View Full Version : Martin O'Neill and Roy Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52

02/06/2014, 9:44 PM
That was a tongue in cheek joke though.

For it to work he would have to be on less at Ireland.
It would be worth him staying at Ireland for a number of reason, he seems to get on
well with O'Neil and he can learn a lot about management from him as he has so much experience.
Also Ireland is a much safer bet, Celtic are on a high, Ireland at a low there is more
room for success at Ireland and a lot of room for failure at Celtic.

ArdeeBhoy
02/06/2014, 10:41 PM
Calm down. It's the Mirror. And the Indo.

Not saying it will happen, but the BBC reporter seemed quite impassioned earlier. So 50-50 chance OF THIS I reckon. Or something similar.

As long as he never manages Ireland, he can have as many jobs as he likes IMO...

Razors left peg
02/06/2014, 11:02 PM
Keane to Villa seems to have legs, being reported in a lot of different places now.

Cant see how he can do both job effectively. Id say O'Neill will get ****ed off very quick if this keeps going on. I was delighted that he didnt leave to go to Celtic and I thought that was going to be the end of it, at least in the short term, to hear another story like this so quickly is very frustrating.

After turning down Celtic I thought we would at least get one campaign out of him before he moves on to a managers job. Taking the Villa assistant job doesnt make any sense to me if it happens. The club is up for sale and new owners might not even want Lambert in the job.

gastric
02/06/2014, 11:17 PM
I will repeat what I said before, let him go. His personality and persona will continue to dominate and take away what should be the main focus - the Irish team.

03/06/2014, 12:21 AM
I reckon celtic have gone for someone else and Roy was given the chance to come out as though he turned it downWhy would Celtic potentially pi$$ off their new manager by allowing Keane to pretend he was chosen but turned it down?

ArdeeBhoy
03/06/2014, 12:27 AM
It certainly suits RMK...The reality will probably turn out to be somewhat different, given time?

03/06/2014, 12:28 AM
Keane to Villa

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2646560/Roy-Keane-set-Aston-Villa-No-2-pulling-race-Celtic-manager.html

From Daily Mail, the newspaper of choice for fascists.

03/06/2014, 3:49 AM
That was a tongue in cheek joke though.

I don't get it? The way it's phrased on bbc doesn't suggest it was a joke at all...

03/06/2014, 5:07 AM
It's on ssn now.stutts and I are going to a breakfast thing with oneill and Keane now.ill be sure to tell stutts to ask him and tell him Cop on.

so if it's true then I'd say he was rejected by celtic or this came in in the meantime like oneill had suggested at the weekend

ah it's as assistant maybe not then!

03/06/2014, 10:28 AM
I don't get it? The way it's phrased on bbc doesn't suggest it was a joke at all...did you open the link I attached? It was an article about the NZ born Irish rugby forwards coach quitting to take up a plum job in South Africa.

03/06/2014, 10:31 AM
did you open the link I attached? It was an article about the NZ born Irish rugby forwards coach quitting to take up a plum job in South Africa.

Stu's talking about a different post and link - one from the Indo which does quote Keane as saying that.

03/06/2014, 10:34 AM
Anyway, I was at a FAI event for the London Irish fans in London earlier today, as Paul said above. I didn't see Paul there but there was a bloke who looked and sounded just like him but with a 6 inch long beard. If anyone saw the early episodes of Homeland, that's the look I'm talking about.

Anyway, this Ros hipster (or hobo?) asked a big long rambling question that MON politely pretended to understand and gave a relatively appropriate answer. Your truly asked about how he deals with players low on confidence such as Long, and whether he thinks Long and Robbie can be effective together.

I also appear to have left myself open to blackmail, having been photographed by abovementioned hirsute Rozzy type deep in conversation with John Delaney. Obviously I was telling JD what's what but the photographic evidence might suggest otherwise, meaning I'll never be able to look at Charlie D or bennocelt in the eye ever again.

03/06/2014, 10:36 AM
Stu's talking about a different post and link - one from the Indo which does quote Keane as saying that.OK, but I wasn't joking about that article!

