View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2012
You sure? ROvers fans seem to always talk about him...
I'm fairly sure you can put 'out of contract' beside 95% of players. I know everyone at Pats, Sligo and Bohs are out of contract anyway (except Daryl Horgan with Sligo...)
10/11/2011, 9:38 AM
Can't imagine Packie Mailey signing for Derry. Struggling to get into the Harps team at the minute. Not good enough for Premier.
Finlay Harp
10/11/2011, 1:19 PM
Would take McCallion for a season.
10/11/2011, 1:26 PM
Town have apparently signed Craig Hyland from our de facto parent club Shamrock Rovers.
The Lilywhites
10/11/2011, 5:37 PM
I'm fairly sure you can put 'out of contract' beside 95% of players. I know everyone at Pats, Sligo and Bohs are out of contract anyway (except Daryl Horgan with Sligo...)
Same with Dundalk.
10/11/2011, 5:58 PM
Roddy said hes dedicated to Mons.........Hes off so
10/11/2011, 6:58 PM
Twigg's the only Shamrock Rovers player under contract for next season (apart from Stevens).
El-Pietro
10/11/2011, 7:14 PM
Cork City have the following contracted beyond this season
Tommy Dunne - Contracted to end 2014 season
Shane Duggan - Contracted to end 2013 season
Gearoid Morrissey - Contracted to end 2013 season
Kalen Spillane – Contracted to end of 2013 season
Danny Murphy - Contracted to end 2012 season
Stephen Mulcahy - Contracted to end 2012 season
Graham Cummins - Contracted to end 2012 season
10/11/2011, 7:24 PM
Are those new or were Cork giving out 3-year contracts last season? Obviously expecting to get big transfer fees for Cummins and Morrissey at least.
El-Pietro
10/11/2011, 8:20 PM
Morrissey signed a new contract this week. Duggan and Spillane signed their deals during the season
bluewhitearmy
10/11/2011, 8:30 PM
Heard one today about Greg O'Halloran signing for Limerick.
Doubt its true cant see Cork not keeping him.
El-Pietro
10/11/2011, 8:42 PM
Heard one today about Greg O'Halloran signing for Limerick.
Doubt its true cant see Cork not keeping him.
Earlier this year I heard he was retiring after this season, but he seemed surprised when I mentioned it to him the day after the Shels game. Then he sang an opera to us
adamd164
10/11/2011, 8:44 PM
Would have thought it was unlikely, but I wouldn't be overly bothered if Limerick did sign him. He did a job for us as a grafter but he can't pass and he lacks the guile needed against the better opposition we'll face in the Premier.
Any Sligo fans have word on Daryl Horgan's situation? Obviously he's contracted with Sligo for next season but any prospect of him being released? Would love to sign him and hate to have him play against us!
10/11/2011, 11:20 PM
Greg O'Halloran - Would have thought it more likely he'd wash up in Cobh if they get in tbh.
Athlone Town - IN
Alan Bennett
John O'Flynn
3 grand a week each I heard off a fella in The Horseshoe
FACT biy.
bingoballs
11/11/2011, 6:40 AM
Would have thought it was unlikely, but I wouldn't be overly bothered if Limerick did sign him. He did a job for us as a grafter but he can't pass and he lacks the guile needed against the better opposition we'll face in the Premier.
Any Sligo fans have word on Daryl Horgan's situation? Obviously he's contracted with Sligo for next season but any prospect of him being released? Would love to sign him and hate to have him play against us!
Cant see us letting him go for nothing, atleast I hope not. He would be a massive addition for us next season I thought we should never have let him out on loan anyway!
11/11/2011, 9:53 AM
I'd be shocked if they let him go. Only player on a two-year deal shows how much they expect of him.
11/11/2011, 10:20 AM
I'd be shocked if they let him go. Only player on a two-year deal shows how much they expect of him.
Shows how much they expect for him...
11/11/2011, 11:39 AM
Yep, unfortunately I think you're right :(
Nah Nah Nah Nah
11/11/2011, 11:57 AM
Not a chance of him being released
12/11/2011, 11:15 AM
Daryl Horgan has said he would prefer to stay with Cork for next year then go back to Sligo.
