View Full Version : Martin O'Neill and Roy Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52

The Fly
25/11/2014, 2:26 PM
That he said it.

Fair enough.

Why does it annoy you?

25/11/2014, 2:35 PM
If one was to believe the papers, Redmond has been linked with a £10m move to Liverpool, to rescue their season no less.

Maybe MON knows more about our hopefuls than we think and just doesn't rate the majority.
He has a good agent alright.

25/11/2014, 3:43 PM
Fair enough.

Why does it annoy you?
Because I don't think he should be talking our players down in public. It sounded like he was getting his excuses in early.

The Fly
25/11/2014, 4:44 PM
Because I don't think he should be talking our players down in public. It sounded like he was getting his excuses in early.

I suspected that was the reason so I suppose the question was somewhat rhetorical in nature.

I wouldn't have a strong opinion on it as, for me, the lack of quality has been self-evident for a long time. I'd say he was merely calling a spade a spade as opposed to getting his excuses in early, but I take your point on 'talking our players down in public'.

DeLorean
27/11/2014, 2:14 PM
Was reading a bit of Keane's book last night, the chapter about his time at Ipswich. He kept going on about how it never felt right, and laboured the point about Ipswich wearing blue just felt wrong to him, that City and Rangers wear blue! He accepted that it was probably a childish mindset but it was there nonetheless. Seems utterly ridiculous to me to be honest, he wore blue countless times at United and arguably his two biggest rivals (Liverpool & Arsenal) wore red anyway. For a guy obviously so keep to get back into management, has he now ruled out teams who wear blue primarily? I'd imagine the chairmen of some predominantly blue wearing football clubs, amongst others, have ruled him out anyway. On the plus side, it may come as some sort of relief to OwlsFan!

The Fly
27/11/2014, 4:31 PM
Was reading a bit of Keane's book last night, the chapter about his time at Ipswich. He kept going on about how it never felt right, and laboured the point about Ipswich wearing blue just felt wrong to him, that City and Rangers wear blue! He accepted that it was probably a childish mindset but it was there nonetheless. Seems utterly ridiculous to me to be honest, he wore blue countless times at United and arguably his two biggest rivals (Liverpool & Arsenal) wore red anyway. For a guy obviously so keep to get back into management, has he now ruled out teams who wear blue primarily? I'd imagine the chairmen of some predominantly blue wearing football clubs, amongst others, have ruled him out anyway. On the plus side, it may come as some sort of relief to OwlsFan!

As childish as it sounds, I too have a dislike of teams wearing blue.

27/11/2014, 4:33 PM
We all have mad reasons for hating teams. I hated Pats originally because they wore "Arsenal" colours. Now I hate them for the more altruistic reason because they are [insert abusive term here].

28/11/2014, 1:13 AM
Red is an aggressive colour, blue is a peaceful one, I think it does have a psychological effect.
A team in red seems more threatening than one in blue.

There seems to be scientific evidence for it too.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/science-news/6097954/Why-teams-in-red-win-more.html

Researchers found that those who wear red tops, jackets or clothing score 10 per cent more in any competition than if they were in another colour.

Experts believe that red could make individuals and teams feel more confident as well as being perceived by others as more aggressive and dominant.

The findings could explain why Manchester United, Liverpool and Arsenal, have been so successful,. On the other hand, the results could suggest that the success of those teams has given those that wear the red colour more confidence.

United and Liverpool have won a record 18 league titles, while Arsenal have had an uninterrupted run in the top flight for longer than any other team.

England's victorious World Cup team in 1966, led by Bobby Moore wore red, instead of their usual white, and have not won a World Cup or European Championship since.

The study, by German sports psychologists at the University of Munster, was reported in New Scientist magazine. They showed video clips of taekwondo bouts to 42 experienced referees. One combatant wore blue, the other red.
They then showed them the same clips but digitally manipulated the clothing to swap the colours. The fighters wearing red were given an average of 13 per cent more points than when they were blue.
"If one competitor is strong and the other weak, it won't change the outcome of the fight," said Norbert Hagemann, who led the study. "But the closer the levels, the easier it is for the colour to tip the scale."
In 2004 scientists at Durham University also looked at how colour influenced sporting competitiveness. They analysed Olympic combat sports such as boxing, taekwondo, Graeco-Roman wrestling and freestyle wrestling and found that nearly 55 per cent of bouts were won by the competitor in red.

