View Full Version : 2010 attendances
1st time post
31/10/2010, 1:22 PM
I dont know this guy personally and just talked to him once at a fans meeting. I got the impression he is from fingal and supported Rovers. Now who knows why and for what reason he supported Rovers, there could be any number of reasons, but he felt that being from fingal that it was right to support his local team. So its not a case of suddenly moving to an area and supporting that team. He is from the area(fingal) from what I gathered. So its that reason that i think he is being loyal to his community when choosing Fingal. If it was a guy who just moved to fingal then id be very surprised to hear him change allegiances but I dont think that was the case.
Anyway its way off topic so ill leave it there. Good luck in the final.
ps. it was a peno :)
Last thing ill say about this, im not having a go at the guy for going to fingal matches, fair play to him and ye need to keep attracting guys like this from your area to matches, it was your original comment about loyalty and it was you who described him as a 'life long' shams fan.
p.s cheers though it was never a peno but come Nov 14 it will hopefully be a distant memory when were lifting the cup!!
31/10/2010, 1:49 PM
80 at Athlone-Limerick? That can't be serious.
Probably about double it tbf.
Model Club
31/10/2010, 2:19 PM
There could be any number of valid reasons. For example, I wouldn't have considered it too far out of line for supporters of Cork to switch their allegiance because of the shameful way the club was being run by Tom Coughlan. The mismanagement of Shams during the nomad years could have been enough to justify switching.
We'll have to agree to disagree on this one.
Both sets of fans did what I would expect from any fans and to do anything else would be sacreligous and unjustifiable.Theres turning your back on your club which is bad enough,but switching..............No chance!
Lamper.sffc
31/10/2010, 3:13 PM
it was your original comment about loyalty and it was you who described him as a 'life long' shams fan.
p.s cheers though it was never a peno but come Nov 14 it will hopefully be a distant memory when were lifting the cup!!
I said had been, as in past tense and i was talking about loyalty to his community. The fact that with all the good that was going on at tallaght it must have been very difficult to support fingal and I commend him for choosing his Local side. The side that represents where he comes from.
So you used to be a "massive spurs fan",but now your not.
Some would argue you wern't that "massive" a spurs fan in the first place.
Massive difference between being a childhood barstooler(high-chairer,maybe?),and finding Pats in your later years than being a "lifelong Rovers fan"(he's not dead yet I presume?),and shifting the goal post to support his "Local team".
I live in Cavan now.Should a new local team set up shop in my county area would it be acceptable to forget everything I have put into Rovers to support my new "local team"?
Life-long Rovers fan my arse.Too cheap to pay the m50 toll more like!
Again I think the point has been missed. Im saying that as far as I know he is from Fingal. With that in mind I dont think its a bad thing that now that the community has a team he chose fingal. He has a sense of pride in the place he is from. You moving to cavan is not the same thing.
Thats my last on it.
legendz
31/10/2010, 3:42 PM
The well-known province of "Not Dublin"!
I think the FAI and Provincial FA's should have a Shield for the best team in each province.
Shamrock Rovers this season would be handed the Leinster Shield, Sligo the Connaught Shield, Derry City the Ulster Shield and Waterford United the Munster Shield. It'd be a small gesture in someways but be some reward and add a bit of spice to being the best side in each province.
Sligo should promote themselves more as being the number one club in Connaught as they are while also promoting representing Connaught as well as Sligo. If Waterford get promoted, they should do something similar in Munster as well and likewise Derry in Ulster.
1st time post
31/10/2010, 3:50 PM
I think the FAI and Provincial FA's should have a Shield for the best team in each province.
Shamrock Rovers this season would be handed the Leinster Shield, Sligo the Connaught Shield, Derry City the Ulster Shield and Waterford United the Munster Shield. It'd be a small gesture in someways but be some reward and add a bit of spice to being the best side in each province.
Sligo should promote themselves more as being the number one club in Connaught as they are while also promoting representing Connaught as well as Sligo. If Waterford get promoted, they should do something similar in Munster as well and likewise Derry in Ulster.
