View Full Version : Third Tier Talk - A Championship Mk II
EatYerGreens
03/07/2022, 5:48 PM
It's a disjointed one given the amount of leagues that aren't connected. And effectively useless as a result. So if it's a pyramid, it's not remotely worth red name in practice
It's a start though. No point lashing out against a Third Tier because you want a full pyramid, which essentially ignores the huge complexities involved in getting to that stage.
Get the 3rd tier in place, hopefully it will prove successful, and then the gap between senior and intermediate/junior football will have shrunk. That should then help with doing all the other stuff needed to extend the pyramid further down in future. But if you're saying no to a 3rd tier until there is a complete pyramid in Irish football, you will probably be waiting a long time. Some more pyramid is better than none.
03/07/2022, 6:01 PM
It's not a start though. It's an extension of an existing failed system. It has the potential to be worse than no pyramid - again, I'll cite how the A Championship screwed over Tralee Dynamoes and led to three Galway teams in the First Division.
The way to extend a pyramid is to provide links between existing leagues - eg Conference and Fourth Division in England, or Highland/Lowland League to League Two in Scotland. But what's below the First Division here is an utter mess, and I think that probably does need to be sorted out first (particularly the different seasons, but also the LSL/AUL/UCL nonsense, and the county leagues which just lead to clubs being happy being big fish in small ponds)
legendz
03/07/2022, 6:52 PM
The Ulster Senior League from posts on here is struggling to gain traction. It is similarly difficult to see a Munster Senior League (currently a Cork Senior League!) gaining traction for the 5 other counties.
A third tier obviously doesn't create a pyramid. It can however be the first building block. We can't just magic up clubs as is said often. People can't be magically moving clubs from one league to another either.
Example 1) 24 first teams, 6 second teams and 4 third level teams is possibly achievable in the next 3 to 5 years:
Premier Division - 10 teams
First Division - 10 teams
National League - 14 teams
Example 2) 28 first teams, 9 second teams and 6 third level teams is possibly achievable in the next 5 to 10 years:
Premier Division - 10 teams
First Division - 10 teams
National League 1 - 10 teams
National League 2 - 13 teams
The league needs to get to a level where there is a clear pathway to join the league. The clear onus then would be on those not involved to join or not. The Premier Division and First Division should have a set number of teams e.g. 10 each.
The third tier should be adaptable based on numbers. If the third tier attracts more than 16 teams for example, it can be the trigger point to expand to a fourth tier.
03/07/2022, 7:07 PM
You think we can find 9 new senior clubs in the next 3-5 years, or 18 new clubs in the next 5-10 years?
Seriously?
Of the 19 clubs in the LoI now, all bar Wexford were in the league in 1985, when the First Division was formed. We have effectively added one club in nearly 40 years - while also going from 22 to 19 clubs in the same time - and you think we can add a nett 9 new sides in the next 5 years?
culloty82
03/07/2022, 7:18 PM
I'll give him the 24 first teams in five years, as it's not beyond bounds that Mayo, Kildare, Kilkenny and Monaghan might join within that timeframe, depending on what happens with Kerry, but are university teams really likely to have any interest in a third tier?
03/07/2022, 7:34 PM
Do Kilkenny exist in any form at the moment?
I think to get two of those four in the next five years - plus Kerry of course - would be an achievement. (I agree with you when you say "It's not beyond bounds that any of them might join")
legendz
03/07/2022, 7:36 PM
You think we can find 9 new senior clubs in the next 3-5 years, or 18 new clubs in the next 5-10 years?
Seriously?
Of the 19 clubs in the LoI now, all bar Wexford were in the league in 1985, when the First Division was formed. We have effectively added one club in nearly 40 years, and you think we can add 9 in the next 5 years?"A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined."
The A Championship had 8 first teams over 4 years. With Kerry possibly showing the way from youth leagues to senior, an A Championship Mk II can potentially attract 8 new senior clubs over 5 to 10 years.
4 potential new clubs are currently in the youth leagues. If 4 can successfully integrate to Third Tier / A Championship Mk II, will it influence other unrepresented district league regions to follow suit?
