View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2012

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

Sonny
31/12/2011, 6:04 PM
What did Father Christmas get you this year, Oxford Dictionary with word 'gullible' taken out?

OK pal, you know better.;)

31/12/2011, 6:16 PM
O'Neill said in a Guardian interview Magilton was only on expenses. Also said in the same interview that Shams entire annual budget is €600k. That's phenomenal for a club with such great players.

Aaron
31/12/2011, 6:22 PM
Who is Philip O Doherty and how has he access to budgets of other clubs?

Our chairman and no-one said he did, was told by the FAI ;)

shellyriver
31/12/2011, 6:25 PM
I don't know, lads. I'd be a bit worried there might be something in this. After all, Cook did say before that one thing that could get him to leave Rovers would be a move back to the UK. :D

I'd agreed. Didn't expect this would occur.

If he gets Derry job, then watch out for a f##king stampede to Ulster next season. Also, I'd find it hard supporting the team during a season where his ambition is to get to Derry.

Therefore, I'm sure the committee and Cookie are on good terms, but as a complete knee-jerk response is it fair to say 'bye, bye'?

We can hold onto the star signings players we have this season, bring in a decent prospect manager with a view to building team over the next few seasons?

We are in a great position to win the league but this feels like being told by your bird enjoy this last time cus I'm f##king off to go out with your best mate:confused:

He is good, he was great, however like us all he has flaws, and many of our stars were there since Sean Connor, and he now realises that he should have stayed in Sligo for another season or two.

31/12/2011, 6:32 PM
Is there another manager in the league who can keep up Cooke's world class tiki-taka football?

shellyriver
31/12/2011, 7:02 PM
Is there another manager in the league who can keep up Cooke's world class tiki-taka football?

Any FAI U-12 coach, were play from the backs onwards is advocated:secret:

redobit
31/12/2011, 7:07 PM
Sligo fans appear to be naive in the extreme when it comes to Cook.

After 5 years at the club do tell us what were naive about ...

born2bwild
31/12/2011, 7:16 PM
We can hold onto the star signings players we have this season, bring in a decent prospect manager with a view to building team over the next few seasons?

Maybe you could get Pete Mahon instead?

Add a bit of 'altitude' to your play.

Danny North especially would be pleased - Pete loves playing him out on the right wing.

shellyriver
31/12/2011, 7:37 PM
Maybe you could get Pete Mahon instead? .

When I said prospect, I didn't mean having the prospect of the club bar being raided [that's if we had a club bar:o] after every loss!

Sonny
31/12/2011, 8:03 PM
After 5 years at the club do tell us what were naive about ...

With regards to his loyalty and commitment. Surely the fact that your current manager is actively applying for other jobs while under contract is less than desirable?

Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/12/2011, 8:18 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1435-cook-staying-with-rovers

Nothing to see here (until the next job offer turns up).

This is surely his last season all the same. All indications are that he wants out. Would have gone to Scotland if he could have agreed terms and why is he even talking to Derry if had any interest in staying with us

shellyriver
31/12/2011, 9:25 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1435-cook-staying-with-rovers

Nothing to see here (until the next job offer turns up).

This is surely his last season all the same. All indications are that he wants out. Would have gone to Scotland if he could have agreed terms and why is he even talking to Derry if had any interest in staying with us

Thats it. I'm a massive fan of everything he has done and where he has brought the club - but in the year when we are putting a massive tilt in for league, this is just ridiculous.

Looking forward to mouth-piece website trying to put a bit of a spin in explaining this! We were prepared to accept the move to St Johns etc, but if he has thrown in CVs for Shams and now Derry, the committee would want to cop on and feeling amongst supporters is fickle.

As he's under contract this is difficult for committee, however, why go for a job if you can't take it up even if offered?

Best thing if he just went to Derry if they want him.

When he was looking at St Johns club there were a few saying hope he goes and we get compo. Now having brought in more players he decides he wants leave and move in next door!

Anyways, Happy New Year one and all.

shellyriver
01/01/2012, 2:48 AM
All is apparent. Derry tried to intice St Paul, but first they contact Sligo. Fair enough he listened, graciously declined stating 'thanks, but no thanks'. I take it that he never applied for Shams or Derry post -- particularly considered he has put together a cracking squad -- unless he wants to sell himself as some sort of peace envoy when back in England, why bother going to Derry!

