View Full Version : eircom League 2007 Attendances
Thunder-WYFC
02/04/2007, 10:10 AM
Decent crowds for a new team either way.
Do you think you can hold onto them ? Are these 'football people' in the main, or just curious locals with a new play-thing ?
Well I think we can definitely hold onto 1500 and when the new stand is built Id say we'll fill it so that will be 1650.Attendance figures wernt helped yesterday by the hurlers playing at 3.30.Theres all real enthusiasm down here for the game and the fans know that Wallace has a 5/6 year plan so I think most will stay no matter the results for the first 2/3 seasons.
Midgit
02/04/2007, 10:14 AM
My - completely uneducated - guess for Sligo-UCD was about 1200. Not a great crowd, although it did fill up from about 500 shortly before kick off. Main stand was maybe half full in total, a handful of people standing behind either goal and the blue stand was fuller than the last time I was down.
Rovers where 3rd best supported team last year but it seems the Sunday afternoon Kick-offs is having a huge effect on our attendences.
Lets just hope the we can get the Floodlights up on time for our next home game -V- Pats. We should get in over 2000 for that one if it is on a saterday night.
02/04/2007, 10:19 AM
have ye been given any official update when the floodlights will be fitted yet?
Midgit
02/04/2007, 10:24 AM
Mid April was the date given to the fans and Media.
ForzaWexford
02/04/2007, 10:39 AM
Well I think we can definitely hold onto 1500 and when the new stand is built Id say we'll fill it so that will be 1650.
The new stand will hold 2300 if everything goes according to plan. Architect's drawings are upstairs in the clubhouse....
Judging by the 2130 figure for the Cobh game I'd say 1500 might be a little bit conservative for yesterdays game, but it's not far off either.
Thunder-WYFC
02/04/2007, 11:23 AM
But there was 500 in the clubhouse for the Cobh game that wernt included!
I read 2,500-3,000 for Cork City v Longford but will need to check...
very dissapointing crowd for Rovers -v- Galway smaller than both last years fixtures in the 1st division 1,000 max with 100/150 from united.I was shocked how small the crowd was.
You have to allow for the fact that while last year Galway were one of the biggest games for Rovers this year they're one of the smallest. It's always the same when you go up, what was an eagerly anticipated fixture one year becomes relatively uninteresting the next.
02/04/2007, 12:34 PM
1,400 guestimate at rovers v galway...
very dissapointing crowd for Rovers -v- Galway smaller than both last years fixtures in the 1st division 1,000 max with 100/150 from united.I was shocked how small the crowd was.
considering there was 1400 at the game last season there was nowhere near it on friday.Main stand was just about half full another 150 in the riverside and less tahn 100 in the new stand it felt like we were playing SHELS!
JC_GUFC
02/04/2007, 1:43 PM
I was thinking 1300 at the Rovers v United match myself.
02/04/2007, 2:19 PM
1100 at the game with about 50/60 Galway.
agree on the attendance but there was deffo over 100 from Galway not all in the riverside as some wouldnt be seen dead with our genuine fans.
05/04/2007, 7:52 PM
Update after week 4.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 3,325 (2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340)
Bray - 1,800 (1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cork - 3,000 (2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 3,750 (3,229; 2,698; 1,672)
Drogheda - 1,600 (1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Galway - 2,680 (1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Longford - 900 (681; 1,004; 1,131)
Pat's - 1,732 (1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - 1,700 (1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 1,400 (1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 1,195 (546; 653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 1,800 (915; 1,513; 1,753)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 1,750 (421; 316; 291)
Cobh - 314 (368; 403; 240)
Dundalk - 2,350 (1,078; 474; 591)
Harps - 875 (428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Kildare - 230 (265; 186; 298)
Kilkenny - 175 (122; 185; 110)
Limerick - 934 (364; 669; 188)
Monaghan - 250 (204; 183; 182)
Shels - 1,798 (1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Wexford - 1,815 (n/a)
Premier Division average - 2,008 (1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 1,049 (570; 520; 512)
Overall average - 1,572 (1,070; 1,195; 1,218)
FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.
