View Full Version : 2010 attendances
redobit
19/09/2010, 4:26 PM
Yous should be pushing for third and not lookin over your shoulder. Woeful attendance in dalyer on friday and not great in inchicore (I know, early kick off etc) yesterday, didnt see the figure for last night, anyone know (OK it was in shligo so I'd asume they'll say 600 or so)
In fairness GGAJD I think we are. The goal was to catch Sporting Subway first, which we have done and now were looking to catch Pats who are only 3 points ahead of us and have to come to the Showgrounds. Going to be real tough but I suppose at lest its great to be in this position.
poster
19/09/2010, 4:29 PM
Rovers V Mons 2,200
19/09/2010, 5:01 PM
Less then that. A few Mon dogs present too
http://i56.tinypic.com/ouuoau.jpg
Actually another 12 joined us there and 2 others were on the sligo side making it 29 altogether. Post up a picture of yourself coz you must be gorgeous.
19/09/2010, 8:47 PM
A cup quarter final and that's all you can manage to bring to it? Embarrassing really.
19/09/2010, 8:53 PM
No, not when there is a final the following week that everyone is geared up for. Hard to motivate everyone to make the same journey twice in a week.
Lamper.sffc
19/09/2010, 11:33 PM
That dig might actually have some bite to it if if werent for the fact that we showed how many fans we can bring to a cup final or even that we had well over 4000 at our semi final last year or that its a Sporting Franchise fan trying to make a dig about attendances or that this conversation will be completely irrelevant in the guts of 5 years when Sporting Franchise eventually folds.
Like ROB said there was the guts of 2100 at the game last night.
True true, but you also showed how quickly those fans can empty a stand in record time at the end. What a great day that was ;)
Rasputin
20/09/2010, 1:28 PM
True true, but you also showed how quickly those fans can empty a stand in record time at the end. What a great day that was ;)
Meahh enjoy it, we have a LC Final and Cup Semi Final to look forward to.
Lamper.sffc
20/09/2010, 2:33 PM
Meahh enjoy it, we have a LC Final and Cup Semi Final to look forward to.
That you do. Well done. Enjoy it.
passerrby
20/09/2010, 2:42 PM
A cup quarter final and that's all you can manage to bring to it? Embarrassing really.
why should we be embarrassed to be in a fai cup Q/final. a league cup final and top of the division.
I would be a lot more embarrassed if we were not competing in anything... would nt we
redobit
20/09/2010, 2:49 PM
Our fans werent the only ones. Seen plenty of Fingal fans outside straight after the game. Heard 2 couples outside talking about how that was an 'enjoyable day out', while inside the cup was being presented - I nearly went over and sparked him out.
why should we be embarrassed to be in a fai cup Q/final. a league cup final and top of the division.
I would be a lot more embarrassed if we were not competing in anything... would nt we
Don't forget all of this is being done on the back of absolutely no income from gates. if anything Monaghan are a model club...
sundance kid
20/09/2010, 2:57 PM
Heard 2 couples outside talking about how that was an 'enjoyable day out', while inside the cup was being presented - I nearly went over and sparked him out.
You sound like a gem of a bloke, your parents must be so proud.
redobit
20/09/2010, 3:13 PM
Dont take things so literally, I said i felt like it, I didnt do it.
Go way any point your a finger from behind your keyboard at someone else ye bottom feeder.
peadar1987
20/09/2010, 10:19 PM
Maybe 450 in Bray tonight to witness our glorious victory. 50-75ish from Dundalk, although that's open to correction. Pretty pathetic crowd really, even considering the short notice
No, not when there is a final the following week that everyone is geared up for. Hard to motivate everyone to make the same journey twice in a week.
Especially to Sligo - once is more than enough..
Sean South
20/09/2010, 11:10 PM
A Longford Town fan having pop shots at Monaghan about their travelling support is like two midgets arguing who is the tallest.
Lamper.sffc
20/09/2010, 11:14 PM
Our fans werent the only ones. Seen plenty of Fingal fans outside straight after the game. Heard 2 couples outside talking about how that was an 'enjoyable day out', while inside the cup was being presented - I nearly went over and sparked him out.
So what your telling me is that you where outside quite quickly yourself then. I see. Tut tut, Day tripper.
Jesus. I support a souless franchise with feck all fans and I have only been doing so for 3 years and I still would have stayed around to clap my teams efforts. Good luck against Bohs and if the weather is a little bad and you end up losing, do stay around to at least clap the lads off :)
Sean South
20/09/2010, 11:28 PM
So what your telling me is that you where outside quite quickly yourself then. I see. Tut tut, Day tripper.
