View Full Version : eircom League 2007 Attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

Louth4sam
19/05/2007, 8:20 AM
and untill ye start playing on days other then Thursdays it shall remain the same

So how many do you think Kilkenny would have brought if the game was on another night?

Louth4sam
19/05/2007, 8:31 AM
No non Dublin club has brought anywhere near that to an away game in Richmond in years

Eh we did in the cup last year!!

19/05/2007, 1:33 PM

Nowhere ****ing near 400...

19/05/2007, 2:14 PM
Official attendance 1,788.Was it not 1500 and something that was announced at the game?

Olander
19/05/2007, 2:20 PM
nope they announced it over the pa system it was 1780, furthermore they said the same on the match report

19/05/2007, 2:40 PM
I guess a lot of the people there for Sunderland tickets did not stay for the game- I was speaking to a steward afterward who said a lot got their vouchers, then left the ground again until the queue for the Sunderland tickets had died down. Sad really.

Olander
19/05/2007, 2:43 PM
I guess a lot of the people there for Sunderland tickets did not stay for the game- I was speaking to a steward afterward who said a lot got their vouchers, then left the ground again until the queue for the Sunderland tickets had died down. Sad really.
ya it is, although no disrespect meant to UCD its not a game that will bring out the crowds that coupled with the terrible weather probably accounted for the poor turn out.

19/05/2007, 5:19 PM
I would say that 400 was in Bray, it was shocking and for all my years of going to league of Ireland premier divsion games this was the worst crowd i have ever seen. The match was no better and i counted in 3 sides of the ground after about 30 minutes there was 167 people with probably appprox 200 in the stand but i i will round up my figure to 400.
Fair play to you for counting but I'd say the attendance was more like 500-600. Still terrible.

This is the point I've been trying to get across on the CPO thread: The fans aren't turning up for the games. This is what the CPO should be organising first, the basics.

19/05/2007, 5:37 PM
Belive what you like...

Louth4sam
19/05/2007, 7:10 PM
Belive what you like...

We will, as will the 398+ others that traveled to Dublin for the match

galwayhoop
19/05/2007, 7:20 PM

club should have sold the sunderland tickets for €80 so instead of €40!!

oriel
20/05/2007, 12:46 AM
Nowhere ****ing near 400...

Dodge you must have got your games mixed up here, this was a match (moved to a sat night for some reason) where DFC put on a big push for getting as many fans to richmond as possible, i actually remember the crowd given as around 1,200 and a lot of pats people I spoke to couldn`t work out why only 800 home fans turned up, the change from fri to sat night was the only reason given.

The Rebel Ram
20/05/2007, 8:48 AM
About 600 I'd say. Not too bad but could do better!
Like my report cards all those years ago:)

Comic Book Guy
20/05/2007, 1:35 PM
About 600 I'd say. Not too bad but could do better!
Like my report cards all those years ago:)

Sounds about right, would have said 550 myself but who am I to take rr's glory

20/05/2007, 1:58 PM
What figure would be taken from the Rovers V WUFC game :confused:

Battery Rover
20/05/2007, 5:29 PM
Athlone Town vs Limerick 37

Thought it was a poor attendance last night but when I spoke to the club treasurer he told me he hadn't counted the takings but it was around 650 incl season tickets, sponsor freebies etc.

Thought around 400 myself but I don't see the figures from the gate counters.

braysnumber1
20/05/2007, 7:46 PM
and the best team won.

:D :D :D we dont hear that a lot!!!!

max 500, very poor crowd

20/05/2007, 7:52 PM
just under 4,000 at the City V Bihs game

21/05/2007, 9:42 AM
I'd guess 600-700ish at Longford Town versus Derry City. About 150 from Derry.

Pathetic crowd, pathetic game, nice weather.....

monutdfc
21/05/2007, 9:56 AM
Oriel's point is correct - there's no point in first division teams choosing their match night to maximise the away fans, as with a couple of exceptions there'll be less than 100 away fans anyway. Given the distances between teams their only aim should be to choose the night to maximise home support.

