View Full Version : Cork AUL 2024/25

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50

Harsh ref
12/09/2024, 7:38 AM
There was no need for 3rd division complete joke in fairness should of being 4th division simple as along with Hibs knocka will have league done next few weeks to 6 teams behind um beating each other 7 teams in a division is laughable id say Coachford will be miles ahead cone Xmas to unless Grattan can hang on to draw it out.

fruice
12/09/2024, 7:56 AM
The minute Richmond pulled out the 1st division had to go to a 3 round league 12 league league is a joke

Play it out
12/09/2024, 8:21 AM
Leagues should never have been this small. What were they thinking? It must have been wanting to hold the 5 divisions which I understand but the practicalities suggested 4 Divisions.

Cityboy66
12/09/2024, 8:50 AM
I can see what ye mean lads but a lot of those teams in Div 3 would be well beaten weekly by any of the teams in the Division above them. I can see the issues but of the 11 teams in Div 3 I’d say based off league form 3 could hold their own in any league above it at best. The Henry Healy suggestion to be fair is very good if you got rid of Prem A

fruice
12/09/2024, 9:46 AM
I’m my view on the balance of levels ideally you need the 5 division.

Pushing up the weakest teams in the AUL really is no good to no one.

In saying that pushing up some of the premier A teams to premier wouldn’t make much sense either.

What ever division you pushed up and just say division 3 was pushed into division 2.

You could possibly look at splitting the division in 2 after the 1st round of games and call the lower ranked teams division 2a ave they compete for their own title.

You could alternatively do this with the premier.

But I think division 2 makes more sense.

Just an idea.

LetItLong11
12/09/2024, 10:36 AM
Here's one for ye lads. Apparently Banteer, Rathcoole & Richmond are going (if not gone). By the AUL rules that would give everyone 18 points and an extra 6 games played. That means Hibs will be on 30 points after 10 games. They'd have only 4 games left and would be 8 points clear at the top. An absolute joke. 2 wins and the league is over by Halloween. Haha if only someone with half a brain on the committee rejigged the leagues this sh*t wouldn't be happening.

Where are Banteer and Rathcoole going exactly? They are both down for fixtures this month. I would say Richmond are gone alright. 12 game is not ideal but it is the same in Premier A and it is still better than paying a 3 round league in my opinion.

Play it out
12/09/2024, 2:11 PM
Couple of teams gone in summer, some going now, possible that one or two struggle next summer. I get the idea of upholding the importance of promotions and relegation but I think next summer needs a reset and a change to four divisions with the AUL assigning the teams to which they feel is best. 12 or even 14 league games is far too few.

Harsh ref
13/09/2024, 9:43 AM
Village only decent game on this weekend surely this game is chance for them to kick start their season think Castleview be happy with break from league this week after two heavy defeats

Best xi
13/09/2024, 1:54 PM
Knocka could have the league won tomorrow if they win

Harsh ref
13/09/2024, 2:43 PM
11 points won’t win the league Best in all fairness

Harsh ref
13/09/2024, 2:52 PM
12 sorry

The Goldfish
13/09/2024, 5:02 PM
Village only decent game on this weekend surely this game is chance for them to kick start their season think Castleview be happy with break from league this week after two heavy defeats

Yes we are delighted with a break this weekend because over past 2-3 weeks in all parts of club from juniors to seniors we didn't have the best of weeks with the seniors not doing great and our juniors not doing great last 2 weeks I just hope the players that jumped ship from seniors at that start of season don't jump ship from us and this vital time because few thought it was gonna be a good season on all fronts I just hope they stay and knuckle down and get us out of the whole that we find ourselves in this current situation. I'm gonna head up to village Saturday should be a good game strand are no pushovers so it is gonna be a close game but can see village coming through this one.

Harsh ref
13/09/2024, 5:59 PM
You be hoping Fish that they don’t run for the hills think them lads they dropped down this season thought they had nothing to do but pick up the cup need good result next game to get um lifted again

Jason Bourne
13/09/2024, 8:35 PM
Goldfish, some lessons just have to be learned the hard way. So your not going to get any sympathy on here.

Posting on here as if ye were all this and that when the reality of the matter was cockyness and confidence can't and won't trump quality and experience.

Now you have a Senior team in the gutter and a junior team on the brink , all for a trophy ye were never going to win,,,,,

Ain't hindsight a great thing

The Goldfish
13/09/2024, 9:26 PM
Goldfish, some lessons just have to be learned the hard way. So your not going to get any sympathy on here.

Posting on here as if ye were all this and that when the reality of the matter was cockyness and confidence can't and won't trump quality and experience.

