View Full Version : 2010 attendances
Lamper.sffc
26/07/2010, 2:37 PM
Nice try for what? Absolutely no way more than 40 people celebrated your goal yesterday. Can't see any other way I'd guess your crowd
(and once again, I don't care how many supporters any team has, I just hate people lying about the amount they have)
For starters, my comment about crowds was a joke. As in, can we all stop going on about fingal and get back to crowds, oh btw we had more than 45 yada yada, Oh crap what have I just done. Smiley face, wink face and so on.
If there was more than 45 then it wasnt much. I couldnt really care as this argument is as stale for me as the other.
I have never exagerated my idea of what our crowds are.
The nice try bit is that im not going to get into an argument about crowds when they are that low. Its pointless.
So can you please relax, It really is a none starter for an argument.
Dodge why is it when you guess the crowd size its just your guess but if a Fingal fan does the same you say they are lying ?
Fair point, but when your guess is way off you can't expect people not to pull you up on it. I'd expect the same (if my guess was way off)
Lamper.sffc
26/07/2010, 2:41 PM
Fair point, but when your guess is way off you can't expect people not to pull you up on it. I'd expect the same (if my guess was way off)
Hey Partysaint, We are two different people ya know.;)
I never made a guess. I just said more. So please tell me how my guess (or lack of one) is way off?
The Lep
26/07/2010, 2:42 PM
I would say you were a bit off the mark with your guess and not call you a liar.
My guess for the Pats game was around the 1500 mark give and take. What was the official figure given so Stu can update his table.?
Lamper.sffc
26/07/2010, 2:51 PM
I would say you were a bit off the mark with your guess and not call you a liar.
My guess for the Pats game was around the 1500 mark give and take. What was the official figure given so Stu and update his table.?
Is that just the away fans :)
So please tell me how my guess (or lack of one) is way off?
I use “your” in general terms. If anybody’s guess is way off, I’m likely to pull them up on it.
Didn't catch the official attendance at Terryland last night (don't think it was announced) but I'd be amazed ifit was over 500. 16 in the Dundalk end!
Official Attendance was 634 the hurling game would have taken away at least 300 from the Attendance.Smallest ever Dundalk support at Terryland even going back to the Trevor Anderson days. There were actually about 8 galway supporters in the Dundalk end. Still cant get over not winning that game although on the plus side Barry Ryan was back to his brilliant best and what a full debut by Stephen Walh who had to play upfront due to suspension and injuries.
Lamper.sffc
26/07/2010, 3:34 PM
I use “your” in general terms. If anybody’s guess is way off, I’m likely to pull them up on it.
Fine. But mine was a joke and no guess was made :)
And you, giving out to poor old lep a few pages back about taking peoples posts too seriously. For shame sir :p
26/07/2010, 5:55 PM
Fine. But mine was a joke and no guess was made :)I think you got too close to the usual level of posts in this thread! :) I didn't spot the response as a joke either.
total hoofball
26/07/2010, 5:57 PM
I don't disagree that people should be concerned at their business model. I'm as concerned as anybody that they make efforts to move away from a position where they're reliant on one investor whose finances are in a bad way.
But expressing concern at this is not the same as bleating again and again that 'they're a disgrace, they're an embarrassment to the league'.
Will it be embarrassing for the league if they fall apart like has happened to a few clubs in recent years? Yes it will.
Is that something that Fingal and other clubs should be worried about? Yes, although I hope they're doing things to reduce our concerns.
But are they an embarrassment and a disgrace to the league at the moment? Not in my eyes.
By that logic Cork City only became an embarrasment when the plug was finally pulled on them earlier when this year but not in the years 2007, 2008 or 2009 when they were racking up the debts.
Clubs who are wildly unsustainable and are on the road to ruin are embarrasments. This 'they are only a problem until the day they go bust' idea that you and the FAI have is what has got the domestic league into the cluster**** it is.
Pre-emptive action on unsustainble clubs is what Irish football has been crying out of the past 5 years not this head in the sand stuff of wait until its too late.
total hoofball
26/07/2010, 6:02 PM
Ok lads we all know where this crap ends up. Its no coincidence, that our friend rasputin and his buddy Hoofball (who always thanks Rasp) are doing this, as Rasputin has been posting crap about fingal for the last while trying to start the same crap that has been posted on here before. He has consistantly posted up remarks about fingal looking for the usual argument(esp lately). We all know the arguments for and against and its now boring. So unless there is anything new on the subject, I suggest we leave it there and let the thread get back to being an attendance thread.
