View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2012
bluewhitearmy
21/02/2012, 11:33 PM
The scumbag unfollowed them!!
Last thing i want is a cnut like that at our club.
21/02/2012, 11:35 PM
What did Foley do to Bohs on twitter a few saying Bohs fans wont forget what he did to them?
Bonus for Europe where owed and when the club couldn't pay up he fought to try get it, its something along those lines and probably more to it than that. I'm sure the story is around if it's googled.
edit: http://ontheground.2.forumer.com/a/foley-in-dispute-with-bohs_post1284.html
El-Pietro
21/02/2012, 11:39 PM
PLayers coach on a two year deal he is there to help bring on the young lads. AS for foley playing I reckon he would score his fair share of goals let's be honest Limerick should dominate a lot of games this season creating a lot of goal scoring opportunitys you would have to fancy foley in division one to bury most of them.
but what are you basing this on? Why do you think a 35 year old who has shown that his skills are reapidly deteriorating will put away so many goals?
I mean if he was able to put away most of his chances hed be staying in Belgium. Also, hes 35, 36 mid season, hes hardly going to play regularly enough to score a bunch of goals
bluewhitearmy
21/02/2012, 11:42 PM
but what are you basing this on? Why do you think a 35 year old who has shown that his skills are reapidly deteriorating will put away so many goals?
I mean if he was able to put away most of his chances hed be staying in Belgium. Also, hes 35, 36 mid season, hes hardly going to play regularly enough to score a bunch of goals
How many game shave you watched of his that you have seen this?
El-Pietro
21/02/2012, 11:42 PM
Bohs owed him money, he took them to court, or a tribunal or something, and he was made a free agent. He then joined Gent who I think Bohs had actually only played a few weeks previously in the intertoto or something?
2004? 2005?
thomas72
21/02/2012, 11:55 PM
AGAIN top level in Belgium and a 8 team division one in Ireland there is a hell of a diff when Limerick will prob owe games v wexford, salthill, etc etc he will be up against a very poor standard of defenders than he is used to.
21/02/2012, 11:59 PM
In fairness, he should score an absolute hatfull for Limerick.
22/02/2012, 12:50 AM
Bohs owed him money, he took them to court, or a tribunal or something, and he was made a free agent. He then joined Gent who I think Bohs had actually only played a few weeks previously in the intertoto or something?
2004? 2005?
This is correct.
Basically Bohs didn't pay him what he was owed so he walked out on them.
Which in LoI land makes him EVIL :bulgy:
On his prowess or otherwise we are so far ahead of the rest of the division it's scary.
BUT -
We're gonna face a lot of 4-6-0 type formations, his guile might come in handy late on in all the tight games.
He wont have came up against quite as many shin cleaving, limited, clowns in Belgium either tbf.
Personally I'm just delighted another experienced footballer has bought into the Limerick project.
Credit once again to our oligarch owners.
Spudulika
22/02/2012, 2:30 AM
Lads, the Belgian league is shockingly poor. Most of the clubs are bankrupt or barely surviving. The decision making behind the scenes make the LOI look like the Bundesliga, we're talking about a league who allowed one club field only Africans to be able to get them visas to sell them on (Beveren) and having been to a number of matches there in the last few years and dealing with a couple of clubs, it's not what it used to be. Players go unpaid for sustained periods, club owners are not the nicest and player development is non-existent. A top LOI player would be a superstar in Belgium. Alot of Russian clubs stick players there to give them playing time and to see how they progress. If they don't play 90minutes of every match, they usually drop down the club pecking order very quickly. Purely in relation to Foley, he was a good player. He could make a very good coach as well as bag a few goals. However this grab a "name" from Limerick is not looking good.
El-Pietro
22/02/2012, 7:22 AM
In fairness, it wasn't great from him. I vaguely remember people saying hed been tapped up by Gent and he then started pushing Bohs for the money which they didn't have at that time.
