View Full Version : eircom League 2007 Attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32]

15/11/2007, 4:20 PM
Now that sounds rather a tempting and unexpected offer! :p

JC_GUFC
15/11/2007, 5:46 PM
You'll have to estimate the crowd in the bar to within 5% though to win the pint! ;)

15/11/2007, 5:57 PM
You'll have to estimate the crowd in the bar to within 5% though to win the pint! ;)
That's Schumi's job.

15/11/2007, 5:57 PM
JC_GUFC

Trust you to blow the whistle on that deal ! :D

Battery Rover
15/11/2007, 8:53 PM
You'll have to estimate the crowd in the bar to within 5% though to win the pint!

Or I could get someone from Galway to estimate it for him and I would definitely keep my pint :p;):D

WindmillWarrior
15/11/2007, 9:12 PM
Drogheda - 1,919 (1,751; 1,682; 1,554) (missing Bray 2 and Sligo 2)

Gave you these in an earlier post Stu:

Drogs Sligo around 1,800.

Drogs Bray around 3,000.

soylent green
15/11/2007, 9:23 PM
Rovers - 1,819 (1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349) (missing Sligo 2 and Waterford 2)

Rovers v Sligo 2 = 745
Rovers v Waterford 2 = 1,233

18/11/2007, 8:05 PM
According to Adrian Desmond , Club Promotion Officer, in the City v Bohs programme City's league attendances for the season were up 21.5%, not including that game obviously.

Finlay Harp
19/11/2007, 7:19 AM
I know the averages have been calculated, but just as a sideline Harps had around 3,000 against Dundalk in the play off semi final on Friday night.

19/11/2007, 8:34 AM
Well looks like this convuluted Play off system is going to be good for something anyway.
Harps' Bank Manager cannot wipe the smile off his face.

Finlay Harp
19/11/2007, 8:58 AM
It is bitter sweet going a certain way to making up for loosing out on a crack at the Setanta cup.

19/11/2007, 8:59 AM
We should make a few quid from the playoffs, but not a huge amount. The gate from the Dundalk game was split so would not have been hugely lucrative after paying the extra week's wages. We should bring in a fair crowd tomorrow night (and in this case it's not split) but on the other hand there's another extra week's wages to pay plus a lot of expense for travel and accommodation in Waterford. Certainly the extra 20k for winning the division plus a share of tonight's gate will see Cobh make more than us from the season's end, unless we get a humongous crowd altogether tomorrow.

19/11/2007, 2:37 PM
I know the averages have been calculated, but just as a sideline Harps had around 3,000 against Dundalk in the play off semi final on Friday night.

some reckon it was over 3500, hard to guess really in FP.
Should be similar tomorrow night but pity we hadn't a full house as A said, if we won the division, the 50K plus a massive game with Derry would have left the bank manager a hell of alot happier.

19/11/2007, 4:02 PM
3,000 at the very most in Finn Park that night I'd say.

19/11/2007, 4:04 PM
Sligoman good to see your keeoing an eye on your neighbours :rolleyes: Now if only you could get a crowd like that.

19/11/2007, 4:15 PM
Or at least pretend to :)

20/11/2007, 2:55 PM
Sligoman good to see your keeoing an eye on your neighbours :rolleyes: Now if only you could get a crowd like that.Do you know that's hilarious, fair play to you for coming up with that all by yourself!

Maybe next time stay out of it though, you weren't there.

20/11/2007, 2:58 PM
Or at least pretend to :)

I just spilled my afternoon drink on the keyboard

At this point I'd like to raise my usual objection to the use of this thread as stone cold fact. Guesses... fans bias... etc etc

20/11/2007, 2:58 PM
It is bitter sweet going a certain way to making up for loosing out on a crack at the Setanta cup.

As if yee'd have gotten there.......! :eek:

20/11/2007, 3:15 PM
I just spilled my afternoon drink on the keyboard

At this point I'd like to raise my usual objection to the use of this thread as stone cold fact. Guesses... fans bias... etc etc
Yeah, I have the same problem (http://www.stigonline.com/misc/si_genesis.htm). I should probably point out that I'm not John Craddock.

21/11/2007, 9:23 AM
around 4000 in Finn Park last night.

