View Full Version : eircom League 2007 Attendances
Battery Rover
11/08/2007, 10:08 PM
200 attended Athlone Town vs Kildare County tonight.
The game had everything.
Fork lightning dancing through the sky and heavy rain for one hour solid leading up to the game
Security system in the ground went mad telling everyone to evacuate and not to use the lifts:D
6 goals and 2 players sent off and for the record the worst ref I have ever seen in 30 years.
11/08/2007, 10:10 PM
The game had everything.
Fork lightning dancing through the sky and heavy rain for one hour solid leading up to the game
Security system in the ground went mad telling everyone to evacuate and not to use the lifts:D
6 goals and 2 players sent off and for the record the worst ref I have ever seen in 30 years.
was it Neil Doyle by any chance?
steno
11/08/2007, 10:45 PM
The game had everything.
I'd say that the wheather had a bit of an effect was really heavy rain on the drive up.
I'm going to look for my petrol money back off the team tonight seriously still scratching my head,great start and then go and concede four goals in a row FFS.
First time at the new ground very impressed with the stand,shame about the mad as cootes and website though.
Tjought the ref was good Battery rover one of the best performances I've seen for one all season.
12/08/2007, 12:08 AM
Kilkenny v Limerick : 84
Of whom 56 were Limerick fans
12/08/2007, 12:41 AM
was it Neil Doyle by any chance?
I was thinking the same myself!
Red Army
12/08/2007, 8:39 AM
I think 284 was the official for UCD-Galway tonight, although schumi counted 340. Still, will take the official figure.
I don't know which is sadder the attendance or the fact that someone counted every one at the game. Maybe he needs to get out more
Drogheda are lying and cheating of course ! and your obviously the worst judge of a crowd size ever :D
I can judge the crowd fine. If you're officially allowed 2,000 (apologies) then officially there couldn't have been more than 1,800 there as there was fair bit of space on your side.
Officially ;)
Partizan
12/08/2007, 12:37 PM
plus the season ticket holders so about 1300 altogether
350 of that Rovers supporters
1120 is those who paid in. That excludes the season ticket holders. The stand was close to full approx 1220 (few empty seats at the front of Block D & E)with about 150 standing at either side.
about 1370 there with about 300 Rovers fans.
Midgit
12/08/2007, 12:51 PM
Sligo Rovers -V- Bray Wanderers: 2,500.
dublinwanderer
12/08/2007, 12:53 PM
I'd guess around 2,800 myself.
Red stand full, blue stand almost full, which brings it to roughly 2,550 and others behind each goal.
yeah about 1500 kids bused in to fill the seats!!
12/08/2007, 12:56 PM
Sligo Rovers -V- Bray Wanderers: 2,500.Source? Or if it's a guess then say it.
Midgit
12/08/2007, 3:49 PM
Source? Or if it's a guess then say it.
Whith new turnstiles they can get a very close estimate of the crowd. I asked an official on my way out and he said it was 2,500.
Think about it and he is right.
Red stand = full bar the odd seat hear or there say less 50, and the wooden bench up the back was empty. Cap without wooden bench is 1,550. 1,550 - 50 = 1,500(Red stand).
Blue stand = Full up to the Bray fans section where maybe less 100 seats. Capacity 850 - 100 = 750(blue stand)
Standing around = Behind railway and Shed end altogether 300
1,500 + 750 + 300 = 2,550. Hence 2,500
half_full
12/08/2007, 3:57 PM
I'll check that with the clubs press officer to clear it up for the future.
good man, ive never seen them being recorded though
I would go with 2,000 at Dundalk v Cobh today - very impressive crowd up from Cobh for such a long journey
LeixlipRed
12/08/2007, 9:38 PM
549 today for Shels v Harps. 746 for shels v Monaghan. Both official
13/08/2007, 1:02 AM
I would go with 2,000 at Dundalk v Cobh today - very impressive crowd up from Cobh for such a long journey
It might happen more often if yer games wernt on a Thursday night!