There you go again with your off topic wishful thinking :) At least post some truths though :)
:o
Good to Laurel and Hardy striking again failing to respond to any of legit questions marks about Sporting Fingal with their usual nothing to see here guff
In Sporting Fingal's accounts for 2009, he forked out [euro]750,000 by way of 'non-refundable contribution to the club in the year up to November 30, 2009.' The club itself lost [euro]36,353 last year and its auditors stated that its ability to continue was 'dependant on the continuing financial support from its major benefactors'. Gannon's financial problems are well-documented but those involved in the club are unconcerned.
http://findarticles.com/p/news-articles/mail-on-sunday-london-england-the/mi_8003/is_2010_May_2/sporting-insist-theyre-stay-club/ai_n53395058/
The Lep
26/07/2010, 6:45 PM
You do realise this is the attendance thread dont you Hoofy? All this has been done to the death previously so why bother re posting the same posts you did back then ?
And at least post some truths instead of exaggerating for effect. You posted earlier that we lost €750,00 but you posted a comment above that it was €36,353 we lost so at least pay some attention to detail if you are going to constantly have a pop at Sporting Fingal with the same old comments and posts from last year :).
The Lep
26/07/2010, 7:52 PM
The star has the Pats v Fingal attendance at 1,203 i think it said.
Lamper.sffc
26/07/2010, 10:41 PM
:o
Good to Laurel and Hardy striking again failing to respond to any of legit questions marks about Sporting Fingal with their usual nothing to see here guff
http://findarticles.com/p/news-articles/mail-on-sunday-london-england-the/mi_8003/is_2010_May_2/sporting-insist-theyre-stay-club/ai_n53395058/
AH my good friend. I will not respond to you nor do i have to. Believe me when I tell you this, that these conversations go nowhere. Iv had too many of them at this stage to even care anymore. Check out some of my first 500 or so posts and I think you will find that iv been doing little else but defending the club from people like yourself. You will have to excuse a guy if he doesnt want to delve into the same stuff week in week out or ever again for that matter. If there is something new to add to this type of conversation then fine but there isnt (not yet anyway). If you feel so badly about this, start up a thread in the LOI section, and let this thread get back on track. cheers
The Lep
26/07/2010, 10:55 PM
Well said Hardy :)
26/07/2010, 11:42 PM
Clubs who are wildly unsustainable and are on the road to ruin are embarrasments. This 'they are only a problem until the day they go bust' idea that you and the FAI have is what has got the domestic league into the cluster**** it is.
Virtually EVERY club in the league is in more or less this position just to varying degrees.
The Clubs were more than capable of getting themselves into the "cluster****" before the lunatics finally took over the asylum aswell.
From my experience of when they were in the First Division Sporting Fingal even in their infancy already have more fans than Monaghan, Athlone, Longford, UCD, Salthill, Mervue and Wexford.
The football they played at times was beautiful and they are certainly no more "embarrasing" for the image of the league than a team who are happy to kick and lump their way to a result and there is an awful lot of those in the First Division.
If I was attempting to win over my non LoI supporting mate would I rather bring him to watch Limerick against Mervue of Limerick against Fingal in the next round of the cup for example?? It's absolutely no contest really, is it??
26/07/2010, 11:49 PM
The star has the Pats v Fingal attendance at 1,203 i think it said.
It said 1303
26/07/2010, 11:49 PM
The football they played at times was beautiful and they are certainly no more "embarrasing" for the image of the league than a team who are happy to kick and lump their way to a result and there is an awful lot of those in the First Division.
Of course they play nice football. Half their team is ex-UCD.
26/07/2010, 11:51 PM
Of course they play nice football. Half their team is ex-UCD.
Exactly. Big time European outifts like Fingal need superbly run feeder clubs like UCD to teach the youngsters how to play the game the right way.
It's all very commendable.
27/07/2010, 12:23 AM
It said 1303
still brutal.
Jicked
27/07/2010, 12:28 AM
Something tells me the sold-out signs might just be going up at Tallaght again this week. Here was the members/season ticket holders queueing up earlier today for tickets
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/48/d0/d7/5df173ecdb021d2512bc2dcd9ab6bd800159ad4d05.jpg
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/ec/3b/ea/3f0deb95c982d1c0162cc1a5d1e800043ecf1bb857.jpg
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/watermarked-b/Library/SF614/445596.jpg
27/07/2010, 12:30 AM
Something tells me the sold-out signs might just be going up at Tallaght again this week. Here was the members/season ticket holders queueing up earlier today for tickets
What's the story with temporary/removable seating?
EDIT: Just saw on the Irish Times now that Uefa have refused an application for seating to be installed. That's a shame.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0727/1224275546630.html
27/07/2010, 12:35 AM
Ya put it in, ya use it, and then you take it back out again..... ;)
I'll get me coat...
