View Full Version : The Big Fat European Latest Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

23/07/2009, 8:37 PM
St Pats pulling off a miracle.
Beating a Maltese side by a single goal is hardly a miracle :eek:

Tallanted
23/07/2009, 8:38 PM
It is when Jeff kenna is manager!

23/07/2009, 8:39 PM
It is when Jeff kenna is manager!
Good point :o

23/07/2009, 9:05 PM
Beating a Maltese side by a single goal is hardly a miracle :eek:Run us through Longford's record....

23/07/2009, 9:10 PM
Run us through Longford's record....
Its more of a nightmare then a miracle.

sheao
23/07/2009, 9:28 PM
Great results for both Pats and Derry today.

Tallanted
23/07/2009, 9:29 PM
Due to some irregularities our record is best left where it is

23/07/2009, 9:30 PM
Our conquerers Vllaznia lost 8-0 on aggregate to Vienna...it should have been us:(

losing 8 - 0?

Well done to both teams.

MyTown
23/07/2009, 9:49 PM
Well done to Pats & Derry.

Delighted for Kenna, Rogers & Lester who seem to have reaped undeserved (IMO) flak in certain quarters but who have achieved a rarity in League of Ireland football in getting a win away from home in European competition and who served my club very well when they were here. Well done lads.

Honourable mentions to Bohs & Shamrock Rovers this week too - a good week for our little league despite the queue of begrudgers

topia
23/07/2009, 10:05 PM
still cant find the words to explain how gutted im feeling since last night but well done to pats and derry, you did yourselves and the league proud

Sunny Jim
23/07/2009, 10:07 PM
I was at the Brandywell tonight (my first visit) and I just want to compliment the Derry fans for creating a fantastic atmosphere.

Derry were much the better team and deserved their win, despite the best efforts of the referee.

Also I thought it was a nice touch to have tickets handed back to us on the way out, I haven't seen that done before.

Hairy Bowsie
23/07/2009, 10:15 PM
Hurrah for the Junkies and Jesters, now people will start to take notice of the LoI

23/07/2009, 10:23 PM
Hopefully not as much notice when ye bring yer gang of drunken midgets down to Flancare in two weeks time.

23/07/2009, 10:26 PM
Hurrah for the Junkies and Jesters, now people will start to take notice of the LoIOf course they won't. It's a chicken/egg problem which has been more eloquently put by many posters. The strength of the League is reflected through European performances, NOT vice versa.

But who cares, I've a flight to Sofia to book.

23/07/2009, 10:27 PM
Hurrah for the Junkies and Jesters, now people will start to take notice of the LoI

...another witticism from the most tiresome poster on foot.ie....:rolleyes:

Seriously, we all know how you feel about LOI clubs in Europe, now can you please stop making post after post on the same theme; you're like an attention-seeking schoolboy who's just learned to curse for the first time.

23/07/2009, 10:27 PM
Delighted he two teams made it through, compensates a bit for the disappointment of Bohs defeat. Horrible trip for Pat's in the next round, hopefully they can find a way to win through and make it worth their while.

Flexy
23/07/2009, 10:28 PM
I was at the Brandywell tonight (my first visit) and I just want to compliment the Derry fans for creating a fantastic atmosphere.

Derry were much the better team and deserved their win, despite the best efforts of the referee.

Also I thought it was a nice touch to have tickets handed back to us on the way out, I haven't seen that done before.
Im glad you enjoyed it Jim nice to see other EL fans travel up to support us.

Hairy Bowsie
23/07/2009, 10:32 PM
Hopefully not as much notice when ye bring yer gang of drunken midgets down to Flancare in two weeks time.

You say that now but you'll all have a big cry at the guards when those "drunken midgets" sing some songs you don't like :rolleyes:

23/07/2009, 10:34 PM
he did what with the who now?

Hairy Bowsie
23/07/2009, 10:35 PM
He only 20 Malboro but they shot him anyway

23/07/2009, 10:37 PM
Ahh that little ditty.

Hairy Bowsie
23/07/2009, 10:38 PM
Yeah answered your question anyway. Going to call the gaurds on me now are you?

23/07/2009, 10:41 PM
I have no idea what you are raving on about? Should we call the guards? Are you admitting to the killing of Michael Jackson? Should we pay off the money owed for the sarnies out in Tolka? I am lost?

Hairy Bowsie
23/07/2009, 10:42 PM
Yeah sure.

23/07/2009, 10:44 PM
Yeah sure.
To killing Jacko? Dont let Jermaine hear that.

Back to slightly more on topic moments , Pats have a massive challenge against their Russian opponents. They have a few very useful players among them Mister Jan Koller who can cause a problem or two unless nailed to the ground. They also have a familiar name in Jarosik who played with Chelsea a few years back I think?

