View Full Version : The Big Fat European Latest Thread
06/08/2009, 7:09 PM
Markynios has spent more time on the ground rolling around than he has standing up.
Reminds me of when we were playing in Cyprus and they were exactly the sameAlbanians were at it too in the 2nd leg. Must be an east Europe thing.
Mad Moose
06/08/2009, 7:09 PM
Radio Foyle stream and a pizza for me tonight. Listening to important games by radio is painful btw. The most nerve-wracking experience known to a football fan. Sheer nervous tension....
Haven't read beyond this post. No Radio Foyle stream. Making do with iCandy which has been good to me in the past. I may check BBC Radio Foyle again.
Well done St Pats. I checked at work and as it went out to 3-0 I gave up so to come on and see that they got a result is incredible stuff.
C'mon muckers. Here's hoping for a fantastic 45 and another fantastic night for the league. I agree on radio coverage, very very hard work but I love it as its all I get these days.
briancool21
06/08/2009, 7:10 PM
Lads whats the story with no picture on the stream
06/08/2009, 7:10 PM
No Radio Foyle stream.
Yes there is..
http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/realmedia/streaming/foylemw_06_08_09_nb.asx
06/08/2009, 7:11 PM
Lads whats the story with no picture on the stream
Has something to do with it being a radio broadcast...
06/08/2009, 7:13 PM
Just availing of your wonderful service at the moment Gareth! I have asked minime to email you from Wexford tomorrow if you need her to coz I cant make it down there.
06/08/2009, 7:16 PM
Has something to do with it being a radio broadcast...
They have a camera pointing at the desk though.
briancool21
06/08/2009, 7:20 PM
Oh right whoops thought there was tv coverage of it? Is der?
06/08/2009, 7:24 PM
No TV coverage sadly.
briancool21
06/08/2009, 7:25 PM
Great win for pats wasn't hope derry can do sumthin sounds like its all CSKA though
irishfan86
06/08/2009, 7:28 PM
You can actually see the game a bit now on icandy (low quality camera, and doesn't move, only get to see part of the pitch).
Mad Moose
06/08/2009, 7:31 PM
You can actually see the game a bit now on icandy (low quality camera, and doesn't move, only get to see part of the pitch).
Excellent commentary. I don't need the pictures. The Brandywell has never been pleasing on my eyes :D
Boo_Boy
06/08/2009, 7:32 PM
Damn 1-0 Sofia
LOL there fans are kissing.
Predator
06/08/2009, 7:34 PM
Derry will need 3 goals now, is that right? Jaysus...
Yeah.
Can't see it happening
longfordjames
06/08/2009, 7:35 PM
Sofia 1 up on night
Sofia 2 up on aggergate
With an away goal something DCFC cant get so
DCFC need 3
Hope that helps.
06/08/2009, 7:35 PM
My reverse-jinxing worked a treat! :D Just got in now, was 3-0 when I left for home. Unbelievable result.
I wouldn't be surprised if Dundalk were fielding bids for Fabio before the window closes. Regardless of his age, there are plenty of mid-ranking clubs around Europe who would be perfectly willing to take a punt on someone with that scoring record in Europe, almost sight unseen. Particularly when they could have him for buttons.
Hey Sheridan,
Welcome to foot.ie ! There's a few other Rovers fans on here, so you'll be in good company.
Are you by any chance a relative of a Sheridan fella who supports Dublin City ? He used to be on here a lot, but hasn't been heard from in a few hours. Bit of a ****** to be fair, so no great loss....
Enjoy the board,
Steve
Mad Moose
06/08/2009, 7:36 PM
Yep. 3 in 18 mins I think. I'm tempted to follow Sheridan's lead and say I'll change my avatar to a Derry City wan if Derry go through!
Mad Moose
06/08/2009, 7:37 PM
Hey Sheridan,
Welcome to foot.ie ! There's a few other Rovers fans on here, so you'll be in good company.
Are you by any chance a relative of a Sheridan fella who supports Dublin City ? He used to be on here a lot, but hasn't been heard from in a few hours. Bit of a ****** to be fair, so no great loss....
Enjoy the board,
Steve
Classic. :D
Mad Moose
06/08/2009, 7:45 PM
1-1. 9 minutes left
Predator
06/08/2009, 7:45 PM
1-1 on the night, so far. Stranger things have happened!
06/08/2009, 7:46 PM
At least it means co-efficient points for the league if nothing else!
Mad Moose
06/08/2009, 7:47 PM
1-1 on the night, so far. Stranger things have happened!
Only a few hours ago in Russia. By all accounts CSKA have killed this game through diving.
mcgonigle
06/08/2009, 7:47 PM
My reverse-jinxing worked a treat! :D Just got in now, was 3-0 when I left for home. Unbelievable result.