And in my other post I was referring to Keane's "pay cut" quip. I think it was a quip anyway.

ArdeeBhoy
03/06/2014, 10:37 AM
Aye the pictures are already on Facebook...for the sake of privacy (& taste!) will leave up to PR to decide whether they go up...
Some wag has already said he looks like yer man, Tom Hanks in 'Castaway'...

03/06/2014, 10:38 AM
I don't get it? The way it's phrased on bbc doesn't suggest it was a joke at all...
Doesn't matter how the bbc phrased it, they dug up the quote and threw it into an article, out of context. When Keane said it, it was a parting shot and delivered with a smile.

The Celtic job is worth about Eur1m p/a and most probably if it was a matter of money to secure Keane, Desmond would have bankrolled the difference, same as he bankrolled the loan spells of both Roy and Robbie.
It's about a 90% certainty that Keane turned down the celtic job. The cynics should have picked on Keane staying, as a public relations stunt or something else

03/06/2014, 11:06 AM
The stutts gut test. He will never miss a "free" spread. How is the gut instinct now Stutts?

Feck i cant upload it, anyone want to upload a photo(no the JD one or stutts face - he must remain anonymous) for me?

Anyway stutts i had MON tell me my question was very good, as did the Sky sports guy at the end, and also 3 other people, watch those lies or there could be a photo going up :P You effectively asked "will you play robbie and shane, and is shane low in confidence, how will you change that", in a long winded way and at one stage i thought you were going to eat the microphone. You were so keen ye went for seconds with it that i thought you wouldnt give it back.

I was a bit disappointed with the clarity and the "how" of their responses to both our questions, but they did respond in agreement, in fairness both questions were the best of the lot, some awful dopey ones and showing a lack of knowledge of the Irish team so just asked a bland PL one.

Interesting insight from the sky sports guy afterwards, and general good insight into the keane and oneill, it was refreshing to hear it from the horses mouth so to speak and I thought keane handled the paper talk well.

03/06/2014, 11:07 AM
At least the food was actually intended for my consumption this time!

03/06/2014, 11:08 AM
Anyway, I was at a FAI event for the London Irish fans in London earlier today, as Paul said above. I didn't see Paul there but there was a bloke who looked and sounded just like him but with a 6 inch long beard. If anyone saw the early episodes of Homeland, that's the look I'm talking about.

Anyway, this Ros hipster (or hobo?) asked a big long rambling question that MON politely pretended to understand and gave a relatively appropriate answer. Your truly asked about how he deals with players low on confidence such as Long, and whether he thinks Long and Robbie can be effective together.

I also appear to have left myself open to blackmail, having been photographed by abovementioned hirsute Rozzy type deep in conversation with John Delaney. Obviously I was telling JD what's what but the photographic evidence might suggest otherwise, meaning I'll never be able to look at Charlie D or bennocelt in the eye ever again.

Evidence you say.....:o

03/06/2014, 11:08 AM
MailOnline Sport ‏@MailSport 21s BREAKING: Roy Keane has pulled out of ITV's World Cup coverage to concentrate on his coaching career

DeLorean
03/06/2014, 11:13 AM
Strange, don't think there was much need to withdraw from that. Was looking forward to him getting stuck into England n all! :) Hopefully it doesn't mean the Villa thing is going to happen.

The Guardian (http://www.theguardian.com/football/2014/jun/03/roy-keane-pulls-out-world-cup-brazil-2014-itv-pundit)

03/06/2014, 11:18 AM
MailOnline Sport ‏@MailSport 21s BREAKING: Roy Keane has pulled out of ITV's World Cup coverage to concentrate on his coaching career

Stutts and I could have told you that already ;) Leave you to the meejahideen.

ArdeeBhoy
03/06/2014, 11:20 AM
ITV's loss...and whatever club he joins next...

Bottle of Tonic
03/06/2014, 2:15 PM
I was initially in favour of this 'dream team' appointment provided MON was the clear and unambiguous main-man. The face and voice of the management with Keane being a typical low-key training ground no.2. There was the concern that Keane would always be a story in himself but I hoped the OTT coverage from our national media would abate once the dust settled after the sensational box-office nature of the appointments. But Keano persists. Whether it's the fault of the man himself, the media or the footballing public he is still the story, now more than ever. It's likely a combination of all three. The fans and media are mad for news, Roy will walk at any moment if he thinks it suits him.

