View Full Version : eircom League 2007 Attendances

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

10/03/2007, 11:40 AM

That's just nonsense. Capacity is 2500 for a start!

10/03/2007, 1:24 PM
The Irish Times has 'the near-capacity 3,500 crowd' for UCD-Rovers.

A Rovers fan beside me at the bus stop reckoned at least 3,500-4,000.:D

Partizan
10/03/2007, 1:45 PM
3000+ mentioned for Waterford v Cork on the Cork forum (http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=16783).

the brother was at the match and gave it at approx 3000.

SPXcyan
10/03/2007, 2:45 PM
I just remembered their been 3000 at a longford match few seasons ago.. if there were 3000 at that then 3000 for the cork game at least!

10/03/2007, 3:01 PM
the brother was at the match and gave it at approx 3000.

I heard 2500. Can't see how the RSC can fit 3000 anyway as seen some pictures & few people trackside. I'd guess 2000 more realistic as stand only holds 1200 or something.

Da Real Rover
10/03/2007, 4:22 PM
Is there any official figures from galway of how many rovers fans were down there last nite??

10/03/2007, 4:42 PM
Heard 300.

10/03/2007, 4:59 PM
Think 1700 in fairer fo our game, in hindsight.

In the second half anyway, the main stand was pretty much full (a few empty seats at the end I was in offset by the Rovers end overflowing) - say 800 (holds 848). We reckoned about 600 standing around the ground and the Cascarino stand (which is supposed to hold now 650) was about half full. So total is 800+600+300 = 1700.

10/03/2007, 7:19 PM
Cobh v Limerick around 375

250 tops!

10/03/2007, 7:21 PM
Supposedly Longford have a dismal crowd there tonight :confused:

sonofstan
10/03/2007, 7:25 PM
Supposedly Longford have a dismal crowd there tonight :confused:

Shels fans desperately looking for someone to look down on!

10/03/2007, 7:28 PM
250 tops!
300-350 mentioned on the Limerick forum (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=640588&postcount=15).

CBG is usually reliable with his estimates, as far as I can see (think he has access to official figures more often than not)

10/03/2007, 7:30 PM
Shels fans desperately looking for someone to look down on!

YUP :rolleyes: (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=638375&postcount=1)

stann
10/03/2007, 8:24 PM
I heard 2500. Can't see how the RSC can fit 3000 anyway as seen some pictures & few people trackside. I'd guess 2000 more realistic as stand only holds 1200 or something.

People from both sides who were at the game all say 3000, you were told 2500, and yet you say 2000 because you can't imagine any more fitting in????

I counted over 2600 from where I sat and I couldn't see all the ground. The stand was packed (1300), there was 350 strung along the far side of the pitch, and another 150 scattered in front of and behind the fence at the city end, and 50 or so along the county end around to the entrance gate. Then there was 4 sheep pens trackside on the stand side which each held 200, the maximum the FAI fella would let in each. The one nearest the city hadn't as many in it. I couldn't see how many were standing either side of the stand, but there's normally a good few on the bank at the city side.

10/03/2007, 9:19 PM
there was 4 sheep pens trackside on the stand side :eek: Any pictures of these?

stann
10/03/2007, 9:35 PM
:D Not really. 'Enclosures created by linked crush barriers' lacked a bit of descriptive colour I thought. ;)

10/03/2007, 10:05 PM
1800-2000 mentioned for Athlone-Kilkenny on the Athlone forum.

oriel
10/03/2007, 10:43 PM
I was talking to Noel Mooney last night at the Bohs game and he said the Dundalk-Harps attendance was 1850 or a figure in and around that.

Exact figures are not available but 2,500 is the estimated figure as now reported by local radio, one local paper and the dfc.com

Buffalo Saint
10/03/2007, 11:51 PM
Just back from Longford v Pats. My guess is about 1800. Don't think I'd be too far wrong. Pay at the gate and no tickets given out, so who's to say or who can say, how many attended. A great travelling support. Fair balls to the Red Army!

