View Full Version : eircom League 2007 Attendances
11/09/2007, 12:48 PM
1,000 max mentioned on the Cork board.Has anyone told Arkaga?:D
Sunny Jim
12/09/2007, 3:58 PM
892 at Wexford v Shels according to WYFC website.
Has anyone told Arkaga?:D
Tynan was in the stand alright...dont think hel be too happy.Especially since they gave away 5 euro off vouchers at the Irish game.
The club are inviting all the schoolboy teams to come for free this friday though so hopefully wel get a few new regulars
14/09/2007, 10:33 PM
About 1900-2000 at Finn Park tonight vs Dundalk.
15/09/2007, 12:12 AM
About 1900-2000 at Finn Park tonight vs Dundalk.
Tremendous crowd. Though it does show the fair-weather nature of Harp's support these days.
Good result by the way....!
Apparently about 3000 at Cork City v Longford Town...
manic da hoop
15/09/2007, 9:19 PM
1145 official - Rovers-Galway
Rovers fan i work with like me is bewildered as to why both our attds are getting lower every week when Rovers 2nd and playing better than they have in the last 20 years. And Pats have only lost once at home and scored a lot of goals.
He reckons its the loss of shels has turned away a lot of the older fans :eek:
kdjac
15/09/2007, 11:55 PM
About 800 at Sligo vs UCD.
Buller
15/09/2007, 11:57 PM
About 800 at Sligo vs UCD.
Only 800! Thats a very poor crowd for sligo...
16/09/2007, 12:04 AM
Only 800! Thats a very poor crowd for sligo...More than that. Can only blame it on the rugby and the fact that UCD don't bring fans and aren't a crowd puller in general.
16/09/2007, 12:06 AM
More than that. Can only blame it on the rugby and the fact that UCD don't bring fans and aren't a crowd puller in general.
Main stand was half full, with about 100 around the ground. Main Stand is 1,400? We had more fans than Bray and there was 3,000 at that game so you can't use that lame excuse that everyone says.
16/09/2007, 12:10 AM
We had more fans than Bray and there was 3,000 at that game so you can't use that lame excuse that everyone says.More fans than Bray? How do you know:confused:. I only noticed 1 UCD fan there tonight and he looked like an official. Where were ye hiding all yer fans tonight so?
16/09/2007, 12:13 AM
More fans than Bray? How do you know:confused:. I only noticed 1 UCD fan there tonight and he looked like an official. Where were ye hiding all yer fans tonight so?
I thought it was posted on here that Bray only brought 2 fans? There was a group of around 10 down the Railway End.
16/09/2007, 12:25 AM
475 at the Limerick Cobh game Friday night
SPXcyan
16/09/2007, 1:02 AM
Just wondering why you didn't attend? Why didn't you pop in, seing as you were in the neighbourhood?
Was on my way to work :p
Philly
16/09/2007, 1:48 AM
Kildare County v Shels: 450
BleusAvantTout
16/09/2007, 8:01 AM
Any official crowds for the missing games - Drogs, Longford and Waterford?
A few weeks ago I guesstimated there was no more than 3,500 at the Drogs game. I was, for once, attempting to be kind to DCFC. At the time 2,950 seemed a more realistic figure. :rolleyes:
From what I seen on TG4 they would have been pushed to have had 100 in Drogheda on Friday!!! ;)
JC_GUFC
16/09/2007, 2:56 PM
Surprised at that, I'd have thought 1000 at the most. Absolutely awful crowd, United's performance wasn't a whole lot better. :(
dublinwanderer
16/09/2007, 3:52 PM
I thought it was posted on here that Bray only brought 2 fans? There was a group of around 10 down the Railway End.
we had about 30 fans in sligo. only had 2 in cork on a monday night game. any figure for pats v bray? i dont want to guess, very poor attendance imo.
16/09/2007, 7:34 PM
about 1100 id say for our game...
lofty9
16/09/2007, 8:44 PM
A few weeks ago I guesstimated there was no more than 3,500 at the Drogs game. I was, for once, attempting to be kind to DCFC. At the time 2,950 seemed a more realistic figure. :rolleyes:
From what I seen on TG4 they would have been pushed to have had 100 in Drogheda on Friday!!! ;)
We haven't seen 100 away fans at the Brandywell on a Fri night in a long time. So credit to anyone who makes that awful journey to or from Derry on a Friday with all that traffic. It's not exactly the short trip from Belfast down the M1. And for our attendances they have been averaging approx 2500 all season, not bad for a mid table outfit.