21/05/2007, 12:40 PM
Athlone Town vs Limerick 37
Jaysus, thought that was the attendance for a second! :eek:

Galway v UCD was called out as 1x88 - I thought it was 1588, but could ell have been 1788. Reckoned 1500 myself looking at the ground.

Galway couldn't even put our CPO's name down on the officials list despite having been rung about two hours before!

21/05/2007, 1:00 PM
The good start was because all the derbies were scheduled for the first day; things were obviously going to be down after that.

Internet at home is broken until Friday, so it'll have to wait until after next weekend's games for an update. But the crowds are still up 30% or so.

Steve Bruce
21/05/2007, 1:11 PM
The good start was because all the derbies were scheduled for the first day; things were obviously going to be down after that.

Internet at home is broken until Friday, so it'll have to wait until after next weekend's games for an update. But the crowds are still up 30% or so.

Are you comparing the average of last season to this seasons average. Or are you comparing the same time of years average?

21/05/2007, 1:16 PM
No, overall last year versus current this year.

The average will start off high, then fall and then rise a bit towards the end of the year. You're right in that it's not a perfect comparison, but I'm too laxy to work it out otherwise. :)

21/05/2007, 2:42 PM
Jaysus, thought that was the attendance for a second! :eek:

Galway v UCD was called out as 1x88 - I thought it was 1588, but could ell have been 1788. Reckoned 1500 myself looking at the ground.

Galway couldn't even put our CPO's name down on the officials list despite having been rung about two hours before!

There was a queue of 500 people constantly for over an hour looking for Sunderland Tickets so your cpo was lucky to get in. I wouldnt have even tried to guess the crowd on friday as most people moved to the very back of the stand to get away from the Gale Force Wind and lashing rain. Yes it was 1788 say the official count afterwards which was a fantastic crowd considering it was the worst weather ive ever seen in Terryland for over 30 years of attending games there. Over 650 people got their Sunderland Tickets which has sold out completely and will easily be the biggest money earner in the clubs history.

21/05/2007, 4:47 PM
No non Dublin club has brought anywhere near that to an away game in Richmond in years
...then you obviously weren't at the game or you've got the memory span of a goldfish.

I could nearly give you the names and addresses of 400 people that attended the match FFS.He said non-Dublin. Sure Dundalk is practically a Dublin suburb:D.

eamoss
21/05/2007, 5:03 PM
If your gonna say something like that then I would prefair if you said that Dundalk was a Belfast suburb :eek: ;) :D

Seeing that both Dublin and Belfast are both 80km away from Dundalk.

Bald Student
21/05/2007, 5:24 PM
If your gonna say something like that then I would prefair if you said that Dundalk was a Belfast suburb :eek: ;) :D

Seeing that both Dublin and Belfast are both 80km away from Dundalk.Yes but the motorway goes to Dublin.

22/05/2007, 8:47 AM
Yes but the motorway goes to Dublin.IN 6 months the motorway will go to Belfast too?:confused:

Stato
22/05/2007, 8:50 AM
Pats v Drogheda

No official figure up yet but my educated guess is 2,200.

22/05/2007, 10:51 AM
Pats v Drogheda

Would've thought a good deal more than that. We'll see soon enough

22/05/2007, 10:54 AM

Good crowd there last night.
Think the ground works, forced a few people into the Camac, making it more full than normal.

Stato
22/05/2007, 11:31 AM

It was definitely a lot less than the Setanta semi and that was 2735. Take about 250 out for the Inchicore end not being in use, take at least another 250 out for the Drogheda support on the Camac side (their part was packed at the semi, was fairly sparsely populated last night). The rest looked around the same.

22/05/2007, 12:29 PM
There was a queue of 500 people constantly for over an hour looking for Sunderland Tickets so your cpo was lucky to get in.
Are you having a laugh?

