View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 2012

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33

Sean South
14/12/2011, 5:11 PM
I hope Sligo fans are saving for their season tickets and also saving to pay into every game when the club asks them to
Sh1te platter.

14/12/2011, 5:12 PM
I hope Sligo fans are saving for their season tickets and also saving to pay into every game when the club asks them to

We've decreased our budget this season so I'm not sure why you think that

L.T.F.C.
14/12/2011, 5:22 PM
I must say, all this "have you seen our balance sheet" etc reminds me of Sporting Fingal in the lead up to them going bust.
Ah well!

askmehoop
14/12/2011, 5:22 PM
Never was a big fan of jake's, can't see what all the fuss about him is,, but does seem to get the goals ..gladly take paddy kavanagh instead..

Not sure what the situation is with Kelly now that o'neill is confirmed as gone after spurs game.

btw you can have Paddy Kavanagh(he's a free agent anyway)

askmehoop
14/12/2011, 5:25 PM
I must say, all this "have you seen our balance sheet" etc reminds me of Sporting Fingal in the lead up to them going bust.
Ah well!

Was just thinking the same, reminds me of Bohs fans when everyone, bar them it seemed, new their club was fooked. Hopefully Sligo wont go the same route. It is tempting to splash a bit of extra cash when you came so close to winning the league.

14/12/2011, 5:34 PM
It should be pointed out that none of those clubs even attempted to claim they were making a profit. At least Sligo have that going for them.

Huh? That's the opposite of what's being reported surely?

PartySaint
14/12/2011, 5:40 PM

Sorry I take my comment back then, Your chairman's comments about your brave decision to spend more money made me think maybe your budget wont be decreased

Sean South
14/12/2011, 5:43 PM
Reported where Stu? Shams forum?

PartySaint
14/12/2011, 5:45 PM
Reported where? Shams forum?

Er, Pretty sure it was the Sligo website

Sean South
14/12/2011, 5:47 PM
Er, Pretty sure it was the Sligo website
Nope.

poster
14/12/2011, 5:51 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1424-cook-welcomes-mark-quigley

(http://www.sligorovers.com/latest-news-news-menu-inside-246/1424-cook-welcomes-mark-quigley)"Bit o’ Red chairman Michael Toolan recently confirmed that the club have made an increase to the budget planned for 2012, but overall it has reduced from this (2011, the season just gone) year’s figure."

Any questions?

14/12/2011, 5:51 PM
It was the Sligo local paper quoting the chairman.

Sean South
14/12/2011, 5:53 PM

MMVIII
14/12/2011, 5:53 PM
This forum is class. People drawing their own conclusions to suit their own 'suspicions', no matter how ridiculous or unfounded they maybe.

There is plenty of posters on this board who know what they are talking about. But hey, don't let that get in the way of a good story.

horton
14/12/2011, 5:59 PM
Derry Journal says we're after Stewart Greacen (no need for him imo). And that a deal for Boco and Quigley is believed to have been done.

Lafferty won't be leaving Derry after the clubs he had trial with didn't offer him deal.

Generally take anything you read in that paper with a pinch of salt. Their sports coverage has gone massively downhill recently. Alot of the match reports in the tuesday editions are just a summary of what the journo read elsewhere. I think yesterdays paper claimed Tallaght want Stephen Kenny back:rolleyes:

askmehoop
14/12/2011, 6:01 PM
This forum is class. People drawing their own conclusions to suit their own 'suspicions', no matter how ridiculous or unfounded they maybe.

There is plenty of posters on this board who know what they are talking about. But hey, don't let that get in the way of a good story.

sure sligo fans would never do that, tisk tisk

dong
14/12/2011, 6:35 PM
Westlife have done the business again fair play to them.

dong
14/12/2011, 6:38 PM

I know I am anyways. Small price to pay.

bingoballs
14/12/2011, 7:02 PM
Sligo Rovers have increased the budget, and thats not to mention all the under the table payments everybody else seems to know about bar Rovers fans. Not to worry lads, Cookie is goin on an almerciful gamblin spree to make up the difference and we'll still have the undisclosed money we get on the gate from when we play shams and don't give them any receipts.:rolleyes:

Rasputin
14/12/2011, 9:17 PM
Ah well!
Haha oh god, ladies and gents we have a winner.
Yes lets cast aside and dismess the only solid facts we have on Rovers financial situation and throw it into the "Bohs and Franchise talk" category.
Who needs actual facts when you have speculation and just unsubstantiated sh!te talk, god bless the internet.

