View Full Version : Cork AUL 2024/25
Broadway Joe
30/07/2024, 10:27 AM
Grangevale to the CBL officially announced. Don’t blame them one bit, best of luck to them. Surprised more AUL teams haven’t followed suit.
While the CBL are announcing new teams to their league online the AUL are uploading photos of a game from 1979 between Hillington and doneraile united.
Think Hillington won that game..haha!
Very fair point. The onky thing id question is are grangevale now just chasing th le easy medals as they warent gonna be any threat in premier this year?
They have dropped the standard they are playing at massively now..but maybe besting hungry tigers fc 12nil might appeal to their social media page?
fruice
30/07/2024, 11:05 AM
I’d be inclined to agree with you much less of a challenge in the shipping league for them.
They had great success over the past numbers of years to get to very top would have needed a big influx of top players to be really competitive in premier AUL.
They would probably have had to go backwards to go forwards in the AUL and there is nothing wrong with that.
The shipping league is an easier option for them especially if they go in at the bottom.
And even we’re they to go in at the highest level will be easier for them now with the Cow gone.
They will fit in easily as they play up in Mayfield where a lot of shipping league games take place.
And their social media presence will suit each other very well also.
KevinJBarry
30/07/2024, 6:03 PM
Grangevale to the CBL officially announced. Don’t blame them one bit, best of luck to them. Surprised more AUL teams haven’t followed suit.
While the CBL are announcing new teams to their league online the AUL are uploading photos of a game from 1979 between Hillington and doneraile united.
I think this move is laughable to be honest . If they had any ambition which they clearly don't they would have tried to go MSL?
They know they arent going to achieve anything in the AUL unless they get relegated so off to the CBL to win some easy trophies. Good luck Grangevale , you washed your 70 plus years of history down the drain as far as I am concerned
latte2012
30/07/2024, 7:24 PM
I think this move is laughable to be honest . If they had any ambition which they clearly don't they would have tried to go MSL?
They know they arent going to achieve anything in the AUL unless they get relegated so off to the CBL to win some easy trophies. Good luck Grangevale , you washed your 70 plus years of history down the drain as far as I am concerned
Not sure MSL would take them without their own ground.
The chance to win trophies definitely contributed to the move but I’d imagine the chance to play regularly on Astro in an organised league in mayfield counted too. Say what you want about grangevale they love the game and always want to play ball so all you can do is wish them well. The CBL social media will suit them down to the ground too. A good club gone from the AUL.
KevinJBarry
31/07/2024, 10:05 AM
Not sure MSL would take them without their own ground.
The chance to win trophies definitely contributed to the move but I’d imagine the chance to play regularly on Astro in an organised league in mayfield counted too. Say what you want about grangevale they love the game and always want to play ball so all you can do is wish them well. The CBL social media will suit them down to the ground too. A good club gone from the AUL.
Oh I know the MSL wouldnt take them but that ultimately should be every clubs aim. To be a senior club .
It isnt all about media presence surely is it. For me personally I cant understand the desire to go CBL but hey each to their own
TurnTheFullback
31/07/2024, 11:14 AM
No I think you're right Kevin , any club that sees the “business” league as a step up, you need to question their ambition , climbed through the leagues in the AUL and then after one year in premier left shows a lack of self believe or basically admitting that you don’t have the bottle for it. Sure the Aul has a lot to learn but at the end of the day no one talks about great games in CBL, they talk about the coverage.
fruice
31/07/2024, 11:45 AM
We will know all about why Grangevale went over there by what division they pop up in ,if it’s anything other than the premier division we will all know why they went.
If a few photos on Facebook and Instagram is why lads are playing football then they would want their head examined.
latte2012
31/07/2024, 3:26 PM
No I think you're right Kevin , any club that sees the “business” league as a step up, you need to question their ambition , climbed through the leagues in the AUL and then after one year in premier left shows a lack of self believe or basically admitting that you don’t have the bottle for it. Sure the Aul has a lot to learn but at the end of the day no one talks about great games in CBL, they talk about the coverage.
