View Full Version : eircom League 2007 Attendances
24/04/2007, 9:51 AM
Not past ten :) or twenty if I use my toes...
I've only been to two home games the first one v Cobh (official attendance 2,300) and the Kilkenny game. There was less at the Kilkenny game but not more than 1,000. The 1,500 seater stand had at least 1,200 in it with a large number standing at both ends of the stand and some behind the goal and at the far side of the pitch. Also a large number watching from the clubhouse viewing area. Minimum 1,500 IMO.
ForzaWexford
24/04/2007, 11:25 AM
I think the reason passinginterst is overestimating is because the stand holds 1,000 people and not 1,500. If you "adjust" this for his guess it would leave a minimum of 1,100 but closer to 1500/1600.
As I said before, I wasn't at the game, but I'd be inclined to go with what was reported in local media - 1300.
24/04/2007, 11:31 AM
I think the reason passinginterst is overestimating is because the stand holds 1,000 people and not 1,500. If you "adjust" this for his guess it would leave a minimum of 1,100 but closer to 1500/1600.
As I said before, I wasn't at the game, but I'd be inclined to go with what was reported in local media - 1300.
I'll settle for 1,300 then but honestly didn't think 1,000 less than the Cobh game.
Sunny Jim
24/04/2007, 11:34 AM
Given that the stand was practically full, and the fact that there were a few hundred others there, I would say that 1300-1400 is about right.
ForzaWexford
24/04/2007, 11:36 AM
Well seen as you were there I suppose you know better than me....
One thing is almost certain anyway, the figure of 1,000 taken by pineapple is too low.
24/04/2007, 12:31 PM
Right so, 1300 it is.
BohsFans
24/04/2007, 3:47 PM
can none of you get the official or a close figure from the club?
The actual attendance is always WELL DOWN (I'm afraid) on guestimates!
finnpark
24/04/2007, 3:58 PM
As the attendandances are out by 6% so far this season why not reduce all guestimates by 6%. This should give a more accurate result.
For example the gestimate of 1300 for Wexford should be 1222 or so??
24/04/2007, 9:20 PM
You don't the individual split though.
Say Derry's crowds are correct and Cork's are 12% overstated - you'd end up reducing Derry's too much, and Cork's would still be overstated. So although the overall average would now be right, you've actually got club figures which are just as skewed.
The bigger the crowd the high the number of under or overestimation. Because Turners Cross is all seated its now easier to estimated (fans know the capacity of the 4 sides) plus couple of years experience. Terracing is by its nature difficult to estimate.
I would guess its easy enough to actually count the number of people at the smaller 1st division games.
monutdfc
24/04/2007, 10:38 PM
You don't the individual split though.
Say Derry's crowds are correct and Cork's are 12% overstated - you'd end up reducing Derry's too much, and Cork's would still be overstated. So although the overall average would now be right, you've actually got club figures which are just as skewed.
Yes, but everybody knows who exagerrates their crowds on this thread and who is fairly accurate :D :D
25/04/2007, 6:19 PM
The bigger the crowd the high the number of under or overestimation.
That's not relevant though because I'm using percentages.
Yes, but everybody knows who exagerrates their crowds on this thread and who is fairly accurate :D :D
Yeah, but I didn't want to upset the Cork fans by naming them directly. :D
I did not want to name clubs but lets be honest it does not take long to do head count of Monaghan attendance. ;)
26/04/2007, 5:07 PM
Yeah, but if you miss the two lads in the jacks, you're out by 6%.
26/04/2007, 6:01 PM
Yeah, but if you miss the two lads in the jacks, you're out by 6%.
What are they doing in there for the whole 90 minutes:confused: It's almost as if they're not interested in the football at all. :eek:
bohs til i die
26/04/2007, 9:00 PM
They didn't announce the attandance though so maybe we've taken to the Eircom league habit of having an official attendance a lot lower than the actual attendance for tax purposes.:)
EL clubs pay tax on players wages [if they pay wages] and on end of year profit [if there is any].
Only Derry pay tax on actual gate receipts
27/04/2007, 10:25 AM
EL clubs pay tax on players wages [if they pay wages] and on end of year profit [if there is any].
Only Derry pay tax on actual gate receiptsYes, but income you get off the balance sheet could be used to pay players under the table and avoid income tax.
27/04/2007, 12:29 PM
You shouldn't use technical terms; you look silly!
Income goes on the P&L, not the balance sheet, and employees paye PAYE, not Income Tax. Other than that, it's right.
27/04/2007, 12:38 PM
About 1,400 at Dundalk vs. Wexford last night. I thought it would have been more considering our position.
27/04/2007, 2:38 PM
employees paye PAYE, not Income Tax.
I meant that the club wouldn't pay the income tax.
Point taken on technical terms. :D
Would agree with 1,400 (max) for Dundalk v Wexford, for most games in this division the away support in practically zero, def the case in this and our last game (v Cobh)
Credit to the home fans last night, at least they made an effort in creating a bit of an atmosphere.
27/04/2007, 10:12 PM
Horrible attendance at Bray-Galway tonight. Well under a thousand. About 800, tops.
27/04/2007, 10:14 PM
Horrible attendance at Bray-Galway tonight. Well under a thousand. About 800, tops.Many Galway fans? Radio said they had a "small following" there.
Philly
27/04/2007, 10:24 PM
120 at KCFC V KCFC I'd guess.
27/04/2007, 10:25 PM
Many Galway fans? Radio said they had a "small following" there.