Im pretty sure Shams are happy with their league title,we are happy with our 3rd place finsh and league cup,Derry with their first division title and Waterford with their playoff place without needing some sort of gimmick to tell us we are top in our province.
legendz
31/10/2010, 3:57 PM
Im pretty sure Shams are happy with their league title,we are happy with our 3rd place finsh and league cup,Derry with their first division title and Waterford with their playoff place without needing some sort of gimmick to tell us we are top in our province.
I'm pretty sure they are too but in terms of promoting being so, the gimmick could work!
Rasputin
31/10/2010, 3:58 PM
Sligo should promote themselves more as being the number one club in Connaught as they are while also promoting representing Connaught as well as Sligo.
No, we dont represent Connaught at all.
We represent ourselves and have got nothing to do with Mayo or Roscommon or Leitrim or any of that small minded parochial GAA ****e.
It reeks of the same crap from the media about these so called Connaught "derbys" with Galway, its not a derby as far as we are concerned.
Lamper.sffc
31/10/2010, 4:01 PM
We represent ourselves and have got nothing to do with Mayo or Roscommon or Leitrim or any of that small minded parochial GAA ****e.
It reeks of the same crap from the media about these so called Connaught "derbys" with Galway, its not a derby as far as we are concerned.
Let the love in rasp.
CSFShels
31/10/2010, 4:02 PM
Oi, we're champions of Leinster.
legendz
31/10/2010, 4:15 PM
Representing a county only is what would be classed as small minded parochial GAA stuff in some quarters.
I wouldn't say provincial derbies are media driven. I've seen the Kerry League beat Waterford United. I'd like to see Tralee Dynamos involved in some Munster derbies and winning them.
legendz
31/10/2010, 4:17 PM
Oi, we're champions of Leinster.
Fair play to ye on that. Shamrock Rovers are still the best team in Leinster. Hard luck on that.
Rasputin
31/10/2010, 4:22 PM
Representing a county only is what would be classed as small minded parochial GAA stuff in some quarters.
I wouldn't say provincial derbies are media driven. I've seen the Kerry League beat Waterford United. I'd like to see Tralee Dynamos involved in some Munster derbies and winning them.
I never mentioned the county, I said Rovers just represents the people that follow it that are from Sligo Town and its surroundings.
We are not Connaught representatives or any of that GAA ****e because we havnt got some mumbo jumbo affinity to someone from the depths of Roscommon.
I cant speak for Waterford or Kerry or where ever, all I can tell you is of my own experiences being a Rovers fan and I can tell you that the people of Sligo could really care less about beating Galway but yet the media always refer to it as "the Connaught derby" as if it is a derby of some importance to fans of Galway United and Rovers.
The Lep
31/10/2010, 4:30 PM
Fair play to ye on that. Shamrock Rovers are still the best team in Leinster. Hard luck on that.
Shels won the leinster cup so that makes them the best in leinster :) Rovers won the league so they are the best in the league :)
You come out with some tripe mate. Shels = Best in Leinster, hence the trophy. Rovers = best in league hence the league title.
Sure we beat Rovers 3 times out of the 4 games.
GalwayRed
31/10/2010, 4:34 PM
Our 3-1 win in Tallaght says differently;)
Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/10/2010, 4:45 PM
I never mentioned the county, I said Rovers just represents the people that follow it that are from Sligo Town and its surroundings.
We are not Connaught representatives or any of that GAA ****e because we havnt got some mumbo jumbo affinity to someone from the depths of Roscommon.
I cant speak for Waterford or Kerry or where ever, all I can tell you is of my own experiences being a Rovers fan and I can tell you that the people of Sligo could really care less about beating Galway but yet the media always refer to it as "the Connaught derby" as if it is a derby of some importance to fans of Galway United and Rovers.
Rovers get quite a few people following them from the surrounding counties as well as just Sligo
legendz
31/10/2010, 4:48 PM
I've heard stories of people in Leitrim supporting Sligo. They see it getting beyond the local GAA parochial stuff. Would people around Sligo Town knock support like that?