The Lilywhites
13/08/2007, 1:20 AM
It might happen more often if yer games wernt on a Thursday night!
Yawn!
13/08/2007, 7:59 AM
very impressive crowd up from Cobh for such a long journey
wasnt bad alright was it, more than we all expected. Fair few young ****ed lads though, brings us bacj to the plastic cups, serving uunderage debate though so fook it. Point, think 2 teams would have taken it before hand.
13/08/2007, 6:01 PM
Update after the weekend. (2) is a game in the second series of matches. Figures in brackets are averages in previous seasons.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,006 (2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340) (missing Cork)
Bray - 1,195 (1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cork - 3,256 (2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 2,913 (3,229; 2,698; 1,672) (missing Drogheda, Longford and Waterford)
Drogheda - 1,889 (1,751; 1,682; 1,554) (missing Waterford)
Galway - 2,170 (1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Longford - 641 (681; 1,004; 1,131)
Pat's - 1,907 (1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - 1,770 (1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349) (missing Derry)
Sligo - 1,461 (1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 671 (546; 653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 1,204 (915; 1,513; 1,753)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 727 (421; 316; 291)
Cobh - 538 (368; 403; 240)
Dundalk - 1,592 (1,078; 474; 591)
Harps - 641 (428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) (missing Wexford)
Kildare - 249 (265; 186; 298)
Kilkenny - 153 (122; 185; 110) (missing Monaghan and Dundalk 2)
Limerick - 767 (364; 669; 188)
Monaghan - 283 (204; 183; 182) (missing Kilkenny 2 and Wexford 2)
Shels - 993 (1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Wexford - 1,063 (n/a) (missing Kildare)
Premier Division average - 1,691 (1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 716 (570; 520; 512)
Overall average - 1,224 (1,070; 1,195; 1,218)
FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.
Recent matches missing -
Bohs v Cork
Derry v Longford
Rovers v Derry
Harps v Wexford
Wexford v Kildare
Bohs v Cork City.
Pure guess but maybe 2000-2200?
13/08/2007, 11:29 PM
Derry v Longford
Wouldn't know the Brandywell very well but I would guess whatever the stand holds plus 100 more.
Louth4sam
14/08/2007, 8:34 AM
I would have thought a bit less myself. dundalkfc.com is giving 1700 as the attendance. Not bad for a sunday afternoon.
Yes, on second thoughts 2,000 was a bit high, I`m happy to reduce my estimate to 1,800 but if the official site is saying 1,700, this is prob the more accurate figure, maybe split the diff, up to you Stu.
14/08/2007, 12:13 PM
I thought it was around 1,800 myself at the game.
14/08/2007, 12:20 PM
how ye can tell the difference between 100 i dunno. I wouldnt be able to tell ya to the nearest 500 how many were there, unless of course it was 1,750 at it.
bohs til i die
14/08/2007, 12:40 PM
Bohs v Cork City.
Pure guess but maybe 2000-2200?
Not even close, was about 1300
I did say was a guess & just shows how difficult to judge looking across from section A to F.
I did wonder why ye so quiet ;)
14/08/2007, 1:43 PM
just realised there, there was more at the Ramblers Dundalk game than there was at the City Bohs game. City Bohs being one of the biggest games in the league outside Derbys, two of irelands biggest clubs like. thats a good boast for division 1 right there.
Official 264 at UCD V Galway
14/08/2007, 2:25 PM
Official 264 at UCD V Galway
thats very bad, surlry that not usual is it?
how ye can tell the difference between 100 i dunno. I wouldnt be able to tell ya to the nearest 500 how many were there, unless of course it was 1,750 at it.
Depends where you watched the game from, for instance if you were in the stand like me it can difficult to judge or estimate the crowd on the shed side, and there are a few 'blind' spots like each side of the stand. Similarly if you are in the away terrace, you cant judge the crowd in either the stand or the terrace to the far side of the stand.
