View Full Version : Martin O'Neill and Roy Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52

23/02/2014, 12:26 PM
It would be a stunning failure if we don't qualify for Euro2016 from our 2nd seed perch.
What can possibly go wrong?
The draw? :)

23/02/2014, 12:41 PM
The draw? :)
Scotland and Poland are about or below Austria's standard. It's an easier draw than for WC 2014.
We only have to perform a little bit better than our worst ever campaign under Trap. A teeny wee bit better than our worst ever under a manager who was useless when he had no luck :)
That can't be beyond O'Neill, can it? Now many of our players are more mature, Coleman, McCarthy, Gibson, Long and on standby we have the creative boots of Andy and Wes.

23/02/2014, 12:59 PM
I did a half marathon this morning and heard the draw on the radio and then posted. Now I've had a bath I'm feeling human again and more positive. Scotland , Poland and ourselves are in a mini group basically. Despite Scotland's good results under Strachan they were no match for Belgium and I think they'll get turned over easily by Germany. Poland might get something from Germany at home but might slip up in Georgia like they did in Moldova(?).

I hope we're not the first team to play in Gibraltar. They'll be fired up full of nationalistic fervour.

I don't think there's that much in it between us, Scotland and Poland. All winnable at home, all losable away. I'd like to think we can shade it. Home wins crucial.

IsMiseSean
23/02/2014, 1:07 PM
We're well capable of finishing 2nd but equally capable of 4th.

23/02/2014, 1:27 PM
I think some of the stay away fans will return and because of the duo in charge. They won't be playing cagey nonsense at home. I think there were thousands who just wouldn't go to another Trap hoof fest. The Scotland and Poland games ought to catch the imagination and both will be derby games as there are so many Poles in Ireland. Any fool can see how important these games are. We'll probably bring a fair number to both away games too and if 1987 is anything to go by a lot of locals will turn out to support Ireland in Scotland! I doubt you can just pay in like you could then though.

I'm pumped by this and I reckon the Aviva will be rocking if we can get off to a good start. Coybig.

DannyInvincible
23/02/2014, 2:04 PM
McCarthy and McGeady are sure to get fiery welcomes in Glasgow.

Yard of Pace
25/02/2014, 1:15 PM
Folks, can I derail the conversation slightly? It's Keane related so I thought I could throw it in here.

I just got a t-shirt printed up of Keane's "tackle" on Overmars in 2001. I seem to recall Giles was doing the co-commentary and squealed with delight (or envy that it wasn't him getting to go through the Dutchman) and saying something like "the big man doesn't like it up him". Am I right? Does anyone have the full game as shown on RTE? I'd like to get the quote put on it as a birthday present for my brother (Keano is his idol).

Thanks.

CraftyToePoke
25/02/2014, 1:18 PM
Folks, can I derail the conversation slightly? It's Keane related so I thought I could throw it in here.

I just got a t-shirt printed up of Keane's "tackle" on Overmars in 2001. I seem to recall Giles was doing the co-commentary and squealed with delight (or envy that it wasn't him getting to go through the Dutchman) and saying something like "the big man doesn't like it up him". Am I right? Does anyone have the full game as shown on RTE? I'd like to get the quote put on it as a birthday present for my brother (Keano is his idol).

Thanks.

Can you post the picture please ? I remember it. And how happy it made me.

back of the net
25/02/2014, 1:29 PM

Thanks.

I recorded it on VHS off RTE if thats any use - i wud need to check the tape but i think it still shud be in pretty good shape despite its age (>12yrs).

I have the full game , all pre match studio analysis , half time analysis and pretty sure nearly all post match analysis.

