View Full Version : Cork AUL 2024/25
scaffa7
04/09/2024, 5:28 PM
You started all the trouble Rossum even your own father said you should of walked but none of my business.
Springsilver
04/09/2024, 8:00 PM
Simply don’t understand all the fuss over Watergrasshill. They have just 2 less league games played than League Champions, Grattan who they are down to play in two weeks time. They have come up from the first Div and the way they’re being singled out here you’d swear they were this awesome side who will sweep all before them because they haven’t played the first two weekends. Why is everyone afraid of them?
Average Baller
04/09/2024, 9:14 PM
Hearing a Div 1 team is the first fold of the season, down to a 7 team league.
Retired Folk
05/09/2024, 5:44 AM
Hearing a Div 1 team is the first fold of the season, down to a 7 team league.
What team is that?
It's a shame, but the league will struggle badly with the current/old format.
It really needs an injection of life. Teams are falling away from all leagues, and it will only get worse with more work demands, etc., on people. The commitment isn't there anymore.
latte2012
05/09/2024, 11:17 AM
Richmond are gone
fruice
05/09/2024, 12:15 PM
They should have pulled the plug in August after upsetting league 1 now
Hacker
05/09/2024, 12:18 PM
Heard Banteer in trouble too !!
latte2012
05/09/2024, 12:25 PM
They should have pulled the plug in August after upsetting league 1 now
Easier said than done. Probably didn’t know if they had the money to go ahead or not until this week. Hard to get sponsorship for county teams and then players not paying registration too. Bweeng and banteer not looking healthy either apparently
fruice
05/09/2024, 12:51 PM
Money!!
Surely that shouldn’t stop an junior team
Ballwasthere
05/09/2024, 1:40 PM
First round of AoH draw is out
Castleview B v Los Zarcos
Knocknaheeny v Watergrasshill B
Hibs B v Springfield
Cfc Banteer v Glenthorn
Waterloo v Churchvilla
Greenwood v Watergrasshill A
Kilbrittain R v Boher
Bweeng v Corkbeg
Rathcormac v Bellmount*
Castlebridge v Blackpool
latte2012
05/09/2024, 3:01 PM
Money!!
Surely that shouldn’t stop an junior team
Ya sure why do teams bother looking for sponsorship or registration fees
Play it out
05/09/2024, 4:36 PM
It was players for Richmond, not money. This will be a risk every year more and more.
Harsh ref
06/09/2024, 7:43 AM
Lads was has happened to Castleview as a club so far this season Senior team bottom of division they take players from their Munster junior team who or now bottom and struggling for players in their league and personally think if Aul side don’t win tomorrow they could be cup team for rest of season that’s no dig at anyone all I’m saying is club going through bad patch right now
It's just all other team are putting it up to the senior aul castleview side that all lol
Springsilver
06/09/2024, 9:44 AM
Grattan have a tough tie on Sunday against the Kerry reps but really hoping that the home advantage will be enough to get the lads over the line. Killarney are a really good side but here's hoping Grattan can do the AUL proud.
Harsh ref
06/09/2024, 9:46 AM
Ur missing the point what I’m saying is results for all 3 teams not going as they expected could be long season for club in general
meballs
06/09/2024, 9:48 AM
2 or 3 games in and people are talking about league tables ffs.
Teams struggling to get players registered but still had league games.
Other clubs avoiding that turmoil completely by starting late when the FAI will be a lot less busy is an absolute disgrace. (UCC being a long standing agreement for decades and term dates aside….. maybe)
For any team who has started poorly keep the faith things can change quickly.
Retired Folk
06/09/2024, 12:06 PM
Saw them against bandon they should of have won by 10 but they are going through a patch alright but thats football. Its easy to pick holes in any Club Grattan are an argument away from folding the whole club with only one team. Kncoka Celtic the same.
Castleview have nearly 20 teams im sure this season across all ages and all playing divison 1 or premier so they will soon have a steady flow of talent come through and that will also feed the smaller clubs around the place. There is only 3 games played in most of the leagues
Jason Bourne
06/09/2024, 5:04 PM
Well hopefully ye get through the bad patch and then Knocknaheenys 2 small clubs Grattan and Knocka Celtic will do well from it.
Best of luck tomorrow.
Retired Folk
06/09/2024, 5:40 PM
Well hopefully ye get through the bad patch and then Knocknaheenys 2 small clubs Grattan and Knocka Celtic will do well from it.
Best of luck tomorrow.
Played for all 3 in my time. Wont be at the game tomorrow but can only see it going one way.
Ballwasthere
06/09/2024, 9:27 PM
Anyone fancy an upset tomorrow?
Jason Bourne
07/09/2024, 7:20 AM
Grattan , at home in a one off game .
O'Neill Park, good crowd.
Nah, too old,,,,,
Too slow,,,,,,
Anyone fancy an upset tomorrow?