Paddyfield
21/11/2007, 6:32 PM
around 4000 in Finn Park last night.

That is brilliant. Harps are the sleeping giants of Irish football. I doubt that the current Premier Division champions ever got a crowd that big.

I know Harps represent the county of Donegal but I'm curious as to what the population of Ballybofey is?

Will FHFC turn full time pro next season? (asuming Waterford don't score 4 in the second leg!)

21/11/2007, 6:36 PM
Ballybofey has about 5000 people AFAIK. Harps draw a lot of support from Tyrone as well, especially from Strabane.

And there is no way we will be turning pro.

21/11/2007, 10:19 PM
Going to call it a day for 2007. Only missing crowds for Derry (seriously, someone must have figures?!) and the old reliables, Kilkenny and Monaghan. (2) is a game in the second series of matches. Figures in brackets are averages in previous seasons.

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,924 (2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340)
Bray - 1,200 (1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cork - 2,897 (2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 2,614 (3,229; 2,698; 1,672) (missing Bohs 2, Longford and Waterford)
Drogheda - 1,919 (1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Galway - 2,199 (1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Longford - 885 (681; 1,004; 1,131)
Pat's - 1,910 (1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - 1,715 (1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 1,448 (1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 663 (546; 653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 1,181 (915; 1,513; 1,753)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 670 (421; 316; 291)
Cobh - 681 (368; 403; 240)
Dundalk - 1,406 (1,078; 474; 591)
Harps - 1,164 (428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Kildare - 243 (265; 186; 298)
Kilkenny - 191 (122; 185; 110) (missing Kildare 2 and Monaghan (both))
Limerick - 670 (364; 669; 188)
Monaghan - 292 (204; 183; 182) (missing Cobh 2, Kildare 2, Kilkenny 2, Shels 2 and Wexford 2)
Shels - 888 (1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Wexford - 810 (n/a)

Premier Division average - 1,687 (1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 722 (570; 520; 512)

Overall average - 1,235 (1,070; 1,195; 1,218)

FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.

21/11/2007, 10:45 PM
Ballybofey has about 5000 people AFAIK. Harps draw a lot of support from Tyrone as well, especially from Strabane.

The official figure is smaller than that - c, 3,500. It has the smallest population of any team in the league.

Harps draw a lot of support from Tyrone as well, especially from Strabane.

Strabane has been Derry City country since 1985 to be honest. Harps have made in-roads there of-late, but I don't believe there's more Harps support in the town than there is for City.

Strabane reminds me of the 'badlands' in Co Durham that copnstantly shift in support-terms between Newcastle and Sunderland, depending on how well each team is doing. Though oibviously in this case its more a case of how City are doing, as Harps are never doing better than us..... :p

22/11/2007, 5:10 PM
Harps are the sleeping giants of Irish football.

When have Harps ever been a 'giant' of Irish football? :confused:

22/11/2007, 5:58 PM

True.

They get the sort of crowds that you'd expect any half well supported team to get in the play-offs, and all of a sudden they're giving Fionn NcCool a run for his money....

Paddyfield
22/11/2007, 6:53 PM

Never. But the potential to attract large crowds is evident.

Ronnie
23/11/2007, 12:25 PM
Stu, well done on the work, although I find reading the figures to be so depressing, no club with 3000 average, league champions can't get to 2000 average, Sligo Rovers getting less than 2 seasons ago in the First Division. I could be wrong, but I can't see Galway staying at that average, feel good factor will begin to wear away, Cobh will struggle to keep what they have. Look at Finn Harps, 150% increase in support when doing well, how could you budget around that?

trevy
24/11/2007, 12:49 PM
About 1250 in the RSC last night with about a third of them Finn Harps fans.

cheifo
24/11/2007, 2:03 PM
Any chance of people being gracious now its season end and compliment Galway on building good support despite dubious home record?

24/11/2007, 2:14 PM
Any chance of people being gracious now its season end and compliment Galway on building good support despite dubious home record?