I reduced my estimate based on the stand not been as full as I first thought (this holds 1,300)
thats very bad, surlry that not usual is it?
No its not average this year is 670. This was the worst of the season by a long way and coupled with the late concession of the (deserved) equaliser made for a very uncomfortable drive home!
For similar attractions weve been geting 350-450 so this was dissapointing.
14/08/2007, 4:24 PM
Update after the weekend. (2) is a game in the second series of matches. Figures in brackets are averages in previous seasons.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,006 (2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340) (missing Cork)
Derry - 2,913 (3,229; 2,698; 1,672) (missing Drogheda, Longford and Waterford)
Drogheda - 1,889 (1,751; 1,682; 1,554) (missing Waterford)
Longford - 641 (681; 1,004; 1,131)
Pat's - 1,907 (1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - 1,770 (1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349) (missing Derry)
Sligo - 1,461 (1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 671 (546; 653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 1,204 (915; 1,513; 1,753)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 727 (421; 316; 291)
Cobh - 538 (368; 403; 240)
Dundalk - 1,592 (1,078; 474; 591)
Harps - 641 (428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) (missing Wexford)
Kilkenny - 153 (122; 185; 110) (missing Monaghan and Dundalk 2)
Limerick - 767 (364; 669; 188)
Monaghan - 283 (204; 183; 182) (missing Kilkenny 2 and Wexford 2)
Shels - 993 (1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Wexford - 1,063 (n/a) (missing Kildare)
Premier Division average - 1,691 (1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 716 (570; 520; 512)
Overall average - 1,224 (1,070; 1,195; 1,218)
FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.
Recent matches missing -
Bohs v Cork
Derry v Longford
Rovers v Derry
Harps v Wexford
Wexford v Kildare
Rovers v Derry official attendance 1275. More than we would have got on the friday. Wouldnt mind playing all games in tolka on saturday nights to be honest.
14/08/2007, 4:38 PM
NY are Rovers playing Shams in Dublin on a saturday night in a couple of months time ?
No but Rovers are playing sligo:
Sat. 27 Oct EL Shamrock Rovers v Sligo Rovers Tolka Park 8.00
If you win friday this game will be postponed to a midweek fixture.
Sunny Jim
14/08/2007, 4:42 PM
I can't find an official attendance for Wexford v Kildare but I would guess about 350.
MeathDrog
14/08/2007, 4:44 PM
Update after the weekend. (2) is a game in the second series of matches.
Do Pat's still release official crowds? Website doesn't seem to announce them any more.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,006 (2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340)
Derry - 2,913 (3,229; 2,698; 1,672) (missing Drogheda and Waterford)
Drogheda - 1,813 (1,751; 1,682; 1,554) (missing Waterford)
Longford - 615 (681; 1,004; 1,131)
Pat's - 2,029 (1,342; 1,599; 1,882) (missing Cork)
Rovers - 1,770 (1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 1,357 (1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 711 (546; 653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 1,194 (915; 1,513; 1,753)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 775 (421; 316; 291)
Cobh - 540 (368; 403; 240)
Dundalk - 1,610 (1,078; 474; 591) (missing Athlone)
Harps - 640 (428; 1,347 PD; 1,106) (missing Monaghan)
Kilkenny - 161 (122; 185; 110) (missing Monaghan and Dundalk 2)
Limerick - 778 (364; 669; 188) (missing Harps)
Monaghan - 231 (204; 183; 182) (missing Dundalk 2, Kilkenny 2 and Wexford 2)
Shels - 1,081 (1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD) (missing Athlone 2)
Wexford - 1,063 (n/a)
Premier Division average - 1,706 (1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 714 (570; 520; 512)
Overall average - 1,242 (1,070; 1,195; 1,218)
Recent matches missing -
Dundalk v Athlone
Harps v Monaghan
Monaghan v Dundalk
Shels v Athlone
Interesting
14/08/2007, 5:33 PM
Fran Gavin's gone a bit quiet lately hasn't he:confused:
620 total attendance at Waterford United v Sligo Rovers as per a journalist on btid.:(Some people must have decided to stay at home and watch on tv in comfort rather than go to the game in the rain and wind.
