View Full Version : 2010 attendances
Fantastic crowd by Cork, would be good if their fans stick with them for the season. Hopefully Dundalk and Rovers can provide big attendances tomorrow and Tuesday.
Finlay Harp
13/03/2010, 9:40 AM
Looks like the first division average is going to run the Premier close this year.
trevy
13/03/2010, 10:22 AM
Waterford v Wexford official attendance 683 according to this: http://www.wexfordecho.ie/news/story/?trs=mhojmhidmh&cat=sport
Yeah that was the number that paid in on the night but doesn't include season ticket holders who don't go through turnstiles and drive into car park in the ground so general consensus on btid was about 900 to 1000 there. Its being looked into with the club if we get a full attendance figure to include everyone.
13/03/2010, 11:16 AM
We've introduced booklet type season tickets this year that have an individual ticket stub for each game so hopefully we should be able to get a more accurate figure on our attendances, as previously season ticket holders just showed their card as they walked in and therefore it wasn't possible to know exactly how many attended the games. This booklet type season ticket is going to be the precursor to an electronic swipe card system for season ticket holders which will be introduced later on in the year.
galwayjames
13/03/2010, 11:41 AM
Really disappointed by the turnout last night, the only reason I can think of is that is was Bray....
interesting to note as well Cork's attendance is up 1,000 on their first game last season (4,401 last night, 3,410 v Pats last season according to 2009 attendances thread). Good work.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/03/2010, 12:39 PM
Fair play to your lads. Sang their hearts out. A credit to your club.
One of these 2 figures is wrong then.
Stand holds 800. There was 1267 at the game.
There wasn't 467 people standing in front of the stand
Lamper.sffc
13/03/2010, 12:55 PM
One of these 2 figures is wrong then.
Stand holds 800. There was 1267 at the game.
There wasn't 467 people standing in front of the stand
Not really going to get into it beyond this but there was a lot more than 800 in the stand and there was plenty around the the railings. I felt there was between 1100 and 1200 myself when I was there last night. Not really worth having a disagreement over tbh
viagogo
13/03/2010, 1:43 PM
Fantastic crowd by Cork, would be good if their fans stick with them for the season. Hopefully Dundalk and Rovers can provide big attendances tomorrow and Tuesday.
Would be amazed if Cork get the same crowd every week. Think the attendance for the next home game against Mervue United will tell a lot. There is a history here of getting good crowds one week then people realise it is not the Premiership and never go back.
I doubt think anyone expects us to maintain that crowd.
If we could average half of it it would be outstanding.
13/03/2010, 2:22 PM
i find this crap about "yea there was 600 etc in the ground but when you include the season tickets which arnt counted, there was 1,000000" this is total ********! season tickets should be counted by ticking their ticket number, entry counted at gate, bar code ticket, but end story is, there counted. yet another season of guessing and est attendences.
limerick, all ticket, season ticket holders, players, officials, guests are all either issued with comp bar coded tickets or a plastic credit card style card.
13/03/2010, 2:25 PM
Harps have clickers on the gate to count the season tickets at each turnstile. If they don't go to the game they are not part of the attendance.
By the way, we sold 9,000 season tickets this year, down 55,000 from 2009. It is a recession after all.
Riddickcule
13/03/2010, 2:59 PM
We've sold 30 this year, compared to 50 last year, darn recession!
By big club I assume you mean teams in Dublin that are a 10min drive away. Good crowd against Linfield, main stand was packed
i think everyone knows who he meant by big club... :silly: :curl:
13/03/2010, 3:30 PM
I wonder how much of the attendance in the Morton Stadium last night was based on other teams in the Dublin area not having any games. For instance, I saw a couple of Pat's fans there, Raf was there, as was Roddy Collins and Colm Foley, most of which would not be there normally, I'm sure they're not the only ones. Mighn't be much but Fingal's attendance at their next home game should give a better indication of what amount of fans they have.
monkey9
13/03/2010, 3:40 PM
I wonder how much of the attendance in the Morton Stadium last night was based on other teams in the Dublin area not having any games. For instance, I saw a couple of Pat's fans there, Raf was there, as was Roddy Collins and Colm Foley, most of which would not be there normally, I'm sure they're not the only ones. Mighn't be much but Fingal's attendance at their next home game should give a better indication of what amount of fans they have.
That's exactly what i was thinking. There's no way that crowd was made up of all Fingal fans. I'm fairly sure the crowd was diluted heavily with a lot of neutrals who had no match of their own to go to and just decided to head down to a match.
