View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2012

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

03/02/2012, 7:31 PM
Didn't want to stay after Young left, apparently.
He played three games with the Glens.

Payed back all the money aswell apparently

adamd164
04/02/2012, 11:52 AM
Sligo released a statement today:

Statement from Sligo Rovers

Sligo Rovers can confirm that Paul Cook has asked for permission to speak to Accrington Stanley over their vacant manager position with a view to his long-held desire to one day return to England to be closer to his family.

Accrington have been informed that Paul Cook is under contract at Sligo Rovers and we have no desire to see him leave the club.

The Management Committee has been working with Paul in recent months to assemble an excellent squad of players and it is our intention that this should continue at this critical time in our pre-season.

http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1449-statement-from-sligo-rovers

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/02/2012, 1:18 PM
Rovers facebook page....

Paul Cook will not be at the pre-season friendly later today against SD Galway F.C., Ian Foster and Gerry Carr will be taking the team in his absence.

askmehoop
04/02/2012, 1:46 PM
Obviously he hasnt a clue what is going to happen Rasputin and its more talking outhishoop than askmehoop. But infairness his 'logic' might actually hold some water - if Cook was to go mid season and Carr and Foster were in place what other alternative would there be!

and it would appear that your head is firmly planted up your hoop

redobit
04/02/2012, 3:09 PM
I dont see how you work that out

Ezeikial
04/02/2012, 3:25 PM
If Ian Foster was the replacement is he really the man for the job? He's a young enthusiastic manager yes but he didn't do overly well at Dundalk

The Indo clearly dont see Foster as the "man for the job" (or maybe they understand he will go with Cook if the Accrington job materialises):

His departure would leave a huge gap at the north-western club, with no obvious successor available to take over and less than a month to go before the start of the new season.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/cook-on-brink-of-stanley-job-3009842.html

dong
04/02/2012, 3:26 PM
Yeah Cookie could come out and say that he has no interest in any of these jobs and wants to stay with us for the season

I couldn't agree more. He has hung on now to keep claiming his wages. Foster now manager for today's friendly? When was it announced that he was officially even assistant manager? This is a shambles and for anybody to claim otherwise is burying their head in the sand.
Had he wanted to leave after the cup final last year i think that nobody would have stood in his way. To carry on like this stains his legacy at the club IMO.

D24Saint
04/02/2012, 3:47 PM
Stephen O'Fylnn & Jake Kelly were on twitter saying they have signed for Pats, Kelly is a great signing and hopefully O'Fylnn can silence the doubters.

askmehoop
04/02/2012, 3:57 PM
I dont see how you work that out

Well your complete denial on your managers desire to leave your club is a give away

shellyriver
04/02/2012, 4:32 PM
Well your complete denial on your managers desire to leave your club is a give away

Seriously, give a grip. Aside to the usual nonsense from Shams supporters about the Red Rovers -- it's obvious to everyone, that Cook has expressed a wish to go back to England.

He was never going to go to Shams and/or Derry, but it was no harm to listen the latter.

Re Stanley the club is on his doorstep, Stanley are pushing for promotion, and it can be the start of his career in Blighty.

Rovers will not stop him going back to England now it's all compo €40K and he walks.

Also, his stock is at its highest back-to-back cup winners and if after amassing the current squad the team doesn't win -- he'll be in Sligo for another year.

Nobody could have factored Stanley's manager leaving after 13 years, so all in all its hardly suprising he's itching to get back to his home town.

If money is sufficient, Cook and Foster will go -- and Gerry Carr will take over.

Cookie will always be a legend in Sligo.

redobit
04/02/2012, 4:37 PM

I dont know how you work that out either. How could I deny somthing when Cook himself has expressed he would like to be closer to home with his family. Instead of assuming what Sligo rovers fans think everytime and having a go, you might try asking our opinions on somthing.

04/02/2012, 5:33 PM
Sligo fans were giving plenty of warnings to Dundalk before the appointment of Connor....well warnings should be given the other way now! If Foster is a candidate for the Rovers job well handle with care!! While Dundalk may not be easiest clubs to be employed by in recent years, in Fosters case his inflated ego and his footballing CV are not in the same ball park! It always sounds like sour grapes when a manager moves on but a few 'issues' are emerging regarding temperment, (non) relationships with players, and so on. Maybe just maybe the poor relationship between the club owner and previous manager didnt lie entirely at the owners door?

The timing of all this is certainly very convenient for Fozzie if he stays west or goes to Accie either way fair play to him....

born2bwild
04/02/2012, 6:37 PM
Anyone know what the story is with Sean '50 euro' Maher?