Typical crafty Ulster-men, they'd love it if they could bring in Cook after the reputation he's developed along with bringing in a few Bit-a-Red boys. Hands off, lads, audacious so-and-sos. What kind of compo money were these fools prepared to pay? No wonder they went belly up recently!

Also, RTE run with some crap -- then again, I suppose it is the Crimbo-season, sore heads, red noses and slow story days.

Cooky, you've given us drama on and off the pitch. Legendary status entacted.

As I stated earlier, its Blighty or Bust for the Birkenhead lad. Roll on League championship 2012.

bullit
01/01/2012, 3:28 AM
I know it's New years day Shelly, but lay off with the oul St.Paul shoite there PLLLEEEASSSEEE !!!!

*PUKE*

dong
01/01/2012, 10:59 AM
All is apparent. Derry tried to intice St Paul, but first they contact Sligo. Fair enough he listened, graciously declined stating 'thanks, but no thanks'. I take it that he never applied for Shams or Derry post -- particularly considered he has put together a cracking squad -- unless he wants to sell himself as some sort of peace envoy when back in England, why bother going to Derry!

Typical crafty Ulster-men, they'd love it if they could bring in Cook after the reputation he's developed along with bringing in a few Bit-a-Red boys. Hands off, lads, audacious so-and-sos. What kind of compo money were these fools prepared to pay? No wonder they went belly up recently!

Also, RTE run with some crap -- then again, I suppose it is the Crimbo-season, sore heads, red noses and slow story days.

Cooky, you've given us drama on and off the pitch. Legendary status entacted.

As I stated earlier, its Blighty or Bust for the Birkenhead lad. Roll on League championship 2012.

So you went from pretty much wanting him beheaded to being made free man of Sligo in the space of a few hours all based on what you read on the internet (the same club website you have rubbished consistently)?
Seriously.

shellyriver
01/01/2012, 12:32 PM
Fair cop lads, the sherry went to my head.

However, re consistency I refer to the great Byron who stated he had no consistency whatever except to politics and that was because of his indifference to it.

Re the website, jeez lads, try and stay ahead of an important evolving story, what a bunch of amateurs!

PS I didn't want him beheaded, all I said is if he wanted to go then let him.

Now that matters have been clarified I personally am looking to the season.

Re St Paul, if Boaz can declare in Rod we Trust, then I'm happy to see that Cooky's road to Damascus conversion is now complete.

redobit
01/01/2012, 1:15 PM
With regards to his loyalty and commitment. Surely the fact that your current manager is actively applying for other jobs while under contract is less than desirable?

And which jobs has he applied for ...

Instead of regurgating somthing you heard on the always ultra forum and then just puting up here you might be better off forming your own opinion.

Aaron
01/01/2012, 10:37 PM
Wee rumour on our forum Jim Magilton is getting/got the job?

Sonny
02/01/2012, 1:59 AM
And which jobs has he applied for ...

Instead of regurgating somthing you heard on the always ultra forum and then just puting up here you might be better off forming your own opinion.

Believe what you want. As I said, you are ridiculously naive when it comes to your pal Cookie and his allegiance to Sligo Rovers.

02/01/2012, 10:57 AM
Just came across this on Twitter Jim Magilton now linked with Derry job.

http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/magilton_and_cook_linked_with_derry_1_3380362?utm_ medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed (http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/magilton_and_cook_linked_with_derry_1_3380362?utm_ medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed)

02/01/2012, 3:56 PM
A couple of Sligo fans seem to think he applied for the job though.

PartySaint
02/01/2012, 7:53 PM
A list of played rumoured to be going to Pats over the last month or so

Barry Murphy
Brendan Clarke
Ger O'Brien
Pat Flynn
Kenny Browne
Conor Powell
Sean Gannon
Aiden Price
Mark Rossiter
Greg Bolger
Darren Meenan
James Chambers
Christy Fagan
Chris Forrester
John Russel
Stephen O'Flynn

Some of them have signed not made official but have said so on their twitter/Facebook accounts, Buckley wants to wait and announce all signings in one day, Players that are supposed to be coming back from last season are

Conor Kenna
Evan Macmillan
Jake Carroll
Sean O'Conor
Ian Daly

Daryl Kavanagh and Stephen Bradley still in talks with the club

blue til i die
02/01/2012, 8:07 PM

Barry Murphy
Brendan Clarke
Ger O'Brien
Pat Flynn
Sean Gannon
Aiden Price
Mark Rossiter
Greg Bolger
Darren Meenan
James Chambers
Christy Fagan
Chris Forrester
John Russel

Some of them have signed not made official but have said so on their twitter/Facebook accounts, Buckley wants to wait an announce all signings in one day, Players that are supposed to be coming back from last season are

Conor Kenna
Evan Macmillan
Jake Carroll
Sean O'Conor
Ian Daly

You can add Kenny Browne to the list of players rumoured to be joining. He played for Buckley at Fingal too.

