View Full Version : Cork AUL 2024/25
The Goldfish
24/05/2025, 6:37 AM
It has been so long now since Coachford lost out in turner's cross in an aoh final who was the last team/manager to defeat Coachford out in turner'scross?? There an absolute beast of a team they is no way they are leaving the aul everyone is staying except Luke he's going back to rockmount he's a quality player but the club has won major trophies without him and no doubht they will again next year without him, after last night humiliation I'm hearing a few of castleview players are packing it up and supposedly there management team are after walking away before they are sacked they should be after that.
Crouch_Potato
24/05/2025, 8:53 AM
I agree with most of what you said fruice. I think all the other AUL teams need to up there game. And I don't think Coachford should be gotten rid of or asked to leave the leauge... but at the same time do they not want to strive for more. They have basically dominated the AUL for nearly the last decade. They have built a great team and club, so why not go for bigger and better? They have the underage teams and great facilities too.I think they would walk the MJL and probably compete in most Senior divisions. As you said yourself you play for pride and progress not for easy trophies? And when your beating your competitors 8-1 in cup finals that sounds like an easy trophy and maybe an unwillingness to progress.
Ballwasthere
24/05/2025, 10:22 AM
That game on that pitch was a match made in hell for castleview, not making excuses for them, they have no legs whatsoever, they kept trying to give it to Stewie or Magee to try a 70 yarder in behind for either Wayne, bull or Lorcan, none of them have any legs, although Wayne did get on the end of one and score a cracking goal, they played a high line, none of their back four have any pace, the coachford front four had a field day running in behind although their finishing actually wasn’t the best, they ended up getting fouled a lot because the view players couldn’t keep up and absolutely smashed them from set pieces, the two Murphy’s are a genuine threat in the air from any set piece and they were unmarked time and time again, the only player in that Castleview team with any legs is the lad Darren o Sullivan and he’s out injured, they were never, EVER going to get a result there, FairPlay to coachford but that was the easiest cup final they’ll ever win, up to grattan to stop the quad but I think it’ll be a similar story, only they’re better at defending set pieces
Retired Folk
24/05/2025, 11:56 AM
Coachford were superb, especially in the second half. They rightly bullied the View, especially from set pieces.
Well deserved win, Hopefully that CB isnt to bad thought he was there best player.
Been honest i dont think theres a team in the league that didnt get hit for less than 4 this year from Coachford so is it any surprise. Would love to see them Snr but GAA wont allow it.
Credit to Castleview as a Club Huge crowd out there and when they scored the roof nearly lifted off the place. Fantastic club doing huge things but never really get the credit they deserve. Multiple leagues Multiple Divisions Multiple Teams and seem to be building everything imaginable at the moment if the rumours are true. Dont think any club comes close at the moment for progression.
All that going on isnt easy id imagine. Hats of to them.
goal-achio
24/05/2025, 2:50 PM
First of all well done to Castleview on getting to the AOH cup final, an unbelievable achievement for any team and let’s be honest it was always going to be a miracle for them to get a result against possibly the greatest AUL side EVER. Anyone would be in the same bracket going up against them.
The talk of the management team getting the sack is farcical. Promoted last year, stayed up and got to an AOH final. That’s a pretty decent return in my eyes.
In my opinion fruits mentioned awhile ago about playing for your club.Coachford Castleview watergrasshill greenwood and Rathcormac are the only teams in the Aul with schoolboys teams so again (in my opinion) players who have come up through them ranks are the only players playing for “their club”.
As for Coachford I’ve praised them for the last two years, I class them as the greatest ever because if they win the quad has anyone ever done that before. They never have a bad day. They never take opposition for granted. They always get the job done and that is an incredible feat.
I do believe they should go senior league but keep the second team in aul.
fruice
24/05/2025, 2:59 PM
There is a lot more than that Castlebridge, Strand,Rathcoole, Bweeng, Los Zarcos, Corkbeg, Springfield, Hibs & Mogeely
goal-achio
24/05/2025, 3:00 PM
Ok fair enough but do you understand my point
fruice
24/05/2025, 3:14 PM
Ok fair enough but do you understand my point
To be fair I do but without labouring the point there is too much chopping and changing.
when the going gets tough lads feck off for an easier option.
goal-achio
24/05/2025, 3:28 PM
I agree 100% and fellas will look at competing against coachford as a reason to drop down and I won’t lie il be using it trying to sign players for next year.