If it was Bonus money for Europe then they might have expected him to wait a little bit - I'm not sure but he was legally entitled to leave
I'm sure he'll be an attribute, be great with the younger players and will chip in with a few goals, but expecting him to score lots of goals in naive. (Thats not to say that its entirely impossible that he proves to be a fantastic signing)
pateen
22/02/2012, 8:53 AM
Any update on the CSKA pleyers. I'm guessing their not coming?
thomas72
22/02/2012, 9:06 AM
Limerick Fc are delighted to announce the unveiling of their new Irish international striker will take place at 4.30pm today in Aisling Annacotty.
SEems like its official
22/02/2012, 9:22 AM
Any update on the CSKA pleyers. I'm guessing their not coming?
I'd say at this stage it's not happening. We don't need them anyway. The squad is strong enough barr a left full.
El-Pietro
22/02/2012, 10:18 AM
I'd say at this stage it's not happening. We don't need them anyway. The squad is strong enough barr a left full.
it was never going to happen!
bluewhitearmy
22/02/2012, 11:58 AM
it was never going to happen!
Didnt realise you worked for Limerick or CSKA to have this info.
22/02/2012, 11:59 AM
Lads, the Belgian league is shockingly poor. Most of the clubs are bankrupt or barely surviving.
Completely different to here so.
This is correct.
Basically Bohs didn't pay him what he was owed so he walked out on them.
Which in LoI land makes him EVIL :bulgy:
Don't forget he also basically agreed a contract with Gent while playing for Bohs against Gent.
But yeah, heaven forbid a player takes action against a club screwing him over.
Foley'd be a great signing for Limerick. Whatever about the Belgian league's standard, he's playing against Mervue and Wexford FFS (no offence to either, but he'll be well able for their defences I'm sure)
bluewhitearmy
22/02/2012, 12:01 PM
Lads, the Belgian league is shockingly poor. Most of the clubs are bankrupt or barely surviving. The decision making behind the scenes make the LOI look like the Bundesliga, we're talking about a league who allowed one club field only Africans to be able to get them visas to sell them on (Beveren) and having been to a number of matches there in the last few years and dealing with a couple of clubs, it's not what it used to be. Players go unpaid for sustained periods, club owners are not the nicest and player development is non-existent. A top LOI player would be a superstar in Belgium. Alot of Russian clubs stick players there to give them playing time and to see how they progress. If they don't play 90minutes of every match, they usually drop down the club pecking order very quickly. Purely in relation to Foley, he was a good player. He could make a very good coach as well as bag a few goals. However this grab a "name" from Limerick is not looking good.
And how many of these top LOI players will he be playing against in the 1st division?
Ive seen the Belgian league quite a lot and its is miles ahead of the LOI 1st division.
22/02/2012, 12:08 PM
A top LOI player would be a superstar in Belgium.
No he wouldn't. I don't think that even needs any more refutation.
Ive seen the Belgian league quite a lot and its is miles ahead of the LOI 1st division.
The UEFA rankings agree too (http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/data/method4/crank2012.html). As does the fact that they have three teams in Europe still, and all are very much in their ties after three away legs. (And as do I from the one Belgian league game I've been at...)
22/02/2012, 12:18 PM
Lads, the Belgian league is shockingly poor. Most of the clubs are bankrupt or barely surviving.
Eight Belgian Pro League Clubs:
Anderlecht
Club Bruge
Cercle Bruge
Genk
Gent
Standard Liege
Lokeren
Mechelen
The League Of Ireland First Division:
Athlone
Finn Harps
Limerick
Longford
Mervue
SD Galway
Waterford
Wexford
The 3 (that's three) Belgian clubs in the Europa League won their groups.
The club in the Champions League finished bottom of their group but drew three games.
Look, we get it, you've travelled with work or whatever, bully for you. Maybe the standard in Belgium has gone down. But the implication that the two leagues are somehow comparable looks really, really, contrary to be honest.