"There is now good experimental evidence that red stimuli are perceived as dominant and that they cause negative effects on performance in those viewing them," said Robert Burton, one of the researchers. "It is plausible that wearing red also makes individuals feel more confident, although this hasn't yet been tested."

So it seems Roys beliefs are fairly well grounded.

Red is the colour of blood and I think most people would expect a bloodied opponent to fight
harder than an unbloodied one.

It is not quite working in the Premiereship at the moment with Chelsea topping the league.

Fixer82
28/11/2014, 4:47 AM
It's also the colour of CAAAAARK BOY!!!! The besT county and city in all of AWWWRLIIIND YOU LANGAWWWR!!!

DeLorean
28/11/2014, 8:15 AM
We all like certain colours... I wasn't questioning Keane for preferring red, I was questioning him for not being grown up and professional enough to put it to one side. He seemed to have really good time for Everton also which seems a total contradiction, even to the point where he indicated that he slightly regretting not joining them after United. It seemed to really grate on him, he should have tried to pull a Vincent Tan.

DeLorean
28/11/2014, 8:40 AM
Breaking; Roy Keane leaves Aston Villa (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/breaking-roy-keane-leaves-aston-villa-30781679.html)

the doc
28/11/2014, 8:44 AM
Breaking; Roy Keane leaves Aston Villa (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/breaking-roy-keane-leaves-aston-villa-30781679.html)

That's fecked it for the FAI........

back of the net
28/11/2014, 8:44 AM

Bloody hell!!

Considering their very poor form......wonder was he pushed or will it be a case of Lambert will soon be following him out the door?

the doc
28/11/2014, 8:52 AM
In a way I feel a but sorry for RK, working alongside 2 managers who can't manage at the level they are in.

DeLorean
28/11/2014, 8:59 AM
Combining the two roles has become too difficult. Fair enough I suppose, can only be good for us.

28/11/2014, 9:06 AM
and to think there were a number of posters on here at the time saying that keane taking on the villa job wouldn't distract from his Ireland duties

28/11/2014, 9:22 AM
Of course he's getting criticised for leaving as they're sinking. The chap can't do anything without criticism.

DeLorean
28/11/2014, 9:26 AM
and to think there were a number of posters on here at the time saying that keane taking on the villa job wouldn't distract from his Ireland duties

Well that was an obvious concern. The fact is though, none of us have any real idea what either job entails. He obviously felt he could combine the two but underestimated the commitment needed for either one or the other, or both. Even though it's another sideshow, the timing is fine from our point of view and I'm glad he's had the honestly to accept it's not working, and that we are now his sole focus.

DannyInvincible
28/11/2014, 10:34 AM
In a way I feel a but sorry for RK, working alongside 2 managers who can't manage at the level they are in.

To what level is O'Neill more suited in your opinion?

Combining the two roles has become too difficult. Fair enough I suppose, can only be good for us.

Certainly, and at least it's clear we were still always his priority. There's an international break now until March which you might have thought would have freed him up to devote more time to Villa over the next few months, but that he wants to devote his time solely to the international role during this upcoming period is very promising.

DeLorean
28/11/2014, 10:45 AM
In fairness though, you'd think he'd have enough experience as a player and manager to know what he was letting himself in for. He was adamant that he could combine the roles. I finished his book last night, I'd say he doesn't have a moments peace (in his own head). He seemed to be really enjoying going to Goodison, the Britannia and various places to watch the Irish lads, at his own leisure. The Villa thing was probably too full on.

28/11/2014, 11:02 AM
If he had to pick one, I'd have thought he'd have chosen Aston Villa, just for the day to day involvement in the EPL.
I don't know what that means for us, a bit of Roy versus a bit more of Roy?