Jesus. I support a souless franchise with feck all fans and I have only been doing so for 3 years and I still would have stayed around to clap my teams efforts. Good luck against Bohs and if the weather is a little bad and you end up losing, do stay around to at least clap the lads off :)
Most of our lads stayed back after the game gathering up material and stuff. Fingals section was half empty when they were lifting cup maybe 3/4 empty when they were celebrating. Cant of a day, wind, rain, can't really blame anyone for leaving so quickly. For us it was a real bitter pill to swallow and most of your lot had never been to a Fingal game in their puff so they didn't really care that much
redobit
21/09/2010, 12:04 AM
Clapped my team off, then I left. In fact by the time i got to the main entrance of the hotel accross the road Paul Cook was passing outside on his phone. I thanked him for his efforts and then went to the bar, after that I couldnt tell ya.
Its hard to take seeing fans who got their tickets for free outside the ground saying how it was enjoyable, while their club is being handed the trophy, and you know they will have forgotten about it by the next morning.
redobit
21/09/2010, 12:09 AM
Especially to Sligo - once is more than enough..
Imagine how we feel, nearly half of our away games in a season are in Dublins fair sh!ty.
Yeah, but all of your home games are in Sligo, I think we all know which is worse...
The Lep
21/09/2010, 2:56 PM
Ye, course you did :)
Rasputin
22/09/2010, 2:05 AM
Ye, course you did :)
Already shaping up to be the new Sheridan as the Sporting Franchise Apocolypse edges ever closer.
A new Sheridan is badly needed.
DO you disagree with lep? Do you think redobit "nearly went over and sparked" the Fingla fan out? Or do you think redobit mumbled something and decided to moan on the internet about it instead?
Spudulika
22/09/2010, 10:17 AM
A new Sheridan is badly needed.
DO you disagree with lep? Do you think redobit "nearly went over and sparked" the Fingla fan out? Or do you think redobit mumbled something and decided to moan on the internet about it instead?
He considered for a moment letting go of his Daddy's hand, but figured he'd get a bateing if he did, sure they were up in Dublin and it's an awful fierce place to go.
redobit
22/09/2010, 10:34 AM
I was never in a million years gona spark the lad out ffs, not that type of person what so ever. A bad choice of words granted, but it was just meant to show how annoyed I was at time with so called fans that really didnt give a damn.
Amazing how things on this forum are dissected and wee jibs are floated about. Seriously, were at the business end of a season we should have better things to be talking about, I include meself in that one.
redobit
22/09/2010, 10:39 AM
As this is an attendence thread:
Sligo Rovers Vs Bohemians Id say about 2200 with a good travelling support from the Bohs fan (250 odd).
A good attendence for a Tuesday evening by both fans, who had 3 games in a week to pay for.
Spudulika
22/09/2010, 10:51 AM
Quick question redobit (I asked a Galway fan this last week), does weather play a factor in attendances in Galway? I remember we always had poorer crowds in Dundalk if it was a dry cold night and strangely more in when it was drizzling (that was a few years ago though).
redobit
22/09/2010, 11:10 AM
Hard to say Spud, but I always think the day of a game that if its raining the hour before the game then the crowds are likely to be down. Probably a lot of Will I or Wont I fans that dont like to travel to a game in the rain. Funny enough when they are there they probably couldnt care less cause of the covered areas.
Spudulika
22/09/2010, 11:19 AM
It's strange like that, and it's just human nature, you see it tipping down and just figure, ah well. The last time I went to a game in Sligo (2008) it was a clear evening, chilly and a good crowd out. In that sense I miss winter football, it was always a buzz when it got that little damper and more muddy, though maybe I prefer a lower standard of football!
redobit
22/09/2010, 11:26 AM
Was that the game we were up by 2 any ye won it. I think the muddy slug fests days are probably gone, even on really wet days the LOI pitches these days can still play football. Its no suprise that our club are trying to get the winter games back - a crisp damp evening under lights in the Showgies with the atmosphere rocking, nowhere else you'd want to be.