However this grab a "name" from Limerick is not looking good
He's from Charleville FFS. We don't have fellas on Copacabana beach picking up players.
El-Pietro
22/02/2012, 12:39 PM
Didnt realise you worked for Limerick or CSKA to have this info.
didn't realise you had to work for either club to be able to think logically
bluewhitearmy
22/02/2012, 1:07 PM
didn't realise you had to work for either club to be able to think logically
People involved in the deal saying as of a few days ago it was still being talked about or a fan of another club that has no idea what goes on in our club apart from believing ridiculous rumours of people bring paid over a grand a week .....I wonder who ill trust more.
Spudulika
22/02/2012, 1:58 PM
LTID, spin it as you want, believe what you want. I was right about the CSKA boys, Limerick heads bounced like French nobles on the guillotine floor and you'd better grab hold of your club sooner rather than later. The LOI needs a strong Limerick club, not a car crash waiting to happen.
PS, are you going to tell me James McLean wouldn't be a superstar in Belgium? I think you can step back now :-)
bluewhitearmy
22/02/2012, 2:03 PM
LTID, spin it as you want, believe what you want. I was right about the CSKA boys, Limerick heads bounced like French nobles on the guillotine floor and you'd better grab hold of your club sooner rather than later. The LOI needs a strong Limerick club, not a car crash waiting to happen.
PS, are you going to tell me James McLean wouldn't be a superstar in Belgium? I think you can step back now :-)
Please explain this then?
Or will you just do what you did the last time you mentioned the CSKA lads and talk crap with out backing it up when asked.
marinobohs
22/02/2012, 2:12 PM
Completely different to here so.
Don't forget he also basically agreed a contract with Gent while playing for Bohs against Gent.
But yeah, heaven forbid a player takes action against a club screwing him over.
Foley'd be a great signing for Limerick. Whatever about the Belgian league's standard, he's playing against Mervue and Wexford FFS (no offence to either, but he'll be well able for their defences I'm sure)
Foley had agreed to hold off on bonus until he was tapped up by Gent and used it to get himself a free transfer. P Stu, care to prove how Bohs were screwing him over ? Dont we have rules about unsubstanciated rumours on here ?
RE Foley as player,had a great last season with Bohs but took him a long time to settle.
He wasn't tapped up as he had less than 6 months left on Bohs deal.
Used the fact he was owed money to make that Belgian deal happen quicker.
Can't see what he did wrong
22/02/2012, 2:18 PM
Dont we have rules about unsubstanciated rumours on here ?
Any link to the FAI's publication of St. Pats' €3 million budget you mentioned?
marinobohs
22/02/2012, 2:23 PM
Any link to the FAI's publication of St. Pats' €3 million budget you mentioned?
....yep, right after Dodges link to "less than 1.5 million budget". Was under 3 million (as said previously). Trying to trackdown link, think it was posted in one of the many Bohs finances threads (so could take sometime to dig up)
marinobohs
22/02/2012, 2:26 PM
He wasn't tapped up as he had less than 6 months left on Bohs deal.
Used the fact he was owed money to make that Belgian deal happen quicker.
Can't see what he did wrong
Reneged on an understanding he had with Bohs to defer payment of the bonus, technically nothing wrong in using it to force his transfer through (just like Fenn Dundalk/Shams or Ndo Pats/Bohs or many other examples) but hardly likely to make him popular in Dalymount.
Still waiting to hear how Bohs "screwed him over".
22/02/2012, 3:10 PM
What in the name of God are you talking about??
Utterly, genuinely, bizare.
I know the facts behind the CSKA thing. You on the otherhand, appear to be a dribbling lunatic. You never even said what you were talking about to be proven right, just a load of vague tin foil hatted nonsense.
Crazy, bonkers, laughable, stuff.
PS, are you going to tell me James McLean wouldn't be a superstar in Belgium? I think you can step back now
James McClean of Sunderland A.F.C??