SPXcyan
11/03/2007, 12:03 AM
NI5ap5mrClE

YA can catch a short glimpse if lucky at the layout of the RSC with this clip..

11/03/2007, 2:59 AM
Think 1700 in fairer fo our game, in hindsight.

In the second half anyway, the main stand was pretty much full (a few empty seats at the end I was in offset by the Rovers end overflowing) - say 800 (holds 848). We reckoned about 600 standing around the ground and the Cascarino stand (which is supposed to hold now 650) was about half full. So total is 800+600+300 = 1700.

I would've guessed at least 2,000 - goes to show guesstimates. It honestly looked like the biggest Rovers UCD crowd at Belfield for at least 4-5 years. Never needed the seating behind the goal either and not much space around the perimeter fence either..:confused:

11/03/2007, 3:10 AM
Just back from Longford v Pats. My guess is about 1800. Don't think I'd be too far wrong. Pay at the gate and no tickets given out, so who's to say or who can say, how many attended. A great travelling support. Fair balls to the Red Army!

Yeah. I'd agree. Good Pats support. Hard to quantify it but also more home fans than nearly all games last year which ain't saying much but it's a start

Stato
11/03/2007, 9:02 AM
Just back from Longford v Pats. My guess is about 1800. Don't think I'd be too far wrong.

Are you having a laugh? The capacity of the Flansiro is 6,900 as far as I'm aware, there's not a chance that the place was a quarter full. My estimate was no more than 1,000. The main stand has a capacity of 1,500 and there was a huge amount of empty seats around us, I'd guess 400 in there at the most. From my view across to the open areas I had guessed around 500 supporters.

WindmillWarrior
11/03/2007, 11:28 AM
I was talking to Noel Mooney last night at the Bohs game and he said the Dundalk-Harps attendance was 1850 or a figure in and around that.

I'd go along with that. From last years guesstimates it looks like the D*ndalk boys are getting a bit carried away with themselves. The shed might have been packed yeah, but its feckin tiny lads!!
See pic - http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s170/dieseldlk/newshed.jpg

BTW, bohs till i die, what was the figure for our away support on Friday?

BohsFans
11/03/2007, 2:46 PM

465 on Connaught Street and another 50-60 in the Jodi.....

11/03/2007, 3:45 PM
So what are we saying on the ones where there's a dispute?

Longford v Pat's - Town fan and a Pat's fan agreeing on roughly 1800; Stato saying 1000 tops.
Dundalk v Harps - Dundalk fans and website saying 2500; Drogs and Bohs fans (don't know if either were at the game though) saying 1800.

Battery Rover
11/03/2007, 4:12 PM
Athlone vs Kilkenny

The seats in the stand were 95% full and there was about 50 standing up at the back. Another 100 standing round the pitch. So 2000 would be right.

kdjaC
11/03/2007, 4:18 PM
Go with less than a 1000 for longford game about 200 pats fans.

kdjac

11/03/2007, 4:33 PM
OK, so on that basis (feel free to argue, those who have other figures), the first update is as follows -

PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 3,078 (2006 - 1,463; 2005 - 1,976; 2004 - 2,340)
Bray - --- (1,027; 1,550; 818 FD)
Cork - --- (2,941; 3,644; 4,033)
Derry - 4,000 (3,229; 2,698; 1,672)
Drogheda - --- (1,751; 1,682; 1,554)
Galway - 3,314 (1,148 FD; 566 FD; 571 FD)
Longford - 1,000 (681; 1,004; 1,131)
Pat's - --- (1,342; 1,599; 1,882)
Rovers - --- (1,089 FD; 1,539; 1,349)
Sligo - --- (1,806; 1,794 FD; 781 FD)
UCD - 1,700 (546; 653; 306 FD)
Waterford - 3,000 (915; 1,513; 1,753)

FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 2,000 (421; 316; 291)
Cobh - 375 (368; 403; 240)
Dundalk - 2,500 (1,078; 474; 591)
Harps - --- (428; 1,347 PD; 1,106)
Kildare - --- (265; 186; 298)
Kilkenny - --- (122; 185; 110)
Limerick - --- (364; 669; 188)
Monaghan - 309 (204; 183; 182)
Shels - 1,572 (1,690 PD; 1,949 PD; 2,158 PD)
Wexford - --- (n/a)

Premeir Division average - 2,371 (1,535; 1,759; 1,853)
First Division average - 1351 (570; 520; 512)

Overall average - 1,907 (1,070; 1,195; 1,218)

FD is an average crowd in the First Division; PD is an average crowd in the Premier Division. I've only put that in where the attendances was when the club was in a different one to their current division.

11/03/2007, 4:59 PM
It would be interesting to see what the averages were for first weekend last season. By all accounts seems like decent 16,000 at the Premier division this weekend.

Looking at the games for next week i see no reason figures can't be kept up at these levels.

:cool:

11/03/2007, 7:12 PM
Go with less than a 1000 for longford game about 200 pats fans.

Less than a 1000 for me and the split about 50/50 tbh

11/03/2007, 7:17 PM
It would be interesting to see what the averages were for the first weekend last season.
Look it up, ya lazy sod! :p

oriel
11/03/2007, 8:02 PM
I'd go along with that. From last years guesstimates it looks like the D*ndalk boys are getting a bit carried away with themselves. The shed might have been packed yeah, but its feckin tiny lads!!
See pic - http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s170/dieseldlk/newshed.jpg

see club figure at bottom of this link.

http://www.dundalkfc.com/MatchReports/070308_FinnHarps.html

Ps Windmill, that photo was taken by a mobile phone from the other side of oriel. Also judging by headlines in this weeks drogheda indo, (no new drogs stadium until at least 2009, or ever actually) you would do well to spend time worrying about your own clubs ground than any others. Utd park will not be acceptable for 2008 season, well for premier div. Actually you could well end up playing in oriel next season (which passes all premier div critieria) so why not come along to our next home game ?

cherio

11/03/2007, 8:37 PM

http://www.dundalkfc.com/MatchReports/070308_FinnHarps.html (http://www.dundalkfc.com/MatchReports/070308_FinnHarps.html)
All that proves that it was just a guess. It shouldn't be taken any more seriously than a post on here just becuase it's on the website.

oriel
11/03/2007, 8:42 PM
My point was the two people questioning the attendance weren`t even at the game !

But I have to say all clubs should be releasing exact attendance figures this season.

Wasn`t this not part of the genesis report for 2007 season ?

Jaime
11/03/2007, 8:44 PM
Bohs was 3079, in case no-one's posted it, can't be bothered going back through 5 pages of the usual arguments.

11/03/2007, 9:08 PM
But I have to say all clubs should be releasing exact attendance figures this season.

Wasn`t this not part of the genesis report for 2007 season ?
Nope.

Eoingull
11/03/2007, 9:32 PM
For the record, there were 26 of us from Bray in the away section up in Derry. I think the game was pretty much a sell-out.

Dazzy
11/03/2007, 11:17 PM
For the record, there were 26 of us from Bray in the away section up in Derry. I think the game was pretty much a sell-out.

No where near a sellout, just under 4000 imo.

11/03/2007, 11:29 PM
Revised estimate having spoken to those on the gate. About 1200 with about 400-500 Pats.

Frankfurt Hoop
12/03/2007, 12:25 AM

http://www.dundalkfc.com/MatchReports/070308_FinnHarps.html

Ps Windmill, that photo was taken by a mobile phone from the other side of oriel. Also judging by headlines in this weeks drogheda indo, (no new drogs stadium until at least 2009, or ever actually) you would do well to spend time worrying about your own clubs ground than any others. Utd park will not be acceptable for 2008 season, well for premier div. Actually you could well end up playing in oriel next season (which passes all premier div critieria) so why not come along to our next home game ?

cherio

Yiz are gas up there (no pun intended). Your club send in a figure of eighteen hundred and something to the FAI (Noel Mooney is quoted earlier in the thread, and he's right) and then claim a higher estimated figure on their website. What's that all about?