About twenty/thirty at most. I'm pretty sure the stewards actually moved them. :rolleyes:
don ramo
27/04/2007, 11:08 PM
Would agree with 1,400 (max) for Dundalk v Wexford, for most games in this division the away support in practically zero, def the case in this and our last game (v Cobh)
Credit to the home fans last night, at least they made an effort in creating a bit of an atmosphere.
i know were not the best away supporters but j**** its a bit of trip i must say sure monaghan is even further again, i saw every game home and away until our game against ye last week, and ill miss the mons game
28/04/2007, 12:33 AM
410 at UCD-Longford.
28/04/2007, 1:46 AM
Heard a figure from FAI guy that there was 873 at the Shels/Limerick game
mickdlk
28/04/2007, 2:37 AM
If we were in Prem we would have best Home fans, away fans sinced 80's
Dr.Nightdub
28/04/2007, 2:40 AM
Very big crowd in Richmond tonight for Pats v Rovers, haven't seen the Shed so packed in a long while. Pics on Rovers MB show their end of the Camac fairly full so allowing for one block of the stand being empty as a sanitary cordon between Pats and homeless, I'd say approx 4000 in total.
28/04/2007, 8:20 AM
Heard a figure from FAI guy that there was 873 at the Shels/Limerick game
Was gonna guess 800-900. If Shelsw posts something different on our forum I'll post it here.
Maybe 1,500 at Drogs v Cork City but I am only guessing as no idea how much the covered terrace holds. Seemed to be much smaller home & away support than recent years.
28/04/2007, 11:54 AM
53 Galway fans there.
Celdrog
28/04/2007, 1:27 PM
Maybe 1,500 at Drogs v Cork City but I am only guessing as no idea how much the covered terrace holds. Seemed to be much smaller home & away support than recent years.
Terrace holds about 2600. There were about 1700 there last night. 400 in the stand, 200 infront of and in the clubhouse and about 40 away fans.
About 2300 - 2400 in total
28/04/2007, 1:43 PM
Terrace holds about 2600. There were about 1700 there last night. 400 in the stand, 200 infront of and in the clubhouse and about 40 away fans.
I thought you're attendence was restricted to 1440?
Celdrog
28/04/2007, 2:05 PM
I thought you're attendence was restricted to 1440?
Work was completed during the week. New exits, barriers, walkways etc.
Yeah terrace looked about 2/3 full so you probably correct if your capacity number is correct. Did not feel like 2300 but maybe because so few City fans & such a low key first half.
If we were in Prem we would have best Home fans, away fans sinced 80's
Just ike the 500 you were getting at home games the last time you were in the premier?
Dr.Nightdub
28/04/2007, 5:11 PM
Official attendance for Pats v Rovers given as 3271.
This is DEFINITELY light - I went in by the archway and nobody asked for or took the relevant ticket from me from my season ticket book. It's reasonable to assume the same applied for at least some other season ticket holders. A mate of mine who bought a ticket on the night wasn't asked for it either so it wasn't just season ticket holders.
Stu, I'd suggest you take an average of the guesstimates of both Pats and Rovers fans rather than using the official figure.
28/04/2007, 7:21 PM
Not sure what to do with that, to be honest.
The official figure is what we want clubs to release. I don't see how we can arbitrarily decide that one club's official figure, or even one particular figure, is too low and so reject it. I think if official figures are available, we'll have to use them, or else things will get overly messy.
And on that topic, apparently 323 was the official crowd for UCD-Longford last night, compared to the 410 posted earlier. Obviously, the difference is people like me, who would have been there but gone in for free as programme sellers. I'll go with the official figure though.
Dr.Nightdub
29/04/2007, 2:24 AM
Appreciate where you're coming from but last night WAS fairly chaotic from a ticketing point of view. Ordinarily, after the explanation Stato gave about how our attendances are counted (after the Bohs game), I'd say go with the official figure. The circumstances that prevailed last night cast a bit of a question over the official figure, that's all I'm saying.
Would be interested to see anyone else's guesstimates that was there.
29/04/2007, 10:09 AM
Extremely poor attandance at our game Vs. Waterford-500 at most I'd say. About 10 Waterford fans.
Da Real Rover
29/04/2007, 10:38 AM
Worst crowd iv seen there since the don o'riordan days, id say 500 is about right.
LeixlipRed
29/04/2007, 11:56 AM
I'll go for about 900 at our game. Being whitehall, I wouldn't be too sure though
29/04/2007, 12:01 PM
Extremely poor attandance at our game Vs. Waterford-500 at most I'd say. About 10 Waterford fans.
That's a really poor crowd..
What's the reason for that?
red bellied
29/04/2007, 12:05 PM
Worst crowd iv seen there since the don o'riordan days, id say 500 is about right.
Heard from someone on the gate last night that the attendance was about 750.
Da Real Rover
29/04/2007, 1:22 PM
Heard from someone on the gate last night that the attendance was about 750.
750 it is then, mine was only a guesstimate.
Just ike the 500 you were getting at home games the last time you were in the premier?
No dodgey, you`re got your dates wrong, for the first time we went down (1998/99) we lost something like the last 8 and finished bottom and crowds def did drop to around this level for the last 3 or 4 months.
Also I`m remember many a sunday watching pats v dundalk in the 80`s in both harolds cross and the old richmond with 5 or 6 hundred in attendance being the norm.
29/04/2007, 6:55 PM
Appreciate where you're coming from but last night WAS fairly chaotic from a ticketing point of view.
Bottom line, I suppose, is that to take 4000 instead of 3321 is a difference of less than 700, which over the course of a 17-game season is a difference in the average of 40 people. From the point of view of consistency, I'd be happy enough to take that difference.
BohsFans
29/04/2007, 6:58 PM
There are some attendances on the WY official site in the match reports.