View Full Version : eircom League 2007 Attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

17/03/2007, 5:48 PM
I'd say around 2,000 at Rovers/Derry game today.

17/03/2007, 7:08 PM
I'd say around 2,000 at Rovers/Derry game today.

i'd say 1650, only bout 200 derry supporters

17/03/2007, 9:09 PM
i'd say 1650, only bout 200 derry supporters

"Only" about 200 Derry fans ? For a Saturday afternoon kick-off on Paddy's Day ?!?! With the rugby on as well !?

Feck - how many away fans do you usually get down there....? :confused:

17/03/2007, 9:13 PM
"Only" about 200 Derry fans ? For a Saturday afternoon kick-off on Paddy's Day ?!?! With the rugby on as well !?

Feck - how many away fans do you usually get down there....? :confused:

didn't mean it like that. i was just expecting a few more. i doubt any other club would have brought half what ye did so fair play

Philly
17/03/2007, 10:29 PM
I'd go form 250 @ County/Mons game. Not bad considering the game was played in awful, stormy conditions.

A decent few Mons made the trip down too, fair play.

17/03/2007, 10:58 PM
Approx 2000 at Rovers-Longfore per the Rovers forum (http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showpost.php?p=33040&postcount=5). One person said 1200-1300 though. Think Rovers usually do official figures, so that'll probably get confirmed one way or the other in due course.

1855 official for Pat's-Waterford per the Pat's website (http://www.stpatsfc.com/attendances.php?id=78&comp=league).

18/03/2007, 11:22 AM
Approx 2000 at Rovers-Longfore per the Rovers forum (http://www.srfcultrasforum.com/forum/showpost.php?p=33040&postcount=5). One person said 1200-1300 though. Think Rovers usually do official figures, so that'll probably get confirmed one way or the other in due course.

Would have guessed 1500 myself, although not used to estimating numbers in Tolka.

steno
18/03/2007, 11:54 AM
I'd go form 250 @ County/Mons game. Not bad considering the game was played in awful, stormy conditions.

A decent few Mons made the trip down too, fair play.

I second that number, damn you Philly you beat me to it!.

Good crowd for County considering that its was St. Pats days, Ireland in the rugby and the really poor weather. Was actually surprised to see over 200 there tbh.

thedoyler
18/03/2007, 4:04 PM
Bray v Bohs 2,500 reported in the papers i would say it was pretty close to that allright.

18/03/2007, 4:32 PM
Well I cant see how you reckoned 250 at all...I think closer to 180-200. It was like our worst attendances of last year. Not that I could blame people not coming out on that nite. One of the worst I have ever experienced.

Philly
18/03/2007, 4:37 PM
Worst what? Matches or weather?! :p

18/03/2007, 4:56 PM
2000+ mentioned (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=55748) for Wexford v Cobh.

Anyone at Kilkenny v Dundalk?

18/03/2007, 5:04 PM
Worst what? Matches or weather?! :p

Both!

steno
18/03/2007, 5:12 PM
2000+ mentioned (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=55748) for Wexford v Cobh.

2,130 mentioned on the FAI website very good crowd.

http://www.eircomloi.ie/match_report_11.htm

Philly
18/03/2007, 5:46 PM
Biggest crowd in the league and they don't even pay wages! That man is smart...

Buller
18/03/2007, 5:54 PM
Biggest crowd in the league and they don't even pay wages! That man is smart...

that man has common sense!!!

WindmillWarrior
18/03/2007, 6:17 PM
Seemed a lower crowd than usual at Drogs-UCD. Usually about 1500, so maybe 1300?

Actually thought it was a better than usual sized crowd myself Stu! Would have put it closer to the 2,000 mark.

Also, 3,500 at our game v Linfield. Not sure if you do Setanta matches though.

18/03/2007, 6:23 PM
The far terrace looked a lot more sparse than usual - certainly a fair few gaps, even in the middle.

The near side was fuller than normal, though, because you can't cross from one side to the other now. Maybe it compensated. Don't know what side you were at though? If you were in the main terrace, you mightn't have seen the gaps?

WindmillWarrior
18/03/2007, 6:56 PM
Yeah, I was in the main terrace but I usually take a walk down it to check out the size of the crowd.