They've gotten very good crowds to be fair. Seems a bit odd though that they'd up the prices now after getting the fans along fr a season. The increase is very steep imo and it'l be interesting to see how it affects the crowds

Paddyfield
24/11/2007, 6:24 PM
They've gotten very good crowds to be fair. Seems a bit odd though that they'd up the prices now after getting the fans along fr a season. The increase is very steep imo and it'l be interesting to see how it affects the crowds

Not to mention that games clash with Conacht Rugby who kick off at 6.30pm on Fridays. You can actually see the floodlight pylons at Connacht Rugby from Terryland. They frequently get crowds around 2000+

Here are some other factors to consider:

Kids were admitted for free last season (who were accounted for in the official attendance numbers). Next season they will pay. Schooligans will have to move elsewhere.

There are no freeloaders at Galway United. Everyone from the chairman to the volunteer stewards pay to get in.

Galway is very popular with tourists. Galway United is heavily promoted to foreign tourists at the local Tourist Information kiosks. There is even a multilingual poster with fixtures, directions to Terryland etc.

I'm guessing when I say that I believe a lot of other LOI fans like coming to Galway albeit moreso for the beer that the football. :D

Next season will be interesting.

25/11/2007, 8:26 AM

Harps won the Cup in 1974 and came second in the League in 1975 and 1976 I think. That was pretty big to be honest.

26/11/2007, 11:00 AM

Harps won the Cup in 1974 and came second in the League in 1975 and 1976 I think. That was pretty big to be honest.

Longford won the Cup in 2003 and 2004, and the League Cup in 2004. This year is their third FAI Cup Final in 3 years - a remarkable achievement for a club of that size

But I don't think anyone would describe them as 'giants' - sleeping or otherwise.....

26/11/2007, 1:30 PM

One cup win and two runners up spots doesn't make a team a 'giant' in my opinion..

I'm sure you could guess who I consider the sleeping giant of Irish football.. :)

26/11/2007, 1:33 PM
One cup win and two runners up spots doesn't make a team a 'giant' in my opinion..

I'm sure you could guess who I consider the sleeping giant of Irish football.. :)

Monaghan United.

Buller
26/11/2007, 3:13 PM
Monaghan United.

Correct! They're larger than life!

neutrino
17/01/2008, 12:51 PM
just wondering if this thread and previous attendance threads 2005,2006,2007 could have all the posts deleted and for just one post to exist with the final figures for each year. came in here through the eircom resources links and there's alot to trawl through to get at the info. just a suggestion.cheers.

17/01/2008, 1:59 PM
Another possibility would be to have a sticky thread with a separate post giving the final figures for each year.

17/01/2008, 6:57 PM
Or you could just look them up on www.european-football-statistics.co.uk

oriel
17/01/2008, 9:30 PM
Longford won the Cup in 2003 and 2004, and the League Cup in 2004. This year is their third FAI Cup Final in 3 years - a remarkable achievement for a club of that size

But I don't think anyone would describe them as 'giants' - sleeping or otherwise.....

Exactly, in my book you need at least 5 lges and 5 cups to be considered BIG, ok I know derry haven`t got there yet steve but you will.

if i recall that harps side who came r/u in mid 70`s had a shocking defeat to derby in the uefa cup, 0-14 i think on agg (on par with drogs v spurs 83)

oriel
17/01/2008, 9:33 PM
sorry - i thought this was live debate - didnt relaise it was mths old.

17/01/2008, 9:34 PM
There are no freeloaders at Galway United. Everyone from the chairman to the volunteer stewards pay to get in.It's funny that you actually believe the chairman pays at the gate:D.

18/01/2008, 8:35 AM
He doesnt pay he has a Season Ticket which he bought same as other Board Members and Managment Committee. Whats so strange about that its always been the way here:rolleyes:

ndrog
18/01/2008, 12:13 PM
Exactly, in my book you need at least 5 lges and 5 cups to be considered BIG, ok I know derry haven`t got there yet steve but you will.

if i recall that harps side who came r/u in mid 70`s had a shocking defeat to derby in the uefa cup, 0-14 i think on agg (on par with drogs v spurs 83)

Yeah and in my book you need to at least play in the premier and not the graveyard for 7 consecutive seasons to be considerd big :rolleyes:
Silly argument tbh . Are there any big clubs in Ireland ?

19/01/2008, 7:26 PM
Are there any big clubs in Ireland ?

That 'Submarine' place in Dublin where they used to always do vox pops from for Ireland games. Feckin huge.

Though it might just be a bar...