View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2012
blue til i die
12/12/2011, 7:05 PM
You can have Walshe and Ryan but Furlong is a big loss for us
Would assume Walshe is signing because he plays for WIT team that Paul O'Brien also manages. Can't be much worse that what we had last season :)
12/12/2011, 8:22 PM
Rumours to Pike Rovers:
Jeffrey Judge (Limerick FC)
Colin Hawkins (Dundalk)
Both are supposed to have already signed.
askmehoop
12/12/2011, 8:24 PM
Jake Kelly to Rovers
13/12/2011, 12:21 AM
Rumours to Pike Rovers:
Jeffrey Judge (Limerick FC)
Colin Hawkins (Dundalk)
Both are supposed to have already signed.
Serious setup for a Junior team at this stage.
Would easily finish top half in the first division next year.
Has Colin signed a player contract as he said that he was looking for a club to start his coaching career?
Loads of LOI heads playing junior/intermediate ball over the winter to keep fit and maybe get, eh, expenses
13/12/2011, 10:49 AM
Has Colin signed a player contract as he said that he was looking for a club to start his coaching career?
Somebody said he was over the Dublin Oscar Traynor team so thats where he would be sarting his career I would think. Seems a long way to travel to Limerick to be an assistant at Pike Rovers. He was supposedly spotted in the Pike yesterday but there could be plenty of reasons why he was there.
Some people are saying Jeffrey Judge is denying he has signed for Pike and others say its a done deal. The same bunch of lads said last year though that Bobby Ryan and Shaun Maher had signed for Pike even though Shaun had signed for Limerick and Bobby was playing away with Galway.
PartySaint
13/12/2011, 1:04 PM
Jake Kelly to Rovers
And Dean Kelly to Pats
Glenn Cronin has signed for Shels, They are building a decent looking squad there
13/12/2011, 1:18 PM
Karl Sheppard's agent reckons Sunderland, Peterborough, Watford, Blackpool and Cardiff City are all interested. Sunderland I think we can rule out right away but a club like Watford would make sense.
poster
13/12/2011, 2:12 PM
Jake Kelly to Rovers
Who at the club is signing him?
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 3:02 PM
Who at the club is signing him?
im assuming the manager as it isnt official if he has left. Its a rumour too, so not neccessarily true
Dillonman
13/12/2011, 5:25 PM
Karl Sheppard's agent reckons Sunderland, Peterborough, Watford, Blackpool and Cardiff City are all interested. Sunderland I think we can rule out right away but a club like Watford would make sense.
Was just on TV3 news htere that Connor Sheppard is guna have alot of scouts watching him tomorrow night. Typical that they cant even get names right on there!
13/12/2011, 6:06 PM
Derry Journal says we're after Stewart Greacen (no need for him imo). And that a deal for Boco and Quigley is believed to have been done.
Lafferty won't be leaving Derry after the clubs he had trial with didn't offer him deal.
shellyriver
13/12/2011, 6:46 PM
And that a deal for Boco and Quigley is believed to have been done.
Wow. If these boys are on board looking at a serious league challenge.
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 6:53 PM
Wow. If these boys are on board looking at a serious league challenge.
with all the apparent upheaval at rovers it could be sligos best chance at winning the league, if they can get a good start you never know. if we get a new manager he may need time to adjust to the league, get to know players etc thus give some advantage to our competitors. will have to see who comes and goes over the next few weeks before making any judgement on league challengers though
El-Pietro
13/12/2011, 7:36 PM
https://twitter.com/#!/padraigamond21/status/146677717406990336
(https://twitter.com/#!/padraigamond21/status/146677717406990336)
Padraig Amond to Cork City according to the man himself
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 7:40 PM
heard that alright. great signing for Cork, should be a very competitive league next year with the way good players are spread throughout the teams
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 7:56 PM
hearing now it could be a p*ss take, a friend logged onto his twitter a/c and posted it.
El-Pietro
13/12/2011, 7:57 PM
Kevin f***** Long - ex Cork City player
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 8:07 PM
Kevin f***** Long - ex Cork City player
haha.
Hearing Jake Kelly is all but confirmed as a Hoop for next season
sundance kid
13/12/2011, 8:50 PM
And who exactly is signing Jake Kelly? Bit retarded for the board or Myler or whoever to be signing players that a new manager might have absolutely no interest in.
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 9:14 PM
for all you know it could have been agreed weeks ago before o'neills contract talks broke down. either way he's a great prospect
sundance kid
13/12/2011, 9:22 PM
Unlike you, i don't claim to know anything about the situation. Who are you hearing it from? My opinion is that its retarded for a club like Rovers to be signing players that a new manager may not want.
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 9:24 PM
Unlike you, i don't claim to know anything about the situation. Who are you hearing it from? My opinion is that its retarded for a club like Rovers to be signing players that a new manager may not want.
im sorry maybe you didnt realise that you are posting in the 'RUMOUR' thread, its called such for a reason. dont get all worked up over nothing
Rasputin
13/12/2011, 10:15 PM
A year ago I would have said he was one of the best prospects in the league but it didnt seem Jake Kelly was as good last season.