Not a hope. 4-1 Coachford.
Harsh ref
07/09/2024, 2:10 PM
All the talk about Castleview start of season being contenders well that didn’t last long just hope they go out of cups in first round like last year or it be long long season for um just shows how weak Premier A was last year
Coachford look the same really Notting special the be cot by the right side like grattan lol
latte2012
07/09/2024, 2:55 PM
All the talk about Castleview start of season being contenders well that didn’t last long just hope they go out of cups in first round like last year or it be long long season for um just shows how weak Premier A was last year
Most of the talk about castleview being contenders came from castleview. To be fair coachford with Casey back will be too good for anyone AUL. Casey playing makes the rest of the players better too. You’re talking about 1 of the best amateur players in the country playing junior football here.
Ballwasthere
07/09/2024, 3:04 PM
In defence of people arguing for them they did beat a couple premier sides last year including the unbeaten champions, talk about castleview and village all summer long while coachford and grattan will once again put distance between them and the pack
Donoughmore have had an excellent start to life in the premier
In defence of people arguing for them they did beat a couple premier sides last year including the unbeaten champions, talk about castleview and village all summer long while coachford and grattan will once again put distance between them and the pack
Donoughmore have had an excellent start to life in the premier
I could see that coming from donoughmore ..the where handy last season few good young players..the cups are going be interesting ..think it's time to stop talking about castleview there just castleview now ..I have always remember years back if you lose one game in premier the is gone so castleview will struggle now
AULstarboy
07/09/2024, 3:30 PM
To be fair to Castleview they seem to have the quality but somehow the two managers can’t get them to play together. They matched with Grattan and Coachford for the first 50/60mins and both teams pulled away from them. It’s curtains now for their league I wonder will they stick together you could see at the end of the game they looked like they threw in the towel and with that attitude you’ll get nowhere. It’s looking like the league will be over by Xmas if Coachford carry on like this
Ballwasthere
07/09/2024, 3:39 PM
I’d disagree with them matching coachford for 60 minutes, I felt coachford always had a mother 3 or 4 gears if they wanted to and looked like they were going to score every time they moved the ball forward, just my opinion but felt like they were always going to get another goal while I didn’t feel like the view were going to equalise
Harsh ref
07/09/2024, 4:35 PM
I must of watched different games than you star matched um they could of being hit for 8 today in all fairness going on last two performances they’ll be heading back down all the talk we win the lot my god
Crouch_Potato
07/09/2024, 5:07 PM
To be fair to Castleview they seem to have the quality but somehow the two managers can’t get them to play together. They matched with Grattan and Coachford for the first 50/60mins and both teams pulled away from them. It’s curtains now for their league I wonder will they stick together you could see at the end of the game they looked like they threw in the towel and with that attitude you’ll get nowhere. It’s looking like the league will be over by Xmas if Coachford carry on like this
Thought Coachford could of been out of sight by half time had they taken the 2 or 3 sitters they missed. Keeper made a few good stops aswel, it could have been alot worse for the View. Coachford are setting the bar very high for the Premier this year.
Jason Bourne
07/09/2024, 5:07 PM
It's amazing what people see at games.
Last week Grattan should of scored litterally from the kick off.
Had multiple chances in the 1st half , Castleview from what I saw were more interested in fouling than playing football.
Granted they got a fratuitious equaliser but Grattan , as ye just stepped up a gear an had the far stronger squad an won the game easy , despite all the BS posts on here pre game.
Opinions are what it's all about , that's what I saw.
Broadway Joe
07/09/2024, 5:20 PM
The quality?they have been destroyed twice.
It's about levels and castleview for all their self praise aren't at the level of coachford and grattan.
Defensively they aren't good enough..fair play to them on last year but they have gone up a level now and have been found wanting against the big 2.
As for matching them the 1st 50/60 mins that is something a lower division team would say if they played them in a 1 off cup game.
Mid table consolidation and a cup run is their best realistic target.
For all the talk about it being the strongest premier in years it just looks like business as usual for coachford really.
Springfield and village or castleview for relegation
Dr. football
07/09/2024, 5:49 PM
Was good to see a big crowd up at the game all the noise here and social media has at least got people interested in the AUL. Again
I'm seen alot at few games the last few weeks ..very good to see very nice to with the quality players in aul at the minute don't see y the shouldn't be a crowd at every game
Harsh ref
07/09/2024, 7:28 PM
Just shows how weak Premier A was last year Castleview absolutely destroyed today two weeks running against top two in Aul goes to show how weak Premier A was last year they ran away with league last year calling on senior players who didn’t get a game and all talk they be contenders haha told ye weeks back they weren’t good enough for me I think Luke Casey should be charged with assault for damaged he did to them View lads today complete training session for coachford don’t think they’ll have easier game all year could of hit 8
Jason Bourne
07/09/2024, 7:47 PM
There very quite alright.
Must of used up all their excuses last week.
