View Full Version : 2010 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41

05/10/2010, 11:13 AM
I heard 2080-something after the match. :confused:
I was told 2082 by Sherro junior midway through the second half; apparently this was up to 20 minutes after kick off. I'll go with the extratime figure just to keep the sources consistent, and also because 100 each way won't make a massive difference to our overall average.

Out of interest I wonder how did this compare to UCD`s other crowds from Belfield for league games, Stu - have you any info on this, surely you must have had similar crowds for a host of other important league games down the years, especially as the location was so convenient for a lot of the Dublin sides.
We didn't do official attendances till a couple of years ago, so it's a bit hard to say. The League Cup Final was 2074 and there was definitely nothing as high as that that I recall (though apparently Ireland v Czech Republic U-21s around 2000 came close). No-one's ever won a league in Belfield in my time (ourselves included!), so the Rovers game was possibly the biggest game we've hosted for the opposition. Your previous biggest Dublin derbies came in at about 1600 tops. And seeing as that's my guesstimate, you could probably take 200 off that.

Edit - just saw schumi's reply there. The 3-0 win against Rovers in '99 was a good crowd alright, but as it was one of my first games, my memory is a little hazy. I thought the European game against Kyustendil was a huge crowd at the time, but looking back at it on video, it was only 1000 or so.

Rasputin
06/10/2010, 5:33 AM
Id say around 1800 against Bray.
Not bad considering Bray wouldnt be the biggest banwagon pullers and it being a rotten Tuesday night.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/10/2010, 8:14 AM
Irish Times have

3,400 in Dalymount
350 in Hunky Dory Park
1,200 in The Showgrounds

06/10/2010, 9:37 AM
Yeah I thought about that figure in Drogheda. Roughly 50/50 split

legendz
06/10/2010, 10:08 AM
Sligo deserve to be getting 203 times that support. If I was living in the area and the local team were performing that well, I wouldn't want to be missing it.
*Of course the local side at the opposite end of the table would deserve the support as well.

pateen
06/10/2010, 10:57 AM
Irish Times have

3,400 in Dalymount

Would have thought they might break the 5000 mark for this. Title decider and thats all they get. Not great really

legendz
06/10/2010, 11:02 AM
People are saying Boh's and Rovers is going to be great in the Aviva!? Sligo will have something to say about that. I'm hoping for a Rovers vs Rovers final.

Tony Soprano
06/10/2010, 12:01 PM
Would have thought they might break the 5000 mark for this. Title decider and thats all they get. Not great really

early kick off + all ticket didn't help

how many did rovers bring ? connaught st side looked jammed. 1,000 ? 1,500 ?

06/10/2010, 12:39 PM
Rovers were limited to 1,500 tickets. I've no doubt they'd have sold twice that.

Don't forget Bohs fans are charged €20 into a home game. Can't help sway any undecided. With the 7 kick off and the fact tickets weren't on sale up to kick off, most nuetrals would've watched it on TV too

Tony Soprano
06/10/2010, 12:51 PM
how much does jodi stand hold ? 3,000 ?

looked about 85% full

so if there was 1,500 rovers fans there attendance could have been about 4,000

06/10/2010, 1:00 PM
how much does jodi stand hold ? 3,000 ?

looked about 85% full

so if there was 1,500 rovers fans there attendance could have been about 4,000

That's what I thought too. Although there was a small block at the end of the Jodi that was kept empty, the rest of it looked well full. There definitely looked to be 4000 there I thought.

(Assuming Rovers had 1500)

06/10/2010, 1:04 PM
Averages after round 32. Official figures in bold. Club averages in bold means more than half of their figures are official.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,800 (2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976) (missing Sligo 2)
Bray - 802 (1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Drogheda - 895 (1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1,934 (2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Galway - 861 (1,076; 1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD)
Pat's - 1,810 (1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3,803 (3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Sligo - 1,716 (1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
Sporting Fingal - 933 (635 FD; 688 FD)
UCD - 621 (272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 388 (462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cork - 1,780 (2,681 PD; 3,142 PD; 2,897 PD; 2,941 PD; 3,644 PD)
Derry - 1,795 (2,436 PD; 3,363 PD; 2,614 PD; 3,229 PD; 2,698 PD)
Harps - 676 (480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) (missing Limerick 2 and Wexford 2)
Limerick - 629 (429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 236 (260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD) (missing Derry 2 and Shels 2)
Mervue - 123 (166) (missing Shels)
Monaghan - 240 (183; 177; 292; 204; 183) (missing Athlone 2, Longford 2, Mervue, Salthill, Shels and Waterford 2)
Salthill Devon - 122 (N/A) (missing Mervue)
Shels - 703 (972; 986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD)
Waterford - 636 (434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 334 (494; 767; 810) (missing Monaghan 2 and Salthill 2)