Using rare occurences to once again prove himself right. :bulgy:
Would Gary Twigg be a superstar in Belgium??
Your whole post, in summary:
http://img.izismile.com/img/img4/20110718/640/that_crazy_nicholas_cage_640_46.gif
22/02/2012, 3:13 PM
Please explain this then?
He can't.
The CIA, Stasi, Stasnet, KGB etc are all watching his every move, he's an (IN THE KNOW) International man of mystery.
DON'T YOU UNDERSTAND??
http://curlymum.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/oh-noes.gif?w=620
22/02/2012, 3:23 PM
About what?
You said Limerick would want to look into who they are signing before they do or something to that extent and it's precisely what they are doing or have done. They have even released a statement to that effect. Just because one or two of us Limerick fans say on this that we don't think it will happen at this stage doesn't make it fact that it won't happen.
Spudulika
22/02/2012, 3:26 PM
Wow, ltid, it's hard to feel sorry in advance, however, such is life.
jofspring, I said more than that, however, all will out.
22/02/2012, 3:26 PM
It won't happen at this stage, transfer deadline is tonight.
We had a look, we didn't particularly fancy what we looked at.
Nothing to do with moonmen, or the russian mafia, or crab people, or the ku klux klan, or the masons, or the jews.
Just football I'd imagine.
I certainly wont be marching on Pat O'Sullivans office because we had two players on trial, didn't sign them and then signed a "name" player who lives down the road.
22/02/2012, 3:27 PM
"I can't defend my position." :bulgy:
22/02/2012, 3:52 PM
Nothing to do with moonmen, or the russian mafia, or crab people, or the ku klux klan, or the masons, or the jews.
Run for your lives! :eek: (http://images.wikia.com/southpark/images/4/43/CrabPeople.png)
22/02/2012, 4:36 PM
Foley had agreed to hold off on bonus until he was tapped up by Gent and used it to get himself a free transfer. P Stu, care to prove how Bohs were screwing him over ?
Sigh... (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/foley-quits-bohs-in-payment-row-244820.html)
Took all of two seconds to google.
Given that (a) I know the solicitor personally and am happy he's quite reputable and wasn't off twisting truths just so that nasty Foley could leave angelic Bohs and (b) Foley won his case and got released from his contract, I'm happy Bohs screwed him over.
Dalymountrower
22/02/2012, 5:19 PM
I liked Dominic, but did you ever see such a clumsy tap up of a contracted player? Bohs looked for a transfer fee and Dominic and his advisors took advantage of a late bonus payment, pretty much the nail in the coffin for Gareth Farrelly`s`tenure.
27/06/2005 - 08:03:37
Belgian club Ghent are considering a swoop for Bohemians’ striker Dominic Foley after the 28-year-old striker impressed in the recent Intertoto Cup clashes between the pair.
Although Bohemians crashed out after a 3-2 aggregate defeat, Ghent boss George Leekens confirmed he was a fan of Foley, believing he is the type of player his side currently lacks.
Leekens has only a small transfer kitty at his disposal as Ghent build a new stadium and he knows he could sign Foley from Bohemians for a fraction of what he would be forced to pay for a similar player in Belgium.
Leekens said: “Dominic Foley is the type of player I need. I’m looking for that type of striker who can hold up the ball and I was impressed by him.
“He works very hard, and if he’s available at a reasonable price, I would be interested in signing him.”
Under contract until the end of 2006, Bohemians will be unwilling to allow Foley to leave on the cheap though if the price was right, they may be tempted to offload the striker they signed on a free transfer from Portuguese club Sporting Braga in 2004.
Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/cwauidsnauau/#ixzz1n8S2qeZb
Heres
22/02/2012, 5:26 PM
So Bohs looked for a fee, Gent said "No, we don't need to pay you because you owe him money" and you reckon that's the clumsiest tap-up of a player ever?