27/07/2010, 12:37 AM
http://www.inpho.ie/cache/inpho/48/d0/d7/5df173ecdb021d2512bc2dcd9ab6bd800159ad4d05.jpg
As a complete aside, it never fails to surprise me how 'European' (i.e. continental) the whole area around that part of Tallaght looks. It doesn't look Oirish at all.
"I'm no good at judging the size of crowds Ted, but I'd say there's about seventeen million of the scum there."
Jicked
EDIT: Just saw on the Irish Times now that Uefa have refused an application for seating to be installed. That's a shame.
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2010/0727/1224275546630.html
UEFA turned down a request from Rovers/SDCC/FAI for special dispensation to allow them, so attendance will be capped at the usual amount. Might work out well long-term for Rovers, having Real and Juve amongst other big games in our first year at the stadium might put pressure on the SDCC to establish another stand at the square end of the ground in the next year.
27/07/2010, 12:40 AM
UEFA turned down a request from Rovers/SDCC/FAI for special dispensation to allow them, so attendance will be capped at the usual amount. Might work out well long-term for Rovers, having Real and Juve amongst other big games in our first year at the stadium might put pressure on the SDCC to establish another stand at the square end of the ground in the next year.
Would they have the money to put in a 'luxury' item like a new stand in a stadium that probably runs at an average of 60% capacity at best already ?
I assume the rent would go up if capacity increased. Does the council get a share of tickets at all, or just the rent ?
"I'm no good at judging the size of crowds Ted, but I'd say there's about seventeen million of the scum there."
But still less than home fans attending at Turner's Cross circa 2006 of course ;)
From a purely financial point of view, perhaps Rovers would have been better to play the UCD game and sell tickets for Juve within the ground during it?
Ah no, it's better than that... the only realistic way to get a ticket if you're not a season ticket holder/member is to buy a season ticket for the rest of the season. In fairness, it's only 100 squids including the Juve ticket and seven league games.
still brutal.
No question at all. As I said earlier there was actually 1,600 or so at it but Fingal brought -300 so the star had to go with that 1,300 figure
27/07/2010, 9:04 AM
It wouldn't have been practical, the queue last night was building up from about 4 in the afternoon, at 6.45 it was about a 2 hour wait from the back of the queue, it was mental.
very mental considering their tickets should've been secured by their season ticket, no?
Buller
27/07/2010, 9:27 AM
It wouldn't have been practical, the queue last night was building up from about 4 in the afternoon, at 6.45 it was about a 2 hour wait from the back of the queue, it was mental.
Sure was, I can barely stand today!! Tickets weren't guaranteed as 250 people/barstoolers bought the €100 ticket deal, capacity is also limited with media/away juve fans. We have close to 3,000 ST's, with each buying 2 (limited to) and say 5,000 tickets on sale.... do the math! Cant wait now!!
sullanefc
27/07/2010, 9:31 AM
Sure was, I can barely stand today!! Tickets weren't guaranteed as 250 people/barstoolers bought the €100 ticket deal, capacity is also limited with media/away juve fans. We have close to 3,000 ST's, with each buying 2 (limited to) and say 5,000 tickets on sale.... do the math! Cant wait now!!
Good idea. Fair play.
27/07/2010, 10:10 AM
Didn'#t realise you had a €100 ticket deal buller
superjohnny
27/07/2010, 10:36 AM
Auld rovers dont miss a trick buller. nice few bob made of that too, all the queues are all over the rags today too.
Candystripe
27/07/2010, 11:32 AM
That €100 ticket was a great idea!
Fair play.
I think we slipped up on that a few years ago when we had our six game run in Europe.
27/07/2010, 11:45 AM
Not to mention not many would've paid €100 to see the teams you played. PSG aren't Juventus...
Riddickcule
27/07/2010, 2:21 PM
Good crowd at the Villareal game, my guess would be 3,500
Buller
27/07/2010, 2:56 PM
In the carlisle?! Must have been packed!! Did you make much off it?
Yeah the €100 deal was a bit of marketing genius by the board. It ensured the real fans didnt get ripped off, while at the same time making money and giving a ST to the day trippers so they'll possibly come back. It's a pitty we didn't get permission off UEFA for the extra seats but what can ya do...
The Lep
27/07/2010, 3:00 PM
Do Rovers get a share of the gate reciepts for the away leg ?
Between 300 and 500 at this game according to a couple of posts on btid. Wasn't there myself and haven't heard an official figure.
Riddickcule
27/07/2010, 3:32 PM
In the carlisle?! Must have been packed!! Did you make much off it?