Secondly, third level teams can be invited to join the Third Tier / A Championship Mk II. Third level teams can be exempt from the youth leagues but ineligible for a promotion/relegation play-off. A First Division licence should only be granted to first teams who have teams in the youth leagues as well.
EalingGreen
03/07/2022, 7:48 PM
Of the 19 clubs in the LoI now, all bar Wexford were in the league in 1985, when the First Division was formed[
Don't forget that one of your leading clubs, Derry City, kinda "fell into your lap" in 1985, too.
We have effectively added one club in nearly 40 years - while also going from 22 to 19 clubs in the same time
(Not making any political statement, but) It would be 18 but for the unusual/one-off circumstances of their joining the LOI.
03/07/2022, 7:57 PM
"A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined."
The A Championship had 8 first teams over 4 years
The A Championship was a failure. Will clubs want to go for what is essentially the exact same thing?
Would the FAI even let Salthill/Mervue apply given they they then quietly booted them out of the LoI to let Galway back in?
Cobh obviously won't be joining the LoI - they're already in it - so that's another of the eight gone.
Castlebar and Tullamore both withdrew from the league in 2010 - not a ringing endorsement there either.
Leaves Tralee (ie Kerry FC), Fanad and Carlow
legendz
03/07/2022, 7:58 PM
"Are university teams really likely to have any interest in a third tier?"
I'd like to know too and I don't take it for granted that they will. It is achievable however for the likes of UCC, UL and NUIG to join a third tier, for players going beyond U19 level and going to university. There should at least be exploration talks between the FAI and universities, if they haven't taken place already. When the third tier was reported on last November, there was mention of "sides from the university and college ranks". I've taken my cue from there.
legendz
03/07/2022, 8:14 PM
The A Championship was a failure. Will clubs want to go for what is essentially the exact same thing?
Would the FAI even let Salthill/Mervue apply given they they then quietly booted them out of the LoI to let Galway back in?
Cobh obviously won't be joining the LoI - they're already in it - so that's another of the eight gone.
Castlebar and Tullamore both withdrew from the league in 2010 - not a ringing endorsement there either.
Leaves Tralee (ie Kerry FC), Fanad and CarlowThe youth leagues exist now and did not back in 2008-2011. Non LoI clubs can progress from Youth League to a third tier, if formed. The Youth League implementation of non LoI entities from non LoI areas joining can be extended to the third tier. This should avoid a repeat of the Salthill and Mervue situation.
2011 was signalled as the final season of the A Championship. Premier Division clubs were lobbying against having to field a second team. Castlebar and Tullamore weren't ready to apply for a First Division licence. A third tier in this current time should be for progress from youth level to senior level.
If a third tier is to be formed, at least 8 to 10 clubs will be required. It would be great to have a platform available for the 4 non LoI clubs at youth level. Noone is expecting a third tier to get off the ground unless a number of LoI clubs are involved. A third tier should be optional for LoI clubs. Are there 4 to 6 LoI clubs likely to be interested in having a second team for their players moving beyond U19 level?
04/07/2022, 8:08 AM
Leaves Tralee (ie Kerry FC), Fanad and Carlow
FC Carlow don't exist either, I'm pretty sure they haven't since the A Championship ended and, if memory serves, they did apply for a First Division place. All of which only goes to show what a failure the A Championship was.
This theory that the youth leagues are a silver bullet/branch to pluck senior teams from is wishful thinking too though. LOADS of entities have played at various underage levels in my time following the league. UL played at one stage in (I think) the old U-21 league. They were terrible but I remember Roy O'Donovan playing for Cork's U-21s either on trial or just after he'd signed against them. Lifford out in Ennis played around the same time. It doesn't really mean anything other than there are always some clubs who are happy to play at that level without necessarily every intending to step up to senior. Sligo/Leitrim had a team too, Dublin University, NUIG. I'm pretty sure Mervue and Salthill started in the under-age leagues, for better or worse. Did Garda FC play underage at one point too or am I imagining it?
All that said I'd like to see a third tier in place if they can rustle up any sort of motley combination of clubs. I wouldn't be convinced of it's longevity either though.
legendz
04/07/2022, 9:55 AM
Are Shamrock Rovers the only club with a desire and the means to field a second team?