BTW, this should be two threads, one with actual figures and one for the we had more then you had merchants.

BTW2, I estimated 2,500 or thereabouts in Belfield on Friday and I normally aim low. It was certainly nothing like the 3,500 reported in the "paper of record". If Sam Savic comes up with a number I'd take that if UCD won't release the figure.

Dr.Nightdub
12/03/2007, 1:54 AM
I'd go with 1000 at Longford - Pats, 1200 is pushing it and 1800 is evidence of someone not learning their sums in school. Was shocked how empty the stand was when I got in (about 7:20), the whole last section was empty though it did fill up a wee bit by kick-off. You always know it's gonna be a low crowd in Longford when you can park in the car park instead of along the side of the road.

Louth4sam
12/03/2007, 8:52 AM
Yiz are gas up there (no pun intended). Your club send in a figure of eighteen hundred and something to the FAI (Noel Mooney is quoted earlier in the thread, and he's right) and then claim a higher estimated figure on their website. What's that all about?

Firstly who said we sent that in? Noel Mooney may have made a guesstimate on that number or read it in a paper. And secondly the website is run by the DFC trust independently from the club. It is 100% unofficial and articles are written by fans so anything quoted on there may not have come directly from the club. Its funny how all our fans are giving the same figure on our forum and then fans of clubs who wernt at the game then dispute this.

12/03/2007, 11:40 AM
BTW, this should be two threads, one with actual figures and one for the we had more then you had merchants.Agreed. Wading through all the rubbish when you're looking for a figure is really annoying.

BTW2, I estimated 2,500 or thereabouts in Belfield on Friday and I normally aim low. It was certainly nothing like the 3,500 reported in the "paper of record". If Sam Savic comes up with a number I'd take that if UCD won't release the figure.1600-1700 is my estimate. There's no way there was close to 2500 there. The league cup final was a good bit bigger and that was 2100 or so

the website is run by the DFC trust independently from the club. It is 100% unofficial and articles are written by fans so anything quoted on there may not have come directly from the club.So how can it be quoted as an authoritative source?

12/03/2007, 11:46 AM
Firstly who said we sent that in? Noel Mooney may have made a guesstimate on that number or read it in a paper. And secondly the website is run by the DFC trust independently from the club. It is 100% unofficial and articles are written by fans so anything quoted on there may not have come directly from the club. Its funny how all our fans are giving the same figure on our forum and then fans of clubs who wernt at the game then dispute this.

If you have a CPO or someone doing some CPO work at the club they give Noel the official figure so its quite likely the true official figure from the club.

12/03/2007, 11:52 AM
If you have a CPO or someone doing some CPO work at the club they give Noel the official figure so its quite likely the true official figure from the club.

Would these figures assume all season ticket holders are in attendance and include them or assume they are not and exclude them?

Louth4sam
12/03/2007, 11:54 AM
Plus do these figures include the any of the under 16s that got in for free when accompanied by a paying adult.

It boils down to this is this a thread on attendance or people that pay at the gate?

12/03/2007, 12:20 PM
Attendance = number of people at the game, simple. I assume clubs count season ticket holders and kids on the way in.

12/03/2007, 12:24 PM
BTW, this should be two threads, one with actual figures and one for the we had more then you had merchants.
Agreed. Problem is, we tried that last year, and the second thread just ended up becoming the first one, if you know what I mean.

Part of what you missed by not wading through the thread, incidentally, included a guess from UCD of 1600-1700. This was immediately after the game when one of the officials was counting cash, so the official attendance wouldn't have been to hand as yet. I didn't wait around because I was thirsty. :)

12/03/2007, 12:47 PM
The figure of 1572 at the Shels' game does not include season ticket holders afaik???