By your logic any decent player in the AUL doesn’t have the bottle to play senior and is hanging around junior cos they lack self belief. Sometimes ya just have to do what’s right for yourself as a player and the club has to do what’s best for the club to keeps things going. The AUL has a lot to learn?? That’s a fact! I’d love to see them do something with all this learning. Absolutely no vision from the AUL committee. Don’t be surprised too when more players start switching to the CBL and MsL jnr. Social media is important this day and age whether you like it or not and stuff like combined team of the season keeps clubs and players engaged.
fruice
31/07/2024, 4:06 PM
By your logic any decent player in the AUL doesn’t have the bottle to play senior and is hanging around junior cos they lack self belief. Sometimes ya just have to do what’s right for yourself as a player and the club has to do what’s best for the club to keeps things going. The AUL has a lot to learn?? That’s a fact! I’d love to see them do something with all this learning. Absolutely no vision from the AUL committee. Don’t be surprised too when more players start switching to the CBL and MsL jnr. Social media is important this day and age whether you like it or not and stuff like combined team of the season keeps clubs and players engaged.
While all that might be a side mission for players but in team games these are only bonuses and matter little.
Take Patrick Horgan for example in hurling he would give up all the individual accomplishments for an all Ireland medal.
It plays to individual rather than the team.
Any one serious about their football really won’t care about these things.
You are aim will be to be successful with your club and drive them as far as you can get your club.
When you are chatting with your pals 10 years after it’s finished you will be chatting about your success together not the day your photo was on Instagram
Dr. football
31/07/2024, 6:03 PM
I think the Secretary of grangevale happens to be a committee’ member of the CBL.
Broadway Joe
31/07/2024, 6:46 PM
Whatever division they pop up in cbl they have copped out and taken the easy route.
They got up premier and realised they can't compete with the very top teams.
So they have moved where they stand a better chance of winning medals and taken the easy route.
Bar the cow who are niw gone,what other cbl team would survive in premier this year...answer is none.
Ud swear from the talk of their mgr/secretary as to why they left that they are moving outta league of ireland to the premier league...rubbish.
It's probably the only league he won't look outta place when he's playin against the hungry hippos or the curry house kittens.
Will be interesting to see how aul restructure the leagues and if there's another league cut to make less divisions with more teams
Ballwasthere
31/07/2024, 6:51 PM
If they’re gone best of luck to them, sincerely, they had their reasons and who are we to judge, we’ll all be giving out about the AUL in 6 weeks time when coachford and UCC still haven’t played a game so the sentiment might not be too different from that. I feel they would have been a non factor in the premier this season without Billy Tabb up top regardless. They served their time in the AUL and don’t owe the league anything
Ballwasthere
31/07/2024, 6:52 PM
Hungry hippos lol
goal-achio
31/07/2024, 8:44 PM
I can’t understand the whole issue with UCC.
The college opens mid September and they are back 2 weeks later.
They have no pre season and a different squad they get to work with for 2 weeks before they start.
They have no advantage whatsoever if anything they are hindered by these DISADVANTAGES.
Dr. football
31/07/2024, 9:05 PM
Whatever division they pop up in cbl they have copped out and taken the easy route.
They got up premier and realised they can't compete with the very top teams.
So they have moved where they stand a better chance of winning medals and taken the easy route.
Bar the cow who are niw gone,what other cbl team would survive in premier this year...answer is none.
Ud swear from the talk of their mgr/secretary as to why they left that they are moving outta league of ireland to the premier league...rubbish.
It's probably the only league he won't look outta place when he's playin against the hungry hippos or the curry house kittens.
Will be interesting to see how aul restructure the leagues and if there's another league cut to make less divisions with more teams
They couldn’t finish leagues with 8 teams in it what hope have they if the add more!
fruice
31/07/2024, 10:27 PM
Divisions are out 5 new teams.
2 definitely gone and possibly a 3rd
Ballwasthere
31/07/2024, 10:43 PM
where can I View them?
goal-achio
31/07/2024, 10:51 PM
I can’t see leagues anywhere
latte2012
01/08/2024, 9:07 AM
Who are the 5 new teams? You can’t just say that and leave us hanging haha
fruice
01/08/2024, 9:29 AM
They were emailed out.
Castlview (1st Division),UCC(2nd) Watergrasshill and Hibs (both 3rd)all B teams. The one new club in the 3rd division Bellmount Celtic anyone know anything about them?