It'll be no coincidence when the figure dips dramatically when a full fixture list is played on a friday with Fingal at home.
In saying that though, it's still good to see a big attendance
Maroon 7
13/03/2010, 4:50 PM
Promising figures from Cork, Fingal and Limerick there.....Poor decline by Galway really.
Terrible attendance for the first game of the season. We used to get more a few years back in the first division. I think the fact that we seem to have a new manager every season and almost a completely new squad every season as well makes it hard for floating fans to relate to the team. Seems to be just the hardcore going. Hopfully a couple decent results and it might pick up.
monkey9
13/03/2010, 4:53 PM
What about Bohs v Glens, Glens are nearly outnumbering the home support
Well Bohs are already through so it's a dead rubber really for them. Although i can never understand the fans who pick and choose their home games to go to.
20 quid a pop I'd be picking and choosing too.
Iorfa2MaccaJim
13/03/2010, 6:25 PM
Super attendance at Turner's Cross last night.
Considering it was Corks 1st home game. Is there any chance that they'll
show it on M.N.S ?
The Lep
13/03/2010, 7:09 PM
We've introduced booklet type season tickets this year that have an individual ticket stub for each game so hopefully we should be able to get a more accurate figure on our attendances, as previously season ticket holders just showed their card as they walked in and therefore it wasn't possible to know exactly how many attended the games. This booklet type season ticket is going to be the precursor to an electronic swipe card system for season ticket holders which will be introduced later on in the year.
We had the booklet last year and the credit card type this year. Season ticket holders go in a diffrent gate and get a numbered ticket to enter the ground with.
The Lep
13/03/2010, 7:12 PM
By big club I assume you mean teams in Dublin that are a 10min drive away. Good crowd against Linfield, main stand was packed
Dundalk is more than 10mins away and they brought a decent support :)
The Lep
13/03/2010, 7:17 PM
That's exactly what i was thinking. There's no way that crowd was made up of all Fingal fans. I'm fairly sure the crowd was diluted heavily with a lot of neutrals who had no match of their own to go to and just decided to head down to a match.
It'll be no coincidence when the figure dips dramatically when a full fixture list is played on a friday with Fingal at home.
In saying that though, it's still good to see a big attendance
There was a few sligo fans there as well :) It doesnt matter who they support, just that they came to watch us play.
13/03/2010, 9:09 PM
Dundalk is more than 10mins away and they brought a decent support :)You can't compare a trip from Dundalk to Fingal with Sligo to Fingal. Teams around the Dublin area(which is now everyone bar us and Galway) should bring way more to the games in Dublin area than they do.
It doesnt matter who they support, just that they came to watch us play.Or us? Come back in 2 weeks time, if they've come to watch you play again then fair enough.
sheao
13/03/2010, 11:24 PM
Super attendance at Turner's Cross last night.
Considering it was Corks 1st home game. Is there any chance that they'll
show it on M.N.S ?
Did'nt see any television cameras there so i doubt it .
The Lep
14/03/2010, 7:22 AM
You can't compare a trip from Dundalk to Fingal with Sligo to Fingal. Teams around the Dublin area(which is now everyone bar us and Galway) should bring way more to the games in Dublin area than they do.
Or us? Come back in 2 weeks time, if they've come to watch you play again then fair enough.
I wasnt comparing anything just saying that Dundalk is more than 10 mins from Dublin in an answer to a post and that they brought a decent support thats all. Im not questioning the support Sligo had on friday night
Or us? of course you as well cos you were playing us wernt you. A few St Pats fans have been in with our support a few times the last i know about was the shelbourne game at tolka. Point being that all are welcome and they count towards our attendance figures Fingal fans or not.
Battery Rover
14/03/2010, 10:50 AM
Athlone Town vs Mervue United Official attendance 402
Youths4Ever
14/03/2010, 4:37 PM
approx 380 in ferrycarrig park for Wexford v Shelbourne
oriel
14/03/2010, 11:51 PM
Approx 2,800 at Dlk v Drogs, lower than expected away supoport (200), and the change from Fri a big factor overall.
15/03/2010, 9:51 AM
Harps have clickers on the gate to count the season tickets at each turnstile.
Same with us; there's turnstiles for freebies/season ticket holders and for paying fans, and a counter for both sets of turnstiles in the ticket office. I think this stuff about "season ticket holders aren't included" is nonsense alright (with the exception of Waterford, whose system is just nonsense).