12/11/2011, 1:08 PM
I don't think Cook rates Horgan too much(although that might have changed since he done well with Cork) so wouldn't be surprised if we let him go to Cork. Although I would expect a fee. Hope he stays though, great young player.
I'd be shocked if ye let him go easily, and I can't see us paying much of a fee for anyone.
What the lad wants, won't come into it really.
Tommy Dunne in an interview on Cork's Red FM that went out this evening said that a deal has been agreed with Paul Cook/Sligo regarding the signing of Daryl Horgan.
Trying to get that deal over the line now.
adamd164
12/11/2011, 7:41 PM
Brilliant, expect him to progress further next season and will terrorize a few full backs.
12/11/2011, 9:22 PM
horgan scored a peach of a goal against us the last day of the season in turners cross.. I am surprised Sligo didnt try any harder to keep him. Dont get why he was on a two yr deal with Sligo in the first place if he wasnt kept on
12/11/2011, 10:41 PM
horgan scored a peach of a goal against us the last day of the season in turners cross.. I am surprised Sligo didnt try any harder to keep him.
Sligo didn't try at all to keep him. He was under contract so if Sligo wanted him, he was staying...
adamd164
12/11/2011, 11:15 PM
Sligo haven't let him go yet. What Tommy Dunne said in the interview was that Horgan wants to stay with us and Cook is prepared to let him go but Sligo's board have heard good things about him and negotiations are ongoing as to whether he'll be let go or they'll try to get a price for him.
I wouldn't want us to pay a fee, but Cook probably doesn't want a player who doesn't want to be there either. A lot seems to hinge on whether Cook stays at Sligo or leaves.
shellyriver
13/11/2011, 9:12 PM
A lot seems to hinge on whether Cook stays at Sligo or leaves.
Contender for 'understatement for the closed season 2011', goes to.
Best of luck to Horgan -- he seemed to huff and puff, but produce little end product, but if he has developed as Cork boys state, hope he does well.
Would be more concerned with re-signing Davoren, Dillon and co etc.
scoops85
14/11/2011, 10:55 AM
Danny Lafferty on trial at Derby
14/11/2011, 11:11 AM
Is he under contract at Derry?
14/11/2011, 11:11 AM
I read that as Danny Lafferty on trial at Derry and thought "has kenny not seen enough of him all season?"
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/11/2011, 12:08 PM
Contender for 'understatement for the closed season 2011', goes to.
Best of luck to Horgan -- he seemed to huff and puff, but produce little end product, but if he has developed as Cork boys state, hope he does well.
Would be more concerned with re-signing Davoren, Dillon and co etc.
Oh give me Horgan over Dillon any day of the week. I think he has huge potential and was very surprised when he was sent out on loan in the first place (although I think they may have thought we'd be getting Boco baco).
I don't know why we would contemplate trying to sell the one player we have actually signed for next season
14/11/2011, 12:27 PM
I don't know why we would contemplate trying to sell the one player we have actually signed for next season
You've jsut starteda "Sligo are in crisis" rumour mill there
shellyriver
14/11/2011, 12:35 PM
Oh give me Horgan over Dillon...I don't know why we would contemplate trying to sell the one player we have actually signed for next season
Don't agree I am afraid...Horgan seemed to bluster about with his head down etc...re Dillon he is quality...if he was just given a fixed role and a few games, playing as a winger, he would have got plaudits... Cookie's selection can be a little suspect, worst eg he persisted with the nonsense of Powell over Dav for crucial games [compounded with Keano out] hence we fall short of league title...
Anyways, I heard a few weeks ago that Mark Quigley was coming to Sligo, any truth? Any update on Ryan and Dav re Dundee? More than likely media-guff imo
scoops85
14/11/2011, 3:20 PM
Is he under contract at Derry?
yeah for another season, but Derry give permission for him to go over on trail.
bluewhitearmy
14/11/2011, 4:06 PM
Gary Curran to Limerick....I think he was at Galway and Harps recently but not sure if i have the right person.
Yeah, he was with us and was pretty decent.
Astonished that Limerick can match the gargantuan wage packet he was receiving at Finn Park. :p
bluewhitearmy
14/11/2011, 4:39 PM
Yeah, he was with us and was pretty decent.
Astonished that Limerick can match the gargantuan wage packet he was receiving at Finn Park. :p
We are giving him double what ye did.