Gunnerozil81
24/05/2025, 5:45 PM
Congrats to Coachford , Knocka, Banteer , Boher and Harp on winning their leagues. A great achievement for any team no matter what division they are in
goal-achio
24/05/2025, 7:32 PM
Have to agree well done to all league and cup winners and now the pressure is on grattan to stop the clean sweep
latte2012
24/05/2025, 7:40 PM
The biggest thing coachford have over every team is their fitness, they are light years ahead of everyone else in the AUL physically. Not sure why Casey would want to go back to Rockmount, they play horrible football.
Harsh ref
24/05/2025, 8:43 PM
Was sick today Kevin won’t tell you what pub I ended up in but lads Casey best footballer in Aul last few years fair play to coachford a season they’ll never forget quad incoming at easy Grattan haven’t trained in weeks better off just giving walk over and let me keep me money haha
He playing Irish amateur football it wouldn't be hard be best in aul ffs
Jason Bourne
25/05/2025, 9:28 AM
@goal I had to read your posts a few times to actually confirm you posted what you posted.
Any chance you could enlighten us as to how exactly how over the entire time scope of the AUL you have now deemed Coachford( who I agree are a very good side) are the best AUL side ever.
Please keep in context when responding the Aul is now at it's lowest point pre Covid an out of Covid has never as a league been weaker or in a greater state of decline.
Ballwasthere
25/05/2025, 2:25 PM
It might be hard to say best ever because they don’t have the same competition as teams previous, they’re for sure in the conversation for winning the MJC, it hasn’t been done in 20 years and a few of the teams they beat are MSL standard, but I think for sure they’ve been the most dominant, I don’t want to hear about the grattan league either before you start, they done well to beat them and get a draw but you know as well as anyone they had a change in management and lots of the GAA lads weren’t allowed play, if chip didn’t get sent off against ringmahon they might have won the fai as well they were that good this year. I would have liked to see them play against the Park, Kinsale, Passage and leeside teams I played against but you can only beat what’s in front of you.
I agree with Goal, lads should be itching to sign with teams as an excuse to test themselves against coachford not running from them
Jason Bourne
25/05/2025, 5:09 PM
They wouldn't hold a candle to Temple
or Greenmount at full tilt.
KevinJBarry
25/05/2025, 6:45 PM
Have to agree with you there , but most of the posters here wouldnt have seen either of those sides in their full pomp
goal-achio
25/05/2025, 7:32 PM
I did see them but did either win a quad? If they win mossie I’m sorry they are the best of all time. Trophy’s talk lads not opposition
Ballwasthere
25/05/2025, 7:50 PM
That’s a fair point, I don’t know about temple but that greenmount side was an absolute joke, I was only schoolboys at the time but remember them absolutely smashing teams to pieces up and down the country
KevinJBarry
25/05/2025, 9:53 PM
I did see them but did either win a quad? If they win mossie I’m sorry they are the best of all time. Trophy’s talk lads not opposition
Ah so winning more trophies against poor teams is better than winning fewer trophies when there is a challenge. :rolleyes:
Jason Bourne
25/05/2025, 10:41 PM
@kevin don't waste your breath on Goal.
@goal.....Temple ruled Cork for 10 years on the trot.
Check the Aul site to see who's won a Quad.
I have said and il say again Coachford are a very good side.
That Temple side was the best team iv ever seen play in Cork , ever.
The Greenmount side next were just at there best unreal.
Goal , for a fella who normally dose his homework I'd of expected ya to know who has more league titles.
goal-achio
26/05/2025, 8:06 PM
Jason I never mentioned who had more titles I asked the question did they ever win a quad so since you know it all educate me and tell me yes or no?
Jason Bourne
26/05/2025, 10:10 PM
93/94
Temple won the intermediate league.
The Aul Shield .
Linnane Cup.
Corinthians Cup.
Hacker
27/05/2025, 6:12 AM
93/94
The Aul Shield .
Linnane Cup.
Corinthians Cup.
I'm afraid to ask but how did they win the MSL and AUL competitions in the same seaon ?
fruice
27/05/2025, 6:52 AM
93/94
The Aul Shield .
Linnane Cup.
Corinthians Cup.
For us of a younger age Who were those competitions for?
As we don’t have two of those competitions any more and the Corinthians Cup is competed for if you lose in the opening round of your divisional cup.
KevinJBarry
27/05/2025, 11:58 AM
I'm afraid to ask but how did they win the MSL and AUL competitions in the same seaon ?
The AUL had a senior division at one time , late 80's early 90s so they won the Aul Intermediate league
KevinJBarry
27/05/2025, 11:59 AM
Jason I never mentioned who had more titles I asked the question did they ever win a quad so since you know it all educate me and tell me yes or no?
I dont think Coachford have won the Quad either ?? That might change after Sunday
KevinJBarry
27/05/2025, 12:06 PM
For us of a younger age Who were those competitions for?