Kiki Balboa
04/07/2022, 10:18 AM
The 'A' Championship was a half-baked idea, that offered no real long plans for new teams joining, and was only there for the reserve teams. It still attracted the interest of 7 non-league members. Salthill and Mervue being promoted were just accidents because the FAI wasn't paying attention to any medium or long-term plans for the Championship.
--------
By making this a new 'tier' of Irish football, instead of just a reserve league which the 'A' Championship was, you are saying that 1) it will be permanent (will have more resources/ more effort), 2) it will have prestige (not an 'A' Championship team but an LOI team).
I would still say this tier is a far more attractive option for clubs who want to expand past their junior leagues. These junior and intermediate leagues currently have plenty of issues. I know from talking with some, that there is frustration with the 'ceiling' for development, player retention abilities, and costs.
These leagues also hold less relative prestige than the LOI from a decade ago. For example, at the time of the A Championship, nearly every week, LOI clubs were in the news about potentially going to the wall. Now they are in the news for European runs and providing players for the National team. That makes a big difference for clubs.
---------------
I think this Tier offers a lot more to non-league clubs than maybe you guys realise. I wouldn't be surprised if there was significant interest from non-LOI clubs.
joey B
04/07/2022, 10:23 AM
Are Shamrock Rovers the only club with a desire and the means to field a second team?
I’d say Derry,Dundalk and maybe Pats would be interested in one aswell…
04/07/2022, 10:53 AM
The 'A' Championship was a half-baked idea, that offered no real long plans for new teams joining, and was only there for the reserve teams.
But is the same not the case of the proposed third tier? It seems exactly the same just with a new name. I don't see how that adds extra prestige. Reserve teams are likely to be a core part of the division. The LSL voting against a switch to summer soccer indicates that there's still no (viable) medium or long-term plans for the division. There's nothing to stop it being done away with in the same way that the A Championship was - especially if the teams with reserve sides get cold feet. If there's only six clubs in the division, what do you do?
New third tier sides won't have to worry about European runs, so I don't think that news would be particularly relevant. In the last decade, we've lost a fair few clubs Monaghan, Limerick, Waterford United, Wexford Youths, Mervue, SD Galway, Cabinteely, Shamrock Rovers B, Shamrock Rovers II - all have left the league since 2012, either for financial reasons or because they didn't fit the FAI's plans.
I'm honestly not seeing what's changed since the A Championship days other than the youth leagues, and how relevant that is I'm not quite sure.
legendz
04/07/2022, 10:57 AM
I’d say Derry,Dundalk and maybe Pats would be interested in one aswell…
Pat's? Pat's were one of the main culprits in shooting down the A Championship. Pat's and Sligo absolutely detested being required to field a second team in the old A Championship.
Limerick 2008/2010/2011, Sporting Fingal 2009, Finn Harps 2010/2011 and Shelbourne 2010 are examples of First Division clubs who took part in the A Championship without obligation. First Division clubs partaking without obligation would give a glimmer of hope that enough LoI second teams is achievable.
joey B
04/07/2022, 11:17 AM
Pat's? Pat's were one of the main culprits in shooting down the A Championship. Pat's and Sligo absolutely detested being required to field a second team in the old A Championship.
Limerick 2008/2010/2011, Sporting Fingal 2009, Finn Harps 2010/2011 and Shelbourne 2010 are examples of First Division clubs who took part in the A Championship without obligation. First Division clubs partaking without obligation would give a glimmer of hope that enough LoI second teams is achievable.
It was just an opinion but that’s quite a while ago and the football landscape has changed a lot since then ,I’d think clubs would definitely find more value in reserves sides with more players staying longer than they would have back then,maybe I’m wrong,Pats underage setup is as good as there is in the league at the minute….
sbgawa
04/07/2022, 11:27 AM
Any club with a decent academy should be interested in retaining some of the players from under 19s and also testing some of the better younger players against Men.
Particularly the ones near the top of the table where its obviously harder to blood younger players
04/07/2022, 11:32 AM
"Are university teams really likely to have any interest in a third tier?"
I'd like to know too and I don't take it for granted that they will. It is achievable however for the likes of UCC, UL and NUIG to join a third tier, for players going beyond U19 level and going to university. There should at least be exploration talks between the FAI and universities, if they haven't taken place already. When the third tier was reported on last November, there was mention of "sides from the university and college ranks". I've taken my cue from there.
