View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2012
Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/12/2011, 3:35 PM
Heard that Ross Gaynor has signed for Rovers.
Any of Dundalk/Drogheda lads be able to confirm?
If so, Cookie has some serious firepower, something which cost us the league last season.
Maybe you should try the sligo rovers website
shellyriver
30/12/2011, 3:44 PM
Maybe you should try the sligo rovers website
Oops! Yeah, just in from down town -- don't usually bother checking that site for rumours!! or anything else, imo, boring mouthpiece.
Well smart ass, if you can be of any assistance, any word on Conor O'Grady re-joining the club? I was surprised to hear this, but got it from a reliable source. Heard that a few business-men in are rowing into with few heavy dollars this year.
Quayman
30/12/2011, 4:05 PM
Oops! Yeah, just in from down town -- don't usually bother checking that site for rumours!! or anything else, imo, boring mouthpiece.
Well smart ass, if you can be of any assistance, any word on Conor O'Grady re-joining the club? I was surprised to hear this, but got it from a reliable source. Heard that a few business-men in are rowing into with few heavy dollars this year.
You do realise we use the euro here!
30/12/2011, 4:41 PM
Also, is Deccy not heading to Rovers with Mr Bean?
Kenny wants him to go, but no word yet. Really hope he stays.
30/12/2011, 4:42 PM
Is Jim Magilton gone from Shams? Anyone know was he in for the managers job after O'Neill left?
What is that supposed to mean?
Bit disrespectful to the lads who do a good job keeping that site up to date.
30/12/2011, 4:52 PM
Always been totally against Board members signing players.
Seems they're fairly busy too, Eddie McCallion has re-signed.
I don't mind the board re-signing players, that's grand. Different story if they go out signing new fellas.
bluewhitearmy
30/12/2011, 4:58 PM
Seems they're fairly busy too, Eddie McCallion has re-signed.
I don't mind the board re-signing players, that's grand. Different story if they go out signing new fellas.
Basically the same thing though new manager might not want someone that was there the season before just as much as he might not want someone new brought in.
30/12/2011, 5:06 PM
Basically the same thing though new manager might not want someone that was there the season before just as much as he might not want someone new brought in.
But a new manager hasn't been appointed yet, so he'll know what players will be at the club before he applies for the job and decide if the club is right for him or not.
We can't really afford to be waiting around for a new manager to be appointed. Best to get these types of players re-signed. Higgins for example, had an offer of a contract from the Glens.
bluewhitearmy
30/12/2011, 5:11 PM
But a new manager hasn't been appointed yet, so he'll know what players will be at the club before he applies for the job and decide if the club is right for him or not.
We can't really afford to be waiting around for a new manager to be appointed. Best to get these types of players re-signed. Higgins for example, had an offer of a contract from the Glens.
I have no problem with the re-signing of player i think it would be stupid not to for the same reasons you pointed out..
Just dont think it being re-signings or new signings is that much different.
shellyriver
30/12/2011, 5:17 PM
What is that supposed to mean?
Bit disrespectful to the lads who do a good job keeping that site up to date.
Whadeve. Bit touchy, aren't you, guessing that innovative webpage is run by you or your mates:(
Anyways, any word re Conor O'Grady making a swan-song season with bit-a-red? Good utility player, imo every bit as good as Ventre, better actually, even at this point and considering the deniros dished out he would be economic.
30/12/2011, 5:20 PM
Is Jim Magilton gone from Shams? Anyone know was he in for the managers job after O'Neill left?
He was never strictly employed by the club as far as I'm aware and, again, as far as I'm aware the board didn't solicit applications from anyone other than Kenny. I'd have thought with his background he'd expect to be in the running for a job at least at English League One level.
Rory Patterson from Linfield to Derry
Is he not on loan from some english club?
passerrby
30/12/2011, 5:31 PM
cant see pat dolan applying ,will talk the talk but will not walk the walk. does all his manageing form the comfort of his newspapew column.
poster
30/12/2011, 6:14 PM
:clap:
Did Shams go under the table too?!?! :alien:
Is he not on loan from some english club?
Aye from Plymouth, but has 6 months left on his contract and I think they would release him earlier
Done well at Coleraine but has been crap for Linfield
Dillonman
30/12/2011, 7:13 PM
Monaghan have signed Bray striker Conor Murphy and Ian Bermingham rumoured to be going there too.
As per that LOI blog
30/12/2011, 7:14 PM
Whadeve. Bit touchy, aren't you, guessing that innovative webpage is run by you or your mates:(
What changes would you like to see made to the website? All suggestions are welcome.
Done well at Coleraine but has been crap for Linfield
Dont think he suits their style. Coleraine played a style that allowed him to score plenty
Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/12/2011, 7:45 PM
Anyways, any word re Conor O'Grady making a swan-song season with bit-a-red? Good utility player, imo every bit as good as Ventre, better actually, even at this point and considering the deniros dished out he would be economic.
Hadn't heard anything about O'Grady coming back. Would be an ok squad player but he wasn't setting the world alight in his last year or two with us I didn't think
adamd164
30/12/2011, 8:02 PM
Ross Gaynor is a quality signing for Sligo, great player.
As for O'Grady, if he does sign he'd be given a good reception down here anyway, really nice guy. I remember his first game against us after leaving, he scored in Turner's Cross and didn't celebrate... don't see that too much.
HomerJay
30/12/2011, 8:14 PM
rory patterson would be a great signing for derry.
30/12/2011, 8:28 PM
He was never strictly employed by the club as far as I'm awareAssistant manager no? Who else would have been employing him?
30/12/2011, 8:54 PM
Monaghan have signed Bray striker Conor Murphy and Ian Bermingham rumoured to be going there too.