3600 according to this, fairly safe to say it's pretty accurate- http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showpost.php?p=35608&postcount=115
05/04/2007, 8:00 PM
Updated; cheers.
BohsFans
05/04/2007, 8:15 PM
Bohemians 2-1 Scumrocks - 3,572.
higgins
05/04/2007, 10:17 PM
Your update seems to be wrong...
Shels had 1700 for the Kildare game followed by 1892 for the Dundalk game.
As confirmed by 'club official' ShelsW on the Shels forum.
monutdfc
05/04/2007, 10:33 PM
Monaghan v Kilkenny - I didn't make the game but saw some video clips last night and the crowd was, let's say, sparse, I'm afraid. Say 120.
05/04/2007, 11:20 PM
Actually it was a bit more....officially I think it was 191.
WindmillWarrior
06/04/2007, 1:59 PM
No punts on crowd at Drogs v City yet ?
The capacity was supposed to be set for 1,500 but I understand there was more in attendance than that. Say about 2,000.
peterc1992
06/04/2007, 8:15 PM
I dont understand what pineapple stu wrote,athlone were not at home week 4 so how does it have the attendance?
Its an average attandance after the 4 weeks of the league. You must have played at least one game at home by now this season but not necessarily last week thats why you are down for 1,750.
06/04/2007, 9:19 PM
1000 at Town v Drogs
Paddyfield
06/04/2007, 9:52 PM
Official attendances at Galway United V. St. Patrick's Athletic -2855
LeixlipRed
06/04/2007, 10:14 PM
About 1000 there tonight at Tolka. Maybe a little over. shocking stuff as well
bohs til i die
06/04/2007, 10:17 PM
Bohs v Sligo
06/04/2007, 11:15 PM
I dont understand what pineapple stu wrote,athlone were not at home week 4 so how does it have the attendance?
How did your attendance halve? Or did you in fact mean "have"? I'm confused.
2000 v Kilkenny and 1500 v Wexford are the figures I have. 1750 overall overage.
About 400 at UCD-Waterford tonight. Will get official figure here later.
oriel
06/04/2007, 11:26 PM
Just back from Monaghan, would estimate 850, of which 600 were from dundalk, mons fans at the game will know better re the attendance as i dont know how much the stand holds (which was full)
paddyfield - thats an excellent crowd for galway considering your poor start to the season
Monkfish
06/04/2007, 11:27 PM
L37 v Finn Harps.
Paddyfield
07/04/2007, 6:07 AM
paddyfield - thats an excellent crowd for galway considering your poor start to the season
It was Good Friday. The pubs were closed. :D
We are at home again on Friday to Longfart Town. That will be a test.
Didn't look that many at the game in Terryland. Good crowd from Pats
Green&whitearmy
07/04/2007, 11:23 AM
Bray - Rovers, very good crowd, all the papers are saying around 3500, but I'd say more around 2700 figure, good rovers support, nearly filled the whole stand.
07/04/2007, 1:02 PM
Didn't look that many at the game in Terryland.
:rolleyes: Funny you should think that, we've heard this so many times before :ball:
07/04/2007, 1:11 PM
Bray - Rovers, very good crowd, all the papers are saying around 3500, but I'd say more around 2700 figure, good rovers support, nearly filled the whole stand.
Irish Times quoted "over 2,500"
07/04/2007, 1:22 PM
About 1000 there tonight at Tolka. Maybe a little over. shocking stuff as well
Agreed, MR on the RI site guessed the same!
Official attendances at Galway United V. St. Patrick's Athletic -2855
What was the official away figure reckon we took about 300 more maybe?
Paddyfield
07/04/2007, 7:27 PM
What was the official away figure reckon we took about 300 more maybe?
Yeah. They announced it on the PA after half time. Pat's were allocated 400 tickets.