A couple of match pics with the crowd in the background here:

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Gallery.asp?SeasonID=6&FixtureID=657

Nothing definitive or anything though!

18/03/2007, 8:19 PM

I'd say there was around 150 or 200 there. Not familiar with the ground so it was hard to tell. A Kilkenny fan would know better.

18/03/2007, 10:11 PM
Figures from the weekend so - feel free to debate...

Bray v Bohs 2500
Cork v Galway 3000
Drogheda v UCD 1700 (honestly don't think it was as high as 2000; going to split the difference between myself and Windmill Warrior)
Pat's v Waterford 1855
Rovers v Longford 2000
Sligo v Derry 2000

Harps v Shels 1100
Kildare v Monaghan 250 (appeal from Monaghan fans that it should be nearer 180/200)
Kilkenny v Dundalk 150
Limerick v Athlone 1125
Wexford v Cobh 2130

18/03/2007, 10:14 PM
Update after week 2

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 3,078 (2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340)
Bray - 2,500 (1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cork - 3,000 (2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 4,000 (3,229; 2,698; 1,672)
Drogheda - 1,700 (1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Galway - 3,314 (1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Longford - 1,000 (681; 1,004; 1,131)
Pat's - 1,855 (1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - 2,000 (1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 1,500 (1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 1,645 (546; 653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 3,000 (915; 1,513; 1,753)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 2,000 (421; 316; 291)
Cobh - 375 (368; 403; 240)
Dundalk - 2,500 (1,078; 474; 591)
Harps - 1,100 (428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Kildare - 250 (265; 186; 298)
Kilkenny - 150 (122; 185; 110)
Limerick - 1,125 (364; 669; 188)
Monaghan - 309 (204; 183; 182)
Shels - 1,572 (1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Wexford - 2,130 (n/a)

Premeir Division average - 2,227 (1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 1,151 (570; 520; 512)

Overall average - 1,738 (1,070; 1,195; 1,218)

FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.

Buller
18/03/2007, 10:20 PM

Bray v Bohs 2500
Cork v Galway 3000
Drogheda v UCD 1700 (honestly don't think it was as high as 2000; going to split the difference between myself and TheBoss)
Pat's v Waterford 1855
Rovers v Longford 2000
Sligo v Derry 2000

Harps v Shels 1100
Kildare v Monaghan 250 (appeal from Monaghan fans that it should be nearer 180/200)
Kilkenny v Dundalk 150
Limerick v Athlone 1125
Wexford v Cobh 2130

Which totals up to give a total of 17,810 for series 2...

higgins
19/03/2007, 12:45 PM
Shels figure was 1700 for the Kildare game.

19/03/2007, 12:47 PM
Update after week 2

Any chance of even an asterisk or something like that to show clubs who release official figures and those with fan guesses?

19/03/2007, 6:06 PM
Will give it a try, although it'd vary even in the same club (sometimes we'd get an official figure and sometimes an unofficial figure).

Galway, Limerick, Shels, Pat's, Monaghan, Wexford, UCD and Bohs above are all official.

19/03/2007, 9:14 PM
i'd say 1650, only bout 200 derry supportersHalf your estimate of Sligo fans and double the Derry support and you'll be closer.

One of your fans posted elsewhere that he counted 400 Derry fans, which seems about right from being among them, and the home stand was nowhere near full.

If pushed I'd guess attendence of 1200-1300.

As for whoever said 2,000, some Cork-like self promotion going on there.

19/03/2007, 9:27 PM
Good spot. Going to take out the 2000 anyway; will split difference between 1650 and 1300 and say 1500? Tending towards the home fan's estimate, knowing their own ground and all that.

20/03/2007, 12:51 AM
Cork v Galway 3000

I think could go for 3300 there:
Main Stand conservatively 1550/1850
Derrynane 750/1100
St Annes End 1000/2750 (includes people standing at the back.

GalwayFrancis
23/03/2007, 9:58 PM
official attendance of 2845 in terryland tonight.

BohsFans
23/03/2007, 10:19 PM
are the away fans in a different section in the Brandywell now?

Paddyfield
23/03/2007, 10:22 PM
official attendance of 2845 in terryland tonight.

Are you sure? I thought it was announced as 2045. It will be confirmed on the official site shortly.