I'd say most university teams are a non-runner. Mostly due to the calendar season.
D24Saint
04/07/2022, 11:45 AM
Long time ago that. I’d say the situation had changed. It will be seen now as another avenue to develop players.
legendz
04/07/2022, 11:45 AM
It was just an opinion but that’s quite a while ago and the football landscape has changed a lot since then ,I’d think clubs would definitely find more value in reserves sides with more players staying longer than they would have back then,maybe I’m wrong,Pats underage setup is as good as there is in the league at the minute….If Sligo and Pat's were to join a third tier without obligation, it would be a very positive change in the football landscape.
My guesstimation on the likelihood of LoI clubs fielding a second team:
1. Derry, Finn Harps, Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers, Treaty and Cork.
2. Bohemians and Shelbourne.
3. Sligo, Galway, St. Pat's, UCD and Waterford.
I'd be unsure of Sligo and Pat's after they shot down the A Championship. Have Galway any arrangements after the Salthill and Mervue nightmare that might exclude them from fielding a second team?
UCD I'm told already have a U23 policy. Waterford under a change of ownership will be an unknown. A few years back Waterford were building good connection with areas not represented at LoI level. It was a sensible move.
Would Bohs and Shels have the means to field a second team? Stadium developments etc. in the pipeline.
culloty82
04/07/2022, 11:51 AM
UCD were one of the teams who took the original A Championship most seriously, and indeed won it twice, so not sure why you have them in the bottom rung, and with the new Pats-Cherry Orchard agreement, they're putting increased focus now on youth development - Treaty and Harps would appear less probable unless either or both are in the Premier when it's established.
legendz
04/07/2022, 11:51 AM
Any club with a decent academy should be interested in retaining some of the players from under 19s and also testing some of the better younger players against Men.
Particularly the ones near the top of the table where its obviously harder to blood younger players Agreed.
I'd say most university teams are a non-runner. Mostly due to the calendar season.Not entirely. It's not unusual for students to remain on campus during the summer. Especially in the cities.
04/07/2022, 12:59 PM
I can't see Treaty rushing to take part in a third tier. They seem quite cautious in their approach to things (and more power to them while they try and build foundations). Limerick FC are probably more likely to apply but I'm not sure the appetite is there with the POS Experience either.
As a disclaimer I'm about a million miles away from the pulse of what is happening with Limerick football these days. 🙂
legendz
04/07/2022, 1:22 PM
UCD were one of the teams who took the original A Championship most seriously, and indeed won it twice, so not sure why you have them in the bottom rung, and with the new Pats-Cherry Orchard agreement, they're putting increased focus now on youth development - Treaty and Harps would appear less probable unless either or both are in the Premier when it's established.I would have had UCD higher on the list. A reply a pages back was dismissive of UCD interest. The UCD first team is supposed to be more or less an U23 squad.
Limerick and Harps though First Division clubs at the time elected to take part in the A Championship. Just as Pat's and Sligo are bottom of my list for shooting down the A Championship, Treaty and Harps are top of my list for proactively taking part in the A Championship. (Treaty being the successors to Limerick.) Maybe the football landscape has changed that Pat's and Sligo are now progressive, and that Harps & Treaty are not in a place to be so progressive. If a third tier can be established, we'll then find out for sure, who is progressive and who is not?
04/07/2022, 3:38 PM
UCD were one of the teams who took the original A Championship most seriously, and indeed won it twice, so not sure why you have them in the bottom rung.
We didn't compete when a First Division team and we're well on our way back there now, so I think it's unlikely.
Since the A Championship the budget has gone way down, so no outsiders or graduates really.
We have a 19s team and a couple of sides in the LSL; I don't see how a team in the third tier would benefit us tbh.
The players other clubs would put in it are the players we have in our first team
legendz
04/07/2022, 4:42 PM
I can't see Treaty rushing to take part in a third tier. They seem quite cautious in their approach to things (and more power to them while they try and build foundations). Limerick FC are probably more likely to apply but I'm not sure the appetite is there with the POS Experience either.