I wouldn't be surprised if Dundalk were fielding bids for Fabio before the window closes. Regardless of his age, there are plenty of mid-ranking clubs around Europe who would be perfectly willing to take a punt on someone with that scoring record in Europe, almost sight unseen. Particularly when they could have him for buttons.
Why would we bid for our own player :confused:
06/08/2009, 7:50 PM
Sounds like good City pressure - though McGlynn has just been given a straigth red !?! :mad:
Was just about to say that I love our league......
Red Card for McGlynn :mad:
irishfan86
Only a few hours ago in Russia. By all accounts CSKA have killed this game through diving.
"all accounts," in other words, biased icandy fan radio! :D
06/08/2009, 7:52 PM
Do red cards in Europe carry over to the league if the team are knocked out or does it carry over to their next game in Europe?
Unbelieveable these eastern european teams get away with murder with diving left rite and centre. Platini shud get the finger out of his backside and cut this out, if you cheat taking drugs your banned for 2 yrs if you cheAT and dive you get away with both of these are cheating only way to cut it out is ban players for a long time
christo
06/08/2009, 7:53 PM
Unbelieveable these eastern european teams get away with murder with diving left rite and centre. Platini shud get the finger out of his backside and cut this out, if you cheat taking drugs your banned for 2 yrs if you cheAT and dive you get away with both of these are cheating only way to cut it out is ban players for a long time
Here, here red cards for diving all round
Strange decision to take off McManus
irishfan86
06/08/2009, 7:54 PM
Do red cards in Europe carry over to the league if the team are knocked out or does it carry over to their next game in Europe?
Carries over to the next European game as far as I know.
TheBoss
Next European Game
"all accounts," in other words, biased icandy fan radio! :D
Radio Foyle have said the same thing... :rolleyes:
But I supposed that's still too biased for you....
06/08/2009, 7:57 PM
They should also hand out red cards for consistently poor spelling and bad use of grammar.... ;)
06/08/2009, 7:57 PM
But I supposed that's still too biased for you....
Well, they cover all Derry games, no? Wouldn't they be biased??
(Dont strike me:()
Mad Moose
06/08/2009, 7:58 PM
Its all I've heard through the commentary. I would expect a certain bias from Kev and James but nonetheless a dive is a dive and I'd love a total number of actual dives from this game. It must be quite a number. It was up to the ref to stamp his mark on the game and deal with it.Had he done then the diving and cheating would have stopped. Its a facet of world football thats gone on for so many years from Maradona to Klinsmann. Listening to that commentary, little has actually changed. Sadly.
06/08/2009, 7:59 PM
Ends 1 a piece. More co-efficient points for the league and the club.
Plus Kenny's undefeated Euro record at the Brandywell continues : 5 games at home, 2 wins, 3 draws. Not bad.
CF1989
06/08/2009, 7:59 PM
unlucky derry, well done pats.
WoodquayBoy
06/08/2009, 8:03 PM
Damn, sorry for Derry, well done Pats
06/08/2009, 8:03 PM
Hard luck Derry. :(
Hibernian
06/08/2009, 8:07 PM
well done St Pats
that was unreal result..to go 3 nil down and come back is fantastic.
unlucky derry but ye can hiold yer head up high
good night for LOI
longfordjames
06/08/2009, 8:07 PM
Hardluck Derry.
With them helping our co-efficent and Pats fetting a miimum of 2 more chances to boost it will Rovers get to start a round later in the CL next year?
06/08/2009, 8:12 PM
Despite not going through a narrow aggregate defeat to a team like Sofia is another positive for the league, well done Derry.
Umberside
06/08/2009, 8:14 PM
Hardluck Derry.
With them helping our co-efficent and Pats fetting a miimum of 2 more chances to boost it will Rovers get to start a round later in the CL next year?
Watch out for Finland
06/08/2009, 8:19 PM
Hardluck Derry.
This year's points only affect that for the 2011/2 European season so it won't do Bohs any good in next year's CL but I don't think we're anywhere near having a team starting in the CL third qualifying round anyway. It might make a difference in whether the second team from the league get into the second qualifying round in the UEFA Cup though.
Hairy Bowsie
06/08/2009, 8:20 PM
Jesters european tour is over but the Stains are still marching on.
http://9001chan.org/9001/43/BM1407~Dyslexia-Posters.jpg
:p
WoodquayBoy
06/08/2009, 8:31 PM
Just watched the 9pm news on RTE1. Feature piece on Liverpool FC playing in Dunmanway - and have to say, didn't recognise a single player, must have been a reserve c side or something - but do you think they mentioned Pat's excellent result, or Derry's draw? They did in my hooooooooooooo....................