Fair enough so.
Bonus payments - the cause of almost all of Bohs woes.
Overspending comes in second.
thomas72
22/02/2012, 5:42 PM
COnfirmed signings
Limerick in:
Derek o brien
DOminic foley
Spudulika
22/02/2012, 7:10 PM
ltid, take it easy kiddo, we'll all bow to your and your friends infinite knowledge of all things to all men. It must be wonderful to be so wonderful, so you can remove the thong from your rear and just claim your netwarrior crown for the day. Well done. Now off to bed with ya.
Ezeikial
23/02/2012, 12:01 AM
....yep, right after Dodges link to "less than 1.5 million budget". Was under 3 million (as said previously). Trying to trackdown link, think it was posted in one of the many Bohs finances threads (so could take sometime to dig up)
Any luck on that link MB?
I was thinking of going to bed, but dont think I will sleep knowing that you are still fervently searching for that elusive link?
Maybe take a break and come back to it in the morning.
bluewhitearmy
23/02/2012, 12:55 AM
jofspring, I said more than that, however, all will out.
Here is exactly what you said:
While the wiki freaks continue their gloating, maybe someone should ask CSKA what's going on? Very different story to what's being put on here. Having spoken with their CD at lunch, better start asking questions of your club and who's knocking around with them! Apart from the fact that neither player is as good as they seem.
So far you have talked complete nonsense claimed to have been proven right about what you said above somehow and have backed up absolutely none of your ridiculous claims.
In fact anytime you are asked a staright forward question you come back with something completely different...So with out any of the drivel can you name some players playing in LOI now that would be superstars in Belgium?
Spudulika
23/02/2012, 3:51 PM
Here is exactly what you said:
While the wiki freaks continue their gloating, maybe someone should ask CSKA what's going on? Very different story to what's being put on here. Having spoken with their CD at lunch, better start asking questions of your club and who's knocking around with them! Apart from the fact that neither player is as good as they seem.
So far you have talked complete nonsense claimed to have been proven right about what you said above somehow and have backed up absolutely none of your ridiculous claims.
In fact anytime you are asked a staright forward question you come back with something completely different...So with out any of the drivel can you name some players playing in LOI now that would be superstars in Belgium?
bwa, good lad, all easy now. Of course you're right in every way. So no point in netbattling yourself silly. I bow to your superior knowledge and intellect. Truly.
bluewhitearmy
23/02/2012, 3:55 PM
bwa, good lad, all easy now. Of course you're right in every way. So no point in netbattling yourself silly. I bow to your superior knowledge and intellect. Truly.
So yet again when asked a straight forward question you refuse to answer and start talking crap.
Lets try one last time who playing in the LOI now would be a superstar in Belgium?
Spudulika
23/02/2012, 5:42 PM
So yet again when asked a straight forward question you refuse to answer and start talking crap.
Lets try one last time who playing in the LOI now would be a superstar in Belgium?
bwa, you're a genius, I bow to your yodalike guidance and teaching. You can retract all that was said and you are a winner. All is good in the world, you are my hero. King of the world and all that. Now just unbundle the tidy whities and go on yer way. You are a winner!
23/02/2012, 5:45 PM
Getting tedious, lads.
bluewhitearmy
23/02/2012, 5:45 PM
bwa, you're a genius, I bow to your yodalike guidance and teaching. You can retract all that was said and you are a winner. All is good in the world, you are my hero. King of the world and all that. Now just unbundle the tidy whities and go on yer way. You are a winner!
Point proven.
As you clearly have no clue about what you are talking about and you have proved you have no clue what you are talking about i reckon its time to just ignore you now.
askmehoop
23/02/2012, 5:53 PM
Limerick fans = The new Sligo Fans
Shannonsider
23/02/2012, 5:54 PM
Limerick fans = The new Sligo Fans
Shamrock Rovers fans = The new Shamrock Rovers fans