Paddyfield
07/04/2007, 7:28 PM
:rolleyes: Funny you should think that, we've heard this so many times before :ball:
Where did you hear this before? And what exactly did you hear?
Spill the beans gael353, the truth must be known.
Patrick Dunne
07/04/2007, 7:35 PM
The stand was fully seated (1750 seats, so we'll say 1700 punters)
There was at least 300 standing at the back of the stand.
Small crowd at the car-park end (100 ?), but the other two sides of the
ground contained 1-3 rows of standing punters at all places, and more at the
clubhouse.
Would have estimated it at 2700-3000 before attendance announced.
As Paddyfield said, decent attendance, but Good Friday/league leaders/good away following swelled the crowd considerably.
We have Longford at home on Friday next, 1500 would probably be a decent turnout for this one. Connacht Rugby playing at the same time.
onephillyhughes
07/04/2007, 9:20 PM
Aye massive crowd from Dundalk in Monaghan last night, shame the standard of play was terrible!! Useless with crowds so going to let someone else put a figure on it
08/04/2007, 12:05 PM
I'd say there was about 900 there.
Thunder-WYFC
08/04/2007, 8:59 PM
About 1200 at Wexford today I think,,thats good considering the footballers and hurlers both had big games!
The Man Himself
09/04/2007, 3:01 PM
waterford seem to be up by a couple of hundred this season so far
Where did you hear this before? And what exactly did you hear?
Spill the beans gael353, the truth must be known.
He's talking about the attendences being bumped up by Galway last year to make it look like more people came to the games. I remember the first Limerick visit of the season to Terryland where we counted about 700-800 people, but the official attendence given a few days later had it around the 1,300 mark I think, which was just a complete lie. Throughout the season away fans of other clubs made the point that they noticed similiar things happening, but Galway kept on(and apparantly keep on) denying it
Paddyfield
09/04/2007, 10:29 PM
He's talking about the attendences being bumped up by Galway last year to make it look like more people came to the games. I remember the first Limerick visit of the season to Terryland where we counted about 700-800 people, but the official attendence given a few days later had it around the 1,300 mark I think, which was just a complete lie. Throughout the season away fans of other clubs made the point that they noticed similiar things happening, but Galway kept on(and apparantly keep on) denying it
How can you count "700-800 people". Was it 700? Or was it 800? Maybe it was 746? Or indeed 1,300? Sure if Galway United are faking the official figures, then the Club will be found out by the FAI and will be relegated and fined.
Sorted. Thanks for tipping us off jebus.
PS I will be away next week. The official attendence at the Galway Uniited V Longford Town game on April 13th will be 2031. Longford will bring 63 fans and Galway United will lose another home game by a late goal.
Somethings are just too predicatble jebus.
-------------------
Galway Utd v Pats video (http://www.stpatsfc.com/watch_video.php?id=52) so judge for yourself the attendance...
JC_GUFC
09/04/2007, 10:53 PM
Well if there were 2 of you maybe one of you counted one half of the ground and another counted another half giving you 1400-1600 which wouldn't be far off the mark.
Another possibility is that you can't count.
I guess it's a bit easier at Limerick's games... Does the dog the 2 men bring along count as a spectator? What about the guys who had to run around the other side of the wall to collect the ball so the match could restart?!
09/04/2007, 11:17 PM
Does the dog the 2 men bring along count as a spectator?!
We don't charge for dogs :rolleyes:
What about the guys who had to run around the other side of the wall to collect the ball so the match could restart?
He's a freebie due to his ballboy duties.
Anyhoo, nice to see the first division average up so high even without Galway and Rovers. Would be a lot higher too without Monaghan and Kilkenny
Monkfish
09/04/2007, 11:28 PM
Leave the Galway Lads alone! we all now know their bumping up of attendences is due to them seeing double due to their funny water! remember to boil the water lads! concern are digging a well as we speak. Thanks to the people of Uganda for their kind donations.