I must have been insane for thinking and hoping this could be a nice, quiet and effective set-up, provided the cards were played right. But the circus is still in town and no sign of it leaving. Was MON mad too to assume all this wouldn't happen? And for a man who I reckon is only about 75% into the gig we could be in for a bumpier campaign than I thought.

Razors left peg
03/06/2014, 3:12 PM
Having already said that I dont think Keane can do both the Ireland and Villa jobs effectively today Im going to contradict myself completely now!

I just remember that Chris Hughton did just that when he was working with Brian Kerr and Spurs. Dont think there were too many eyebrows raised about that at the time? Because its Keane we are probably all making a mountain out of a molehill as usual.

03/06/2014, 3:19 PM
If Oneill is employing guppy/walford and the rest of them as scouts also then keane doesnt have to be looking at ireland players the whole time and can easily do both roles.

03/06/2014, 3:24 PM
The question is why we would pay him 500k+ a year to do this as a second job and hire other people to do his scouting, etc.

ArdeeBhoy
03/06/2014, 4:12 PM
Because he's 'worth' it?
Or perhaps not...

03/06/2014, 4:47 PM
Wasn't McClaren a manager at Boro (or was it Derby) when he helped out with England as a coach? No big deal if Keane does go to Villa. He'll get to know the Irish villa lads a little better & will at least be watching a few of the Irish lads playing Villa on a weekly basis.

Bottle - the FAI are probably delighted Keane is getting media interest. Football is in the papers and with a bit of hype should start getting people back into the stadium.

Better to be on the back page than on p82 with the GAA and rugby hogging all the headlines.

back of the net
03/06/2014, 11:02 PM
https://vine.co/v/Mpj1DIjthAB

According to sky he was in london today ....and their sources say he was meeting villa representatives.
Their cameras caught him leaving a london hotel

03/06/2014, 11:13 PM
I can confirm he was at a London hotel. A nice one too. He was having breakfast - including black pudding - with Paul and me. And 198 others, including a SKY journalist.

04/06/2014, 1:48 AM
Doesn't matter how the bbc phrased it, they dug up the quote and threw it into an article, out of context. When Keane said it, it was a parting shot and delivered with a smile.

Thanks for the context. That's all I was looking for. It didn't read like a joke the way bbc put it so I needed the context.

Razors left peg
04/06/2014, 2:57 AM
Emmett Malone was on Off The Ball tonight and didnt seem to think that it was done deal at all that Keane was going to Villa.

Interesting little story about when Keane was going to Lisbon for the Champions League final with ITV he was going to miss the final training session before the Turkey game he was saying it was unfortunate etc... but it wont happen again! Seems he wasnt too impressed about the media work getting in the way of his Ireland duties.

The last week has been annoying with all the stories coming out about Keane with Celtic and Villa etc, but I think the one thing that seems to be coming across is that he is taking his job with Ireland very seriously, which obviously can only be good. Lets hope it leads to us building on the performance against Italy.

04/06/2014, 9:34 AM
I suppose the story with Keane and Villa grew legs when he pulled out his pundit gig, that presumes a deal with Villa is ominous.

04/06/2014, 11:20 AM
Is Keane much of a loss if he decides to go? Is his contribution positive of even measurable since signing up with O'Neill? Definitely feel a sense of indifference regarding the whole Keane situation but can accept it's not ideal to have an assistant leaving with the qualifiers coming up.

04/06/2014, 12:14 PM
It seems the players really value his presence. It wouldn't be a disaster if he left but better if he stays I reckon. The needlessly distracting media attention is annoying though.

04/06/2014, 12:50 PM
The needlessly distracting media attention is annoying though.

if it wasn't the keane story it would be something else. the media always find some sideshow bone to chew on in relation to our national team.
its quite amusing how many journalists "in the know" reported last week that Keane to Celtic was a done deal when it obviously wasnt

back of the net
04/06/2014, 12:53 PM
I can confirm he was at a London hotel. A nice one too. He was having breakfast - including black pudding - with Paul and me. And 198 others, including a SKY journalist.