Premier Division average - 1,515 (2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
First Division average - 662 (417; 641; 722; 570; 520)

Overall average - 1,092 (1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)

Attendances for last weekend (i.e. the figures I've gone with) -

Premier Division
Bohemians v Bray Wanderers - 1155
Dundalk v Galway United - 1900
Sporting Fingal v St Patricks Athletic - 712
UCD v Shamrock Rovers - 1986
Sligo Rovers v Drogheda United - 1900
Bohs v Rovers - 3400
Drogheda v Pat's - 350
Sligo v Bray - 1200

First Division
Finn Harps v Athlone Town - 340
Monaghan United v Waterford United - no figure yet
Shelbourne v Cork City FC - 912
Salthill Devon v Limerick - 39
Longford Town v Mervue United - 153
Wexford Youths v Derry City - 450

Recent game missing -
Monaghan v Waterford

06/10/2010, 4:51 PM
Recent game missing -
Longford v Mervue

as posted on our forum our attendance for town v mervue was 153 fans..

Sean South
06/10/2010, 5:26 PM
1,763 at Rovers vs Bray.

Bray Head
07/10/2010, 7:36 AM
1,763 at Rovers vs Bray.

Is that official ? Great crowd for a mid week game if so against a team down at the bottom. Just proves how wrong the journalist's guesses are. They had it down at 1,200.

redobit
07/10/2010, 8:24 AM
Sounds right to me. Remember thinking on the night there must be around 1800 here. As you siad for a Tuesday evening against Bray (no offence) who brought about a dozen, a decent gate.

Edit: it was fecking freeezing too.

07/10/2010, 11:41 PM
342 I'm reliably informed was the attendance at Limerick Wexford

Which is a very good crowd for us for what is essentially a dead rubber on a Thursday.

Rasputin
08/10/2010, 7:42 AM
had it down at 1,200.
Bizarre when you consider the New Stand alone holds the guts of 1800.

trevy
10/10/2010, 1:36 PM
Only about 450 at the RSC last night for Waterford United v Finn Harps.

blue til i die
10/10/2010, 1:39 PM
Only about 450 at the RSC last night for Waterford United v Finn Harps.

372 officially. :(

Candystripe
10/10/2010, 3:43 PM
Derry City V Shelbourne 2,361

10/10/2010, 6:03 PM
Galway v UCD was called out as 782.

PartySaint
10/10/2010, 6:04 PM
1,700 at Pats Bohs yesterday, Stupid Saturday 1 o'clock kick offs

10/10/2010, 8:02 PM
Cork City v Monaghan Utd - 997

http://www.corkcityfc.net/home/2010/10/09/cork-city-1-0-monaghan-united/

Battery Rover
10/10/2010, 10:10 PM
Athlone Town vs Longford

120 official

Seasons end cant come quick enough

11/10/2010, 8:32 PM
Athlone Town vs Longford

120 official

I came in late and didnt take in the crowd nos.. Battery Rover I heard that we brought as many fans as ye but it has got bad for both our clubs when its typical we can get 150 people a lot at our games..

bullit
11/10/2010, 8:35 PM
DundalkFC.com have 1500 down as the attendance for saturdays match.

OneForTheFuture
12/10/2010, 8:48 AM
Athlone Town vs Longford

120 official

I heard Fabio is suspended for the remaining games after being red carded after El Classico!