I have it in my bedroom down in the family home in a plastic box - hence im pretty positive ( no guarantees ) thats its in relatively ok shape

If thats any good to you let me know

http://balls.ie/football/that-roy-keane-reducer-on-marc-overmars-now-in-gif-form/

25/02/2014, 1:46 PM
there's various services that will copy that onto DVD, or upload to YouTube for you
would be well appreciated, no doubt

Yard of Pace
25/02/2014, 1:51 PM
http://balls.ie/football/that-roy-keane-reducer-on-marc-overmars-now-in-gif-form/

Sounds great to me, thanks! The photo looks great on a t-shirt, I must say. Add the bit of text (unless I dreamt it) and I'll be flogging them on Bath Avenue before the Serbia game next week. :p (With a cheque for a tenner to Billy Stickland in the post, of course)

HOWEVER: just found a short youtube video of the tackle. Can't see it in work but will check it out later and see does it have the RTE commentary.

Yard of Pace
25/02/2014, 1:57 PM
http://footballpantheon.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/roy-keane.jpg

25/02/2014, 1:57 PM
Beglin was the co-commentator, so if you are sure it was Giles that said it, it would probably have been the half-time analysis.

Yard of Pace
25/02/2014, 2:09 PM
Beglin was the co-commentator, so if you are sure it was Giles that said it, it would probably have been the half-time analysis.

The plot thickens. Christ, it was over a decade ago....it might've been my da that said it. Anyway, I'm sure I heard it and I'm sure it was Giles. Guess I'll have to undergo the hardship of watching the entire game again... :D

back of the net
25/02/2014, 2:25 PM
there's various services that will copy that onto DVD, or upload to YouTube for you
would be well appreciated, no doubt

Absolutely - i really should have done something with it earlier - but never got around to it due to living abroad or other reasons

Anyway let me check the quality of it and see what I can do - will let ye know how it goes

26/02/2014, 3:22 PM
http://footballpantheon.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/roy-keane.jpg

A cousin of mine when playing gaelic, played at an ok level, used always do something at the very start or just before. Always believed you were likely to get 1 or 2 off at the early stages or at most a yellow card, which if it unsettles the opponent or team then its well worth it, strategically done on a particular player usually too. Keane got him good and early and set the tone, and not that we will tackle hard, but that we will do anything. That had to unsettle overmars concerned with injury. Tactically it was a great move, it might seem small and insignificant but it set the tone and how Ireland would play for the day.

DeLorean
26/02/2014, 3:52 PM
It's one of those things really. If Ireland go on and lose 4-0 then it's forgotten about, or we might even hear comments like "it would take more than that to upset footballers as good as the Dutch". Of course, if Keane goes on and gets a second yellow card in an Irish defeat, he's the irresponsible villain of the piece, let the country down, etc, etc. As it is, it will rightly be remember as an iconic moment in one of our greatest victories. Did it really throw the Dutch or Overmars... I'm not convinced.

In fact, didn't he do something similar against France under Kerr? I can't even remember who he tackled... probably because we went on to lose 0-1.

Edit- Think it was an earlier tackle I'm remembering but he was eventually booked for a foul on Makelele. (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/4224316.stm)

Yard of Pace
26/02/2014, 3:54 PM
Tactically it was a great move, it might seem small and insignificant .

I've always thought it was the key moment in that game. So much so I cut the photo out of the paper and stuck it on a t-shirt!

26/02/2014, 4:19 PM
It's one of those things really. If Ireland go on and lose 4-0 then it's forgotten about, or we might even hear comments like "it would take more than that to upset footballers as good as the Dutch". Of course, if Keane goes on and gets a second yellow card in an Irish defeat, he's the irresponsible villain of the piece, let the country down, etc, etc. As it is, it will rightly be remember as an iconic moment in one of our greatest victories. Did it really throw the Dutch or Overmars... I'm not convinced.

In fact, didn't he do something similar against France under Kerr? I can't even remember who he tackled... probably because we went on to lose 0-1.
Edit- Think it was an earlier tackle I'm remembering but he was eventually booked for a foul on Makelele. (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/4224316.stm)
Keane wasn't booked for that hack on Overmars, was he? I don't think so, he just got a warning from the ref.
At the time it was just what we needed, Keane just did enough but not too much.
We went on to win, in that context every thing matters, everything from the kick off to the final whistle.

