View Full Version : The Big Fat European Latest Thread
20/08/2009, 11:42 AM
Nope 75 to cover players, officials etc.
The idea is that Steau are being punished not Pats.
In fairness, even giving them 200 tickets would still be a punishment !
Should be a surreal experience for the Pats fans who make it. A bit like watching Queens Park play at Hampden.
TheBoss
20/08/2009, 1:26 PM
League of Ireland v Romania:
European Cup: 1990/91
19.09.1990: FC Dinamo Bucaresti 4-0 St Patrick's Athletic FC
03.10.1990: St Patrick's Athletic FC 1-1 FC Dinamo Bucaresti
Champions League: 2005/06
27.07.2005: Shelbourne FC 1-1 FC Steaua Bucaresti
03.08.2005: FC Steaua Bucaresti 4-1 Shelbourne FC
UEFA Cup: 1982/83
21.10.1982: Shamrock Rovers FC 0-2 FC Universitatea Craiova
03.11.1982: FC Universitatea Craiova 3-0 Shamrock Rovers FC
Cup Winners' Cup: 1992/93
13.09.1989: Bohemian FC 0-0 FC Steaua Bucaresti
26.09.1989: FC Steaua Bucaresti 4-0 Bohemian FC
St Patrick's Athletic Inter Cities Cup/UEFA Cup/Europa League Record:
TOTAL: Pld:18 - W:5 - D:4 - L:9 - F:19 - A:32
HOME: Pld:9 - W:3 - D:3 - L:3 - F:10 - A:11
AWAY: Pld:9 - W:2 - D:1 - L:6 - F:9 - A:21
20/08/2009, 1:45 PM
So no LOI club has lost to Steaua in a home European fixture yet then ? No pressure Pats..... :)
Are Dinamo at home tonight as well ? I thought there was a rule not to have 2 teams in the same city playing at the same time in Europe, but Teletext has Dinamo's game down for 6pm GMT in Bucharest as well.
Dalymountrower
20/08/2009, 1:57 PM
Best of luck to Pats tonight, two million wisely spent would help you dominate Irish football for 2-3 years....inevitably followed by the financial crsis ,tears , supporters fund -raising etc:o
Buying my ticket today so that a poor result wont put me off, is there a section for non Pats fans supporting Pats for the night ?
charliesboots
20/08/2009, 2:00 PM
So no LOI club has lost to Steaua in a home European fixture yet then ? No pressure Pats..... :)
Are Dinamo at home tonight as well ? I thought there was a rule not to have 2 teams in the same city playing at the same time in Europe, but Teletext has Dinamo's game down for 6pm GMT in Bucharest as well.
No crowd at the Steaua v. Saints game so no need to move it or the Dinamo game.
I generally hate big love ins when other LOI clubs are playing in Europe but fair play to everybody for the good wishes.
Pitch is horrific over there which can be seen here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aIM4gTuEmwc)
Romanian press far more interested in what Romanian's our manager had played against rather than our team - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nC4CgDs2Fo&feature=channel_page
JC_GUFC
20/08/2009, 2:05 PM
Best of luck to Pat's be realistically they've little chance in my view.
I'd say 3-1 at best over there and maybe a draw at home.
20/08/2009, 2:49 PM
Given that Dinamo and Steaua's stadiums are as far apart in the city as Inchicore (Steaua's) and Tolka (Dinamo's), and only one will have a crowd, there's no need to move them.
charliesboots
20/08/2009, 2:54 PM
Best of luck to Pat's be realistically they've little chance in my view.
I'd say 3-1 at best over there and maybe a draw at home.
increase the odds so! :)
saintmaniac
20/08/2009, 3:56 PM
Can't believe RTE are semi-boasting about their lack of coverage of Pats in Europe:
Just as Mark Quigley did in the previous round, you can follow the game at the Stad Gheneca from 6.30pm on RTÉ Aertel.
Yeah yeah yeah, the club and the League in general are just a joke to you, we get it. :mad:
FM104 have done a deal with the club that they would cover updates from the match, not sure how extensive they'll be, but worth tuning in to see.
Can't get over these nerves, am off to McDowells soon...
20/08/2009, 4:01 PM
Good luck ST Pat's dead proud of you already.
Boo_Boy
20/08/2009, 4:16 PM
Ah feck, my Internet is being terrible. No go with the streaming I'm afraid unless it get's better. Hope ye can find a decent stream folks.
Good luck Pats!
Cheers for the effort Boo
Looks like we have a few on the go though
St Patrick's
* 1 Rogers
* 4 Partridge
* 5 Harris
* 6 Lynch
* 7 Stuart Byrne
* 12 Fitzpatrick
* 17 O'Connor
* 18 Gavin
* 21 Guy
* 22 Stevens
* 23 O'Brien
Bench
* 20 Clarke
* 2 Maher
* 3 Ryan
* 8 Dempsey
* 10 Cawley
* 11 Quigley
* 14 Ryan
------------------
Apparently the pitch is so ba, they don't want to risk Dempsey and Quigley for 90 minutes. According to all who've seen it, its the worst pitch they've ever seen
Candystripe
20/08/2009, 5:10 PM
Best of luck to St Pats.