No idea how much we made off it, I'm not really the person to ask for that kinda thing. Yeah t'was in the Carlisle, my guess would have been 50/50 for proportion of bray fans and spanish people.
27/07/2010, 3:34 PM
2300 mentioned in the Bray forum. Still a good crowd. Villarreal wouldn't be a massive draw to many of the barstoolers, so sounds like it went very well.
SPXcyan
27/07/2010, 9:25 PM
I was thinking 400 for the game against Longford
Cuyahoga
27/07/2010, 9:38 PM
Do Rovers get a share of the gate reciepts for the away leg ?
No. The home team keeps their own gate receipts>
Riddickcule
28/07/2010, 2:51 PM
2300 mentioned in the Bray forum. Still a good crowd. Villarreal wouldn't be a massive draw to many of the barstoolers, so sounds like it went very well.
Had to be way more then 2,300. Both stands were nearly near capacity. Although I forget to take into account theres less seats on the Dart stand now, so I'm going to say 3,000
28/07/2010, 3:34 PM
Averages after round 23. Official figures in bold. Club averages in bold means more than half of their figures are official.
Was away the last while, so if I've missed anything, let me know. Will go and check extratime for some of the official figures too.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,940 (2009 - 2,366; 2008 - 1,993; 2007 - 1,924; 2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976) (missing Sligo 2)
Bray - 864 (1,169; 1,106; 1,200; 1,027; 1,550) (Bray v Fingal put in at 300 per MNS and extratime)
Drogheda - 997 (1,106; 1,631; 1,919; 1,751; 1,682) (missing Sligo 2)
Dundalk - 2,085 (2,371; 1,459 FD; 1,406 FD; 1,078 FD; 474 FD)
Galway - 905 (1,076; 1,393; 2,199; 1,148 FD; 566 FD)
Pat's - 1,718 (1,631; 1,795; 1,910; 1,342; 1,599)
Rovers - 3,681 (3,611; 1,468; 1,715; 1,089 FD; 1,539)
Sligo - 1,881 (1,756; 1,960; 1,448; 1,806; 1,794 FD)
Sporting Fingal - 941 (635 FD; 688 FD)
UCD - 567 (272 FD; 546; 663; 546; 653; 306 FD)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 464 (462; 387; 670; 421; 316) (missing Wexford)
Cork - 1,883 (2,681 PD; 3,142 PD; 2,897 PD; 2,941 PD; 3,644 PD)
Derry - 1,919 (2,436 PD; 3,363 PD; 2,614 PD; 3,229 PD; 2,698 PD)
Harps - 628 (480; 1,607 PD; 1,164; 428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Limerick - 575 (429; 517; 670; 364; 669)
Longford - 247 (260; 406; 885 PD; 681 PD; 1,004 PD)
Mervue - 141 (166) (missing Shels; Mervue v Longford put on at 100 per extratime)
Monaghan - 252 (183; 177; 292; 204; 183) (missing Salthill and Shels)
Salthill Devon - 138 (N/A) (missing Mervue)
Shels - 718 (972; 986; 888; 1,690 PD; 1,949 PD)
Waterford - 713 (434; 670; 1,181 PD; 915 PD; 1,513 PD) (missing Longford)
Wexford - 311 (494; 767; 810)
Premier Division average - 1,557 (2,010; 1,746; 1,687; 1,535; 1,759)
First Division average - 683 (417; 641; 722; 570; 520)
Overall average - 1,108 (1,175; 1,221; 1,235; 1,070; 1,195)
Attendances for last weekend (i.e. the figures I've gone with) -
Premier Division
Bray v Bohs - 1100
Drogheda v Sligo Rovers - no figure yet
Pat's v Fingal - 1303
Galway v Dundalk - 634
First Division
Athlone v Wexford - no figure yet
Cork v Harps - 1489
Derry v Salthill - 1388
Limerick v Monaghan - 495
Waterford v Longford - no figure yet
Mervue v Shels - no figure yet
Premier Division
Bohemians v Sligo Rovers - no figure yet
UCD v Bray Wanderers - 350 (didn't get an official figure for this one; 350's my estimate)
Dundalk v St. Patricks Athletic - 1500
Galway United v Shamrock Rovers - 1034
Sporting Fingal v Drogheda United - 640
First Division
Finn Harps v Waterford United - 503
Monaghan United v Cork City - 200
Shelbourne v Derry City - 920
Wexford Youths v Limerick - 404
Salthill Devon v Mervue United - no figure yet
Longford Town v Athlone Town - 300
Recent games missing -
Bohs v Sligo - 2500 est per extratime?