26/02/2014, 4:28 PM
There is that DeLorean but from seeing it in a few games the more controlversial it was the bigger impact on the game he had, not always the better result but more often than not.

I think keane weighed it up, it was very early on, if it was half way through then ya its needless but its the very start. No player is going to like to see Keane coming into the back of him straight into the game and not even attempt to tackle for the ball. Keane didnt go anywhere near the ball. I really think it was a defining moment, it was also one of his best games for us. It all fits nicely together really.

DannyInvincible
26/02/2014, 6:07 PM
Competitive sport is as psychological as it is physical. Of course Roy marking out his territory early on would have let Overmars and the Dutch know they weren't in for an easy ride. It was a heavy declaration that we weren't to be considered pushovers. The timing was perfect; a strong message right from the get-go. If it had been any later in the game, a red card wouldn't have surprised me given Roy's blatant disregard for making a connection with the ball. Perfect really. :)

26/02/2014, 6:33 PM
Any Dutchman I have talked to about that game just give attribute to the Roy Keane factor as the key cause of their downfall that day.

Last night on ITV he was doing the punditry on the Manchester Utd game. Maybe it was because of their poor performance or memories of grudges, but he was back to his hyena like, high pitch squeal, reminded me of Pontius Pilate in the Life Of Bryan.

DeLorean
26/02/2014, 7:51 PM
Don't get me wrong, I love the tackle and realise what it represented. I think it possibly set more of a tone for Ireland though, Keane's fellow players seeing their captain making such a big statement early on. It probably meant more in that sense than putting any doubts in the Dutch players minds. I think they went on to dominate the next 10-20 minutes and miss a couple of excellent chances through Kluivert and Zenden. They were far from shell shocked unless maybe they would have converted them only for Keane's tackle! Kluivert's miss may have even been before the tackle, not sure. Anyway, I don't disagree with ye really, game of inches and all that.

DannyInvincible
26/02/2014, 8:27 PM
Who knows, maybe they'd have converted had they been more breezy and confident?

26/02/2014, 8:36 PM
I remember at the time thinking Van Gaal made a woeful substitution, but looking up cant remember if it was Zenden or Overmars he took off who was causing all sorts of problems, the Dutch press also made a big deal about this........who was it Zenden or Overmars? My nerves were shot that day so memory not so good!:)

26/02/2014, 8:48 PM
The key substitution was taking Overmars off and putting on some plonker.
I think Overmars was limping though, a delayed after effect from that Roy Keane thuggish hack, perhaps?

26/02/2014, 9:24 PM
The key substitution was taking Overmars off and putting on some plonker.
I think Overmars was limping though, a delayed after effect from that Roy Keane thuggish hack, perhaps?

Yeah that is what I originally thought:), he was causing all sorts of problems down the flanks, crocked or not.

CraftyToePoke
26/02/2014, 9:34 PM
I remember at the time thinking Van Gaal made a woeful substitution, but looking up cant remember if it was Zenden or Overmars he took off who was causing all sorts of problems, the Dutch press also made a big deal about this........who was it Zenden or Overmars? My nerves were shot that day so memory not so good!:)

Did he replace both wider players with strikers or something mad like that ? Four strikers on and no one to supply them, but my memory is patchy. There was some big balls up by him though as I was living in Holland when this was played and it was a hot topic for a while, those changes.

DannyInvincible
26/02/2014, 9:52 PM
Kluivert, van Nistelrooy, Hasselbaink and van Hooijdonk all finished the game on the field together; the crazy sort of thing even I'd have hesitated doing as a gung-ho 15-year-old playing Championship Manager!