L.T.F.C.
14/12/2011, 9:34 PM
Haha oh god, ladies and gents we have a winner.
Yes lets cast aside and dismess the only solid facts we have on Rovers financial situation and throw it into the "Bohs and Franchise talk" category.
Who needs actual facts when you have speculation and just unsubstantiated sh!te talk, god bless the internet.
All I said is that there are similarities in what is being said to people that ask questions on here, in what was asked of SFFC supporters and now Sligo supporters. I don't really give a sh¡t what happens to Sligo to be honest.

shellyriver
14/12/2011, 10:42 PM
All I said is that there are similarities in what is being said to people that ask questions on here, in what was asked of SFFC supporters and now Sligo supporters. I don't really give a sh¡t what happens to Sligo to be honest.

No s###t Sherlock!

Delighted, that Quigley has signed for Rovers.

Admired that lunatic glint in his eye as come on as a sub for Bohs at the Showgrounds and heard loads of Bohs fans giving out his performance. How things have changed. He is now recognised as probably amongst the most talented midfielders in the country.

Hopefully the side will gel quickly. The loss of Ryan and maybe Davoren is a huge loss, but this team, with Danny North on board, might just surpass the quality and entertainment of the end of season 2010 team.

Re Quigley fitting in, Cookie has got great performances out of a maverick like Joey N'Do so hopefully he can emulate it.

Fair play to Paul Cook, we've kept it tight for the last five years, and now's the time to go broke -- all three titles.

The fans will support Cook and his team the whole way -- this is Cook's final hurrah in Ireland. Even if this team don't get the league we're likely to get the most exciting football in Ireland, I would pay for that alone.

The management and club are synthesising their ambition and finances, what more could you ask?

14/12/2011, 10:50 PM
Fair play to Paul Cook, we've kept it tight for the last five years, and now's the time to go broke
Nice little Freudian slip there ;)

shellyriver
14/12/2011, 11:01 PM
At best it's more accurately a double-meaning, but figuratively it is what it is, putting your shoulder to the wheel.

Glad you had to read it all to find some parapraxis -- pm me if you need to know what that means:] Enjoy not giving a s##t whether Rovers succeed or fail in 2012, the feeling is mutual. Barring the tragedy of Keith Gillespie hobbling around Flandespair Park, Longford's footballing fare is in the doldrums. Happy Christmas.

14/12/2011, 11:03 PM
Hibs have decided not to sign Iarfhlaith Davoren for now: http://www.google.com/hostednews/ukpress/article/ALeqM5hDKemf7d18-2b-OF17X6oq1YL69Q?docId=N0457541323884783456A

bullit
14/12/2011, 11:12 PM
Hibs have decided not to sign Iarfhlaith Davoren for now: http://www.google.com/hostednews/ukpress/article/ALeqM5hDKemf7d18-2b-OF17X6oq1YL69Q?docId=N0457541323884783456A

That decision has to have been made by the Scottish football commentators committee.
They got the pronunciation of his name down to to "Tyreflat Develin" and then just threw the towel in.

bluewhitearmy
14/12/2011, 11:16 PM
Someone has just posted on our section that we have signed Stephen Bradley.

14/12/2011, 11:44 PM
At best it's more accurately a double-meaning, but figuratively it is what it is, putting your shoulder to the wheel.

Glad you had to read it all to find some parapraxis -- pm me if you need to know what that means:] Enjoy not giving a s##t whether Rovers succeed or fail in 2012, the feeling is mutual. Barring the tragedy of Keith Gillespie hobbling around Flandespair Park, Longford's footballing fare is in the doldrums. Happy Christmas.
Ooh.. get you. Think you need to PM me so I can explain the merits of not taking everything on a message board seriously.

P.S You meant "go for broke", it's not a double meaning, just an unfortunate error that I tried to 'humorously' suggest was a parapraxis. Humblest apologies.

15/12/2011, 12:01 AM
Someone has just posted on our section that we have signed Stephen Bradley.

He's fairly good that fella.