Then Grangevale & Grattan B gone for sure and a question mark beside another.
42 teams for sure hopefully 43.
latte2012
01/08/2024, 10:31 AM
They were emailed out.
Castlview (1st Division),UCC(2nd) Watergrasshill and Hibs (both 3rd)all B teams. The one new club in the 3rd division Bellmount Celtic anyone know anything about them?
Thanks Fruice.
good to see new teams thrown into the mix.
KevinJBarry
01/08/2024, 11:10 AM
I believe that Bellmount Celtic are a team that will be playing out of Crookstown , I could be wrong though
Play it out
01/08/2024, 11:24 AM
Good to see the new teams.
Pity about Grangevale and Grattan B. Both difficult calls by those involved having both been in AUL so long.
From here, friendships must be tarnished for the team to go in as Castleview, what a pity.
UCC A won't be same without Cooney. They'll be what we were all used to of college teams.
In for a very competitive Premier. Coachford sound like they'll be in great shape when they start playing games.
fruice
01/08/2024, 11:37 AM
I believe that Bellmount Celtic are a team that will be playing out of Crookstown , I could be wrong though
Are Crookstown gone from the shipping league so?
KevinJBarry
01/08/2024, 12:15 PM
Are Crookstown gone from the shipping league so?
That i could not tell you. My info also may be incorrect. Anyway teams dont leave the CBL they only join it . How dare you ;)
goal-achio
01/08/2024, 12:50 PM
I can confirm from a good source that the second UCC team is in fact the team that was plying its trade in the business league.
Well well the wheel turns
Play it out
01/08/2024, 12:54 PM
Interesting. Non students. College never stick to all students. Prob suits them for money. I hear it costed the CBL team a lot to play there despite the name. Be interesting if students play with them too.
Hacker
01/08/2024, 8:30 PM
They were emailed out.
Any chance of a screenshot ?
goal-achio
01/08/2024, 9:39 PM
You can’t screenshot on this
Prem
Coachford watergrasshill
Grattan. Donoughmore
Village Castleview
Ucc. Springfield
Prem A
Knocka City wanderers
Corkbeg. Glenthorn
Shandon. Strand
Waterloo
1st div
Castleview B los zarcos
Banteer. Rathcoole
Kilmichael. Hibs A
Cathedral. Richmond
2nd div
Ucc B. Blackstone
Blackpool. Boher
Bweeng. Churchvilla
Rathcormac mogeely
Boscos
Div 3
Bell mount. Coachford
Hibs. Greenwood
Castle bridge. Harp
Kilbrittan. Rylane
Parkview. Strand
Watergrasshill B
No Greenwood A for some reason
At it all day
02/08/2024, 6:20 PM
Former Grangevale player here to give my 2 Cents on their move to the CBL. Personally, I'd have been against it after all the hard work they did getting up through the divisions. They've been in the AUL a long time and I think it's a shame that they felt the need to leave. Saying that, I understand why they did and at the end of the day, it just came down to numbers. Despite having some cracking players their squad was very thin last year outside of the starting X1. I felt that they'd struggle this year unless they could recruit well and it looks like they've not been able to do enough. Losing Tabb is a hammer blow, although they managed without him for a good chunk of last season. In the last few games, they were reaching out to ex players to help out, so I just don't think they have enough bodies. I can't see them going Premier in the CBL as that would just be the same thing. If it was me, I'd be saying stick it out in AUL and go down if needs be but players would probably lose interest and they'd end up folding.
Best xi
02/08/2024, 7:34 PM
Just back from the park there Knocka bait castleview off the park 11-2 I think it finished and blew up 20/30 mins early it’s supposed to be gatten b tho but they changed to castle view
The Goldfish
02/08/2024, 9:01 PM
Went up to watch knocknaheeney celtic v castleview b some score line it was a hard watch looked embarrassing at time but castleview have inherited good team
goal-achio
02/08/2024, 10:15 PM
What did it finish?
Best xi
02/08/2024, 10:18 PM
11-2 to Knocka
The Goldfish
03/08/2024, 8:21 AM
An easy win for knocknaheeney celtic which was expected been honest I don't think new manager and players would of got anything out of that game unless the new manager is picking easy games to keep his Ego in tact they should be playing better junior teams and senior league side to test themselves before season starts.