He rang the club office before leaving Dublin - hours before kick off - and asked for his name to be put on the officials list - a standard practice across the league. At the turnstiles, they didn't have record of his name, nor did they bother trying to do much about it. He got in because he paid in. It's ridiculous to suggest someone should be "lucky" to get into a game.

Anyways, we'll just ensure there's no free admission for Galway officials in Belfield in July. ;)

22/05/2007, 1:08 PM
no problem Stu but why didnt you email the GUFC Office rather than posting here. Strange you didnt mention the development in Terryland in any of your posts. You are a great wum .

22/05/2007, 1:09 PM
Why would I mention the development of Terryland or e-mail the club? I was just pointing it out is all. Not much the club can do about it now.

Oh, and the new stand is lovely. What'll it hold - 100? ;)

23/05/2007, 8:50 AM
Its actually standard practice for the Club to email the list of officials a few days before the game. Generally speaking I know that we wouldnt let someone in unless they have done that.

That said Colm has Daniel's phone number and should have rang Daniel when he got there and am sure he would have taken him in.

Stato
23/05/2007, 11:36 AM
Pats v Drogheda

Wasn't far off, official figure is 2,087 according to the Pats website. Kerr has been giving out about moving the game to Monday and that the crowd was probably down by about 1,000 on what it might have been on Friday.

23/05/2007, 11:38 AM
IN 6 months the motorway will go to Belfast too?:confused:

I suspect neither Dublin nor Belfast would actually want Dundalk as a suburb !

Maybe Alabama might.... :D

23/05/2007, 12:28 PM
Wasn't far off, official figure is 2,087 according to the Pats website. Kerr has been giving out about moving the game to Monday and that the crowd was probably down by about 1,000 on what it might have been on Friday.

yeah good guess. Again, some tickets weren't checked at the Archway though

Dr.Nightdub
23/05/2007, 4:39 PM

Be interesting to see what effect TV coverage has on next Monday's attendance in Dalymount. Us v Bohs earlier in the season was a bumper crowd but that was on a Friday and not on TV.

Stato
24/05/2007, 2:42 PM
Again, some tickets weren't checked at the Archway though

The club count the attendance on the basis of tickets sold rather than the tickets presented at the entrance. If some season ticket holders didn't hand over their stubs or if some people got in without a ticket then they're the only ones that wouldn't be in that number.

24/05/2007, 2:43 PM
The club count the attendance on the basis of tickets sold rather than the tickets presented at the entrance. If some season ticket holders didn't hand over their stubs or if some people got in without a ticket then they're the only ones that wouldn't be in that number.

Yeah, it wouldn't be a big figure BUT it is removing a check system they had in place last year

eamoss
25/05/2007, 5:49 PM
Even though I wasnt at the match myself it looks like the attendance at
Dundalk V Shels was Approx. 1,800.

Source orielweb.com (http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/viewtopic.php?t=4504&start=22) and dundalkfc.com (http://www.dundalkfc.com/MatchReports/070524_Shels.html)

AnnaghRed
25/05/2007, 7:37 PM
IN 6 months the motorway will go to Belfast too?:confused:

Au Contraire. It'll stop at Newry and then theres 20 odd mile of single/dual carriageway till you reach Sprucefield.

new blue
25/05/2007, 9:24 PM
About 900 in Wexford

kdjaC
25/05/2007, 9:25 PM
generous 1400 @ pats v Sligo

20 sligo fans in the stand about another 20 on the camac.

kdjac

Saint MacDara
25/05/2007, 10:00 PM
Poor i thought you would have had a decent crowd there tonight. Difficult to tell from were i was i would have thought 1,100 1,200. Why have pats up their ticket prices to 20 euro ? It is quite high.

You dont have to buy a stand ticket!

Peterc
26/05/2007, 12:25 PM
1377 @ Utd -v- Bohs.

Slipping quickly

26/05/2007, 12:49 PM
Considering it's nearly June and we haven't won at home our attendances and atmosphere at the matches has been excellent.

The team have giving nothing at all to the home fans to cheer about once this year.