02/01/2012, 8:11 PM
Sean Gannon, really?

PartySaint
02/01/2012, 8:15 PM
I knew I was forgetting someone BTID cheers

Yeah CD heard today we have signed Gannon, How do you rate him??

02/01/2012, 8:27 PM
Caroll is the only one Bckley has announced

O'Connor and O'Brien hav announced it on twitter themselves

Quayman
02/01/2012, 9:14 PM

Barry Murphy
Brendan Clarke
Ger O'Brien
Pat Flynn
Kenny Browne
Conor Powell
Sean Gannon
Aiden Price
Mark Rossiter
Greg Bolger
Darren Meenan
James Chambers
Christy Fagan
Chris Forrester
John Russel
Stephen O'Flynn

Some of them have signed not made official but have said so on their twitter/Facebook accounts, Buckley wants to wait and announce all signings in one day, Players that are supposed to be coming back from last season are

Conor Kenna
Evan Macmillan
Jake Carroll
Sean O'Conor
Ian Daly

And there was everyone thinking Pats where cutting back this year like most other clubs but hey Bucko gets what Bucko wants!!

PartySaint
02/01/2012, 9:24 PM
And there was everyone thinking Pats where cutting back this year like most other clubs but hey Bucko gets what Bucko wants!!

They are only rumours we haven't signed all of them

Quayman
02/01/2012, 9:26 PM
They are only rumours we haven't signed all of them

Aye but alot of them will not be coming cheap. Do ye seriously need two keepers of quality of Murphy and Clarke?

PartySaint
02/01/2012, 9:29 PM
Aye but alot of them will not be coming cheap. Do ye seriously need two keepers of quality of Murphy and Clarke?

It depends how good you think Clarke is, I personally think he is dirt

I don't see Kelleher giving Buckley much more than he gave Mahon tbh

Quayman
02/01/2012, 9:49 PM
It depends how good you think Clarke is, I personally think he is dirt

I don't see Kelleher giving Buckley much more than he gave Mahon tbh
I dont
think hes great tbh either but why would he leave Sligo to go back to Pats. Can't be cause he missed Dublin! And Murphy wont be coming cheap either. My point is why waste alot of money on two players of the same position.

Alot of Mahon's squad where on pittance so Im told by other Pats lads and alot of the names mentioned above were not last year and wont be this year.

PartySaint
02/01/2012, 10:06 PM
I dont
think hes great tbh either but why would he leave Sligo to go back to Pats. Can't be cause he missed Dublin! And Murphy wont be coming cheap either. My point is why waste alot of money on two players of the same position.

Alot of Mahon's squad where on pittance so Im told by other Pats lads and alot of the names mentioned above were not last year and wont be this year.

Don't no about the other lads wages wise but Clarke I don't think was offered a new contract by Sligo so wasn't really his choice to leave and I think Murphy is the same, For all we know Pats could have been the only club offering them something

I have to say I would be a bit worried if we were to sign a big chunk of that rumours list because as you say a lot of them wont come cheap

We will wait and see I suppose

redobit
02/01/2012, 10:16 PM
Believe what you want. As I said, you are ridiculously naive when it comes to your pal Cookie and his allegiance to Sligo Rovers.

You are saying Paul Cook is actively applying for jobs? Yet you cant tell what these jobs are?

It is easy for you to call Sligo Rovers naive, but on what basis. For me, after 5 years in this league (when he hant expected to stay half that) sounds like a strong allegiance to me.

redobit
02/01/2012, 10:22 PM
Don't no about the other lads wages wise but Clarke I don't think was offered a new contract by Sligo so wasn't really his choice to leave and I think Murphy is the same

Id say for us it was more a case that Gary Rogers was a cheaper option than Clarke. Couple that with his experience and that both keepers are probably much of a muchness was why he was offered a contract. He also said in an interview that he wanted to have a club secured before the Xmass too, where Clarke seemed to want to 'talk' more.