BrayUnknowns
17/09/2007, 8:59 AM
we had about 30 fans in sligo. only had 2 in cork on a monday night game. any figure for pats v bray? i dont want to guess, very poor attendance imo.
Yeah between 30 in Sligo but there was more than 2 down in Cork, probably about 15 altogether i reckon but the 2 ads showen were just on their own.
Pats crowd was very poor, defo under 1000 mark, 8/900 tops i reckon.
Battery Rover
17/09/2007, 11:43 AM
Kilkenny City vs Athlone Town Saturday night attendance was about 90 with about 30 of them from Athlone
17/09/2007, 11:45 AM
304 at Wexford v Limerick
May the Lord have mercy on all our souls
I heard a figure of 1500 for the Harps Dundalk game.
Saint MacDara
17/09/2007, 3:29 PM
Pats crowd was very poor, defo under 1000 mark, 8/900 tops i reckon.
1350 is the official figure.
18/09/2007, 7:28 PM
Update after the weekend. (2) is a game in the second series of matches. Figures in brackets are averages in previous seasons.
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 2,040 (2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340) (missing Rovers)
Bray - 1,277 (1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cork - 2,842 (2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 2,900 (3,229; 2,698; 1,672) (missing Longford and Waterford)
Drogheda - 1,792 (1,751; 1,682; 1,554) (missing Derry)
Galway - 2,177 (1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Longford - 735 (681; 1,004; 1,131) (missing St Pat's 2)
Pat's - 1,818 (1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - 1,648 (1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - 1,513 (1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 717 (546; 653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 1,232 (915; 1,513; 1,753)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 709 (421; 316; 291)
Cobh - 558 (368; 403; 240) (missing Athlone 2)
Dundalk - 1,538 (1,078; 474; 591)
Harps - 710 (428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Kildare - 265 (265; 186; 298)
Kilkenny - 144 (122; 185; 110) (missing Kildare 2 and Monaghan)
Limerick - 748 (364; 669; 188) (missing Monaghan)
Monaghan - 266 (204; 183; 182) (missing Cobh 2, Kilkenny 2 and Wexford 2)
Shels - 976 (1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Wexford - 902 (n/a)
Premier Division average - 1,708 (1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 689 (570; 520; 512)
Overall average - 1,231 (1,070; 1,195; 1,218)
FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.
Recent matches missing -
Bohs v Rovers
Drogs v Derry
Cobh v Athlone
Limerick v Monaghan
Battery Rover
18/09/2007, 9:31 PM
Cobh vs Athlone I would have guessed around 670. Lovely sunny afternoon so no excuse for people not to attend.
Paddyfield
18/09/2007, 10:07 PM
The Star quotes an estimated attendance of 2000 for Bohs v Rovers.
This is the biggest football derby in Irish football so where was everyone?
I know it was a Monday but I really would've expected twice that amount.
Was Fair City on the telly?
19/09/2007, 12:02 PM
Nope
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday :)
May I put the poor crowd down to the general public not caring half as much about the league as we think they do*
*Coupled with the fact that going by the tv I would have put it at at least 3000
19/09/2007, 12:03 PM
Recent matches missing -
Limerick v Monaghan
374 :eek:
JC_GUFC
19/09/2007, 12:08 PM
I'd say about 2500 on Monday.
Bohs fans don't seem to have much interest in the league now and the reality is Rovers have very few fans these days.
Erstwhile Bóz
19/09/2007, 12:16 PM
The Star quotes an estimated attendance of 2000 for Bohs v Rovers.
This is the biggest football derby in Irish football so where was everyone?
I know it was a Monday but I really would've expected twice that amount.
Damn right! And it was a super episode.
There was a great crowd, over 3500, at Dalymount on a Tuesday when we thrashed them 2-1 (at the start of the league) and well over 4000 in Tolka on a Friday (in the height of 'summer'). Think the semi-final where we thrashed them 1-0 with ten men was a Tuesday as well and there was an okay crowd at that.
I had a sprained ankle and no funds, but Monday is just a crap, crap, crap, crap, crap night for matches (and there wasn't even any television money for this one). The littlest excuse that would put you off making the usual effort to get to the game is magnified about twenty times on a Monday. Bohs drawing in Waterford was a fecking killer in that regard.
19/09/2007, 1:12 PM
I'd say about 2500 on Monday.