Going by that video link i posted ....it looks like he didnt enjoy the black pudding!

04/06/2014, 1:36 PM
It seems the players really value his presence. It wouldn't be a disaster if he left but better if he stays I reckon. The needlessly distracting media attention is annoying though.
Annoying to us because we want to read news about other things, but I doubt the media focus on Keane/Celtic is having any impact on the team. O'Neill has more than enough gravitas to handle it and handle his relationship with Keane.

04/06/2014, 5:22 PM
https://vine.co/v/Mpj1DIjthAB

According to sky he was in london today ....and their sources say he was meeting villa representatives.
Their cameras caught him leaving a london hotel

HA ah he looked about ready to thump someone.

01/07/2014, 9:02 AM
According to the Birmingham Mail, Keane will be announced as Aston Villa assistant manager today: http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/aston-villa-roy-keane-announced-7349686

NeverFeltBetter
01/07/2014, 9:13 AM
Oh **** off with a "job share". Pick one. Preferably Villa, because I'm tired of this.

01/07/2014, 10:28 AM
Oh **** off with a "job share". Pick one. Preferably Villa, because I'm tired of this.

I'm not sure why it should matter really. It'd be a different story if it was O'Neill. Keane has a bit more flexibility with the Ireland job though, and only taking an assistants job at Villa means he still has a bit of flexibility there to move around and do other bits and pieces.

ArdeeBhoy
01/07/2014, 11:46 AM
At least it'll mean he's forced to watch EPL games...

01/07/2014, 12:13 PM
At least it'll mean he's forced to watch EPL games...

always involving villa.
there is no way he can combine both roles successfully.

01/07/2014, 1:12 PM
always involving villa.

E.G.
Friday 7:45pm Derby County play in the Championship. Keane attends and takes notes on Hendrick, Sammon, etc.
Saturday 3pm Villa play Hull. While watching on his own Villa team, Keane gets to see Long, Brady, etc in action.
Sunday 4pm Birmingham, including potential first choice keeper Darren Randolph, playing just down the road, are entertaining Nottm Forest, including Andy Reid, Stephen McLaughlin and Simon Cox.

I don't see how it'd be any worse than Tardellis role.

ArdeeBhoy
01/07/2014, 1:17 PM
always involving villa.

Ha ha, are you for real?
No fan of RMK but even he will do scouting trips/work as part of his other role, so can't do any worse than he was previously...

01/07/2014, 1:39 PM
always involving villa.

I don't see why not really I think it might work quite well.

01/07/2014, 2:25 PM
E.G.
Friday 7:45pm Derby County play in the Championship. Keane attends and takes notes on Hendrick, Sammon, etc.
Saturday 3pm Villa play Hull. While watching on his own Villa team, Keane gets to see Long, Brady, etc in action.

he didn't like being away from the Irish camp the night before the turkey game due to his ITV commitments so he is unlikely to be attending other matches the night before a villa match.

so you think his mind will be on how the hull Irish perform with Ireland in mind while sitting on the villa bench?? dream on

Supreme feet
01/07/2014, 3:49 PM
he didn't like being away from the Irish camp the night before the turkey game due to his ITV commitments so he is unlikely to be attending other matches the night before a villa match.

so you think his mind will be on how the hull Irish perform with Ireland in mind while sitting on the villa bench?? dream on

Chris Hughton was assistant at Spurs while he was Kerr's assistant for Ireland, if memory serves me right. There was no issue or criticism of him combining the roles then.

01/07/2014, 3:54 PM
And Gary Neville had another job while being assistant for England. Oh, wait...

I'm sitting on the fence here. I think it can have positives especially if it's a help to the large young Irish contingent at Villa but it also lessens his ability to go scouting, but then again, O'Neill gas others to help him there.

He'll still be free during the international window which is when he has his main responsibility.

The biggest negative is that it'll still be such a distraction for an Irish media always on the hunt for ways to undermine the national team.