As a disclaimer I'm about a million miles away from the pulse of what is happening with Limerick football these days. 🙂
If Treaty United don't take part in a third tier, if it is formed, they'll be giving Limerick FC a platform to challenge them?
Example "National League":
Carlow Kilkenny*
Cavan Monaghan*
Kildare*
Mayo*
Cork City U23
Derry City U23
Dundalk U23
Finn Harps U23
Shamrock Rovers U23
Treaty United U23
UCC U23
UL U23
NUIG U23
If the third tier is properly branded like a "National League" or whatever is appropriate, there are people in university football circles who would want the prestige of winning it. They probably will have to be enticed a bit by the FAI however.
The Sigerson Cup and Fitzgibbon Cup can have patchy access to players. Universities in a "National League" should have a fully committed squad, if they were to join. I wouldn't be banking on the FAI to sufficiently entice them however.
05/07/2022, 10:28 AM
If Treaty United don't take part in a third tier, if it is formed, they'll be giving Limerick FC a platform to challenge them?
So what though? Are you suggesting that an effectively amateur side should take on the costs of an additional side one division behind their current team just in case POS has the inclination (and the longevity) to try and make another fist at senior football? Even if that happened Treaty would be better off staying their course for the few years it took the wheels to come off again.
As far as your list of teams goes who specifically are the people in University football circles seeking the prestige you speak of? Also, genuine question, why are you capping UL/UCC etc at U-23? Why can't a hypotetical 25 year old post grad play for them?
legendz
05/07/2022, 12:20 PM
So what though? Are you suggesting that an effectively amateur side should take on the costs of an additional side one division behind their current team just in case POS has the inclination (and the longevity) to try and make another fist at senior football? Even if that happened Treaty would be better off staying their course for the few years it took the wheels to come off again.
As far as your list of teams goes who specifically are the people in University football circles seeking the prestige you speak of? Also, genuine question, why are you capping UL/UCC etc at U-23? Why can't a hypotetical 25 year old post grad play for them?All fair questions and debatable.
If Treaty are intent in having good structures in place, they will see the benefit in an U23 team to bridge the gap from youth to senior. Treaty is in a good place to extend its reach to Clare and North Tipperary. The reference to Limerick FC is just my view of it.
The U23 teams I have listed would have at least five U23 outfield players. I include universities at U23 as they won't be in the youth leagues. Only first teams who are also in the youth leagues should have no age cap.
If UL for example wanted to operate without an age cap, possibly a merger with Limerick FC would be agreeable for both. Rugby has UL Bohemians. Football in a few years might have UL-Limerick FC?
EatYerGreens
05/07/2022, 1:50 PM
Not entirely. It's not unusual for students to remain on campus during the summer. Especially in the cities.
Never mind the Summer, it's unusual for many of the feckers to stick around campus on a weekend during term time either. Apart from the international students, a large portion have always fecked off back to whatever arsehole village they're from in Carlow, Offaly etc to get their mammy to wash their clothes and feed them the same food they've always eaten, before they head out to the same bar in the village that they've always drank in to hang out with the same lads they always did when they were growing up. A baffling small-town Ireland mindset IMO, especially when you're leaving a major city full of things to do to instead hark back to the womb.
05/07/2022, 3:09 PM
Never mind the Summer, it's unusual for many of the feckers to stick around campus on a weekend during term time either. Apart from the international students, a large portion have always fecked off back to whatever arsehole village they're from in Carlow, Offaly etc to get their mammy to wash their clothes and feed them the same food they've always eaten, before they head out to the same bar in the village that they've always drank in to hang out with the same lads they always did when they were growing up. A baffling small-town Ireland mindset IMO, especially when you're leaving a major city full of things to do to instead hark back to the womb.
Tell me you're a city boy without telling me you're a city boy.
05/07/2022, 3:31 PM
So what though? Are you suggesting that an effectively amateur side should take on the costs of an additional side one division behind their current team just in case POS has the inclination (and the longevity) to try and make another fist at senior football?
Wasn't POS quietly kicked out of the LoI by the FAI?
I don't see them letting him back in in that case
05/07/2022, 5:12 PM
Wasn't POS quietly kicked out of the LoI by the FAI?
I don't see them letting him back in in that case
I feel it's more of a standoff than that tbh. He still has a foot in with the underage leagues. Truthfully I think the FAI just want to outlast him.
