View Full Version : 2010 attendances
peadar1987
25/09/2010, 11:42 PM
Derry City V Mervue Utd 1,336 watched the goal of the season from Jame's McLean.
He's be hard pushed to beat Daire Doyle's for Bray. About 750 at that one I'd say. Maybe 50 or 60 from UCD, although it's easier to get an impression of how many are in the Rehab Bingo stand when you're not actually in it!
bullit
26/09/2010, 12:02 AM
He's be hard pushed to beat Daire Doyle's for Bray. About 750 at that one I'd say. Maybe 50 or 60 from UCD, although it's easier to get an impression of how many are in the Rehab Bingo stand when you're not actually in it!
I wonder if many would sit in that stand if they dropped the "bingo" part from the name;)
**FrOsTy**
26/09/2010, 1:43 AM
Might actually increase the attendances if they do :P
Fair play to the 20-30 Galway fans who made their way to Tallaght for the second time in a week, I was talking to a couple of them in the Maldron before the game and they are a sound bunch.
Excellent video produced by some of they're fans with interviews of Hooperman, blackie, Fenn and Sheppard.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r5JW6w0SnD8
26/09/2010, 7:20 PM
Think you're a fair bit over on both counts. Irish Times has 450; we reckoned 500 at the time, 600 max.
Other attendances in the Irish Times are 1098 for Pat's v Dundalk, 3879 for Rovers v Galway (strangely both different to other official-looking figures) and 400 for Drogheda v Fingal.
peadar1987
26/09/2010, 7:44 PM
Think you're a fair bit over on both counts. Irish Times has 450; we reckoned 500 at the time, 600 max.
Other attendances in the Irish Times are 1098 for Pat's v Dundalk, 3879 for Rovers v Galway (strangely both different to other official-looking figures) and 400 for Drogheda v Fingal.
I saw that this morning, like I said, it's hard to judge how many are in a stand you're sitting in. I usually manage to overestimate Bray's crowd's anyway, probably more down to wishful thinking than any sort of honest recurring mistake!
MeathDrog
26/09/2010, 11:29 PM
400 for Drogheda v Fingal.
Would be surprised if it was even that.
White Horse
27/09/2010, 8:11 AM
Would be surprised if it was even that.
I heard the turnout was awful. What is going wrong?
They played their hearts out against us a few weeks ago and showed a lot of pride and passion. Why have so many fans deserted the club?
total hoofball
27/09/2010, 1:34 PM
I reckon it was around 550 for Bray/UCD, definitely between 500-600 anyway.
27/09/2010, 5:10 PM
I heard the turnout was awful. What is going wrong?
They played their hearts out against us a few weeks ago and showed a lot of pride and passion. Why have so many fans deserted the club?
I guess it doenst help the club either when there was a piece on them in yesterdays star on sunday about financial problems there with players cheques bouncing.. the manager situation doenst seem to have helped them either and Darius Kierans hanging about has resulted in two managerial casualties.. Donnelly was very critical of the club in stating that not enough use was made of him so I get the impression that Kierans is the powerbroker in the background. It looks like Kierans could be cast aside or demoted as Drogheda seem to have accepted that the regulations have gone against them and they cant afford to take a chance of appointing someone else in a shortterm capacity.. Kierans I believe qualifies this weekend but that may not be good enough for the club..
bullit
27/09/2010, 5:34 PM
The sun today
"Darius Kierans is set to step aside from first team matters when basement boys Drogheda appoint a FOURTH boss this season"
Like WTF :confused:
legendz
27/09/2010, 10:08 PM
There should be a good crowd for the upcoming Boh's - Rovers game. The Tuesday night game should make for a good TV game as well. With the internationals a few days later, there won't be much other games clashing that night. Might be something to look at more often, League games on the Tuesday / Wednesday before Friday internationals.
Candystripe
28/09/2010, 2:49 PM
Having saw both goals,Doyle's was a great goal but not a patch on McLeans, not even in the same timezone!
JAysus lads the Brits have moved timezone without telling us!!!!
(relax Derry lads I kid...)
TheBoss
29/09/2010, 2:18 PM
There should be a good crowd for the upcoming Boh's - Rovers game. The Tuesday night game should make for a good TV game as well. With the internationals a few days later, there won't be much other games clashing that night. Might be something to look at more often, League games on the Tuesday / Wednesday before Friday internationals.
The Grand Prix in Darts is on Sky, a few may want to watch that as it is in Dublin.
