View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2012
El-Pietro
31/01/2012, 7:03 PM
strange one this - no idea how true but I heard something about Nicky Hunt to Tallaght Rovers
31/01/2012, 7:19 PM
Good move for O'Flynn, if he stays fit he might bang in a few goals. If chances are created he'll take them.
donnrua
31/01/2012, 9:09 PM
I think O'Flynn knew he wasn't goin to get much game time at Limerick, good move for him if he sorts out the non-stop bitchin at team-mates and stays off the treatment table!
PartySaint
31/01/2012, 10:19 PM
I like this.
His profile picture is of him holding a gun. I like where this is going
Dav isn't a replacement for Cummins, at all. He'l get maybe 10-12 goals this year playing well. He's just not the same kind of player. And now, he's our only striker!
Shelsred
01/02/2012, 11:08 AM
Paul Byrne has signed for Shels apparently, he impressed on Monday night, bagged 2 headers. Anyone else have any opinion on him?
Captain2007
01/02/2012, 12:46 PM
Paul Byrne has signed for Shels apparently, he impressed on Monday night, bagged 2 headers. Anyone else have any opinion on him?
Got a lot of stick from Bray fans when he was there, IMO he was a very good player and got some important goals, excellent in the air and has a good attitude and work ethic, hope he can stay fit for ye..
gormacha
01/02/2012, 2:32 PM
The rumour down Waterford way is that Paul Walsh is about to sign for Dundalk. If true, you've got yourself a classy, incredibly hard working right winger with one of the best crosses in LoI.
HomerJay
01/02/2012, 5:32 PM
The rumour down Waterford way is that Paul Walsh is about to sign for Dundalk. If true, you've got yourself a classy, incredibly hard working right winger with one of the best crosses in LoI.
good stuff, i hope he is good.:p he works here with sports stats which helps.
HomerJay
01/02/2012, 5:34 PM
players who could be coming to oriel:
Hernany Macedo LB/CB
Callum Morris CB
Robbie Watters MD
George Smith MD
Pedro Henrique Brito Bernardes MD/ST
David Murphy ST:o
D24Saint
01/02/2012, 5:41 PM
Decent for us two years back has potential, lacks a bit of pace but if he keeps his head down he will be a good signing for $hels
desaintsno.12
01/02/2012, 6:02 PM
Can't see him getting up to much in the premier, he was very poor last year with Limerick whenever he played and was injured more then he wasn't.
So was Soccy. that worked out well for us.
El-Pietro
01/02/2012, 7:42 PM
David Murphy could yet come to City
edit: and its Robbie Waters - not Watters.
bullit
01/02/2012, 7:48 PM
http://i1.kym-cdn.com/entries/icons/original/000/007/666/_57c8a1a431a592af806925e57258202f.png
FFS man....http://www.irishleaguesupporters.com/forums/images/smilies/facepalm.gif
HomerJay
01/02/2012, 10:21 PM
correcting someone over an extra T in someones name, you must live a pretty exciting life. :rolleyes:
Ezeikial
01/02/2012, 10:28 PM
players who could be coming to oriel:
Hernany Macedo LB/CB
Callum Morris CB
Robbie Watters MD
George Smith MD
Pedro Henrique Brito Bernardes MD/ST
David Murphy ST:o
Looks like 2 for the price of 1 there!
El-Pietro
01/02/2012, 10:30 PM
I do! I travel the world removing extraneous consonants from words and names.
HomerJay
01/02/2012, 10:32 PM
Some craic if they sign :D
The first guy looks good from a few vids i've seen, heard from someone that seen them that they are quality and george smith too.
might get a proper look at them in the friendlies. :p
redobit
01/02/2012, 10:57 PM
hahahaha
(http://foot.ie/threads/158118-Shels-v-Sligo-FAI-Cup-final-Lansdowne-Road-6th-Nov?p=1551600&viewfull=1#post1551600)
02/02/2012, 1:01 AM
So was Soccy. that worked out well for us.
Different circumstances though in fairness.
Soccy was a Dub who just didn't fancy it for whatever reason. Stevo is (possibly, hopefully not) crocked.
Don't get me wrong I loved the guy and I wish him all the best but he hasn't played a full season of ball in years now.
It speaks volumes that there hasn't been a peep about him leaving from Limerick fans who a few years ago would have built a statue of him.
If ye keep him interested and keep him fit ye have got one of the best strikers in the country.
And even if he's a disaster he'll scare the bejaysus out of Shels. :)
Best of luck Stevo. 55 goals in 87 appearences playing in Limerick, the stuff of Legends if things had went a bit different last year. :ball:
harry crumb
02/02/2012, 2:16 AM
Good singing for Dundalk,
Walsh is a superb crosser of the ball.
scoops85
02/02/2012, 7:40 AM
Greacen has been released by Glens and could be signing for Derry in the next few days
El-Pietro
02/02/2012, 7:59 AM
Shane O'Connor possibly signing for City today
El-Pietro
02/02/2012, 8:13 AM
press conference at 9:30
02/02/2012, 8:40 AM
Good singing for Dundalk,
Walsh is a superb crosser of the ball.