Believe.
Any links up yet?
20/08/2009, 5:12 PM
There's audio here (http://www.ustream.tv/channel/st-pats-live-commentary). Haven't seen a stream yet.
20/08/2009, 5:14 PM
This (http://www.justin.tv/digisport11) looks like it'll have the game.
Razors left peg
20/08/2009, 5:19 PM
there are a few links for it on www.rojadirecta.com (http://www.rojadirecta.com)
the sopcast one seems like a really good stream
Candystripe
20/08/2009, 5:22 PM
This (http://www.justin.tv/digisport11) looks like it'll have the game.
I just found that and came on here to post the link. :D
Boo_Boy
20/08/2009, 5:23 PM
Sopcast channel 79777 seems to be showing it.
Download sopcast (http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/SopCast-Download-24855.html)
Then click here. (sop://sop.rojadirecta.com:3912/79777)
no mac version of that though
im hoping the justin tv versions stream ok
Billsthoughts
20/08/2009, 5:28 PM
who is doing the commentry on the audio one???:D
Boo_Boy
20/08/2009, 5:29 PM
no mac version of that though
im hoping the justin tv versions stream ok
http://www.rojadirecta.com/justin/spiderman_1969
20/08/2009, 5:33 PM
The picture on Justintv isn't great....did Steau just miss a great chance?
Boo_Boy
20/08/2009, 5:34 PM
Yes they did, 4 yards out completely missed the ball.
Best of luck Pat's!
Quiet at work so looking forward to this. :)
20/08/2009, 5:37 PM
Sopcast channel 79777 seems to be showing it.
Download sopcast (http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/SopCast-Download-24855.html)
Then click here. (sop://sop.rojadirecta.com:3912/79777)Channel - 79711
Boo_Boy
20/08/2009, 5:37 PM
There is nothing happening at all but this guy on commentary wont shut up for 5 seconds.
Boo_Boy
20/08/2009, 5:53 PM
Good chance right there, close.
kingdomkerry
20/08/2009, 5:53 PM
Partridge had a real chance their to give pats the lead
good chance for spa missed
TheBoss
20/08/2009, 5:54 PM
He should have scored !
ATFC-1887
20/08/2009, 5:54 PM
pats not doin too bad now
should be one up
20/08/2009, 5:55 PM
Unlucky!
20/08/2009, 6:00 PM
Another chance there from a corner. A bit high for him though.
20/08/2009, 6:01 PM
ah still should have done better and ye can tell from kennas reaction.
what was partridges missed chance like?
Mad Moose
20/08/2009, 6:02 PM
Quietly confident St Pats can get a result here. Doing very very well so far.
MeathDrog
20/08/2009, 6:03 PM
Have to score while they're on top though.
20/08/2009, 6:06 PM
harspbear hard luck you nearly jinxed it. what is the definition of a result? a result occurs once 90 mins plus injury time is played.
The steaur player should have done better.
Everything is coming down the left and then long balls in over the top to the right side of the box.
20/08/2009, 6:07 PM
Lucky there not to have gone one down.
Mad Moose
Oh god that was way way too close for Steau. Has he caught himself out and he hadn't quite made up his mind to head or shoot?
0-0 at half time and confidence has to be very very high. Those early second half minutes are critical.
ATFC-1887
pitch is a disgrace
Mad Moose
20/08/2009, 6:09 PM
harspbear hard luck you nearly jinxed it. what is the definition of a result? a result occurs once 90 mins plus injury time is played.
The steaur player should have done better.
Everything is coming down the left and then long balls in over the top to the right side of the box.
I believe my exact words are 'quietly confident St Pats can get a result here'. Cheers Paul however for the definition. Not needed here thanks.
Just watch the game.
20/08/2009, 6:10 PM
hopefuly go in level at half time.
I still really think they need a goal though, steau will score in dublin.
ATFC-1887
20/08/2009, 6:11 PM
agree with ya there
Mad Moose
20/08/2009, 6:13 PM
Is that an opinion Paul or indeed fact. You clearly have this all worked out and your just here to tell us what we don't know.
just got the close up there, that pitch is a disgrace.
longfordjames
A win (on aggergate) is worth a million plus a lot of big games
20/08/2009, 6:14 PM
Is that an opinion Paul or indeed fact. You clearly have this all worked out and your just here to tell us what we don't know.
Harpsbear are ye on the blob?! Chillax.
Just my opinion! :)
20/08/2009, 6:16 PM
who si the fourth official showing the injury time to :D