View Full Version : 2010 attendances
The Lep
19/07/2010, 9:58 PM
I know, i posted it :)
Dont forget that this is the attendance thread after all :)
Thats just the Vip section, there was more in the section below. nice comfy seats though :)
Rasputin
20/07/2010, 1:06 PM
I know, i posted it :)
Dont forget that this is the attendance thread after all :)
Thats just the Vip section, there was more in the section below. nice comfy seats though :)
So minus the 20 or so in the VIP section there were 247 below aye?
What does it matter if they brought 267 or 247?
Still a good crowd to bring fair play to them.
What does it matter if they brought 267 or 247?
Still a good crowd to bring fair play to them.
Check the pic.
I know one the guys in that pic. He said thats all there was.
The Lep
20/07/2010, 1:40 PM
No. there was around 2,000 below.
The Lep
20/07/2010, 1:40 PM
Check the pic.
I know one the guys in that pic. He said thats all there was.
I was there .
peadar1987
20/07/2010, 3:12 PM
I would love to see Fingal succeed more than ever now, just for the comedy value of watching all the begrudgers gnashing their teeth in unison.
galwayjames
23/07/2010, 8:31 PM
Cork City v Finn Harps was 1,469 according to cork's website
Ezeikial
23/07/2010, 8:48 PM
Very poor crowd in Oriel tonight, an official at the club said 1500, it seemed less to me. But Pats took a few up so maybe it could be correct.
I'd say in and around 1300 in Dundalk tonight, with about 250 from Pats.
dundalkfc.com and the various media reported 1,500
Rasputin
24/07/2010, 11:47 AM
I would love to see Fingal succeed more than ever now, just for the comedy value of watching all the begrudgers gnashing their teeth in unison.
Sporting Franchise are just another developers wet dream that grew past Football Manager.
They will inevitably fold which will further tarnish the league.
Why the FAI decided another Dublin City is what the league needed is bizarre.
24/07/2010, 1:25 PM
in all fairness so far fingal have done nothing to tarnish the name of the league so until/if they do, shut the hell up you people come across so sad and bitter, get a life ffs
Rasputin
24/07/2010, 2:09 PM
in all fairness so far fingal have done nothing to tarnish the name of the league so until/if they do, shut the hell up you people come across so sad and bitter, get a life ffs
Dublin City did nothing to tarnish the league until they eventually capitulated, but that is irrelevant.
Riddickcule
24/07/2010, 2:19 PM
According to the Irish Times there were 1,100 at the Bray-Bohs game and 650 at the Drogheda-Sligo game.
Both very poor crowds.
Candystripe
24/07/2010, 2:25 PM
Derry City V Salthill 1,388
24/07/2010, 2:38 PM
Dublin City did nothing to tarnish the league until they eventually capitulated, but that is irrelevant.
impressive logic
Riddickcule
24/07/2010, 2:42 PM
The moment they were created they tarnished the league. As if we needed yet another Dublin team.
24/07/2010, 3:02 PM
The moment they were created they tarnished the league. As if we needed yet another Dublin team.
who cares where the team is from, at least there trying, stupid anti Dublin bullcrap p1sses me off
so mervue and salthill are tarnishing it as well?
they probably 'shouldn't' be there but equally they are hurting nobody
PartySaint
24/07/2010, 4:02 PM
Sporting Fingal raped my mother and killed my father
24/07/2010, 4:06 PM
they probably deserved it
Riddickcule
24/07/2010, 7:38 PM
who cares where the team is from, at least there trying, stupid anti Dublin bullcrap p1sses me off
so mervue and salthill are tarnishing it as well?
they probably 'shouldn't' be there but equally they are hurting nobody
Of course it matters where the team is from, if a new team is created in a city/town that already has club(s) then it's not helping anybody. And before anyone asks about Sporting, they plan to move to lusk ie. not in Dublin.
A good geographic spread is important for any league, GUFC are in ruins at the moment and Salthill and Mervue being there isn't helping, in a city as small as Galway having 3 clubs is beyond a joke.
24/07/2010, 7:44 PM
Lusk isn't in Dublin?
24/07/2010, 8:06 PM
Of course it matters where the team is from, if a new team is created in a city/town that already has club(s) then it's not helping anybody. And before anyone asks about Sporting, they plan to move to lusk ie. not in Dublin.
A good geographic spread is important for any league, GUFC are in ruins at the moment and Salthill and Mervue being there isn't helping, in a city as small as Galway having 3 clubs is beyond a joke.If Lusk doesn't count as Dublin city, surely Drom can't count as Galway city?
galwayjames
24/07/2010, 8:30 PM
i think what he means is salthill and mervue play in terryland along with galway while fingal will have their own stadium outside the city.
gufcfan
24/07/2010, 8:53 PM
GUFC are in ruins at the moment and Salthill and Mervue being there isn't helping, in a city as small as Galway having 3 clubs is beyond a joke.