29/09/2010, 2:49 PM
Averages after round 31. Official figures in bold. Club averages in bold means more than half of their figures are official.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,732 (2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976) (missing Sligo 2)
Bray - 802 (1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550)
Drogheda - 929 (1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682)
Dundalk - 1,936 (2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Galway - 861 (1,076; 1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD)
Pat's - 1,810 (1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3,803 (3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Sligo - 1,738 (1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
Sporting Fingal - 947 (635 FD; 688 FD)
UCD - 530 (272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 393 (462; 387; 670; 421; 316) (missing Shels 2)
Cork - 1,780 (2,681 PD; 3,142 PD; 2,897 PD; 2,941 PD; 3,644 PD)
Derry - 1,795 (2,436 PD; 3,363 PD; 2,614 PD; 3,229 PD; 2,698 PD)
Harps - 705 (480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) (missing Limerick 2 and Wexford 2)
Limerick - 629 (429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 243 (260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD) (missing Derry 2 and Shels 2)
Mervue - 123 (166) (missing Shels)
Monaghan - 240 (183; 177; 292; 204; 183) (missing Athlone 2, Longford 2, Mervue, Salthill and Shels)
Salthill Devon - 129 (N/A) (missing Mervue)
Shels - 688 (972; 986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD)
Waterford - 636 (434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD)
Wexford - 324 (494; 767; 810) (missing Monaghan 2 and Salthill 2)
Premier Division average - 1,512 (2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
First Division average - 674 (417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
Overall average - 1,094 (1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
Attendances for last weekend (i.e. the figures I've gone with) -
Premier Division
Bray Wanderers v UCD - 500
Drogheda United v Sporting Fingal - 400
St Patricks Athletic v Dundalk - 1098
Shamrock Rovers v Galway United - 3879
First Division
Derry City v Mervue United - 1336
Waterford United v Limerick - 534
Finn Harps v Wexford Youths - no figure yet
Cork City FC v Longford Town - 1398
Athlone Town v Shelbourne - no figure yet
Recent games missing -
Harps v Wexford
Cork v Longford
Not wishing to rub salt in Bohs wounds, but thats some drop (630) on their average from last year, as defending champs, cup semi finalist and almost in contention for the title all year.
We are down 430 based on these figures, I`d prob agree with that, hardly winning a game (or rather losing most at home) over the summer didnt help matters, maybe the last 3 home games will see an increase on the summer drop off as we appear to have finally found some sort of 'consistent' form.
Decent figures from Cork/Derry in the FD, and you have to take your hat off to the Tallaght figures.
fionnsci
29/09/2010, 8:34 PM
Not wishing to rub salt in Bohs wounds, but thats some drop (630) on their average from last year, as defending champs, cup semi finalist and almost in contention for the title all year.
We are down 430 based on these figures, I`d prob agree with that, hardly winning a game (or rather losing most at home) over the summer didnt help matters, maybe the last 3 home games will see an increase on the summer drop off as we appear to have finally found some sort of 'consistent' form.
Decent figures from Cork/Derry in the FD, and you have to take your hat off to the Tallaght figures.
Bohs' figure for last year is massively inflated. I remember reading last year an official average halfway through the season and seeing that it was a good bit lower than the figure on here. I'd still imagine they've dropped a bit though.
This year figure is massively inflated too...
30/09/2010, 9:23 AM
It's interesting to note how much their attendances went up when they stopped giving official figures (i.e. the jump from 2008 to 2009). I think that indicates just how wrong fan estiamtes can be.
peadar1987
30/09/2010, 1:03 PM
It's interesting to note how much their attendances went up when they stopped giving official figures (i.e. the jump from 2008 to 2009). I think that indicates just how wrong fan estiamtes can be.
See my estimate of the Bray crowd on Friday for more proof!
TheBoss
02/10/2010, 12:00 AM
ExtraTime.ie + RTE.ie attendances from reports:
Bohemians v Bray - 1155
Dundalk v Galway - 1900
UCD v Shamrock Rovers - 1986
Shelbourne v Cork - 912
bullit
02/10/2010, 12:44 AM
Dundalk v Galway 1900
Crazy call from ET,about 1350 at Oriel,prob bout 8 from Galway.
GalwayRed
02/10/2010, 2:59 AM
Bohemians v Bray - 1155
Dundalk v Galway - 1900
UCD v Shamrock Rovers - 1986
Shelbourne v Cork - 912
The Shels one is official.
Rasputin
02/10/2010, 8:15 AM
Bohs crowds are absolutely woefull in a title chase.