SwanVsDalton
28/11/2014, 11:07 AM
Sounds like a heart-over-head decision. He would undoubtedly have learned more about day-to-day management by holding tight at Villa. Presumably that's what he wants, but he's too invested in our fate.

Can't help but be heartened by that. Plus he now has no split allegiances for the next time he takes a pop at a player for putting club before country.

GypsyBlackCat
28/11/2014, 11:13 AM
TBH, I don't think to has anything to do with his dual roles. Villa are in a big mess both on and off the field. I wouldn't be surprised if he felt he could do without all that.

DeLorean
28/11/2014, 11:15 AM
He surely knew all that before signing up.

DeLorean
28/11/2014, 11:23 AM
http://i4.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article4711331.ece/alternates/s615/Roy-Keane-main-2.jpg

GypsyBlackCat
28/11/2014, 12:36 PM
He surely knew all that before signing up.

I'm sure Keane has other reason like family and I'd say it's a lot a of stress working the two jobs. But I if I was a Villa fan I'd be worried. Things look different from the outside buy once you're inside you see the real damage. Lambert looks like a man that has rang out of ideas and the owner won't put the money if he's selling up.

Regardless his reasons, Keane is best out of there!

28/11/2014, 12:56 PM
I'd say JD promised him a pay rise if he could distract from his own media attention for a few days.

DeLorean
28/11/2014, 1:13 PM
I'm sure Keane has other reason like family and I'd say it's a lot a of stress working the two jobs. But I if I was a Villa fan I'd be worried. Things look different from the outside buy once you're inside you see the real damage. Lambert looks like a man that has rang out of ideas and the owner won't put the money if he's selling up.

Regardless his reasons, Keane is best out of there!

I feel sorry for Lambert. I think he has a good philosophy both in terms of giving youth a chance (not that he had much choice) and the way he tries to play football. It seems he is p!ssing against the wind there though, and anybody that keeps them reasonably safe from relegation has to be seen as doing okay I think.

The Fly
28/11/2014, 1:42 PM
If he had to pick one, I'd have thought he'd have chosen Aston Villa, just for the day to day involvement in the EPL.
I don't know what that means for us, a bit of Roy versus a bit more of Roy?

Sounds like a heart-over-head decision. He would undoubtedly have learned more about day-to-day management by holding tight at Villa. Presumably that's what he wants, but he's too invested in our fate.

Can't help but be heartened by that. Plus he now has no split allegiances for the next time he takes a pop at a player for putting club before country.

Keane did mention during the round of interviews to promote his book that he would leave the Villa job if combining it alongside his role with the national side became too much, so this shouldn't come as too much of a shock.

Of course, because it's Keane, people will assume there's more to this than meets the eye.

Straightstory
28/11/2014, 4:21 PM
I think there's more to this than meets the eye.

DannyInvincible
28/11/2014, 5:01 PM
I think there's more to this than meets the eye.

Although Villa were quick to deny it, there's a rumour doing the rounds that he'd had a bust-up with a senior player: http://balls.ie/football/aston-villa-react-rumours-roy-keane-bust-player/

Aston Villa have swiftly rejected rumours that Roy Keane left the club after a bust-up with a senior player at training.

Sky Sports News reporter Pete Colley says the club totally refute the suggestion that there was any sort of bust-up.

The rumours that came out straight away were that there had been a bust-up in training yesterday with a senior player. The club totally refutes that suggestion, but these rumours emanated within about half an hour of this statement coming out so you read into that what you will.

According to the club and manager, the reasons for Keane’s departure are as he outlined this morning, the difficulties combining his role at Villa with his role as Ireland’s assistant. Lambert said he understood the decision.

Roy came to me this morning and he informed me that, ultimately, the difficulty of combining both roles has prompted his decision, which I respect totally.

Darren Bent insisted that Keane had gotten on well with all the players.

He had a bust-up with Bent, didn't he? :p

28/11/2014, 5:48 PM
Bloody hell!!

Considering their very poor form......wonder was he pushed or will it be a case of Lambert will soon be following him out the door?

Brendan Rodgers was say he was favourite to be sacked, however he isn't he is 3rd favourite.
Lambert is favourite to be sacked, Roy has sensibly pre-empted that and quit.
It avoids the "Roy Keane Sacked" headline.