15/12/2011, 12:03 AM
Also Sligo fans everywhere, here's one for the club shop:

http://tshirtman.com.au/store/product_images/i/270/frankie-says-relax-red__02575_zoom.jpg

15/12/2011, 12:28 AM
Reported where Stu? Shams forum?
The Sligo Champion (http://www.sligochampion.ie/sport/soccer/ambitious-rovers-increase-their-recruitment-budget-2951765.html)

In order to do that (mount a serious league challenge), we've taken what is a courageous decision to increase our budget

The headline talks about increasing the recruitment budget, but doesn't explain what that term is supposed to mean, and doesn't quote any official using the term.

David BOHie
19/12/2011, 12:05 AM
I hear a lot of the younger Bohs lads from last year will be signing for Bohs on very low wages.

Gary Rogers to Rovers

Christy Fagan to Cork

freewheel30
19/12/2011, 6:40 AM
Dave Bassett on the odds list for the Shamrock Rovers job last night (Bohs and Rovers markets no longer online now for some reason), well down the order, but still a strange one.

Kerr was favourite, although he doesn't seem to be gearing for a return to club management right now, but it'd be a big boost for the league's profile if he ended up in Tallaght, O'Neill ended up in charge of N.I. and Staunton ended up at Dundalk!

askmehoop
19/12/2011, 4:41 PM
Dean kelly to Shels

danthesaint
19/12/2011, 4:48 PM
I hear a lot of the younger Bohs lads from last year will be signing for Bohs on very low wages.

Gary Rogers to Rovers

Christy Fagan to Cork

i heard fagan to us, from a bohs lad

Pablo Escobar
19/12/2011, 6:45 PM
i heard fagan to us, from a bohs lad
He was mentioned for us a bit back, but to be honest I don't think that's happening. Pats would sound about right.

askmehoop
19/12/2011, 7:06 PM
Paul Cook approached about vacant position at Rovers

shellyriver
19/12/2011, 8:00 PM

Are you having a giraffe? Any sources? Would be hugely surprised if Cook took over the job -- I think me much prefers live in the North West than the Big-ish Smoke!

poster
19/12/2011, 8:03 PM

Of course he was. No secret the Shams board (and fans) have a little one for him.

David BOHie
19/12/2011, 8:11 PM
well i'm a bohs lad too :)

Apparently, Chris Forrester, Keith Buckley, Stephen Traynor and Craig Sexton have re-signed for us for this year

Sonny
19/12/2011, 9:23 PM
Of course he was. No secret the Shams board (and fans) have a little one for him.

The courtship is actually the other way around.

19/12/2011, 10:45 PM
Jason McAteer to replace Michael O'Neill at Shams is the best rumour ever.

19/12/2011, 10:59 PM
Cook is building a decent looking team for next season. Hard to see why he would even think about going to Shams. Maybe if he had no one signed yet, wasn't sure of budget yet etc..it may have be understandable but at the moment it seems like one of the most bogus rumours yet.

19/12/2011, 11:06 PM
It's not really unheard of though. Think of Owen Coyle going from Burnley to Bolton or Nigel Pearson from Hull back to Leicester Clubs of similar stature and position. I don't think he'll be offered it though.

redobit
19/12/2011, 11:20 PM
Apart from all the other more obvious reasons, I cant see why Shams would pay us a lump sum to break Cooks contract when money was such an issue for them with MON.

19/12/2011, 11:42 PM
Depends on the lump sum I guess.

I don't think anything will happen though. I reckon the potential for embarrassment on either side if it didn't happen would preclude either party from stating their intentions. And I get the impression the board have been looking for potential replacements for a few months now.

edit: Paul Corry hinting it's Martin Russell. Might just be taking the ****.

https://twitter.com/#!/paul_corry

WindmillWarrior
20/12/2011, 7:32 AM
Fabio to Drogs!!

total hoofball
20/12/2011, 7:59 AM
Darren Meenan in a newspaper interview a few days ago said that he has been offered deals by both Cork and Derry.

born2bwild
20/12/2011, 8:19 AM
Fabio to Drogs!!
???? Monaghan must be trying to beat Galway's record from last year.

20/12/2011, 8:46 AM
Aw shur we have players offering to pay Roddy to let them play for us so we will be grand!