CraftyToePoke
26/02/2014, 10:14 PM
Yes, that rings a bell, having taken off Overmars & was it Zenden ? The peerless total footballers from the low countries were basically reduced to launching from the back it in the direction of the four lads up top.

26/02/2014, 10:23 PM
I remember Graham Kavanagh putting in a particular Keane-like reducer on Gilberto Silva early doors in a Lansdowne friendly against Brazil. Think it was around the time Roy was Stephen Irelanding about whether we were sufficiently worthy of being graced with his presence again. You had the feel sorry for Gilberto - all the Brazilian players wanted to do was show up and have a nice peaceful training session and then this permanently silver-haired man comes in and cuts him down in his prime. I think he had to go off injured too, or maybe the manager just wanted to spare him an evening of torture.

26/02/2014, 10:47 PM
Yes, that rings a bell, having taken off Overmars & was it Zenden ? The peerless total footballers from the low countries were basically reduced to launching from the back it in the direction of the four lads up top.
Very clear memory of Stam in posssession in midfield, launching a cross/long ball and putting it straight out for a goal kick!

Fixer82
26/02/2014, 11:42 PM
I remember Graham Kavanagh putting in a particular Keane-like reducer on Gilberto Silva early doors in a Lansdowne friendly against Brazil.

I thought that was a combination of Kilbane and Kavanagh levelling the poor Brazilian

26/02/2014, 11:47 PM
I thought that was a combination of Kilbane and Kavanagh levelling the poor Brazilian
Was it? I only remember Kavanagh to be honest but you might well be right. I can't find any footage of the tackle, just news articles talking about Kavanagh's tackle.

edit: ah, this settles it:

"[Kavanagh] said: "The ball was there to be won and I thought, is he going to go for it or isn't he?

"I made my mind up to go for it and I hit him and the ball.

"It was one of those that if he had have gone through with it and gone 50-50 I don't think he would have got hurt.

"He did anyway, though, and I apologise for that because I know what it's like myself to come off in an international.

"Kev said he thought he caught him on his knee and I caught him on his ankle, but I definitely won the ball."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/republic_of_ireland/3502485.stm

27/02/2014, 2:09 AM
Kluivert, van Nistelrooy, Hasselbaink and van Hooijdonk all finished the game on the field together; the crazy sort of thing even I'd have hesitated doing as a gung-ho 15-year-old playing Championship Manager!

15?

A wee bern!

I had the pleasure of cider and Chasers in Ballyfermot drinking Bulmers. Good times. And a 21st later that night in the Coldcut (Dublin Bus Social Club) and a row after some tequila followed by an excruciating hangover a 17yo should never have.

And to think the most excruciating part about that weekend overall was England 5-1 Germany.

Incidentally, I seem to remember that Aaliyah died that week too...

How apt...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEF_-IcnQC4

27/02/2014, 2:17 AM
And for posterity...

LEST WE FORGET!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ePNST9aczFI

27/02/2014, 7:11 AM
http://balls.ie/football/rte-news-usa-94-report-after-ireland-beat-italy-is-nostalgic-gold/

TheOneWhoKnocks
27/02/2014, 9:19 AM
I remember Graham Kavanagh putting in a particular Keane-like reducer on Gilberto Silva early doors in a Lansdowne friendly against Brazil. Think it was around the time Roy was Stephen Irelanding about whether we were sufficiently worthy of being graced with his presence again. You had the feel sorry for Gilberto - all the Brazilian players wanted to do was show up and have a nice peaceful training session and then this permanently silver-haired man comes in and cuts him down in his prime. I think he had to go off injured too, or maybe the manager just wanted to spare him an evening of torture.

He was crocked by that stage though. He retired at a relatively young age.

TheOneWhoKnocks
27/02/2014, 9:21 AM
15?

A wee bern!

I had the pleasure of cider and Chasers in Ballyfermot drinking Bulmers. Good times. And a 21st later that night in the Coldcut (Dublin Bus Social Club) and a row after some tequila followed by an excruciating hangover a 17yo should never have.