BohsFans
23/03/2007, 10:24 PM
there was 7-- at the Limerick 37 - Kildare County game.

GalwayFrancis
23/03/2007, 10:33 PM
Are you sure? I thought it was announced as 2045. It will be confirmed on the official site shortly.

to be honest i couldnt tell you, i was pretty sure it was 2845, could be wrong. good crowd anyways and great atmosphere in the second half, pity there wasnt more drogs fans down. good friday should be a sell out, with a large away attendance

23/03/2007, 11:49 PM
About 1400-1500 at Shels game, decent away support - as predicted I can see our crowds dropping big time!

23/03/2007, 11:51 PM
560 at UCD-Cork, I think it was.

Da Real Rover
24/03/2007, 8:52 AM
Half your estimate of Sligo fans and double the Derry support and you'll be closer.

One of your fans posted elsewhere that he counted 400 Derry fans, which seems about right from being among them, and the home stand was nowhere near full.

If pushed I'd guess attendence of 1200-1300.

As for whoever said 2,000, some Cork-like self promotion going on there.

That is absolute sh!te, no way was there 1200. That is ridiculous. The new stand holds 1600, granted it wasnt full but not far off. With approximately 400 derry fans and approximately 1400 in the new stand, thats 1800. A far more accurate approximation. No ridiculous exaggeration of figures.

sfc red
24/03/2007, 9:52 AM
1800+ at Shels v Dundalk, confirmed by ShelsWeb.

red bellied
24/03/2007, 9:54 AM
That is absolute sh!te, no way was there 1200. That is ridiculous. The new stand holds 1600, granted it wasnt full but not far off. With approximately 400 derry fans and approximately 1400 in the new stand, thats 1800. A far more accurate approximation. No ridiculous exaggeration of figures.

Actually the new stand probably holds a bit more now, they have a wooden bench up the back of the stand. Most people usually stand here though. The Rovers website estimated 1900.

24/03/2007, 10:20 AM
...they have a wooden bench up the back of the stand.

Add 5 to total?

Dundalk wooden bench (http://fcit.usf.edu/florida/photos/historic/rawlin/photos/rawlin39.jpg)

24/03/2007, 10:36 AM
1800+ at Shels v Dundalk, confirmed by ShelsWeb.

Which probably didn't include season ticket holders so probably 2,000 there :cool:

I honestly thought there was a crowd of 1,500 at it - thats twice I have underestimated the crowd this season!

Buller
24/03/2007, 11:08 AM
there was 7-- at the Limerick 37 - Kildare County game.

You sure?
I thought the official attendence was announced as 8...
My rough guesstimate would be 9 anyway!

24/03/2007, 11:08 AM
Official attendance at Limerick37 v Kildare County: 742 :ball:

25/03/2007, 9:04 AM

correct, official attendance was 2045. I would have guessed maybe 40-50 drogs fans.

Midgit
25/03/2007, 11:35 AM
Was amazed at the attendance at the Longford - ROVERS game on friday in Flancare. It was poor.
The Rovers had the same if not more support than Longford.
About 800 is my guess with 400+ Rovers fans.

Does anyone know when the new Shed in Cork will open? Seen it on tv and was very impressed. How much does it hold?

lofty9
25/03/2007, 11:55 AM
are the away fans in a different section in the Brandywell now?

It seems like it. Put over at the Jungle side at the new seats, right behind the away dugout. I'm sure if its a wet night you can always ask to be seated at Block A of the Stand.

25/03/2007, 11:56 AM
agree with the midgit. Around 800-850 would be around the attendance.

half_full
25/03/2007, 12:24 PM
i reckon 1400 plus at the RSC friday night.

home sections of the stand were pretty much full
id say about 900 (give or take) home fans in the stand
usual 100 or so on the bank beside the stand
large enough crowd of roughly 300 plus standing on the far side

about 50 Bray supporters in the away section

a conservative 1400 imo

not a bad crowd for us:)

WindmillWarrior
25/03/2007, 12:43 PM
correct, official attendance was 2045. I would have guessed maybe 40-50 drogs fans.

That is correct. The Drogs were the 45 I reckon :D

25/03/2007, 3:01 PM
117 at Cobh v Harps today.