Sure, Delaney practically begged Mervue and Salthill to join. Muppet.
24/07/2010, 9:34 PM
but salthill dont play in terrylandand murvue will eventually be able to play at home too, there armature teams which i don't really think are in it for the money just to improve the club and its players and theres no way in hell there reducing galways attendances
and as for fingal i don't think there existence is affecting attendances of the other clubs, just bringing LOI football to a new audience in an area without a team,
villages and towns in dublin are bigger than most counties in the country or at least a lot of them so there well able to support a team, if the rural places cant support teams the alternative is have the dublin team or no team
Lamper.sffc
25/07/2010, 12:05 AM
I want to.
But then i remember where this crap ends up. So meh
The Lep
25/07/2010, 1:51 AM
No, there was around 1,500
Spudulika
25/07/2010, 7:22 AM
That didn't stand up in court, according to unIndependent.ie you were foud heinously guilty on both counts, along with forcing the saviour of Richmond (Kerr or Sadlier you decide) out, Dublin City's bankruptcy and Roddy Collins getting a new contract with RTE. How you got off with a 2 month suspended sentence I'll never know. Then again, the additional punishment of having to attend every Pats home game and transcribing "Sweet" Pete Mahons press conferences is punishment enough! :-)
It's lovely to see posters slam other clubs for being developers wet dreams - yet they conveniently ignore actual cases and how they'd give up both body parts (when they eventually drop) for somebody to stick a couple of million into their club on a set timescale. Hilarity beyond belief. Hypocrisy is wasted on the young and blind.
25/07/2010, 12:30 PM
Well they gave Roddy Collins a job - which in of itself should bring an instant charge of bringing the sport into disrepute...
25/07/2010, 12:40 PM
Well they gave Roddy Collins a job - which in of itself should bring an instant charge of bringing the sport into disrepute...
its all shamrock rovers fault :P
Rasputin
25/07/2010, 4:43 PM
impressive logic
You seem to fail to grasp the point at hand here.
That developers wet dreams like Sporting Franchise or Dublin City are not viable Footballing entities.
They are subsidised and created on the whim of a wealthy backer.
Once he inevitably goes bankrupt or loses interest the club is thrown into financial reality and thus goes bankrupt and folds.
Thus leaving the league with a tarnished reputation.
Now its all well and good sticking your head in the sand and shouting as loudly as you can that they are "trying" or "they have done nothing wrong" etc etc, all irrelevant to the point at hand that the model of club of the likes of Sporting Franchise and Dublin City is damaging to the league in the long term.
The Lep
25/07/2010, 5:47 PM
There is no diffrence in Fingal entering the league 3 years ago and when all the other clubs entered. What about all the clubs that have folded and reformed under a diffrent name, did they tarnish the league ? With all the goings on with cork and derry last year all you can up with is that Fingal is tarnishing the league and in the attendance thread as well.
Time to let the Fingal hatred go until you have a genuine reason to hate them and a genuine reason to post in in a relevant thread.
Rasputin
25/07/2010, 5:55 PM
There is no diffrence in Fingal entering the league 3 years ago and when all the other clubs entered.
Yes, yes there is, a massive difference.
What about all the clubs that have folded and reformed under a diffrent name, did they tarnish the league ?
Of course they did.
So now hopefully with the new transparency in the auditing procedures this model shall not be replicated in the future.
But these clubs can easily survive without wealthy developers supporting them, that remains to be seen with Sporting Franchise.
With all the goings on with cork and derry last year all you can up with is that Fingal is tarnishing the league and in the attendance thread as well.
No my point being that the developers wet dreams of Football Manager in real life is not viable.
The footballing model of Sporting Franchise and Dublin City are simply not viable.
Time to let the Fingal hatred go until you have a genuine reason to hate them and a genuine reason to post in in a relevant thread.
Its not hatred, its legitimate grievences's and criticisms of your club.
The Lep
25/07/2010, 6:16 PM
You are making it up for effect now arnt you ? :)
What has all this got to do with the attendance thread ?
25/07/2010, 7:28 PM
But these clubs can easily survive without wealthy developers supporting them, that remains to be seen with Sporting Franchise.
No my point being that the developers wet dreams of Football Manager in real life is not viable.
The footballing model of Sporting Franchise and Dublin City are simply not viable.
They're a new club, in the process of getting a foothold, and as long as they are aware of the dangers of relying too heavily on investors, and are taking steps to safeguard the future of the club in the event of those investors pulling out, I have no problem with them.
As the Lep says, much much more damage has been done to the profile of the league by the folding of Cork and Derry, Limerick's annual rebirth, Shels' fiasco, Bohs' problems, and even your good selves needing a much publicised injection of cash to stop your manager leaving.