CuanaD
02/10/2010, 10:02 AM
The lads doing the radio commentary were surprised too, but 1900 was the figure given to them during the match - that's official enough for me
chigg89
02/10/2010, 10:43 AM
The lads doing the radio commentary were surprised too, but 1900 was the figure given to them during the match - that's official enough for me
I thought there was about 2000 there last night so 1900 doesnt really suprise me..It was a good turnout in my opinion.
02/10/2010, 1:41 PM
UCD v Shamrock Rovers - 1986I heard 2080-something after the match. :confused:
Disagree, I actually said to my mate leaving and we both agreed on 1,800 so its not far off. Decent crowd on both sides of the ground last night, also noticed a lot of recent lapsed fans at the match. Irish Times also carried all of these figures, so not sure who the source is.
Darkglasses
02/10/2010, 4:20 PM
450-500 at Youths - Derry
the ucd figure is correct and is a record for the Bowl
The Lep
02/10/2010, 7:22 PM
Sporting Fingal V St Pats
the ucd figure is correct and is a record for the Bowl
Out of interest I wonder how did this compare to UCD`s other crowds from Belfield for league games, Stu - have you any info on this, surely you must have had similar crowds for a host of other important league games down the years, especially as the location was so convenient for a lot of the Dublin sides.
White Horse
02/10/2010, 7:53 PM
People passing overhead on planes don't count. ;)
The Lep
02/10/2010, 7:58 PM
Ive thought of that one before :) It would have been a record attendance if it did :)
02/10/2010, 9:39 PM
Out of interest I wonder how did this compare to UCD`s other crowds from Belfield for league games, Stu - have you any info on this, surely you must have had similar crowds for a host of other important league games down the years, especially as the location was so convenient for a lot of the Dublin sides.
The only game I remember getting a crowd close to Friday's in Belfield Park was the League Cup final against Derry which was just over 2100 I think. Drogheda brought a huge crowd for a cup quarter final (around 2005 maybe), there was about 1500 at that I think. I wasn't at the game against Rovers just after Doc O'Neill died but maybe that was similar (pineapple might confirm) and the game against Derry in their first year in the league had a big crowd I believe but I've no idea what size it would have been.
gufc2000
02/10/2010, 10:51 PM
The Star had something like 340 for Finn Harps-Athlone
03/10/2010, 12:20 AM
Salthill v Limerick 37 (no thats the count not our name) ...with 30 comming from limerick
03/10/2010, 12:58 AM
Salthill v Limerick 37 (no thats the count not our name) ...with 30 comming from limerick
There was some late arrivals.
Full Attendance: 39 (THIRTY NINE), thirty two form Limerick
cornflakes
03/10/2010, 11:38 AM
Theres more watching Wexford and District League Division 5 games
Rasputin
03/10/2010, 12:16 PM
I would say probably about 1900 against the Drogs.
With more Drogs fans than I expected, about 50 or so, hard to see how many of them from where I was standing.
red bellied
03/10/2010, 12:58 PM
I would say probably about 1900 against the Drogs.
With more Drogs fans than I expected, about 50 or so, hard to see how many of them from where I was standing.
Around 20 Drogs made the trip.
danthesaint
03/10/2010, 4:15 PM
do you know how many were at the last game in the Morton?
WindmillWarrior
03/10/2010, 5:13 PM
Around 20 Drogs made the trip.
This is pathetic but sure what the hell, it is the LOI afterall! There was over 20 Drogs fans on the supporters club bus. 50 or so altogether is around the correct number.
So there :-)
redobit
03/10/2010, 5:56 PM
This is pathetic but sure what the hell, it is the LOI afterall! There was over 20 Drogs fans on the supporters club bus. 50 or so altogether is around the correct number.
So there :-)
I dont doubt it WW, but they werent all sitting in the away section anyway.
The Lep
03/10/2010, 6:32 PM
do you know how many were at the last game in the Morton?
792 for the rearranged game on the monday night.
red bellied
03/10/2010, 6:41 PM
Was sitting directly across from away section. Around 20-25 drog fans. Red o bit said there was a few in main stand, didn't notice any myself.
poster
03/10/2010, 8:56 PM
Red o bit said there was a few in main stand, didn't notice any myself.
There were 5 or 6 RB, ya.
Battery Rover
04/10/2010, 10:55 AM
Athlone Town v Shelbourne - no figure yet
325 official
legendz
05/10/2010, 9:28 AM
Hopefully there will be a big crowd tonight. I think it's a good night for a live TV games. There's no European or International football to clash with it. If these sides go out and play, it will be a great game. For more drama, I'm going for a Boh's win.
Good luck to Sligo tonight as well, they are the best club outside of Dublin at the moment and I hope they do qualify for Europe and win the FAI Cup.