Shels won the leinster cup so that makes them the best in leinster :) Rovers won the league so they are the best in the league :)
If Sligo win the FAI Cup are they then the best team in Ireland?
But yeah I get you're point. :)
You come out with some tripe mate. Shels = Best in Leinster, hence the trophy. Rovers = best in league hence the league title.
Can't really comment back because I haven't really noticed any of your posts.
You noticed that one yet still failed to reply, yet again, more tripe.
Ye aint worth the infraction tbh.
Rasputin
31/10/2010, 4:54 PM
I've heard stories of people in Leitrim supporting Sligo. They see it getting beyond the local GAA parochial stuff. Would people around Sligo Town knock support like that?
Not at all, just like the few that would be from South Donegal that turn up to games.
Its got nothing to do with a "Connaught" thing, its just geographical convenience to the people that turn up that arent from Sligo Town or its surroundings.
legendz
31/10/2010, 4:56 PM
Our 3-1 win in Tallaght says differently;)
Congrats on that! ;)
legendz
31/10/2010, 5:03 PM
Not at all, just like the few that would be from South Donegal that turn up to games.
Its got nothing to do with a "Connaught" thing, its just geographical convenience to the people that turn up that arent from Sligo Town or its surroundings.
I have to say I like the insight I get on here like this. I would not have known Sligo get support from South Donegal.
There's no harm in some off the wall stuff being put out there.
redobit
31/10/2010, 7:21 PM
Youre completely wide of the mark there Rasputin. There are plenty of loyal Sligo Rovers fans all over Leitrim, Roscommon, Mayo and south Donegal. I know of people that travel from Dromahair, Wesport, Carrick and Letterkenny to the Showgrounds whenever they can.
This season alone we have had a Mayo hotel as a match sponsor and underage clubs from other counties on the pitch at half time. We'd probably known as representing the North West in the LOI by some people.
Spudulika
31/10/2010, 7:30 PM
1st time post, ARooney and Model Club, just responding to the man I met who was a Rovers fan - he still follows the clubs fortunes though not in person, he was born and bred a fan, protested against the move from Milltown (he'd moved from Terenure I think it was to live in the Fingal area and raised/s a family there) and like a large number of Shamrock Rovers fans at the time simply walked away in disgust. Now people can talk all the nonsense they want about being a true fan, always for x club and so on, however I can name at least 2 people who not only are still with Rovers but also worked with the club to get it where it is now who have family members they fell out with over the Milltown disgrace. Like this gentleman he's always got an interest in Rovers though now he lives, works and exists in Fingal and follows SF. The club I grew up supporting (Dundalk) I still follow from a distance but the behaviour of opportunists and their attitudes during the Co-Op period sickened me and while I still attend matches each year I've felt a disconnect from that time, so much so that I stopped buying season tickets at that time.
.+
Finlay Harp
31/10/2010, 7:56 PM
Youre completely wide of the mark there Rasputin. There are plenty of loyal Sligo Rovers fans all over Leitrim, Roscommon, Mayo and south Donegal. I know of people that travel from Dromahair, Wesport, Carrick and Letterkenny to the Showgrounds whenever they can.
This season alone we have had a Mayo hotel as a match sponsor and underage clubs from other counties on the pitch at half time. We'd probably known as representing the North West in the LOI by some people.
And Harps and Derry represent where? The Atlantic section of the LOI?
Model Club
31/10/2010, 9:44 PM
1st time post, ARooney and Model Club, just responding to the man I met who was a Rovers fan - he still follows the clubs fortunes though not in person, he was born and bred a fan, protested against the move from Milltown (he'd moved from Terenure I think it was to live in the Fingal area and raised/s a family there) and like a large number of Shamrock Rovers fans at the time simply walked away in disgust. Now people can talk all the nonsense they want about being a true fan, always for x club and so on, however I can name at least 2 people who not only are still with Rovers but also worked with the club to get it where it is now who have family members they fell out with over the Milltown disgrace. Like this gentleman he's always got an interest in Rovers though now he lives, works and exists in Fingal and follows SF. The club I grew up supporting (Dundalk) I still follow from a distance but the behaviour of opportunists and their attitudes during the Co-Op period sickened me and while I still attend matches each year I've felt a disconnect from that time, so much so that I stopped buying season tickets at that time.