22/09/2010, 12:52 PM
Averages after round 28 in the First Division. Official figures in bold. Club averages in bold means more than half of their figures are official.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,732 (2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976) (missing Sligo 2)
Bray - 848 (1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Drogheda - 965 (1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1,936 (2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Galway - 861 (1,076; 1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD)
Pat's - 1,857 (1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3,797 (3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Sligo - 1,705 (1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
Sporting Fingal - 947 (635 FD; 688 FD)
UCD - 530 (272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 393 (462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cork - 1,810 (2,681 PD; 3,142 PD; 2,897 PD; 2,941 PD; 3,644 PD)
Derry - 1,830 (2,436 PD; 3,363 PD; 2,614 PD; 3,229 PD; 2,698 PD)
Harps - 705 (480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) (missing Limerick 2)
Limerick - 617 (429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 243 (260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD) (missing Derry 2 and Shels 2)
Mervue - 123 (166) (missing Shels)
Monaghan - 240 (183; 177; 292; 204; 183) (missing Athlone 2, Longford 2, Mervue, Salthill and Shels)
Salthill Devon - 129 (N/A) (missing Mervue)
Shels - 692 (972; 986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD)
Waterford - 644 (434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 324 (494; 767; 810) (missing Monaghan 2 and Salthill 2)
Premier Division average - 1,513 (2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
First Division average - 665 (417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
Overall average - 1,089 (1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
Attendances for last weekend (i.e. the figures I've gone with) -
Premier Division
Sligo v Bohs - 2200
First Division
Limerick v Cork - 780
Longford v Derry - no figure yet
Mervue v Waterford - 42
Monaghan v Athlone - no figure yet
Shels v Harps - 631
Wexford v Salthill - no figure yet
Recent games missing -
Longford v Derry
Monaghan v Athlone
Wexford v Salthill
Spudulika
22/09/2010, 4:51 PM
Was that the game we were up by 2 any ye won it. I think the muddy slug fests days are probably gone, even on really wet days the LOI pitches these days can still play football. Its no suprise that our club are trying to get the winter games back - a crisp damp evening under lights in the Showgies with the atmosphere rocking, nowhere else you'd want to be.
That's it. But you know, I'd hate to see muddy pitches for sides like Sligo or Sporting Fingal, I've not seen two better footballing sides for a long time in the league and they deserve good surfaces to play on. I find Oriel can be good for flowing football, though despite the apparent advantages, I preferred the old surface which was immaculate. I can't remember the exact year, though I think it was 87, when we played Sligo in a replay in Oriel, it was a cracker and we won, but I was standing by the main stand, looking at the pitch and thinking, why can't they all be like that.
I do miss winter evenings at games, or Saturday afternoons and early sunsets, but I suppose summer football does have perks.
Partizan
23/09/2010, 10:31 AM
Only backward lookng clubs like Sligo want winter mudball back. Never again.
redobit
23/09/2010, 10:48 AM
Would you care to back that up with some actual facts.
And on the winter football thing, we feel it could be best situation for our club to get more bodies through the turnstiles, thats all and you cant blame us for that - similar to when Dundalk played their FD games on the Thursday night.
Spudulika
23/09/2010, 1:45 PM
I think that there is no excuse for mudbath pitches in the modern day, you can look at Galway's early season pitch as evidence that not only in darkest January can a surface be cat. Going up against the GAA is never going to be a help, while preparation for Europe is only a misdirection, I'd be happy with the league starting the end of June, breaking at Christmas and re-starting in January until April. You'd have 8 months of football with the FAI cup final in April.
Maybe we should go with the South America model of having several championships per season. We could have a summer league and a winter one.
23/09/2010, 4:14 PM
Maybe we should go with the South America model of having several championships per season. We could have a summer league and a winter one.
You just want el Presidente assassinated and cool dog to lead a military coup.
Model Club
23/09/2010, 5:45 PM
C'mon Partizan.Its not that Sligo fans love mud baths its that the good citizens of Sligo go building sandcastles at Rosses point every second friday night-Thus,their attendances are not as big as they'd like.(alas-Whos are??)
Is the mad man who used this as an excuse still involved with Sligo I wonder?
23/09/2010, 5:50 PM
the good citizens of Sligo go building sandcastles at Rosses point every second friday night
I thought they were saving hay?
sligo23
23/09/2010, 6:33 PM
Is the mad man who used this as an excuse still involved with Sligo I wonder?
No, the housewives got him.
Rasputin
24/09/2010, 9:54 AM
No, the housewives got him.
Haha I remember that in the paper allright, how summer football has hit our hardcore support of housewives support, just bizarre.
Either way I think people have eventually got used to summer football here, after much grumbling but I still do miss the old winter atmosphere at games, cant replace a cold night under the floodlights.
24/09/2010, 10:25 PM
Cork City v Longford - 1,398
http://corkcityfc.net/updates/
**FrOsTy**
24/09/2010, 11:04 PM
I'd guess I. Around 700 at Waterford v Limerick
SPXcyan
25/09/2010, 12:33 PM
I'd of said 750-800 :)
**FrOsTy**
25/09/2010, 12:35 PM
Extratime says 534! Surely wrong. 534 was probably the paying at the gate attendance! Don't understand why the season tickets arent counted.
HulaHoop
25/09/2010, 1:30 PM
3911 at Tallaght last night.
Candystripe
25/09/2010, 2:14 PM
Derry City V Mervue Utd 1,336 watched the goal of the season from Jame's McLean.
PartySaint
25/09/2010, 10:14 PM
1,049 at Richmond last night according to the Star, seems right to me, Poor numbers from both clubs although Dundalk fans made it sound like there was alot more of them than there was and apparently they would rather have a Tipton than a Fenn
25/09/2010, 10:20 PM
and apparently they would rather have a Tipton than a Fenn
That chant was brilliant the night of the 5-1. :D