Has he got a club or packed it in altogether?

bluewhitearmy
04/02/2012, 7:05 PM
Anyone know what the story is with Sean '50 euro' Maher?

Has he got a club or packed it in altogether?

He was in our squad today for a friendly v UCD didnt get on though.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/02/2012, 7:41 PM
Sligo fans were giving plenty of warnings to Dundalk before the appointment of Connor....well warnings should be given the other way now! If Foster is a candidate for the Rovers job well handle with care!! While Dundalk may not be easiest clubs to be employed by in recent years, in Fosters case his inflated ego and his footballing CV are not in the same ball park! It always sounds like sour grapes when a manager moves on but a few 'issues' are emerging regarding temperment, (non) relationships with players, and so on. Maybe just maybe the poor relationship between the club owner and previous manager didnt lie entirely at the owners door?

The timing of all this is certainly very convenient for Fozzie if he stays west or goes to Accie either way fair play to him....

Yeah I wouldn't want Foster taking over. Unless the alternative was Seanie!

Hibs4Ever
04/02/2012, 7:56 PM

No they weren't. They always knew he'd eventually leave

Olander
04/02/2012, 7:58 PM

Similar to what Galway United fans told Dundalk fans about Foster before he left us but you didn't believe us. Our players disliked him. Apparently, there was a huge difference between Fozzy the "coach" and Fozzy the "manager".

Huge ego...throwing hot cups of tea at your players in the dressing room...squaring up to players on the training ground, on top of all that he's one of the biggest whingers the League has seen in recent years, he would give Pete Mahon a run for his money!

gufc2000
05/02/2012, 12:40 AM

Did he lose ye're dressing room as well?

Rasputin
05/02/2012, 12:56 AM
Nobody has ever denied he wants to leave the club for England eventually, he has made that perfectly clear numerous times.

bullit
05/02/2012, 12:59 AM
Did he lose ye're dressing room as well?

IMO his problem was that he didnt have enough players in the dressing room.

05/02/2012, 4:15 AM
Similar to what Galway United fans told Dundalk fans about Foster before he left us but you didn't believe us.!

Unless it was presented on a DVD it just wasn't true(sorry that just wont get old for me ;p)

As for the small squad stuff - sign a bunch of injury prone players ye cant complain when the dont kick a ball for half a season..Darren Anderton would have been right at home at Dundalk at his 'prime' wages aside.

askmehoop
05/02/2012, 10:53 AM
Nobody has ever denied he wants to leave the club for England eventually, he has made that perfectly clear numerous times.

sligo fans on here seemed fairly dismissive when i posted a rumour that cook would leave in the summer for an english team, a rumour which was confirmed the next day. admittedly it was earlier then expected. so for someone who expects their manager to leave you seem to get very defensive when its suggested that he is on his way

redobit
05/02/2012, 10:59 AM
sligo fans on here seemed fairly dismissive when i posted a rumour that cook would leave in the summer for an english team, a rumour which was confirmed the next day.admittedly it was earlier then expected. so for someone who expects their manager to leave you seem to get very defensive when its suggested that he is on his way

hahaha, youre good crack. Of course he's likely to leave during the summer. His contract is up ffs.

Rasputin
05/02/2012, 4:16 PM
sligo fans on here seemed fairly dismissive when i posted a rumour that cook would leave in the summer for an english team, a rumour which was confirmed the next day. admittedly it was earlier then expected. so for someone who expects their manager to leave you seem to get very defensive when its suggested that he is on his way
Did you share the same spacecraft as Mypost when he crash landed on our planet?

poster
05/02/2012, 4:40 PM
sligo fans on here seemed fairly dismissive when i posted a rumour that cook would leave in the summer for an english team, a rumour which was confirmed the next day.

Is it summer? Or can you see in to the future?

gordongekko
05/02/2012, 4:53 PM
hahaha, youre good crack. Of course he's likely to leave during the summer. His contract is up ffs.

Has he only a contract for half the season?

askmehoop
05/02/2012, 5:04 PM
Is it summer? Or can you see in to the future?

why dont you quote my full post

askmehoop
05/02/2012, 5:06 PM
Did you share the same spacecraft as Mypost when he crash landed on our planet?

Bravo. Childishness seems to be your way of answering posts when you have nothing intelligent to write,

askmehoop
05/02/2012, 5:07 PM

only writing what i heard, and judging by the response from sligo fans they didnt believe it would happen.