As per that LOI blog
Jaysus, that's a huge coup by wheeler dealer Roddy.
Assistant manager no? Who else would have been employing him?
Nobody was employing him.
30/12/2011, 9:02 PM
Assistant manager no? Who else would have been employing him?
Did it as a favour to Mick O'Neill it seems after Croly jumped the boat. Maybe he was given something for hanging on for the Euro campaign, I'm not sure.
30/12/2011, 10:31 PM
Hadn't heard anything about O'Grady coming back. Would be an ok squad player but he wasn't setting the world alight in his last year or two with us I didn't think
Didn't exactly set Finn Park alight either this season. Injured most of the season, and when he did play, the quality was clearly there but just lost his touch.
Would be a massive gamble for Sligo to take.
gufc2000
30/12/2011, 11:51 PM
Ross Gaynor is a quality signing for Sligo, great player.
As for O'Grady, if he does sign he'd be given a good reception down here anyway, really nice guy. I remember his first game against us after leaving, he scored in Turner's Cross and didn't celebrate... don't see that too much.
Good to see that happening from time to time, John Russell didn't celebrate a goal he scored in Terryland for Sligo before as well.
passerrby
31/12/2011, 11:44 AM
In rod we trust
31/12/2011, 11:50 AM
Any word on where Richard Brush is going? Will Shams re-sign him? Was sure he was coming to us as still lives here and wanted to get back afaik but with Rogers signed now it's not gonna happen.
Would be a massive gamble for Sligo to take.Not really, he's from/lives in Sligo and is a Rovers fan so probably happy to sign on relatively low wage, it's not his only job. He'd be great to have around even if he doesn't get much playing time, gives it his all every time he plays for us.
Rasputin
31/12/2011, 1:40 PM
Did it as a favour to Mick O'Neill it seems after Croly jumped the boat. Maybe he was given something for hanging on for the Euro campaign, I'm not sure.
Rumours have started from far less about other clubs on the always ultra forum and soon become fact.
placid casual
31/12/2011, 2:06 PM
Paul Cook to take over at Derry apparently.
shellyriver
31/12/2011, 2:41 PM
Paul Cook to take over at Derry apparently.
Bit like the Evening Herald story that Cook was to take over at Shams. Never going to happen. Its Blighty or Bust for Cookie.
redobit
31/12/2011, 2:47 PM
Didn't exactly set Finn Park alight either this season. Injured most of the season, and when he did play, the quality was clearly there but just lost his touch.
Would be a massive gamble for Sligo to take.
Not at all. He's a Rovers fan just like the rest of us. Like any fan Id say if you could be a squad player and get a game as a sub from time to time he'd jump at the chance. Aswell as that I think he could still do a job for us, especially when a game is tight with 15 minutes to go. Will bring passion and good experience to the dressing room too.
Bit like the Evening Herald story that Cook was to take over at Shams. Never going to happen. Its Blighty or Bust for Cookie.
Sligo fans appear to be naive in the extreme when it comes to Cook.
poster
31/12/2011, 2:59 PM
While Shams' lot seem to know everything about him, Pat Fenlon and Pete Mahon.
poster
31/12/2011, 3:01 PM
Nobody was employing him.
So, who was paying him?
Spudulika
31/12/2011, 3:03 PM
Sammy I dont think Pizza and Felix will get the job, the job isnt right time for Pizza, id be looking at Pat Dolan, Damien Richardson, Kenny Cunningham and David Kelly for the Position with Decky Devine continuing as assistant, anybody any other ideas
Rico's up for a couple of jobs outside of Ireland, but Derry might suit him. He spent a good few years in the UK so it'd be like going home :-p Seriously he'd do a good job up north. Pat Dolan, hmm, can't see it.
While Shams' lot seem to know everything about him, Pat Fenlon and Pete Mahon.
Well Cookie should stop applying for other jobs, and then perhaps he will stop being linked with them. The Magilton issue has been explained to you countless times.
poster
31/12/2011, 3:12 PM
Well Cookie should stop applying for other jobs, and then perhaps he will stop being linked with them.
I refer you to my previous post.
The Magilton issue has been explained to you countless times.
If I knew, then why would I have asked?
I refer you to my previous post.
If I knew, then why would I have asked?
O'Neill is one of his best mates, and he was doing him a favour. That's it.
poster
31/12/2011, 3:21 PM
Next you'll be telling me he wasn't paid...
bluewhitearmy
31/12/2011, 3:45 PM
Cant see why Cook would go anywhere near Derry.....
Why would he Derry are cutting there spending and he is putting together a very strong team at Sligo from the looks of it....
Would make no sense bull id say.
Cant see why Cook would go anywhere near Derry.....
Why would he Derry are cutting there spending and he is putting together a very strong team at Sligo from the looks of it....
Would make no sense bull id say.
Philip O'Doherty confirmed our budget was 3rd behind Rovers and Sligo, but if we get into Europe as hoped, the funds from that would take our budget above Sligo's, so there could be the reason ;)
Who is Philip O Doherty and how has he access to budgets of other clubs?
shellyriver
31/12/2011, 4:56 PM
O'Neill is one of his best mates, and he was doing him a favour. That's it.
What did Father Christmas get you this year, Oxford Dictionary with word 'gullible' taken out?
atfconline
31/12/2011, 5:24 PM
Cook given permission to talk to Derry City, according to RTE News just now. Though they ended saying he'll be staying with Sligo.
Fivesilver
31/12/2011, 6:03 PM
I don't know, lads. I'd be a bit worried there might be something in this. After all, Cook did say before that one thing that could get him to leave Rovers would be a move back to the UK. :D