12/10/2010, 11:32 AM
Athlone Town vs Longford

120 official

Half of them must have been from Longford as well. That's a terrible number though :(

I heard Fabio is suspended for the remaining games after being red carded after El Classico!
They're probably better off. He was at nothing on Saturday night, didn't look interested at all.

legendz
12/10/2010, 11:56 AM
They really need to try and sort out some youth league from U16 up, the game is going nowhere otherwise and the lack of support with it.

gufc2000
12/10/2010, 2:31 PM
The Star yesterday had 1600 or someting for Bray and Drogheda

peadar1987
12/10/2010, 11:09 PM
The Star yesterday had 1600 or someting for Bray and Drogheda

Yeah, it was a great crowd. I couldn't get my usual seat behind the dugout, so I had to sit down the end with a load of kids. Very unimpressed! I wouldn't have said there were that many there though. Rehab Bingo Stand was maybe 90% full, but I wouldn't have though there were 700 Drogheda supporters across from us.

Bray Head
13/10/2010, 4:19 PM
I'd say about 1,300 at Bray v. Drogheda. 1,600 seems a bit high.

The Lep
13/10/2010, 4:55 PM
Read in one of the papers that Pike rovers had 1200 in a cup gain last week against fairview rangers i think it was but open to correction.

SupaJon
13/10/2010, 8:35 PM
I'd say about 1,300 at Bray v. Drogheda. 1,600 seems a bit high.

That seems a bit more like it.

700 seems a bit high for the away stand too.

Great crowd though - hope most of them are still coming next season.

peadar1987
13/10/2010, 8:51 PM

The kids down near where me and my dad were sitting seemed to be having a great time. Most of them anyway. There was some little ****e sitting behing us who was cheering for Drogheda, because they play in the same colours as Burnley, who beat Man United last season, which he liked because he was a Liverpool "fan"! In retrospect, slapping him probably wasn't the best course of action...

13/10/2010, 9:26 PM
In retrospect, slapping him probably wasn't the best course of action...
Only in the legal sense.

13/10/2010, 11:37 PM
I wouldn't have though there were 700 Drogheda supporters across from us.

Considering they had about 200 for their last home game v pats, I'd your safe enough with that assumption

Bray Head
14/10/2010, 8:44 AM

Drogheda had about 150 who were mainly to the right of the press box. The left of the press box were mostly Bray as the main stand was almost full with very little free seats and loads of screaming kids. A good few went over to open side to escape the screaming kids.

WindmillWarrior
14/10/2010, 1:42 PM
Considering they had about 200 for their last home game v pats, I'd your safe enough with that assumption

Ah here it was bad alright, but I don't remember it being that bad! The estimate from our forum at the time was 450ish I think. 300ish home support and 100ish travelling Pats fans.

14/10/2010, 2:02 PM
200 or 300 isn't that big of a difference. Either way its unlikely to lead to 700 in Bray...

I've siad it load sof times on here. The actual numbers don't interest me. Anyone who goes to games can see the crowds and make their own minds up.

oriel
14/10/2010, 9:06 PM
I noticed that Bray crowd too on MNS, the stand looked to be almost full, did Bray do any family promotions ? Looked to be a really decent atmosphere too, fair play to them. Almost starting to look as if the PD would be worse off w.o Bray nx season ! although in saying that we were shocking in all 4 games this year lost 3, and robbed the first win on day 2.

14/10/2010, 11:17 PM
Read in one of the papers that Pike rovers had 1200 in a cup gain last week against fairview rangers i think it was but open to correction.

At least twelve hundred by all accounts in town (I wasn't bothered going myself)

Big Limerick derby in the Junior Cup, there's at least four clubs in town outside ourselves who could compete in the top half of the First Division.* (possibly making them better than ourselves!! :) )

*And some would claim have the budgets to prove it. :p

gufcfan
15/10/2010, 3:56 AM
Big Limerick derby in the Junior Cup, there's at least four clubs in town outside ourselves who could compete in the top half of the First Division.
Ah now... come on.

Bray Head
15/10/2010, 7:18 AM
I noticed that Bray crowd too on MNS, the stand looked to be almost full, did Bray do any family promotions ? Looked to be a really decent atmosphere too, fair play to them. Almost starting to look as if the PD would be worse off w.o Bray nx season ! although in saying that we were shocking in all 4 games this year lost 3, and robbed the first win on day 2.

There were 3 local schoolboy teams invited so that helped. Also no premiership on TV to compete against helped.

15/10/2010, 7:35 AM

Find that hard to believe. Was up in Jackman Park last night for Pike vs Fairview in the Touhy Cup and there was only about 100 to 150 max. While i know the FAI Junior Cup match was a bigger game and there was probably a bigger crowd at it i still think there is too big a difference between 150 people and 1,200 for basically the same match.