EatYerGreens
05/07/2022, 8:05 PM
Tell me you're a city boy without telling me you're a city boy.
Tell me you went home to Donegal from university every weekend for your mammy to do your washing without telling me....:D
05/07/2022, 8:55 PM
Tell me you went home to Donegal from university every weekend for your mammy to do your washing without telling me....:D
There wasn't a whole lot else to be doing in Athlone, to be fair. Some of us had to work :cool:
EatYerGreens
06/07/2022, 12:05 AM
There wasn't a whole lot else to be doing in Athlone, to be fair. Some of us had to work :cool:
Remember - Herding cattle isn't work. It's a calling.
legendz
06/07/2022, 6:23 AM
Do many of the current LoI clubs have a good link to the local district league?
Ideally, accepting the reality is different, every district league region should have a club at national level. It should be the intention of the FAI to facilitate that as much as possible.
Eminence Grise
06/07/2022, 11:33 AM
It's not unusual for students to remain on campus during the summer. Especially in the cities.
Oh, but it is. Where I work has been a ghost town since late May. The only signs of life are admin staff and management, the odd PhD student, a few muggins like myself and whatever groups have hired the use of our facilities. Our other campuses are also pretty empty.
One other reason university teams might not be a straightforward option - multi-campus TUs. Where would Munster TU play/train/draw their teams from - Cork or Tralee? Shannon - Athlone or Limerick? The mergers take about five years to roll out after the institutions are established, so putting a team into the LoI is way down the list of priorities. In time, maybe, with the right encouragement (and if it helps the university's strategy at an acceptable cost) but - and I hadn't though of this till now - is the more likely short-term effect going to be a reduction in the number of college teams? Will GMIT, Sligo and Letterkenny have to compete as Atlantic, or will they be allowed keep their 'local' campus team? Genuinely don't know.
legendz
06/07/2022, 11:58 AM
One other reason university teams might not be a straightforward option - multi-campus TUs. Where would Munster TU play/train/draw their teams from - Cork or Tralee? Shannon - Athlone or Limerick? The mergers take about five years to roll out after the institutions are established, so putting a team into the LoI is way down the list of priorities. In time, maybe, with the right encouragement (and if it helps the university's strategy at an acceptable cost) but - and I hadn't though of this till now - is the more likely short-term effect going to be a reduction in the number of college teams? Will GMIT, Sligo and Letterkenny have to compete as Atlantic, or will they be allowed keep their 'local' campus team? Genuinely don't know.
If Munster TU did want to join, it could be based on the campus locations e.g. MTU Cork and MTU Tralee.
I had more in mind the larger universities e.g. UCC, UL and NUIG. Would universities be open to football scholarships? I imagine they would have to see some prestige in being part of a "National League". A reserve league wouldn't attract them. U23 teams, with 5 outfield U23, should help with clear messaging that such a league is a step up from U19 to senior level. Allowing first teams with pathway to promotion should help the profile of such a league.
Eminence Grise
06/07/2022, 2:18 PM
If Munster TU did want to join, it could be based on the campus locations e.g. MTU Cork and MTU Tralee The thing is, there’s only Munster TU. It has two locations, but one identity. That goes for all the TUs. What you’re suggesting is one entity funding two teams in the same competition.
I had more in mind the larger universities e.g. UCC, UL and NUIG.
20,000, 16,000 and 15,000 students approx. To round out the list of the ‘traditional’ universities, DCU have about 17,000, Trinity 16,000, Maynooth 11,000. Let’s discount UCD. Not because they have 34,000 students or a team already … just because. (Once a Trinners boy, always a Trinners boy.:cool: ) The TUs in comparison:
TU Dublin – 28,000
Atlantic – 20,000
Munster – 17,000
SouthEast – 17,000
Shannon – 14,000
All a comparable size, and some bigger than the old universities.
Would universities be open to football scholarships?
AFAIK, sports scholarships are available in all the universities. We definitely have them. But hogging them for football wouldn’t go down well with GAA, rugby, Olympic sports etc and the budgets to increase them aren’t there at the moment.
I imagine they would have to see some prestige in being part of a "National League".