Bohs fans don't seem to have much interest in the league now and the reality is Rovers have very few fans these days.
We had probably more there than the home club. 4-0 hitting you hard I see?
Erstwhile no excuse to miss a Rovers bohs game. Agree its a crap night to have it but your club had called off the original fixture cos 2 of your players MIGHT get a game for the U21s.
Erstwhile Bóz
19/09/2007, 2:04 PM
You would have to wonder to people from Dublin really want domestic football !?
It was probably over 4,000 if you include all the culchie guards on overtime, though.
NavanBohs
19/09/2007, 3:20 PM
The Star are always WAY off with their attendances, I dont know how anyone can believe them. Its unbelievable sometimes how far off they are, it slike they just pick a random number and stick it down.
There was a a fair bit more than 2,000 in Dalymount Monday night.
JC_GUFC
19/09/2007, 3:49 PM
We had probably more there than the home club. 4-0 hitting you hard I see?
So do you think your attendances are good? You probably had about 800 in the Connacht St side on Monday and there weren't a whole lot more than 1000 at Friday's triumph!
You're second in the league and the only team who can realistically challenge Drogheda.
You're the new Shels, the only difference is that you're not spending money you don't have and have got into the position you're in through hard work and good management.
19/09/2007, 4:02 PM
So do you think your attendances are good? You probably had about 800 in the Connacht St side on Monday and there weren't a whole lot more than 1000 at Friday's triumph!
You're second in the league and the only team who can realistically challenge Drogheda.
You're the new Shels, the only difference is that you're not spending money you don't have and have got into the position you're in through hard work and good management.
4-0 did get to you obviously. If you think we only had 800 there monday kudos. Thought maths was part of your job? Maybe not.
Never said our attendances were good. Ours along with everyone elses are a disgrace. Each club should be easily getting 5,000 a week but that's for another thread.
But we are renting in a ground that is unpopular on the wrong side of the city. The longer we rent in tolka the less our crowds will be irrespective of the results on the pitch.
Friday's triumph was attended by 1145 fans. That's on the attendance thread.
Your comparison with shels is on a par with your posts.
19/09/2007, 4:30 PM
Explain to me how in honour of christ this makes them the new Shels?!?!?!?!
"You're the new Shels, except, your're like, completely different and stuff"
It was probably over 4,000 if you include all the culchie guards on overtime, though.
Could have put your finger on something here
It'll doubtless take a Bohs v Rovers 20 pager of a thread to figure out what
19/09/2007, 4:40 PM
There'll be an official attendance figure in the next programme at least. Just need to get an independent body to verify what's printed. :)
Erstwhile Bóz
19/09/2007, 8:32 PM
It'll doubtless take a Bohs v Rovers 20 pager of a thread to figure out what
I'm well aware of the connection, cheers.
Sam Savic
19/09/2007, 10:47 PM
Damn right! And it was a super episode.
There was a great crowd, over 3500, at Dalymount on a Tuesday when we thrashed them 2-1 (at the start of the league) and well over 4000 in Tolka on a Friday (in the height of 'summer'). Think the semi-final where we thrashed them 1-0 with ten men was a Tuesday as well and there was an okay crowd at that.
I had a sprained ankle and no funds, but Monday is just a crap, crap, crap, crap, crap night for matches (and there wasn't even any television money for this one). The littlest excuse that would put you off making the usual effort to get to the game is magnified about twenty times on a Monday. Bohs drawing in Waterford was a fecking killer in that regard.
Another reason for the small crowd is the fact that Rovers didn't bother advertising this match. Unlike the League Cup match, where we were due a share of the gate.
Erstwhile Bóz
20/09/2007, 12:38 PM
Another reason for the small crowd is the fact that Rovers didn't bother advertising this match. Unlike the League Cup match, where we were due a share of the gate.
What was the crowd for that semi-final, do you know, as a matter of interest?
20/09/2007, 5:51 PM
Another reason for the small crowd is the fact that Rovers didn't bother advertising this match.
Do you need to advertise a Rovers-Bohs game?
Terrible attendance at Dundalk-Kilkenny last night, 600-700
WindmillWarrior
22/09/2007, 3:42 PM
Drogs Derry 1,700 or so.
29/09/2007, 1:20 AM
UCD-Waterford - 257
29/09/2007, 8:42 AM
Harps- Cobh 3,100.
Great crowd Heggy and great result, look forward to renewing the big Northwest Derby next year. The league needs the likes of the Derry Harps and Sligo derbies