Now you have a Senior team in the gutter and a junior team on the brink , all for a trophy ye were never going to win,,,,,

Hindsight is a wonderful thing alright but we do believe in our own capability but for 1 reason or another it hasn't worked out so far this season for us maybe with players dropping down from senior gives the manager a great headache but in same breath I'd say he rather not have that headache aswell because he is a good manager, like we won a simple league last season not 1 team really pushed us I thought knocknaheeney celtic would but that club/players are all talk and couldn't back it up maybe our success last season has hindered us a bit going forward coz our aim was to challenge for league but looking at it now it's gone so our priorities now shift to finishing as high as we can and try and add a few cups this season which would be a very successful season for us.

Play it out
13/09/2024, 10:41 PM
Castlview have had one good season in last decade at AUL. We're never going to be good enough to challenge. Few lads in that team especially at the back who are quite poor.

MagicViewer
14/09/2024, 7:58 AM
Castlview have had one good season in last decade at AUL. We're never going to be good enough to challenge. Few lads in that team especially at the back who are quite poor.

Like fergie said attacks win you games but defences win you titles ;)

Harsh ref
14/09/2024, 9:20 AM
Pull the plug on the new Astros send um up to Grattan haha

Harsh ref
14/09/2024, 12:59 PM
Ah lads it didn’t take long castleview aul players playing Msl today not cause they want to but club making um up roar in club I’m hearing

The Goldfish
14/09/2024, 2:28 PM
Ah lads it didn’t take long castleview aul players playing Msl today not cause they want to but club making um up roar in club I’m hearing

You are right Harsh players in question don't want to play with the seniors they dropped down aul to play with buddies work etc but unfortunately with club rules junior teams are there to facilitate the seniors that's how it is up here and players have no other choice to step up and if they say no and refuse we have to show them the door thats our policy always was this way and will remain this way in the future.

Hacker
14/09/2024, 2:40 PM
Watergrashill 1-0 up looks like a different team to last season lot of lads on wrong side of 30 or maybe 40.

See with the latest round of aul fixtures some teams have gone from 2 games a week to nothing for 3/4 weeks without a game.

Fixtures in the organisation are a shambles again this year. How do they get it so wrong year on year

Cityboy66
14/09/2024, 2:55 PM
From what I can see there’s 7 AUL games on. 3 in Munster junior Cup, there’s dates for these cups to be played by and only a certain amount of referees, not sure what your expecting here regarding the organisation of fixtures. The 2 games a week was to get a few more league games played then last year, no matter what way you work it there will always be a problem about something there.

Retired Folk
14/09/2024, 5:16 PM
You are right Harsh players in question don't want to play with the seniors they dropped down aul to play with buddies work etc but unfortunately with club rules junior teams are there to facilitate the seniors that's how it is up here and players have no other choice to step up and if they say no and refuse we have to show them the door thats our policy always was this way and will remain this way in the future.

As a Castleview Player are you not happy they won? I mean yer all one Club and been called up to Snr is an reflection on you as a player.

I got out to the game didnt catch the 2nd goal as i left but they certainly didnt look like they didnt want to play. A fantastic level of Football from both teams Castleview CB Dean was immense. The Manager on the line said they had 3 injured and 2 or 3 working.

Am i wrong in saying thats how Snr teams work or have i missed something here.

Some of there other Jnr players there aswell the Munster Jnr one and they still got a win aswell. Great weekend for the Club im sure everyone at Castleview is happy out.

Idiotchecker
14/09/2024, 5:39 PM
Village look more of a team without Dean, ego player and that’s not what that group needed. Even the likes of bunter for all his goals a team player, Hennessy and Keegan growing into the team as well. Could be a different outfit with a few weeks behind them.

Harsh ref
14/09/2024, 5:44 PM
Disagree folk you either play Msl or aul shouldn’t play both and missing players another lie look at midweek squad to todays them aul players were extras not helping cause their short

Retired Folk
14/09/2024, 5:49 PM
Disagree folk you either play Msl or aul shouldn’t play both and missing players another lie look at midweek squad to todays them aul players were extras not helping cause their short
Just checked it.

Dean, David, and Kyle are missing from the squad. Either way, whether we agree or not, it's well within the rules, and every senior club will always do it.

Just seen on the Aul Twitter Grattan Final in Castleview now as well. Surely somewhere more applicable for the final is available.

Harsh ref
14/09/2024, 6:06 PM
For me Msl or Aul but my opinion I will agree with you about Friday night tho aul looking after castleview again cause no doubt they’ll have bucket at the gate for me that should be halved with both clubs playing cause aul will be paying castleview for use of pitch

Play it out
14/09/2024, 7:57 PM
What AUL member is the link there to Castleview? These finals there are.a.joke, dressing rooms are tiny.

Harsh ref
14/09/2024, 8:55 PM
I won’t mention name cause 12th man gave me month holiday but this is joke went up to castleview v Grattan two weeks back and bucket at the game for Aul game a complete disgrace

Play it out
14/09/2024, 9:08 PM
Charging to watch Castleview AUL, wow!