A N Mouse
05/02/2012, 5:39 PM
only writing what i heard, and judging by the response from sligo fans they didnt believe it would happen.

You should keep the self congratulations until there's some movement.

An even then your insight is about as useful as the clock my granda left me. Unless Foster replaces cook.

askmehoop
05/02/2012, 6:08 PM
You should keep the self congratulations until there's some movement.

An even then your insight is about as useful as the clock my granda left me. Unless Foster replaces cook.

not 'self congratulating' just arguing my point. and the thread is called the rumour thread for a reason, just because i type it doesnt mean its fact. you should take much of what you read on here with a pinch of salt until it becomes fact or turns out to be just a rumour

redobit
05/02/2012, 6:48 PM
Has he only a contract for half the season?

End of a 2 year contract this season. In fairness, Im not spliting hairs about AMHs 'guess' as to whether he leaves in the summer, autmn or fecking winter.

redobit
05/02/2012, 6:55 PM
not 'self congratulating' just arguing my point. and the thread is called the rumour thread for a reason, just because i type it doesnt mean its fact. you should take much of what you read on here with a pinch of salt until it becomes fact or turns out to be just a rumour

Nothing wrong with a rumour, its the off season after all. Its the 'your in denial' or that we have a naive attitude toward our own club managers position that rubs people the wrong way. Your coming accross as someone who is just throwing stuff out there, in order to say 'I told you so' down the line.

poster
05/02/2012, 6:58 PM
why dont you quote my full post

Coz I'm a nutter.

askmehoop
05/02/2012, 8:00 PM
Nothing wrong with a rumour, its the off season after all. Its the 'your in denial' or that we have a naive attitude toward our own club managers position that rubs people the wrong way. Your coming accross as someone who is just throwing stuff out there, in order to say 'I told you so' down the line.

I based that on the responses to my post

and when have i ever posted something in order to say 'i told you so'. all i did was post a rumour

bullit
05/02/2012, 8:03 PM
^^^^^ Will yous two get a room :)

askmehoop
05/02/2012, 8:06 PM
Conor Devlin played in goal for us against mervue. squad heading over to Leicester for a training camp next week, possibly link up with a UK based keeper, its an area we need to sort out asap with the season just around the corner,

Shane Supple is rumoured to be making a comeback to 'soccer' with Bohs and Waterford possible destinations

PartySaint
05/02/2012, 8:28 PM
I really hope Cook leaves Sligo and Foster gets the job

placid casual
05/02/2012, 8:54 PM
I can only agree.
Please sligo let the only decent manager you've had in 20 years go and let the single worst "manager" in the premier divison in recent seasons take over...:o
it would be as funny as fook.

bullit
05/02/2012, 9:07 PM
One Scouse bollicks for another,fair exchange i reckon.Foster will break Sligo financially and mentaly.*rubs hand in glee*

born2bwild
05/02/2012, 9:21 PM
One Scouse bollicks for another,fair exchange i reckon.Foster will break Sligo financially and mentaly.*rubs hand in glee*
Amputees get schadenfreude too.

05/02/2012, 10:06 PM
One Scouse bollicks for another,fair exchange i reckon.Foster will break Sligo financially and mentaly.*rubs hand in glee*...and we'll still finish above ye.

05/02/2012, 11:13 PM
And we will still have a club while he bankrupts ye.

gufcfan
05/02/2012, 11:49 PM
He made a balls of his budget for the team, a strong first XI with no cover. Whatever money he used was given to him however.

Spudulika
06/02/2012, 3:10 AM

Ehhhh, don't run too far ahead of yourself, let's just hope our own club make it through the season first.

06/02/2012, 3:43 AM
and the thread is called the rumour thread for a reason, just because i type it doesnt mean its fact.

welcome to foot.ie amh - didnt take you long to latch on to the best rebuttal argument that exists in here during the off season

"its the rumour thread FFS" - love it. :) The cause of and solution to all of foot.ie arguments. ;)

06/02/2012, 4:01 AM
Ehhhh, don't run too far ahead of yourself, let's just hope our own club make it through the season first.

http://files.sharenator.com/buzz_killington_191x300_re_so_troll-s191x300-152037-580.jpg

prince20
06/02/2012, 9:41 AM
Cook and Foster both gone from Sligo let go from Sligo this morning. Carr to take over.

Nailor
06/02/2012, 11:28 AM
Source? Nothing on their website.

HomerJay
06/02/2012, 11:30 AM
Anyone know if Michael Rafter is any good?...