15/03/2010, 11:55 AM
2545 at Dundalk Vs Drogs yesterday.
oriel
15/03/2010, 12:03 PM
That is now an official attendance for Dlk v Drogs (2,545)
A N Mouse
15/03/2010, 1:17 PM
Maybe I'm alone in this, but I think pretty graphically, so I made this.
http://stigonline.com/attendences.gif
Try using stacked, either line or bar, graphs much easier on the eye
Battery Rover
15/03/2010, 1:26 PM
Are there many Cork fans expected to travel up to Athlone next Saturday night?
kevincronin2000
15/03/2010, 1:46 PM
afaik about 200, 2 buses and those that go by car
Approx 2,800 at Dlk v Drogs, lower than expected away supoport (200), and the change from Fri a big factor overall.
Why was the change from Friday a big factor in the attendance at a local derby?
I think Sunday is just not a suitable day anymore, people have too many things on. Friday would have been much better, people are used to this now. Lowest turn out from Drogs for years, they only had 200 or so, we were expecting a lot more than that.
MeathDrog
15/03/2010, 9:51 PM
I think Sunday is just not a suitable day anymore, people have too many things on. Friday would have been much better, people are used to this now. Lowest turn out from Drogs for years, they only had 200 or so, we were expecting a lot more than that.
That's being kind. I reckon it was 150 we brought.
GGAJD
16/03/2010, 12:10 AM
That's being kind. I reckon it was 150 we brought.
Looked less than that on the telly, 80-100 maybe. Very poor indeed, the mammies of drogheda certainly rule the roost.
redobit
16/03/2010, 8:53 AM
Same with us; there's turnstiles for freebies/season ticket holders and for paying fans, and a counter for both sets of turnstiles in the ticket office. I think this stuff about "season ticket holders aren't included" is nonsense alright (with the exception of Waterford, whose system is just nonsense).
Exactly, if that was the case the Nou Camp would have an official attendance of about 'zero' every time.
WindmillWarrior
16/03/2010, 12:17 PM
I make you right. but also, a large proportion of our support has all but disappeared over the last couple of seasons. Its depressing
The Lep
16/03/2010, 9:59 PM
Any figures from tonight's games ?
SMorgan
17/03/2010, 6:08 AM
5,500 according to the Indo at the Rovers match.
Dillonman
17/03/2010, 7:54 AM
Exactly, if that was the case the Nou Camp would have an official attendance of about 'zero' every time.
How do you make that one out, there is always thousands of day tourists that go to games at the Nou Camp as well as the Bernabeau. Same with old Trafford, no team has a capacity of their groudn full with season tickets.
Dalymountrower
17/03/2010, 7:54 AM
About 1,000 in Belfield, as many neutrals as UCD fans. 45 Euro for adult and three 11 year olds!!!! Definition of child in UCD is apparently under 10, must be a cannon law interpretation?.
Needless to say wont be bringing the kids again. Interestingly, Bohs got slagged off for ticket prices v Fingal in this Forum because it was err 20 Euro for adult plus 2( ?) kids.
17/03/2010, 8:37 AM
5,500 according to the Indo at the Rovers match.
That's a good strong crowd. Hopefully Rovers can continue gettin decent numbers this season again,
Not if they play the way they did last night. Novelty factor could wear off pretty damn quickly. Pats sold all 700 tickets they were allocated.
Dave_SRFC
17/03/2010, 9:55 AM
Not making excuses but that wind played a major factor in the result, junkies didn't look that good either...doubt Pats will sell 700 tickets for the next game in Tallaght..
Not if they play the way they did last night. Novelty factor could wear off pretty damn quickly. Pats sold all 700 tickets they were allocated.
Not making excuses but that wind played a major factor in the result, junkies didn't look that good either...doubt Pats will sell 700 tickets for the next game in Tallaght..
So ye still aren't used to the wind out in Tallaght?
Quadruple1928
17/03/2010, 12:23 PM
About 1,000 in Belfield, as many neutrals as UCD fans. 45 Euro for adult and three 11 year olds!!!! Definition of child in UCD is apparently under 10, must be a cannon law interpretation?.
Needless to say wont be bringing the kids again. Interestingly, Bohs got slagged off for ticket prices v Fingal in this Forum because it was err 20 Euro for adult plus 2( ?) kids.
some kid no older than 14 was asked to pay 15 quid in cause he didn't have a student card:confused: idiots out there.
Why's that? We've sold every ticket we've been allocated in Tallaght for 3 games so far.
If you're happy with the level of performance by Rovers and think that it'll encourage people to go to games, then fine.