ArdeeBhoy
28/11/2014, 10:50 PM

Nah. Not a pop at you. There's only one thing that will always get in the way of RMK and that's his ego. Though it does seem to have mellowed in recent years.
AV have dodged a bullet, whilst I admire his apparantly new-found 'passion', he always has been and always will be a liability...

The Fly
29/11/2014, 1:07 AM
Nah. Not a pop at you. There's only one thing that will always get in the way of RMK and that's his ego. Though it does seem to have mellowed in recent years.
AV have dodged a bullet, whilst I admire his apparantly new-found 'passion', he always has been and always will be a liability...

Does your dislike of Keane predate Saipan?

ArdeeBhoy
29/11/2014, 1:22 AM
Totally. Probably from the moment he left Forest. Though subsequently, a good source told much of it was down to Fergie...
And not just RMK either.

The Fly
29/11/2014, 1:27 AM
Totally. Probably from the moment he left Forest. Though subsequently, a good source told much of it was down to Fergie...
And not just RMK either.

Could you reword that?

ArdeeBhoy
29/11/2014, 1:28 AM
Why??

The Fly
29/11/2014, 1:35 AM
Why??

To make it easier to understand.

29/11/2014, 1:37 AM
I think Ardee is answering a question you didn't ask. If only we could work out what that question is.

ArdeeBhoy
29/11/2014, 1:48 AM
To make it easier to understand.

Aye, but you're not daft. Hence my question.
If there was any question, it would be about the other pointless intervention.

The Fly
29/11/2014, 1:59 AM
Aye, but you're not daft. Hence my question.

Because I'd rather you spent more time constructing your sentences than me trying to decipher what you're saying

ArdeeBhoy
29/11/2014, 2:03 AM
Well yeah, but it's not really that hard.

The Fly
29/11/2014, 2:10 AM
Well yeah, but it's not really that hard.

Lets park that.

Why do you dislike him? (take your time)

ArdeeBhoy
29/11/2014, 2:14 AM
The ego thing and how he regarded Ireland whilst a player under Fergie. Though like I said, it wasn't just him who behaved like this, according to the source who may have embellished this theory.

29/11/2014, 2:16 AM
Actually having look at the league table I am a bit surprised by the decision,
Villa have been on a bad run of defeats but they drew the last two games, one
against 2nd placed Southampton and the other against 6th placed West Ham
(the would have been 4th) had they won.
So it looks like Villa are on the up.

Maybe he was just finding it a bit too much trying to focus on two jobs.

I was thinking maybe now they will win their first match in ages against 2nd bottom Burnley,
however they themselves have just won their last (and first) two matches of the season so
it won't be so easy as it might have been.

The Fly
29/11/2014, 2:22 AM
The ego thing and how he regarded Ireland whilst a player under Fergie. Though like I said, it wasn't just him who behaved like this, according to the source who may have embellished this theory.

http://z5.ifrm.com/5902/57/0/e14504//e14504.gif

The Fly
29/11/2014, 3:28 AM
^ That was for the improved sentence structure btw. I'll comment on the content later. ;)

ArdeeBhoy
29/11/2014, 8:29 AM
No need to be patronising Fly, it was the middle of the night, anyways.

If it's really that hard to comprehend, it's an instinct thing as much as anything...
Anyway flattered to think what I say matters...

29/11/2014, 9:05 AM
Actually having look at the league table I am a bit surprised by the decision,
Villa have been on a bad run of defeats but they drew the last two games, one
against 2nd placed Southampton and the other against 6th placed West Ham
(the would have been 4th) had they won.
So it looks like Villa are on the up.

Maybe he was just finding it a bit too much trying to focus on two jobs.

I was thinking maybe now they will win their first match in ages against 2nd bottom Burnley,
however they themselves have just won their last (and first) two matches of the season so
it won't be so easy as it might have been.
So Villa might win, or Burnley might win, or it could be a draw

29/11/2014, 11:51 AM
So Villa might win, or Burnley might win, or it could be a draw

Definitely a Tricky bet there.