I'm at the stage now where I'm thinking someone at Coachford has to make the decision to go Senior. I know Park, Wilton, Leeside and Kinsale did but I honestly think none of those squads were a patch on this Coachford side. They'd challenge in Senior Division 1. I also think it would make the AUL more competitive
Harsh ref
07/09/2024, 8:45 PM
Totally agree their winning theses leagues and cups for fun now no doubt they would of would league easily last year to if Donal was there start of season so do think they need new challenge and move to senior league
If I am honest there should be a restriction to player coming down from playing high level football like Luke c ..he was scoring for Irish amateur team so don't think he should be allowed kick a ball in Aul ...but we can't make these discussions as individuals..there has be something done in terms of this dho correct me if I am wrong
Play it out
07/09/2024, 10:16 PM
Lads, this is the first year they started almost the same time as the rest.
Imagine if they had to start 7th August in MSL?
Their squad isn't good enough for success at MSL1. MSL2 even, to win it, start at same time and there are NO free weekends excepted in MSL.
Compared to MSL1...Their goalkeeper is not great....Linzell is near end at back and has been a fine player. RBs poor. Bradley excellent at LB when plays there but GAA is first. Casey by far best player in junior football but he's off to Gardai. They wouldn't do anything at senior level over years, their underage is poor, they had an exceptional age group come through in one go.
Now, I do feel the chairman is an arsewhole and while he is there, they won't be moving. Look at his carry on v Village and even v Castleview, a terrible man who claims that this is the best standard of football in this country. Fair play to them for winning games while criticism to them for not going to MSL for the future of the Club.
Level out the ground there, get an astro, forget the junior AUL success and grow the club for the future.
Play it out
07/09/2024, 10:17 PM
Who....
That's absolute garbage. Are we communist now? Casey can't sign junior? Go away.
Who....
That's absolute garbage. Are we communist now? Casey can't sign junior? Go away.
If you think that ..it like Ronaldo against vinny jones come off the stage play it out ..think of it ..its just training for Luke while he fulfills he's career in garda it's not fear on lads trying to enjoy a game ball and he all over the world scoring goals ffs come of tge stage
Play it out
07/09/2024, 10:33 PM
What drink are you on?
Any player can sign for who he likes and Luke is a Coachford man.
Fair play to him, brillant talent, best in Cork at any level on his day.
Sure Knocka signed Gareth Cambridge, Docker and Alan King and they all did F all. Ex LOI with far more appearances than Casey. No complaints with signing them, I Guess your club couldn't motivate them to do well.
What drink are you on?
Any player can sign for who he likes and Luke is a Coachford man.
Fair play to him, brillant talent, best in Cork at any level on his day.
Sure Knocka signed Gareth Cambridge, Docker and Alan King and they all did F all. Ex LOI with far more appearances than Casey. No complaints with signing them, I Guess your club couldn't motivate them to do well.
Not in there prime play it out
He only signed because he is training fir garda as you siad..he's in he's prime as a player that recently scored for Irish amateur team ..the lads that signed for knocka nowhere near the level luke
Play it out
07/09/2024, 11:15 PM
So you want some kind of skills and fitness test before a player joins an AUL side?
Not Luke Caseys fault that Scaffa couldn't get lads fit or motivated.
Ballwasthere
07/09/2024, 11:28 PM
The quality?they have been destroyed twice.
It's about levels and castleview for all their self praise aren't at the level of coachford and grattan.
Defensively they aren't good enough..fair play to them on last year but they have gone up a level now and have been found wanting against the big 2.
As for matching them the 1st 50/60 mins that is something a lower division team would say if they played them in a 1 off cup game.
Mid table consolidation and a cup run is their best realistic target.
For all the talk about it being the strongest premier in years it just looks like business as usual for coachford really.
Springfield and village or castleview for relegation
IMO village could have been out of sight in the castleview game as well, should have been 3 up before the equaliser, I gave Castleview credit on the day for weathering the storm and fighting for a point but you can’t get away with that with The two big boys
Ballwasthere
07/09/2024, 11:34 PM
If I am honest there should be a restriction to player coming down from playing high level football like Luke c ..he was scoring for Irish amateur team so don't think he should be allowed kick a ball in Aul ...but we can't make these discussions as individuals..there has be something done in terms of this dho correct me if I am wrong
By that Logic Jamie Murphy shouldn’t have been allowed sign with village, say why you want about him playing shipping league, he played league of Ireland and has a lot more Irish caps than Casey, along with the record at the time of most ever goals in a single season MSL while with Rockmount, Luke is a coachford local, he should be allowed play if he wants
I for one am sick of the AUL being looked down at and getting weaker year on year. I would welcome as many players from the top level as possible along with praying Coachford don’t go senior, it’s on the rest to catch up, if you want easy games and no challenge go CBL, I would love if the AUL could even get back to the level it was 10 years ago