18/08/2007, 1:37 PM
620 total attendance at Waterford United v Sligo Rovers as per a journalist on btid.:(Some people must have decided to stay at home and watch on tv in comfort rather than go to the game in the rain and wind.
That is absolutely woeful. There'll be over 8 times as many people at the Harps-Derry game, and that's only because capacity is stopping any more from going.
Well done TG4. Another great showcase for the league..... :o
LeixlipRed
18/08/2007, 2:10 PM
It was actually a pretty good game. The weather was atrocious. It wasn't a Derby game either. But the mighty Derry would be far less embarassing for the league
18/08/2007, 2:29 PM
Between 80-100 Rovers fans there last night. Terrible conditions for a game.
There needs to be a review of what games are shown on tv. Minimum crowds must be considered.
Cork City v Kilkenny 1,500
Dr.Nightdub
18/08/2007, 5:52 PM
Guessing about 1700 for Bray v Pats last night - say 1250 for the greenhouse stand, 300 of us out in the elements and 150 or so behind the goal.
MeathDrog
18/08/2007, 7:42 PM
There was about 5,000 at the Drogs V Helsingborgs game.I know it wasnt the league but ts still a good showing
dublinred
18/08/2007, 9:07 PM
Crowd looked bad on Tv whats the story down there I rembember much larger crowds at Kilcowen won't critise those who went as a lot of them will be in the showgies on tuesday.
Saint MacDara
18/08/2007, 10:09 PM
There needs to be a review of what games are shown on tv. Minimum crowds must be considered.
How will that work?
We sometimes dont know what the attendance was after a game,how in heaven's sake will the TV companies know what the attendance will be beforehand?
If they took a guess or used last year's figures Finn Harps still wouldnt have a game televised.
19/08/2007, 12:30 AM
How will that work?
We sometimes dont know what the attendance was after a game,how in heaven's sake will the TV companies know what the attendance will be beforehand?
If they took a guess or used last year's figures Finn Harps still wouldnt have a game televised.
Anyone with a half-decent knowledge of the Eircom league could've looked down that list of fixtures and seen that the Harps-Derry game was clearly the tie of the round, was guaranteed to get the biggest crowd, and would have the best atmosphere.
If you couldn't foresee that - well, then I guess you musn't be following the league that closely or for that long.....
Here's some unedited footage of what atmosphere looks like, for those who had to suffer the live game on Friday : :)
I0Skwtr2plc
19/08/2007, 1:12 AM
won't critise those who went as a lot of them will be in the showgies on tuesday.Very much doubt that.
WindmillWarrior
19/08/2007, 1:06 PM
Drogs v Waterford was around the 1,500 mark.
Drogs v Pats was around the 2,500 mark.
19/08/2007, 4:18 PM
I can't remember the last time i watched a football match on TV to look at the crowd usually more interested in the game itself.
The atmosphere is part of the package, and as we can't compete with the English and Scottish product on footballing quality - all we have to attract fans to our game is local pride/identity and atmosphere. Remove one part of that, and we're left with very little.
As stated on another post, my first Derry game was a woeful spectacle of First Division football, where we lost 1:0 to the mighty EMFA on a freezing Sunday afternoon in December. Was it the fluid football that got me hooked that day ? Was it ****. It was the atmosphere and the craic on the terraces. Had that game been played in a near empty stadium with no atmosphere, I doubt I'd have gone back.
How will we ever get curious people off their armchair and into a stadium if it looks and sounds like EL games are played in a library...?