There’s no prestige in it, sadly. A LoI team isn’t going to attract 200 international STEM PhD candidates every year, or bring in IRC/Horizon/industry funding, increase publications and research outputs, drive us up the Times rankings… Unless the university in question runs sports science degrees and there’s a logical tie-in, in which case it comes down to the will and vision of key people in the university.
I’m not pouring cold water on your ideas, Legendz, just to be a *&!$. I’d love to see a team from my place in the league. The in-laws are from Tralee and I’m excited by Dynamos 2.0, so it’d be a double reason to celebrate. But there are dynamics in the HE sector that mean more university teams are fanciful in the medium term. The new TUs are going to have five years of organisational redesign to contend with, aligning processes and systems that just don’t talk to each other across campuses. Part of that, probably the third phase, is going to be the haircut where duplication of resources is identified and slashed. Nobody in that sector is going to have the time or inclination to look at a football team while that’s going on. So that leaves the old universities, none of whom have shown any interest in following UCD’s journey and all, except Maynooth, would be in areas already represented by teams. There’s an awful lot that needs to fall into place, but it will all start with … money. And this level of sport just isn’t on the radar. Sadly.
legendz
06/07/2022, 5:27 PM
AFAIK, sports scholarships are available in all the universities. We definitely have them. But hogging them for football wouldn’t go down well with GAA, rugby, Olympic sports etc and the budgets to increase them aren’t there at the moment.
I’m not pouring cold water on your ideas, Legendz, just to be a *&!$.
You can pour all the cold water you want. I'm more interested in mapping out what's possible. Feedback taken on board.
Whatever about the TUs, I think the more established universities joining is achievable but you have listed fair reasons why they might not.
The GAA season for universities is very narrow. There is scope for football to be dominant at university level. Football has a broad appeal. For the age of players moving beyond U19, there is a potential good fit.
EatYerGreens
06/07/2022, 11:38 PM
Oh, but it is. Where I work has been a ghost town since late May. The only signs of life are admin staff and management, the odd PhD student, a few muggins like myself and whatever groups have hired the use of our facilities. Our other campuses are also pretty empty.
Atlantic Technological University actually has at least 5 campuses - IT Sligo, LYIT, GMIT, Killybegs, and that nursing college St Something-or-other opposite ITSligo. I think they may even have another campus in Mayo too. Good luck trying to get a team out of all of that.
EatYerGreens
06/07/2022, 11:40 PM
If Munster TU did want to join, it could be based on the campus locations e.g. MTU Cork and MTU Tralee.
I had more in mind the larger universities e.g. UCC, UL and NUIG. Would universities be open to football scholarships? I imagine they would have to see some prestige in being part of a "National League". A reserve league wouldn't attract them. U23 teams, with 5 outfield U23, should help with clear messaging that such a league is a step up from U19 to senior level. Allowing first teams with pathway to promotion should help the profile of such a league.
Don't IT Sligo have some Sligo Rovers players on scholarship already ?
EatYerGreens
06/07/2022, 11:44 PM
You can pour all the cold water you want. I'm more interested in mapping out what's possible. Feedback taken on board.
Whatever about the TUs, I think the more established universities joining is achievable but you have listed fair reasons why they might not.
The GAA season for universities is very narrow. There is scope for football to be dominant at university level. Football has a broad appeal. For the age of players moving beyond U19, there is a potential good fit.
In fairness Legendz - You seem more interested in playing fantasy Irish football league formations. You're constantly postuing up fantasy listsb of possible teams and leagues that have very blittle structure in reality. You don't seem to have moved on from the blatantly flawed notion of 'a club in every county', never mind at every university. Apologies if that sounds harsh.
legendz
07/07/2022, 6:43 AM
In fairness Legendz - You seem more interested in playing fantasy Irish football league formations. You're constantly postuing up fantasy listsb of possible teams and leagues that have very blittle structure in reality. You don't seem to have moved on from the blatantly flawed notion of 'a club in every county', never mind at every university. Apologies if that sounds harsh.What I call mapping what is achievable, you call fantasy! That's fair enough of your opinion. The list is open for criticism, scrutiny and everything including the kitchen sink being thrown at it.
If a third tier is only a few years away, I merely speculate as to the composition and the those likely to be involved.