And to think the most excruciating part about that weekend overall was England 5-1 Germany.

How apt...

I wasn't even a teenager yet. Ah... the halcyon days.

27/02/2014, 9:42 AM
Aliyah died in a plane crash coming back, and all i remember was the white towel being rubbed around her crotch area over and over again. Well remembered DI. Strange there is some weird fact with the day she died as well that has left me...

I remember the tackle(s) on silva and he was gone before half time as well if I remember correctly. I think it was a bit of both.

27/02/2014, 11:52 AM
He was crocked by that stage though. He retired at a relatively young age.
He still came back and played for a couple of years for Ireland.

Yard of Pace
27/02/2014, 11:59 AM
There was an interview with Silva on the Guardian a couple of weeks ago. He's fronting some kind of player's union. Seems like a very nice guy.

27/02/2014, 11:18 PM

How apt...

I didn't mourn her death enough. Great face, perfect stomach.

Still would...

Crosby87
27/02/2014, 11:33 PM
R Kelly was married to her when she was 15!

28/02/2014, 12:42 AM
I didn't mourn her death enough. Great face, perfect stomach.

Still would...

I laughed and "eughed" at the same time reading this.

You sick puppy.

Fixer82
28/02/2014, 2:20 AM
15?

A wee bern!

Ah Chasers. Now there's a touch of class! Misspent youth...not to mention the Coldcut. Always for a 21st or a 40th.

TheOneWhoKnocks
01/03/2014, 1:00 PM
It's looking increasingly likely that John Robertson will be brought into the Ireland fold with the remit of scouting talent and group opposition for the Euro 2016 Qualifying campaign.

The Star

01/03/2014, 1:05 PM
Good stuff. Oneills most successful periods was with him by his side.easing him back in gently.perhaps if keane is gone by end of 2016 campaign we can see him replace him if martin stays on.

Crosby87
04/03/2014, 11:28 AM
Oxlade-Chamberlain: Roy was right about shirt comments.
http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/international/roy-keane-criticism-over-neymar-shirt-swap-at-the-maracana-was-right-says-arsenal-and-england-midfielder-alex-oxladechamberlain-9166844.html

DannyInvincible
04/03/2014, 6:20 PM
"Roy Keane 'apologised' to Mick McCarthy over Saipan": http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2014/0303/507966-keane-apologised-to-mccarthy/

Mick McCarthy has revealed that Roy Keane apologised to him in 2006 over the Saipan incident that led to the Corkman being sent home from the 2002 World Cup.

Speaking to the Sunday Independent, the Ipswich manager said that the pair had arranged to settle their differences ahead of the meeting of their then-sides Wolves and Sunderland eight years ago.

"I rang him up and said: 'Look this is going to be a circus if we don't meet and have a chat'," said McCarthy.

"So I arranged to meet him. I drove to a hotel in Manchester and we had a chat.

“We didn't get into depth about it (Saipan), but he apologised to me and I said: 'Fine.' And that was it, done. And I've felt that way ever since."

McCarthy also revealed that he had been contacted by the FAI ahead of the appointment of Martin O’Neill and Keane as Ireland’s new management team, and had been surprised that the FAI were prepared to accept the Corkman, given his vocal criticism of the Association in the past.

"I guess I was surprised that that marriage between himself and the FAI could be mended, bearing in mind all that had been said," said McCarthy.

"I didn't know they (O'Neill and Keane) were close."

Asked on Monday if he had rolled his eyes when he saw the report, Keane replied with a smile: "Well, I roll my eyes most mornings. It doesn't surprise me. I have no problem."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMbIfEbMjqg

Link to Paul Kimmage's piece about and interview with McCarthy from the Sunday Independent: http://www.independent.ie/sport/mccarthy-still-making-the-most-of-the-hand-hes-dealt-30053926.html