2 free packets of Taytos :p.
Have no idea if its true just been told by one of our players he thinks its happening.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/11/2011, 9:16 PM
Don't agree I am afraid...Horgan seemed to bluster about with his head down etc...re Dillon he is quality...if he was just given a fixed role and a few games, playing as a winger, he would have got plaudits... Cookie's selection can be a little suspect, worst eg he persisted with the nonsense of Powell over Dav for crucial games [compounded with Keano out] hence we fall short of league title...
Anyways, I heard a few weeks ago that Mark Quigley was coming to Sligo, any truth? Any update on Ryan and Dav re Dundee? More than likely media-guff imo
I would say the exact same about Horgan being given a fixed role and a few games and he would show more people his class. As the people in Cork will agree no doubt. Dillon is there 3 years now at this stage and hasn't been able to break into the team
Heard we were supposed to be after Danny North as well
14/11/2011, 9:52 PM
From what ive seen of him with Salthill and Cork I agree to a certain extent about Horgan that he puts his head down and just goes but I don't see that as a fault when he has the quality to back it up. He runs hard at defenders and wins a lot of free kicks, he works hard, and he is capable of scoring goals. He scored a cracker for salthill against limerick up in Galway in their first season.
Horgan may want to go to Cork but if he came back to Sligo and was starting regularly would he be saying the same thing? I don't think so. With a run of games with Sligo, if he can nail down a starting place, I don't see why he wouldn't be happy there.
14/11/2011, 10:00 PM
Would be disappointed to see Gary Curran leave. Quality player, if he lost a bit of weight he'd be one of the best centre mid's in the division.
shellyriver
14/11/2011, 10:21 PM
Would be disappointed to see Gary Curran leave. Quality player, if he lost a bit of weight he'd be one of the best centre mid's in the division.
Saw him near chip van at U-21 game, I just hung my head in shame.
Could be wrong, but I think Danny North was shaking some vinegar over Curran's chips:)
15/11/2011, 12:56 AM
We are giving him double what ye did.
2 free packets of Taytos :p.
You wont be saying that when you see the size of him, could do with loosing 3 stone at the very least ! Has great quality but with the weight he's carrying he will struggle.
redobit
16/11/2011, 11:18 AM
Would love Horgan to stay. If he will be given a chance this time around.
Mark Quigley to Crystal Palace? Heard that before season ended.
Ryan to Dundee seems right but Dav isint.
bluewhitearmy
16/11/2011, 11:53 AM
You wont be saying that when you see the size of him, could do with loosing 3 stone at the very least ! Has great quality but with the weight he's carrying he will struggle.
Well one of the lads has said they seen him in the Gym with our sports scientist and he did a very good job getting Behan fit so if he gets fit from what people say he would be worth signing.
WoodquayBoy
16/11/2011, 3:04 PM
Cork City have the following contracted beyond this season
Tommy Dunne - Contracted to end 2014 season
Shane Duggan - Contracted to end 2013 season
Gearoid Morrissey - Contracted to end 2013 season
Kalen Spillane – Contracted to end of 2013 season
Danny Murphy - Contracted to end 2012 season
Stephen Mulcahy - Contracted to end 2012 season
Graham Cummins - Contracted to end 2012 season
Did Derek O'Brien not sign a two year deal, with option of a third? Maybe it was 1 year, with option of a second. As for the debate about Horgan, there is no debate - a young player with bags of potential, potential which he showed in spades last season for the game or 2 I saw him in, and from the feedback from Corkies. Also heard from people in the game in Galway that he loves it in Cork and wants to stay
El-Pietro
16/11/2011, 5:06 PM
nope Derek signed a one year deal as far as we are aware
Morginho
16/11/2011, 5:51 PM
Since we have O'Brien i think we still need Johnson and Mooney to complete the team :P
Any news on any Mon Utd players??
a young player with bags of potential, potential which he showed in spades last season for the game or 2 I saw him in, and from the feedback from Corkies. Also heard from people in the game in Galway that he loves it in Cork and wants to stayLovely lad and a smashing sense of humour but his workrate is questionable at best, my abiding memory is of him doubled over, hands upon his knees.
Paddy Kavanagh and Wesley Charles could both be coming back to Bray.