Also Lim Till I Die from what i saw last night if Fairview are supposed to be the second best team in Limerick then Pike are the only team that would stand any chance in the First Division. Big difference in the two teams.

15/10/2010, 11:29 AM
Averages after round 34. Official figures in bold. Club averages in bold means more than half of their figures are official.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,800 (2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976) (missing Sligo 2)
Bray - 831 (1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Drogheda - 895 (1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1,908 (2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Galway - 856 (1,076; 1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD)
Pat's - 1,801 (1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3,803 (3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539) (missing Fingal 2)
Sligo - 1,749 (1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
Sporting Fingal - 933 (635 FD; 688 FD)
UCD - 621 (272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 370 (462; 387; 670; 421; 316)
Cork - 1,728 (2,681 PD; 3,142 PD; 2,897 PD; 2,941 PD; 3,644 PD)
Derry - 1,833 (2,436 PD; 3,363 PD; 2,614 PD; 3,229 PD; 2,698 PD)
Harps - 676 (480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) (missing Limerick 2 and Wexford 2)
Limerick - 610 (429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 236 (260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD) (missing Derry 2 and Shels 2)
Mervue - 123 (166) (missing Shels and Salthill 2)
Monaghan - 240 (183; 177; 292; 204; 183) (missing Athlone 2, Longford 2, Mervue, Salthill, Shels and Waterford 2)
Salthill Devon - 122 (N/A) (missing Mervue and Monaghan 2)
Shels - 703 (972; 986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD)
Waterford - 618 (434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 334 (494; 767; 810) (missing Monaghan 2 and Salthill 2)

Premier Division average - 1,513 (2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
First Division average - 668 (417; 641; 722; 570; 520)

Overall average - 1,093 (1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)

Attendances for last weekend (i.e. the figures I've gone with) -

Premier Division
St Pats Athletic v Bohemians - 1659
Dundalk v Sligo Rovers - 1500
Shamrock Rovers v Sporting Fingal - no figure yet
Galway United v UCD - 782
Bray Wanderers v Drogheda United - 1300

First Division
Limerick v Wexford Youths - 342
Mervue United v Salthill - no figure yet
Cork City FC v Monaghan United - 997
Derry City v Shelbourne - 2361
Waterford United v Finn Harps - 372
Athlone Town v Longford Town - 120

Recent games missing -
Rovers v Fingal
Mervue v Salthill
Salthill v Monaghan

Tony Soprano
15/10/2010, 10:36 PM
At least twelve hundred by all accounts in town (I wasn't bothered going myself)

Big Limerick derby in the Junior Cup, there's at least four clubs in town outside ourselves who could compete in the top half of the First Division.* (possibly making them better than ourselves!! :) )

*And some would claim have the budgets to prove it. :p

which clubs are they and do you think any of them are interested in joining the a league ?

oriel
16/10/2010, 11:19 AM
I was thinking during last nights cup semi final between Bohs and Sligo how good it looked having the away fans at the school end, looked an impressive crowd on tv, we have given that area a few times, so why do Rovers fans go on the Connaught st side ?? Would look much better behind the goal.

I checked the Irish Times today, they had a crowd of 2,588, thats a terrible crowd for a FAI cup semi, it seems Sligo took a really good support, but its wasnt long ago cup semi`s got close to 5k.

Nothing in for UCD v Dundalk & Fingal v Galway yet.

Rasputin
16/10/2010, 1:24 PM
I was thinking during last nights cup semi final between Bohs and Sligo how good it looked having the away fans at the school end, looked an impressive crowd on tv, we have given that area a few times, so why do Rovers fans go on the Connaught st side ?? Would look much better behind the goal.
Its hard to estimate the crowd we brought when your in among them but from my guess it was about 800 or 900.
Makes you wonder what crowd we would have brought if the FAI attempted to accomodate travelling fans and switched the Semi's with Pats and Shams.

I checked the Irish Times today, they had a crowd of 2,588, thats a terrible crowd for a FAI cup semi, it seems Sligo took a really good support, but its wasnt long ago cup semi`s got close to 5k.

Sure we got over 4000 just last year at the Semi vs Waterford, ya couldnt move in the Showgies.