MagicViewer
03/08/2024, 2:33 PM
Some please tell me who’s right here was talking to a fella today involved with a team and told him I might go up to that village fundraiser thing for an hour or two tomorrow and he says I shouldn’t be supporting other clubs that I have no ties with but the truth is id support any team in the aul when it comes to fundraisers as want to see teams build surely im in the right no?
goal-achio
03/08/2024, 2:48 PM
You are 100% right
Play it out
03/08/2024, 4:34 PM
A certain superstar is back in Silverheights.
Ballwasthere
03/08/2024, 6:02 PM
If it’s who I think it is, it won’t last, might actually hurt them with him getting game time ahead of a couple of loyal players in the long run, they have the players up there (judging by their last friendly and squad) to more than well without him
Jason Bourne
04/08/2024, 5:30 PM
Apoligies lads , holidays.
If I'm correct , an ul be quick to tell me if I'm not . I don't think he's actually started and finished a season with any team.
Made no real difference to Village when he was previously there and that's when Village were decent.
Village have a top lad in charge , proper lad who demands respect and will get it. As a club, made huge improvements under him .
On the Grattan B thing, easy to come on here with bitching an whinging , always another side to that story.
Lads on here have enough cop on to not believe the tripe that was posted by the bluffers that can post on here claiming to be club men.
Delighted to see the new teams , really looking forward to the new premier ,,,, not going to be the Coachford / Grattan show an more ,,,,, time for the new lads to step up
Jason Bourne
04/08/2024, 5:33 PM
Oh ya , on the buisness league thing , best of luck for the season ahead ,,,,,great website, brilliant media , terrible football, 2 out of 3 ain't bad.
Hacker
04/08/2024, 6:09 PM
Apoligies lads , holidays.
If I'm correct , an ul be quick to tell me if I'm not . I don't think he's actually started and finished a season with any team.
Made no real difference to Village when he was previously there and that's when Village were decent.
Village have a top lad in charge , proper lad who demands respect and will get it. As a club, made huge improvements under him .
On the Grattan B thing, easy to come on here with bitching an whinging , always another side to that story.
Lads on here have enough cop on to not believe the tripe that was posted by the bluffers that can post on here claiming to be club men.
Delighted to see the new teams , really looking forward to the new premier ,,,, not going to be the Coachford / Grattan show an more ,,,,, time for the new lads to step up
Welcome back Mr Bourne
You clearly have the inside track on this ?
Spill the beans ?? your gratts have been painted in a fairly bad light with nobody to fend for them.
Jason Bourne
04/08/2024, 11:30 PM
Don't be looking for rubbish when there's none to be found ., enough of vultures around .
Retired Folk
05/08/2024, 10:15 AM
Does anyone know of any news from the games over the weekend?
I heard Grattan signed a few players, but they were beaten easily by Temple. (I wasn't there myself.)
I saw a mix of Castleview seniors and one of the junior teams play Donoghmore. They played three different teams against them for three 30-minutes and beat them by five or six. Some good numbers up there. I don't think it was any of their Aul Sides, not that I recognized anyway.
Weather could play foul again this year pitches be soft at this rate going into the first weekend of games
Play it out
05/08/2024, 2:29 PM
Luke Casey back to Coachford. No stopping them now, what a player.
Dr. football
05/08/2024, 8:24 PM
Confirmed on the crookstown socials.
Hacker
05/08/2024, 9:26 PM
Luke Casey back to Coachford. No stopping them now, what a player.
Savage player a good few levels above AUL premier.
Who is the superstar on the way to village utd ?
Gunnerozil81
06/08/2024, 2:03 AM
When is the league starting
Cityboy66
06/08/2024, 6:04 AM
When is the league starting
Leagues down for 24th but I imagine the first few weeks will be FAI/Munster junior rounds before a run of league games...
fruice
06/08/2024, 7:24 AM
Leagues down for 24th but I imagine the first few weeks will be FAI/Munster junior rounds before a run of league games...
It’s due to start the 21st.
Why has it changed to Munster/Fai to start with?