As we don’t have two of those competitions any more and the Corinthians Cup is competed for if you lose in the opening round of your divisional cup.
Dont believe the Corinthians cup was always a losers cup . That temple side wouldnt have been allowed play in the AOH cup at the time due to it being a junior competition then.
fruice
27/05/2025, 12:57 PM
Dont believe the Corinthians cup was always a losers cup . That temple side wouldnt have been allowed play in the AOH cup at the time due to it being a junior competition then.
Fair enough never knew there was a senior level within the AUL.
But to that extent is it pointless comparing Coachford to them ?
if one was competing at junior and one at senior!!
KevinJBarry
27/05/2025, 1:43 PM
Fair enough never knew there was a senior level within the AUL.
But to that extent is it pointless comparing Coachford to them ?
if one was competing at junior and one at senior!!
I believe and I may be wrong so Jason jump in and feel free to correct me , Temple competed in the FAI senior cup and went quite far on a few occasions . So there is no argument . Temple the AUL side in the 80/90s are a far superior side to Coachford . QUAD or NO QUAD
Ballwasthere
27/05/2025, 2:14 PM
That puts an end to that argument then
MagicViewer
27/05/2025, 4:49 PM
Looking back at our book for our 40th anniversary with greenmount we only ever won a treble, never done a quad, so if coachford manage the quad then fair play some achievement, but the AUL in a whole was stronger back then then it is now and I do firmly believe that our greenmount team and the Temple team would beat the current coachford team but that is something we will never know haha
goal-achio
27/05/2025, 9:37 PM
I believe and I may be wrong so Jason jump in and feel free to correct me , Temple competed in the FAI senior cup and went quite far on a few occasions . So there is no argument . Temple the AUL side in the 80/90s are a far superior side to Coachford . QUAD or NO QUAD
So does that mean back then that the AUL was classed as a senior league?
Jason Bourne
27/05/2025, 10:21 PM
Just to clarify a few things lads.
The MSL had a Senior league .
The Aul had an intermediate.
After 93/94 the Aul intermediate teams then formed the Aul Prem.
It was a 2 year transition where the 10 intermediate/ premier sides were not entered into the aul draw until the last 16 stage , bate that.
So only 6 other sides reached that stage , hence why the AOH was so valued.
@Kevin ur completely right.
It's ledgendary up the Northside that Temple went to the Brandywell and only barely lost, much to the appriciation of the Derry supporters.
I completely respect that you can only beat what is in front of ya . But we should all appriciate the Aul is a pale shadow of what it was.
Credit to Coachford for winning a superb MJC. Brilliant.
The league was won the 1st game they beat Grattan, the rest is irrelevant.
I'd rather enjoy Sunday but on any given day these 2 sides have nothing between them as long as both play ball.
Jason Bourne
27/05/2025, 10:31 PM
The intermediate speaks for itself.
Senior / Intermediate was basically the same thing.
Temple were Aul back then.
The Shield was for the intermediate teams.
The Corinthians Cup at the time was a huge cup , basically cause Collage Cors were still big hitters in the Aul .
The Linnane was for the top 2 divisions only.
Harsh ref
28/05/2025, 8:51 PM
Jason/ Gavin cop on will ya Grattan don’t play football would ya cop on the defenders pump it long the forward hope for the best and run their fastest to get it I being going on about this a year boy cop on now I’m trying to be good before Sunday
Harsh ref
30/05/2025, 9:51 PM
Gavin or any Grattan chap on here can ye honestly say yer going to cross Sunday with plan B iv spoke about this for months please tell me ye have worked on different approach cause if my sources is right ye haven’t trained if that’s through ye be bate out the gate I be after wasting money and my Sunday hoping for a good game and then ye’ll head back to Josh talking bull about ya their best team in cork we play well please don’t kick ball and hope for best
Ballwasthere
31/05/2025, 2:20 PM
You were on the lash I take it harsh? lol
Ballwasthere
02/06/2025, 8:04 AM
Well, I don’t think anybody expected any different on that pitch last night, grattan are a dogged tough organised side, it doesn’t matter, they don’t have the legs to compete with coachford on a big pitch, they’re a class apart in my opinion
Harsh ref
02/06/2025, 9:05 AM
Ball I was and I had few pints last night before and after the game so I said I’d leave dust settle but by god for weeks I saying Grattan would need to approach game differently and by god they did the opposite I take it they took nothing from last two defeats management need good look at themselves formation all wrong played into coachford hands again iv never came across a team who bypass their midfield so much with the ball I could go on and on but a waste of 2 hours watching that
Jason Bourne
02/06/2025, 9:15 AM
On yesterday .