13/12/2011, 10:50 PM
There is absolutely no reason in the world to be signing players before a manager has been sorted. I can't imagine there being any truth to this at all.
askmehoop
13/12/2011, 11:40 PM
A year ago I would have said he was one of the best prospects in the league but it didnt seem Jake Kelly was as good last season.
didnt see enough of him last year to make a judgement. maybe bray fans can share opinions
sundance kid
14/12/2011, 9:13 AM
didnt see enough of him last year to make a judgement. maybe bray fans can share opinions
earlier you said he's a great prospect, now you didn't see enough of him to make a judgment. do you really think anyone should be taking you seriously?
askmehoop
14/12/2011, 9:20 AM
earlier you said he's a great prospect, now you didn't see enough of him to make a judgment. do you really think anyone should be taking you seriously?
stfu, im goin off what i seen of him season before last and his performances against rovers, im assuming he hasnt turned crap all of a sudden. Bray fans would be the best judge as they see him week in week out, if i was such a good judge of players id be in a different job. dont take forum posts too serious mate, you seem to be struggling between rumours and facts.
Green&whitearmy
14/12/2011, 9:20 AM
Jake is a good player when he wants to be, not sure if he would have the right mentality for rovers. He would only have 1 or 2 decent games out of 5 games, that was ok to keep us up last season but probably wouldn't be good enough for rovers.
WindmillWarrior
14/12/2011, 11:23 AM
Drogs have signed Ryan & Sean Brennan, Sava and Shane Grimes all from Monaghan. And Hynes from Limerick.
Gav Brennan, Mulvenna and philly Hand have re-signed from last season.
Nice bit of business so far from the Cookie monster
14/12/2011, 11:43 AM
Drogs have signed Ryan & Sean Brennan, Sava and Shane Grimes all from Monaghan. And Hynes from Limerick.
Gav Brennan, Mulvenna and philly Hand have resigned from last season.
Huge losses for Mons if true. Hynes will be a loss for us. Worked his socks off for us.
14/12/2011, 11:50 AM
Huge losses for Mons if true. Hynes will be a loss for us. Worked his socks off for us.
Happy to see ye appreciated his workrate. Ran his balls off while with us, but some spanners in the Flansiro didn't seem to appreciate it at the time.
14/12/2011, 12:15 PM
Gav Brennan, Mulvenna and philly Hand have resigned from last season.
Jaysus lads, have a heart...
14/12/2011, 12:37 PM
We've signed Quigley
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1423-quigley-signs-for-sligo-rovers
Rasputin
14/12/2011, 12:41 PM
Oh baby.
Hibs4Ever
14/12/2011, 1:16 PM
Won't be long til the begging bowls are out again in Sligo
Rasputin
14/12/2011, 1:21 PM
You've seen our balance sheet?
Only1Rovers
14/12/2011, 1:59 PM
Why?
Would you advise against a club having more than 8 players in a squad?
shellyriver
14/12/2011, 2:54 PM
Please go away you irritating human.
^ (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Easter_Road#cite_ref-27) "Hibernian lose £1.9m but car park sale cuts debt to £10m" (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/european/hibernian_lose_163_1_9m_but_car_park_sale_cuts_deb t_to_163_10m_1_556711).Edinburgh Evening News (Johnston Press). 1 October 2004. Retrieved 30 October 2011.
PartySaint
14/12/2011, 3:00 PM
I hope Sligo fans are saving for their season tickets and also saving to pay into every game when the club asks them to
LFC-Zulu
14/12/2011, 3:01 PM
Three Brennan's at Drogs would suggest they'd be favourites for Killian if the budget is suitable!
I wouldn't call Hynes a loss in the slightest, he was about 5th best striker last year by the end of the season. Good work rate alright, but I'm surprised Drogs went for him.
Things are all gone very quiet around Limerick. That either means one of two things. A big cutback in the budget, or a stall in the signings to see what division we're in.
Quigley is a fantastic signing for Sligo, I'll nip in with 4/1 while I can. Surely a centre mid is needed though.
I feel sorry for Monaghan.. :disdain:
14/12/2011, 3:56 PM
Jayz, how can Drogheda be that much more attractive than Monaghan?!
askmehoop
14/12/2011, 4:06 PM
Jayz, how can Drogheda be that much more attractive than Monaghan?!
How much time do you have?
14/12/2011, 4:08 PM
It's an internet forum; how much time do you have to type?
born2bwild
14/12/2011, 4:25 PM
It's an internet forum; how much time do you have to type?
Until next March?
I suppose the Brennans can all live with their Ma and Da in Drogheda - saving a fortune in five star accommodation.
There's only one man in Monaghan entitled to that level of service.
14/12/2011, 4:40 PM
Chris Turner has re-signed with Rovers.
askmehoop
14/12/2011, 5:08 PM
Chris Turner has re-signed with Rovers.
<insert racist joke here>
naoise kennedy
14/12/2011, 5:11 PM
Never was a big fan of jake's, can't see what all the fuss about him is,, but does seem to get the goals ..gladly take paddy kavanagh instead..