The year Dundalk where promoted I remember him being real thorn in their side when playing against us. Think we beat Dundalk twice in the second half of the season and himself, Gary Sheehan, Jason Hughes and Thomas Lyons where on fire for us in the run in.
HomerJay
02/02/2012, 9:01 AM
would paul walsh be good enough for the premier to do well though lads ?
LFC-Zulu
02/02/2012, 11:54 AM
would paul walsh be good enough for the premier to do well though lads ?
I can't see how he would be anyway. True for you, a great crosser of the ball, but lacks any real pace for a winger, and maybe his tactical awareness isn't the best. Still, had he signed for Waterford/Longford, I would have said it was a good signing. Not quite sure about Premier standard though.
02/02/2012, 2:05 PM
If Derry are to sign Greacen does that mean they won't be signing Mailey? Hardly much need for both of them?
adamd164
02/02/2012, 3:23 PM
This fella to be our last signing before the season starts: http://www.readingfc.co.uk/page/ProfilesDetail/0,,10306~57755,00.html
(says midfielder there but he's also a forward)
El-Pietro
02/02/2012, 3:27 PM
Dundalk will freak if we get him after getting Dunleavy and O'Connor already
HomerJay
02/02/2012, 3:47 PM
I am starting to really despise Cork.:mad:
Louth4sam
02/02/2012, 3:52 PM
Not at all. We are paying off historic debts so it's understandable that we can be outbid by clubs that haven't..... :p
adamd164
02/02/2012, 4:07 PM
Not necessarily sure it's exclusively wage-related in the case of O'Connor or Murphy; O'Connor is from Cork and Murphy would be close enough in Wexford. If they were offered similar wages by both clubs they'd probably choose to sign for us.
It's swings and roundabouts, the same factor makes it more difficult for us to sign Dublin based players and easier for clubs like Dundalk.
El-Pietro
02/02/2012, 4:12 PM
I don't really know if we'll get Murphy. O'Connor chose us over Shamrock in part due to the fact that we want him to play on the wing and they wanted him for left back. Don't know about Dundalk and Derry though
If Derry are to sign Greacen does that mean they won't be signing Mailey? Hardly much need for both of them?
I'd say so yes. Decky already said he wants a centre half, a left back and a winger. If Greacen comes in, wont be any room for Mailey
02/02/2012, 7:29 PM
very hasty for greacen at glentoran did he even make an appearance for them and how come hes movin again?
02/02/2012, 8:13 PM
Ye he made a few apperances alright Martinho, I was talking to a Glrns fan who seemed impressed by him so I was surprised to hear this too, I don't think the travelling from Scotland every week was ever going to work and if he is to sign for another LOI club I highly doubt it will be an option.
Apparently the Sun today says Paul Cook is on the verge of leaving Sligo.
RTE Sports reporter Rory Houston says the club have 'not given permission'. So presumably they think he may be joining another club. Edit- it's Accrington.
Both from twitter.
D24Saint
03/02/2012, 9:26 AM
would have thought cook would hold out for a better job in the UK
adamd164
03/02/2012, 10:28 AM
The way I'd see it, Sligo's squad for next season is already assembled. It would be a blow to lose Cook, no doubt, but whoever comes in has a ready-made group of players capable of challenging for a title (presumably it'd be Foster anyway).
He's going to leave eventually.
askmehoop
03/02/2012, 10:43 AM
The way I'd see it, Sligo's squad for next season is already assembled. It would be a blow to lose Cook, no doubt, but whoever comes in has a ready-made group of players capable of challenging for a title (presumably it'd be Foster anyway).
He's going to leave eventually.
thats why foster got the job. thought cook would leave in the summer tbh, but this job came sooner then expected.
L.T.F.C.
03/02/2012, 10:46 AM
I'd say he will definitely go. He played for Accrington and was on the team that got promoted to the Football League.
poster
03/02/2012, 11:06 AM
thats why foster got the job. thought cook would leave in the summer tbh, but this job came sooner then expected.
Anything else?
askmehoop
03/02/2012, 11:31 AM
Anything else?
you tell me, its your club.
sorry if the truth hurts
03/02/2012, 2:04 PM
Supposedly their caretaker manager is in pole position to get the job.
http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/9511399.Accrington_Stanley_request_Cook_talks/
03/02/2012, 2:13 PM
If Ian Foster was the replacement is he really the man for the job? He's a young enthusiastic manager yes but he didn't do overly well at Dundalk
03/02/2012, 2:16 PM
Harps supposedly signing Tommy McMonagle on loan this week from Derry.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/02/2012, 5:55 PM
Anything else?
Yeah Cookie could come out and say that he has no interest in any of these jobs and wants to stay with us for the season
03/02/2012, 7:17 PM
very hasty for greacen at glentoran did he even make an appearance for them and how come hes movin again?
Didn't want to stay after Young left, apparently.
He played three games with the Glens.