) Alternative deal to Danniger is still "on the table" whenever the Danniger deal finally falls

Buile Shuibhne
01/12/2010, 7:44 AM
So the dealine isn't really a deadline?

BOHEMIANS failed to submit an application for a League of Ireland Premier Division licence yesterday as the cash-strapped club remained in negotiations with players over unpaid bonuses.

The first deadline for the submission of licence applications passed last night, but having brought their wages up to date as of last Friday, the Gypsies hope to have their application ready today.............................

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/bohs-licence-bid-delayed-by-bonus-row-2442914.html

01/12/2010, 7:52 AM
So the dealine isn't really a deadline?

Never really has been. No point changing policy now I guess.

01/12/2010, 9:03 AM
2) Confirmation that Bohs are hoping to raise €400k from business community loans secured against Dalymount
So they're going to sell Dalymount again?! That worked a treat before.

I'd be surprised to see Bohs around this time next year to be honest.

Sidefx
01/12/2010, 9:32 AM
So they're going to sell Dalymount again?! That worked a treat before.

I'd be surprised to see Bohs around this time next year to be honest.

In your case I'd imagine it might be disappointment rather than surprise...:p

01/12/2010, 9:47 AM
So they've missed the deadline to apply for a license.

They haven't reached an agreement with players for next year, and they haven't paid players their bonuses from 2010.

Of the 300k they needed, they've raised 100k (which in fairness is a great effort).

Oh and their big idea for raising money is to impose a levy on existing members. The same people who've contributed 100k in the last month. I'd imagine that anyone who could give Bohs money has at this stage, how do they think a levy will work? if people haven't got it, they'll just not renew their membership. Bizarre idea

01/12/2010, 9:55 AM
When do we find out what happens to them? When is the next big deadline? Looks very dodgy for them at this stage.

01/12/2010, 9:58 AM
Bizarre idea
Desperation really. Running out of options. There's not much more they can really do at this stage.

Mario
01/12/2010, 10:10 AM
With all the shenanigans going on and the deadline missed I can't see the FAI could even consider letting them into Europe next summer. Clubs have to realise that bad behaviour will be punished!

Saints for Europe! :cool:

01/12/2010, 10:25 AM
Well, yeah, thats my interest

It all depends on the license though. if they get a premier license (which they haven't applied for yet ;) ) they'll get a euro one.

legendz
01/12/2010, 10:38 AM
With situations like this and 16 clubs not likely being able to hold a Premier licence without more fudging, it's hard to see how a 16 team Premier could come in at this time.
I hope Boh's get their problems sorted. Fenlon should be embarrassed that this is the second time he has been a manager of a club in this position.

Jicked
01/12/2010, 11:01 AM
It's incredible that the Bohs management, board and fans on here seem to genuinely think that re-signing the likes of last year's squad should even be on the table at this stage. Fenlon is unbelieveable.

Is the thinking genuinely that they can rack up more debt next year by re-signing those players on lesser terms than they were on last year, all so they can compete in the "lucrative" Europa League, and potentially win big with a Rovers-Juve style clash? Why else would signing a 33 year old Jason Byrne on any sort of deal even cross their mind when the existence of their club is in jeopardy. It's like an entire club full of Tom Coughlan's.

HulaHoop
01/12/2010, 11:38 AM
So Bohs unecessarily put a press release out on Monday night saying they hoped to be in a position to submit their licence application yesterday. Someone must have also unecessarily briefed the press that Fenlon hoped to sign some of the players released on part time contracts next season. It subsequently turns out that they were not in a position to submit their application yesterday as agreement had not been reached with the players, thus making their press release on Monday night look foolish in the extreme. Had they not made that statement, it is likely the story wouldn't have got half as much attention as it is now. You have to ask the questiuon, when is the stupidity at Bohs going to stop?

01/12/2010, 11:55 AM
With situations like this and 16 clubs not likely being able to hold a Premier licence without more fudging, it's hard to see how a 16 team Premier could come in at this time.
Not necessarily at all. Several current first division teams have a premier licence. It depends on what clubs are missing out on, and even if first division clubs bothered applying for a premier licence.

legendz
01/12/2010, 12:31 PM
From the outside looking in from what I've read, a lot is being asked of the Boh's fans. For giving over money like that, there'd want to be firm re-assurances that there will not be a repeat. Are those who led the club to this financial crisis being held accountable in any way?

01/12/2010, 12:34 PM
From the outside looking in from what I've read, a lot is being asked of the Boh's fans. For giving over money like that, there'd want to be firm re-assurances that there will not be a repeat. Are those who led the club to this financial crisis being held accountable in any way?

Those who led the club were voted in by the members. If they want to get rid of them, they simply vote them off the board

Mario
01/12/2010, 1:24 PM
Are those who led the club to this financial crisis being held accountable in any way?

Doesn't look like it!

A friend of mine helped out at the Glenville v Bohs game and told me the guest list submitted by Bohs was littered with well known names who were supposedly gone from the committee but still getting the VIP treatment from the club it seems!

01/12/2010, 1:50 PM
It's incredible that the Bohs management, board and fans on here seem to genuinely think that re-signing the likes of last year's squad should even be on the table at this stage..

please point out the posts from Bohs "fans on here" that lead you to post that rubbish.

Jicked
01/12/2010, 3:35 PM
please point out the posts from Bohs "fans on here" that lead you to post that rubbish.

From the previous page:

Yep, the one that was totally discredited by the FAI. Keep flogging that horse though.

Why would Bohs not resign players - on different terms - that have been released ? The terms were the problem not the players (they did come within a dodgy linesmans call of completing a SETANTA Cup / League double).

Cant see there being a shortage of takers for most of Bohs squad IF the terms are right.

The talk of re-signing established, previous league winning players just seems madness when you think the focus would be on being able to put out a team featuring any senior experience whatsoever. The fact that Bohs fans don't seem to be up in arms about the club seeking to rip up deals with their first team squad, but not their first team manager, as if they'll need Fenlon's (expensive) tactical nous next year in a bid to finish as high up the table as possible also seems strange to me.

Why not include Fenlon's deal in those being paid off if you plan on doing anything more than survive/keep your head above water, investing in a highly paid coach who has only ever worked with full time professional teams with a large budget makes it seem like Bohs have completely missed the point.

01/12/2010, 4:19 PM
oh okay - one poster - i thought you said "fans on here".

I could make a lot of incorrect general assumptions about all the fans of any clubs based on the opinions of any single poster "on here".

HulaHoop
01/12/2010, 6:33 PM
oh okay - one poster - i thought you said "fans on here".

I could make a lot of incorrect general assumptions about all the fans of any clubs based on the opinions of any single poster "on here".

Seems it's your fans who are on the board are the ones briefing the press about Fenlon re-signing some of this years squad on a part time basis next year.

01/12/2010, 6:40 PM
i have fans?

seriously, what the f has that got to do with anything i posted?