Wait until they actually do something to embarrass the league before complaining about how they embarrass the league.
So far the story has been 'new club gets promoted, wins cup and doesn't implode in Europe.' Nothing embarrassing there.
26/07/2010, 12:39 AM
They're a new club, in the process of getting a foothold, and as long as they are aware of the dangers of relying too heavily on investors, and are taking steps to safeguard the future of the club in the event of those investors pulling out, I have no problem with them.
As the Lep says, much much more damage has been done to the profile of the league by the folding of Cork and Derry, Limerick's annual rebirth, Shels' fiasco, Bohs' problems, and even your good selves needing a much publicised injection of cash to stop your manager leaving.
Wait until they actually do something to embarrass the league before complaining about how they embarrass the league.
So far the story has been 'new club gets promoted, wins cup and doesn't implode in Europe.' Nothing embarrassing there.
i like him he has a brain
monkey9
26/07/2010, 12:44 AM
Around 1,500 or so at the Pat's-Fingal game. Approx 35 Fingal fans
total hoofball
26/07/2010, 12:52 AM
But they are relying on one major investor who is now skint and is aboard NAMA scam. The club lost €750,000 last year, they've no ground, nothing is moving on their proposed taxpayer funded stadium after 3 years in existence, 500 fans at maximum and are spending nearly as much Bohs on a full-time set up.
They are the most obvious car crash going and its right people are screaming at the obvious here, they are making Bohs look financially prudent and sustainable.
Didn't catch the official attendance at Terryland last night (don't think it was announced) but I'd be amazed ifit was over 500. 16 in the Dundalk end!
26/07/2010, 9:24 AM
They are the most obvious car crash going and its right people are screaming at the obvious here, they are making Bohs look financially prudent and sustainable.
I don't disagree that people should be concerned at their business model. I'm as concerned as anybody that they make efforts to move away from a position where they're reliant on one investor whose finances are in a bad way.
But expressing concern at this is not the same as bleating again and again that 'they're a disgrace, they're an embarrassment to the league'.
Will it be embarrassing for the league if they fall apart like has happened to a few clubs in recent years? Yes it will.
Is that something that Fingal and other clubs should be worried about? Yes, although I hope they're doing things to reduce our concerns.
But are they an embarrassment and a disgrace to the league at the moment? Not in my eyes.
26/07/2010, 10:12 AM
About 1,600 at the Pats Fingal game. Getting an official figure will eb difficult as it was kids go free day and about 300 kids (an estimate from head turnstyles guy) entered without tickets.
Among that crowd was my 10 month old daughter, making her debut ;)
Lamper.sffc
26/07/2010, 12:31 PM
Ok lads we all know where this crap ends up. Its no coincidence, that our friend rasputin and his buddy Hoofball (who always thanks Rasp) are doing this, as Rasputin has been posting crap about fingal for the last while trying to start the same crap that has been posted on here before. He has consistantly posted up remarks about fingal looking for the usual argument(esp lately). We all know the arguments for and against and its now boring. So unless there is anything new on the subject, I suggest we leave it there and let the thread get back to being an attendance thread.
Oh and by the way there was more than 35 to 40 fingal fans at Pats :) what have i just done:confused:
Why didn't they celebrate your goal?
SupaJon
26/07/2010, 1:37 PM
They're shy.
I wonder if certain people would have as much of a problem with Fingal had they not won the cup final last season and are now realistic challengers for the league??
Don't confuse people taking easy potshots at them for people having a problem with them.
Lamper.sffc
26/07/2010, 2:04 PM
Good man. Nice try.
Nice try for what? Absolutely no way more than 40 people celebrated your goal yesterday. Can't see any other way I'd guess your crowd
(and once again, I don't care how many supporters any team has, I just hate people lying about the amount they have)
The Lep
26/07/2010, 2:31 PM
But they are relying on one major investor who is now skint and is aboard NAMA scam. The club lost €750,000 last year, they've no ground, nothing is moving on their proposed taxpayer funded stadium after 3 years in existence, 500 fans at maximum and are spending nearly as much Bohs on a full-time set up.
There you go again with your off topic wishful thinking :) At least post some truths though :)
The Lep
26/07/2010, 2:35 PM
Nice try for what? Absolutely no way more than 40 people celebrated your goal yesterday. Can't see any other way I'd guess your crowd
(and once again, I don't care how many supporters any team has, I just hate people lying about the amount they have)
Dodge why is it when you guess the crowd size its just your guess but if a Fingal fan does the same you say they are lying ?
And you say you dont have issues :)
I think its sad that when the opposing team scores a home supporter actually goes and counts how many of the away fans are up an cheering :)