02/01/2012, 11:02 PM
I knew I was forgetting someone BTID cheers

Yeah CD heard today we have signed Gannon, How do you rate him??
I only saw him play a couple of times but he looked very promising. I'd have preferred him to come on when Sully was sent off against than that looper Flynn. So enjoy Pat Flynn next season too!

PartySaint
02/01/2012, 11:05 PM
I only saw him play a couple of times but he looked very promising. I'd have preferred him to come on when Sully was sent off against than that looper Flynn. So enjoy Pat Flynn next season too!

I don't think Dave 'Beast' Mulcahy is being kept on, Would have been great to have him and Flynn in the same team

03/01/2012, 9:14 AM
For all we know Pats could have been the only club offering them something

That is the case for most of them. Basically in the league now, Rovers have the pick of who they want (mainly), Sligo have 2/3 big names and the pick of the rest. Derry have a local based squad with a couple of decent imports. Cork will be the same.

So the rest of the league is left is with a couple of great players, some good players, and some average players. The majority of Dublin based players will stay around the area so if they want a half decent wage, they're off to Pats or Shels. Dundalk, Drogheda, Bray and even Bohs are all struggling.

So while the squad listed here may seem like it costs money, do you honestly believe Pats have too many rivals for most of the signatures here?

dcfc_1928
03/01/2012, 12:33 PM
Willie McStay - the latest name to be linked with the vacant managerial position at the Brandywell:

http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/mcstay_to_be_interviewed_as_selection_process_ends _1_3381759

03/01/2012, 1:37 PM
Stephen McDonnell re-signed with Dundalk :)

http://www.dundalkfc.com/mcdonnell-itching-to-get-started-again-after-signing

WindmillWarrior
04/01/2012, 1:49 PM
Seems our latest signing is Cathal Brady. Any Longford fans know anything about him?

04/01/2012, 2:33 PM
Ah f*** off, you lucky ******* thought we were keeping dotsy. Ye really good player hes a small winger that works his socks off every game, decent delivery and one of our best players towards the end of last season, gutted!

poster
04/01/2012, 2:35 PM
Is that the lad that played no 7 regularly for LT?

04/01/2012, 2:39 PM
Ye small right sided wibger, slotted in at right back on occasion last season thats how hard working he was. At the start of his career with us he was very weak and got knocked off the ball too easy but as he went on with us and got a run of games his confidence grew and his crosses became a bit gillespie esq I'd say he probably got a few tips of him in training.

Tallanted
04/01/2012, 2:52 PM
Seems our latest signing is Cathal Brady. Any Longford fans know anything about him?

Very inconsistent and scared of his own shadow, not sure that he will be able for the step up to premier, time will tell

04/01/2012, 3:48 PM
Yeah he's a decent to good First Division player but he wouldn't have been one I'd have thought would have attracted Premier Division interest personally. He had originally agreed to stay on with us but if he got a better offer then fair enough.

04/01/2012, 4:24 PM
Yeah he's a decent to good First Division player but he wouldn't have been one I'd have thought would have attracted Premier Division interest personally. He had originally agreed to stay on with us but if he got a better offer then fair enough.

Suits Drogheda so.

Spudulika
04/01/2012, 6:08 PM
Was told by a Dublin-based Lithuanian that one of their own in in the capital for trials with "a big Dublin club" Arturas something, the skype connection was awful. He said he's a striker and played for the national team and in the top leagues there and in Greece.

Guinney
04/01/2012, 6:13 PM
Into todays Argus (not the best of sources), Dundalk are looking to resign Nathan Murphy, Peter Cherrie and Colin Hawkins. Also Keith Ward invited back to the pre-season training. McCaffrey is also looking to speak to Eoghan Osborne who was virtually injured for all of last season.

CSFShels
04/01/2012, 6:38 PM
Was told by a Dublin-based Lithuanian that one of their own in in the capital for trials with "a big Dublin club" Arturas something, the skype connection was awful. He said he's a striker and played for the national team and in the top leagues there and in Greece.
Ah thats good, was wondering who UCD would get up front.

04/01/2012, 7:16 PM

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artūras_Rimkevičius (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artūras_Rimkevičius)

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Artūras_Rimkevičius)This guy fits the description I guess..