Up to the 1st goal , there was nothing between them. Grattan were missing Lordan and Harte,,,,,,take Casey and Cailan out and keep it in perspective
In fact I'd go as far as saying Grattan were bossing it with out actually creating anything, they bullied Coachford 1st and 2nd balls.
Bang 2 quick goals an the game was over really poor goals to conceed, but its always been the case in these games.
3rd goal, good goal and totally killed the game as Grattan were looking to get back into it.
4th was a worldy.
5 who cares.
Coachford have talked the talk and walked the walk.
Have to tip my hat to them . Good team , great manager.
Ref you obviously feel agrived at Grattan for some reason. I saw neither side nitting passes together . The people I watched the game with yesterday collectively saw a game won by individual moments of brilliance by individuals or moments of madness .
Neither side hit long balls yesterday.
Both played ball.
Difference was one side is used to winning and the other needs to re aquaint itself with winning big games.
Coahcford an Grattan have played 6 finals between then this season alone.
Won trophies we have never won an won trophies that have reaffirmed Cork Junior football is alive an well.
Fair dues to both.
If you are awarding team of the year , id give it to then both. If I was to award manager of the season, I'd gove it to both.
MJC
AUL Prem.
Champions Cup runners up.
Beamish/Murphys Cup
Mossie
Aoh
That's some going for 2 teams in one season .
No doubt you will have a whinge though.
Harsh ref
02/06/2025, 9:41 AM
Bla bla bla all you ever put up is stats would ya cop on I’ll agree with most people on here that everyone knew the outcome yesterday Even with the two players you mentioned where Missing they would of made no difference whatsoever so ever ye had at least 3 players gasping for breath at ht I was surprised to see um come back out the tunnel there’s a good 4/5 of that Grattan team I’m assuming retired yesterday for me they’ll need big rebuilt next season to compete teams be playing for second again next season in my opinion
Jason Bourne
02/06/2025, 10:39 AM
Ref , on retiring ya I'm done after this as well . Seasons done.
The irony is honestly my names not Gavin it James, lads call me Jim.
And lastly, knowone actually cares what you think but as Kevin put it best,,,,,, ur mildly entertaining.
G'nite.
Ballwasthere
02/06/2025, 10:48 AM
Lordan and Harte are two good players, to compare them to Cialan and Casey is lunacy, Harte has barely played the last two years through injury, lordan is one of the note underrated lads in the AUl but is wasted in grattan midfield, he looks to play ball and it bypasses the Grattan midfield completely for 75% of the game, the two coachford lads get into any MSL team, they’re a younger fitter bigger quicker side, I’ll give grattan some credit, they’re the best of the rest but on a big open pitch they’re nowhere near the level of that coachford side
Jason Bourne
02/06/2025, 11:38 AM
Harte is as infuriating as it sounds probably the most talented player in the AUL.
Lordan was/is the best overall midfielder in the AUL.
The 2 Coachford lads, every proper senior team has 2 or 4 of them.
Is the smallest Chalky stepping away from Rockmount to let Cailan in , it's like comparing a Dacia to a Merc
Are the Galvins moving,,,,,,
Is Connolly moving to one side for Bradley
They have become a big fish in a very small pond.
Harsh ref
02/06/2025, 1:46 PM
Jason iv a pain in me head now from celebrating the quad getting plenty of free pints and ur not helping it going on a bit Ball is spot on there lordan must of being the biggest waste of time playing for Grattan the man is a pure baller and all ye did all year was kick the ball over his head I think if the rumours or right that’s why he’s moving on along with another few season over now well done to coachford brilliant season and to Village for getting the closest to um we do it all again next season ps never mind Kevin he’s only here like me to upset ye scally wag that lad is haha
KevinJBarry
02/06/2025, 2:30 PM
Jason iv a pain in me head now from celebrating the quad getting plenty of free pints and ur not helping it going on a bit Ball is spot on there lordan must of being the biggest waste of time playing for Grattan the man is a pure baller and all ye did all year was kick the ball over his head I think if the rumours or right that’s why he’s moving on along with another few season over now well done to coachford brilliant season and to Village for getting the closest to um we do it all again next season ps never mind Kevin he’s only here like me to upset ye scally wag that lad is haha
Free pints? did you head down to Coachford then Colin? You should be embarrassed to show your face anywhere after that trouncing in the AOH final
Harsh ref
02/06/2025, 3:22 PM
Hahaha
Harsh ref
02/06/2025, 3:53 PM
Colin this week Daniels last week make up your mind man but I will say your warm hahaha