Idiotchecker
14/09/2024, 10:03 PM
What is the story with village having 3 rotating keepers, surely it has to be the cow keeper, bigger and more commanding. Surely need more consistency in that position

AverageJoesGym
14/09/2024, 10:06 PM
Good win for Village, I wasn't in attendance but were they very good or Strand poor? Village always a hard working team, Dean trying to be main man as usual would of upset everything up there. He plays for himself! Hearing the Hill were missing a few players today, hard to tell how good/bad they will be till a few weeks in. Exciting league IMO

Ballwasthere
15/09/2024, 12:51 AM
Good win for Village, I wasn't in attendance but were they very good or Strand poor? Village always a hard working team, Dean trying to be main man as usual would have upset everything up there. He plays for himself! Hearing the Hill were missing a few players today, hard to tell how good/bad they will be till a few weeks in. Exciting league IMO

It was a bit of both, strand looked well out of their depth, but village did show promising signs, Keegan and Gurta at the back looked very comfortable, the evergreen Stephen long and Shane Gurta in the middle gave them more steel and gave McCarthy much more freedom to dictate things, still wouldn’t fancy them to touch the two big boys however
I

Rossum
15/09/2024, 9:16 AM
I won’t mention name cause 12th man gave me month holiday but this is joke went up to castleview v Grattan two weeks back and bucket at the game for Aul game a complete disgrace

Ah come on now, of course they had a bucket at the game a northside derby where the result had huge implications on the league so early, if they didn’t put out a bucket they’d of been very very silly with the expected crowd

Harsh ref
15/09/2024, 9:39 AM
Aul gane Rossum you having a laugh

scaffa7
15/09/2024, 11:11 AM
Good result for Village yesterday.

Rossum
15/09/2024, 11:49 AM
Aul gane Rossum you having a laugh

I am talking about the castleview grattan game

Play it out
15/09/2024, 9:29 PM
Rossum..Get off it, painful to see those Castleview players would be a crime. Sad sign of football in Cork that they step up to senior and get a win. Danny O'Donoghue at senior is like giving a game to a fella who won a prize.

fruice
16/09/2024, 8:31 AM
Anything on Banteer are they in or out?

We are heading to week 5 of the Season and they have no games played.

Rathcoole were back last weekend and we are told Richmond are gone.

Banteer remain the only unknown

Danzo
16/09/2024, 8:40 AM
Rossum..Get off it, painful to see those Castleview players would be a crime. Sad sign of football in Cork that they step up to senior and get a win. Danny O'Donoghue at senior is like giving a game to a fella who won a prize.

What did I do to you man hahahaha what’s the difference in playing aul and 1st division senior.

Danzo
16/09/2024, 8:47 AM

Will you ever give it a rest DQ. Goldfish has nothing to do with Casteview.

Gunnerozil81
16/09/2024, 1:16 PM
Few teams setting the pace in the other divions that exist beside coachford , castleview and knocka , ohh and village

Great to see the newer teams in the league challenging

Play it out
16/09/2024, 2:57 PM
1st Division Senior is faster, more physical, set pieces better and then coaches, players, pitches and more should be better too.

Harsh ref
17/09/2024, 10:39 AM
I’m hearing players that played Msl last weekend for Castleview have been told they must play Msl for season to get club out of trouble I’m wondering will this effect the Aul team or is it a case of playing with both team for season hopefully it won’t ruin good Aul team up there

Dr. football
17/09/2024, 11:55 AM
I’m hearing players that played Msl last weekend for Castleview have been told they must play Msl for season to get club out of trouble I’m wondering will this effect the Aul team or is it a case of playing with both team for season hopefully it won’t ruin good Aul team up there

Senior team or Junior MSL team... i have seen both play, the senior team have been unlucky with some results.

having 4 teams seems to be having a negative impact on them imo

Rossum
17/09/2024, 12:02 PM
That is a complete lie

Harsh ref
17/09/2024, 3:07 PM
No lies at all I understand you getting annoyed cause aswel of Grattan your deeply involved up in Castleview to we’ll have to wait and see but what I heard last night while I was having quite pint is Magee and dar Sull will be playing this week again for Seniors so we’ll just have to wait

Harsh ref
17/09/2024, 3:10 PM
Unless it’s just league games they’ll be playing only saying what I heard Rossum

Jason Bourne
17/09/2024, 7:24 PM
The Monday club is ledgendary up on the northside.

Loads of rumors start on Mondays .

Monday night those rumors get even better and become lies.

Before ya know it on Tuesday , it's the truth , I swear . On me dogs soul, cross me heart.

AULBUSTER
17/09/2024, 10:21 PM
1st Division Senior is faster, more physical, set pieces better and then coaches, players, pitches and more should be better too.

Faster I’d agree but no way Is it more physical . Mayfield are looking like the best team in Div 1 MSL at the minute. They’re not much better than the likes of Grattan or Village. Coachford would be much better then them