UL, UCC and NUIG aren't the only universities in the country. Others are listing more.
I'm not exactly seeking one club per county. There are neutrals who are excited about Kerry potentially joining the league. The league needs a more a geographical spread, if the quality and facilities are there, and it is feasible. It's not something that is going to happen overnight. Something like the mooted third tier is the platform to expand the league.
GAA and IRFU have a good spread nationally. GAA clubs linked to county board. IRFU clubs linked to provinces. Football is a different landscape and that's fine. There are some setups from other sporting organisations that are worth considering. The Kerry FC project will go some way in telling if a link to the local district league is a positive approach. It would seem to be for "rural counties" to have a broader support base.
07/07/2022, 7:00 AM
What I call mapping what is achievable, you call fantasy! That's fair enough of your opinion.
The problem is you continually ignore valid criticism of your fantasy and refuse to adjust your position accordingly. Even now you're calling your view achievable in spite of numerous posters giving you well-informed reasons as to why it's not achievable
It makes discussion a bit pointless and rather frustrating.
legendz
07/07/2022, 7:25 AM
The problem is you continually ignore valid criticism of your fantasy and refuse to adjust your position accordingly. Even now you're calling your view achievable in spite of numerous posters giving you well-informed reasons as to why it's not achievable
It makes discussion a bit pointless and rather frustrating.If the third tier is a "Second Division", Shamrock Rovers are seeking promotion to the First Division. I've altered to a "National League", A Championship type first team promotion via a play-off.
I would have seen UCD as a strong candidate for a second team. I've taken feedback on board that they are unlikely to join.
The report last November that suggested a third tier is on the cards suggested universities will be included. I've taken my cue from there and have listed the 3 who I would see as achievable for involvement. People have listed valid reasons why universities might not come on board. If we get official word that universities aren't on board, that will rule it out. The point stands however that it is achievable for the likes of the 3 mentioned universities to join the mooted third tier.
I've asked are Shamrock Rovers the only team open to fielding a second team? Are Shamrock Rovers the only reason a third tier is being mooted?
JC_GUFC
07/07/2022, 9:02 AM
Ultimately what will make the third tier and League of Ireland more attractive is that clubs won't lose thousands by entering a team into it.
I think the way Kerry have gone about forming a "new" club to enter is probably the best long-term solution if we're looking to find clubs to represent different regions.
For the greater pyramid structure I think the Leinster Senior League at least seem to have gone the right way, they have "Junior" League up to 5th tier (I think) and then it becomes Intermediate. This has basically ruined the AUL, which had been the strongest Junior League in Dublin but now has hardly any teams left as they've all joined the LSL, even if it means joining in the 6th or 7th tier.
Unfortunately there doesn't look to be the appetite for a Connacht Senior League or a proper Munster or Ulster Senior League. Instead clubs are happy to play their own regional leagues, which really aren't of a consistently good standard. In time if the LoI did become a more attractive proposition to clubs and the only way to qualify was through a Senior League the CSL, MSL and USL would prosper.
So for the third tier at present I can't really see any obvious candidates looking to join, other than maybe the existing academy teams in Kildare, Carlow/Kilkenny, Cavan/Monaghan etc but none of them really seem established enough at this stage. I could see Maynooth applying as there is no competition in their area but NUIG, UL & UCC all have League of Ireland clubs where ideally a partnership should be formed.
07/07/2022, 9:10 AM
The only way a true pyramid system is ever going to work is if the FAI executive can effectively seize power from the junior and intermediate leagues. I'm not sure if the FAI set up actually allows them to do that, so it's possibly a futile exercise. The clubs will follow the money. So, if the FAI decides that beyond the third tier there's going to be three regional intermediate leagues, teams in these leagues will be the only ones that can play in the intermediate cup, FAI funding won't be available to clubs outside of this, FAI referees won't be available to leagues outside this etc. The same happens at junior level, some of the major local leagues could survive, but many of the smaller ones would be relegated to "casual football" where there's no FAI funding, refs, summer camps, coaches, etc. There's basic standards for clubs at junior level, slightly higher at intermediate and clubs have the option of promotion to national league level once they finish high enough in the intermediate league and facilities can reach the next level of standard.