.+
Point taken,but my involvement at least would have been averted if the words "life long" wern't attatched to the afforementioned former Rovers "fan".
1st time post
31/10/2010, 10:12 PM
Point taken,but my involvement at least would have been averted if the words "life long" wern't attatched to the afforementioned former Rovers "fan".
That and the term loyalty were the only reasons why i questioned it. I can understand why some Shams fans never went back after Milltown.
legendz
31/10/2010, 10:47 PM
lol
Do Sligo fans see Galway as a derby? Is Sligo seen as a NW derby when they play Harps and Derry?
31/10/2010, 10:49 PM
lol
Do Sligo fans see Galway as a derby? Is Sligo seen as a NW derby when they play Harps and Derry?No to all of them really.
Model Club
31/10/2010, 11:32 PM
That and the term loyalty were the only reasons why i questioned it. I can understand why some Shams fans never went back after Milltown.
Funny,I can't!
To me you support your club until you die.I realize this is a simple,uncomplicated,utopian view but it happens to be how I truly feel.
When the club were forced out of Milltown they needed the fans more than ever.Milltown will always hold a special place in the history of Rovers but the last 23 years has taught me that it was only bricks and mortar and that the real heart of the club is its fans.
In my time supporting Rovers I have seen fans drop off,some you would think would be there as long as they live and then one day someone asks,"where's **** these days"? Never to be seen again.
I feel privaliged to be assossiated with supporters of my club who attended matches decades before I was born and I love hearing "Uncle Albert" type stories of bygone days on away trips and functions.The single biggest respect I have for these people is their unbroken service supporting Rovers, in one case for 70+ years,to use the cliche through thick and thin.
No LOI club is in a position to turn away fans or create a,"them and us mentality" with newer supporters but to me Rovers begins and ends with a small number of fans that I hope to emulate in the years to come.
01/11/2010, 12:52 AM
Yeah??
Well Limerick drew with Sporting Fingal who beat Shamrock Rovers by one goal, matching Juventus' result against Rovers in Modena, a Juventus side who yesterday beat AC Milan, a club who have won 7 (SEVEN) European Cups
Therefore Limerick > AC Milan making us a powerhouse of world football.
And it's about bloody time too.
01/11/2010, 6:14 AM
All hail Limerick.
01/11/2010, 9:33 AM
Please please tell me I'm not seeing people seriously debate the merits of the LSC?!
Rasputin
01/11/2010, 9:48 AM
I know that, thats why I said Rovers represent Sligo Town and its surroundings but I dont see us representing Connaught at all and the point that we even have fans from South Donegal is evidence of that.
Its Sligo Town and then areas of geographical convenience close to it that follow Rovers not some fabricated GAA ****e that people in Connaught have some big affinity.
Im not saying for a second that the only people who follow Rovers are from Sligo Town and the county im just saying that there is no such thing as a Connaught affinity from my perspective anyway.
PartySaint
01/11/2010, 10:13 AM
Please please tell me I'm not seeing people seriously debate the merits of the LSC?!
Its happening Sru, The off season has begun
bluemovie
01/11/2010, 3:02 PM
Yeah??
Well Limerick drew with Sporting Fingal who beat Shamrock Rovers by one goal, matching Juventus' result against Rovers in Modena, a Juventus side who yesterday beat AC Milan, a club who have won 7 (SEVEN) European Cups
Don't put yourselves down. Milan could only draw 0-0 in Athlone. Ye won 5-1.
**FrOsTy**
01/11/2010, 3:09 PM
Yeah??
Hence why Barcelona ask the FAI to postpone your fixture against them!
01/11/2010, 3:24 PM
Don't put yourselves down. Milan could only draw 0-0 in Athlone. Ye won 5-1.
And we won 5-0. :)
Battery Rover
01/11/2010, 3:29 PM
Athlone Town vs Limerick
Official attendance 113
01/11/2010, 3:35 PM
Rockall.
01/11/2010, 4:17 PM
First final update of the season so. Official figures in bold. Club averages in bold means more than half of their figures are official.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,835 (2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976) (missing Sligo 2)
Bray - 952 (1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Drogheda - 859 (1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1,877 (2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Galway - 869 (1,076; 1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD)
Pat's - 1,756 (1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3,794 (3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539) (missing Fingal 2)
Sligo - 1,807 (1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
Sporting Fingal - 908 (635 FD; 688 FD)
UCD - 610 (272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 354 (462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cork - 1,693 (2,681 PD; 3,142 PD; 2,897 PD; 2,941 PD; 3,644 PD)
Derry - 1,965 (2,436 PD; 3,363 PD; 2,614 PD; 3,229 PD; 2,698 PD)
Harps - 644 (480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) (missing Limerick 2)
Limerick - 598 (429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 230 (260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD) (missing Derry 2 and Shels 2)
Mervue - 123 (166) (missing Monaghan 2, Shels and Salthill 2)
Monaghan - 410 (183; 177; 292; 204; 183) (missing Athlone 2, Limerick 2, Longford 2, Mervue, Salthill and Shels)
Salthill Devon - 122 (N/A) (missing Derry 2, Mervue and Monaghan 2)
Shels - 737 (972; 986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD)
Waterford - 619 (434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 343 (494; 767; 810) (missing Monaghan 2 and Salthill 2)
Premier Division average - 1,512 (2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
First Division average - 682 (417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
Overall average - 1,095 (1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
Attendances for last weekend (i.e. the figures I've gone with) -
Premier Division
Bohemians v Dundalk - 2400
Bray Wanderers v Shamrock Rovers - 3000
Drogheda United v Galway United - 250
Sligo Rovers v St. Patricks Athletic - 2800
Sporting Fingal v UCD - 812
First Division
Athlone Town v Limerick - 113
Finn Harps v Mervue United - 402
Monaghan United v Derry City - 2000
Salthill Devon v Longford Town - no figure yet
Shelbourne v Waterford United - 1349
Wexford Youths v Cork City FC - 550
I'll do the usual round of a few of the club forums to see if I can fill in any of the gaps, or if anyone here has any more info, post away.
bluemovie
01/11/2010, 4:28 PM
Monaghan - 410 (183; 177; 292; 204; 183) (missing Athlone 2, Limerick 2, Longford 2, Mervue, Salthill, Shels and Waterford 2)
Recent games missing -
Waterford v Limerick
Blues v Limerick 534. Did you get my Monaghan v Blues estimate 350?
01/11/2010, 4:41 PM
I did yeah; sorry, should have taken it off the list alright. Thanks!
D.24saint
01/11/2010, 4:41 PM
I know these are only guesstimates but the fact that half the premier division is in the hundreds shows the ten team idea has not worked.
01/11/2010, 4:43 PM
I don't you can definitively draw that conclusion from the data given at all.
bluemovie
01/11/2010, 4:57 PM
I did yeah; sorry, should have taken it off the list alright. Thanks!
You're welcome, my bromeliad friend!
AnnaghRed
01/11/2010, 7:03 PM
Overall average of 1093. Think the IL average last season was round the 900 mark, not a big pile of difference really.
ger121
01/11/2010, 8:09 PM
Recent games missing -
Bohs v Dundalk
Rough guess,I'd say around 2400. Bout 2250ish in the jodi and 125-150 from Dundalk in the Des Kelly
bullit
01/11/2010, 8:30 PM
Rough guess,I'd say around 2400. Bout 2250ish in the jodi and 125-150 from Dundalk in the Des Kelly
The MNS reporter said "a handful of Dundalk fans",the big oul culchie handed egit:D
01/11/2010, 10:19 PM
Overall average of 1093. Think the IL average last season was round the 900 mark, not a big pile of difference really.
Including the second tier?