PartySaint
23/07/2009, 10:53 PM
Delighted he two teams made it through, compensates a bit for the disappointment of Bohs defeat. Horrible trip for Pat's in the next round, hopefully they can find a way to win through and make it worth their while.

I just hope we dont get embarrassed,

Congrats to Derry tonight great result, it was almost a perfect european week, 2 out of 3 aint bad though

cheifo
23/07/2009, 11:11 PM
Congrats to Derry.

God typing that hurt.

23/07/2009, 11:13 PM

What's the story with that?

23/07/2009, 11:15 PM
Souvenir purposes, I'd imagine.

23/07/2009, 11:15 PM
nice to remember a european win I suppose

23/07/2009, 11:18 PM
They'll probably give first preference for tickets to the next round to people who went to this one.

23/07/2009, 11:34 PM
The Derry game was the main piece on the RTE's late sport news tonight. It looked like the keeper let it in :eek:

soccerc
24/07/2009, 12:41 AM
Says it all............................. image at the final whistle

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2638/3750208769_7eb8950740_o.jpg

24/07/2009, 1:15 AM
The Derry game was the main piece on the RTE's late sport news tonight. It looked like the keeper let it in :eek:

Bizarre stuff alright. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3kDQIZ7v9PI

24/07/2009, 1:36 AM
Well done Pats and Derry, i'm delighted , if only because Hairy Bowsie must be sickened

dong
24/07/2009, 1:36 AM

Nice one. Well done to ye. Looks like a savage night was had.

Blue Man
24/07/2009, 2:07 AM
Lets be fair, the keeper had a few quid on that one!!

But seriously well done Derry. showed a lot of heart tonight. and what is with the likes of Hairy Bowsie?? Is there people that want this league to fail?? Every victory strengthens out position. I just find it ridiculous that people are against OUR teams. I dont care who he/she follows but this is a league forum and in my eyes we should follow our league and clubs.

If not, confine yourself to your own club section. talk about your trip to Ballybofey or Lissywollen all you like, but this is our European representatives so if no positives arouses your post, leave it out will ya. Great night all round, best of luck to all in the next round

Candystripe
24/07/2009, 3:13 AM
Well done Pats and us.

Sligo should have been in this round as I watched it online and they should have won easy.

Last night..............Bohs...........what can I say.....................so in control and then fuked up.

Shams did great V Real so all in all a great week for us LOI fans.

Duggie
24/07/2009, 8:19 AM
ya well done pats and derry. 2 wins which is great. im liking the new derry strip. kinda old looking but i like it :ball:

24/07/2009, 9:42 AM

Bizarre stuff that RTE showed the goal or that the keeper let it in? :p

marinobohs
24/07/2009, 9:57 AM
well done pats and derry, i'm delighted , if only because hairy bowsie must be sickened

+ 1 :d

Derry
24/07/2009, 10:07 AM
+ 1 :d

Having seen both games ie Derry and Bohs, the difference in the tactics couldn't have been more glaring, Bohs who only needed a scoreless draw played for a scoreless draw and paid the penalty. Derry who also only needed a scoreless draw went at Skonto from start to finish, and it proved the right attitude as Derry could have won this game by more. Well done Pats for a remarkable result, but i'm afraid the blame for Bohs departure lies firmly on the shoulders of Pat Fenlon.

marinobohs
24/07/2009, 10:14 AM
Having seen both games ie Derry and Bohs, the difference in the tactics couldn't have been more glaring, Bohs who only needed a scoreless draw played for a scoreless draw and paid the penalty. Derry who also only needed a scoreless draw went at Skonto from start to finish, and it proved the right attitude as Derry could have won this game by more. Well done Pats for a remarkable result, but i'm afraid the blame for Bohs departure lies firmly on the shoulders of Pat Fenlon.

Jezus H, even in your moment of glory you can think of nothing but having a go at Nutsey ! yes, Fenlon deliberately got Rossi to balls up the back pass just so we would lose - well spotted. Truth is he was gutted we had got that close to progressing and was dreading that trip to Zagreb ! the fact that RBS are a better team than Skonto is, of course, irrelevant in the matter.

Again, well done Derry (including ex Bohs manager Stephen Kenny) and best of luck in the next round.

24/07/2009, 10:15 AM

Worst.
Goal.
Ever.

24/07/2009, 10:17 AM

There is a big difference between Skonto and RBS though. Still doesn't mean they shouldn't have at least triedto hold onto the ball and attack.

24/07/2009, 10:18 AM
Worst.
Goal.
Ever.

Worse than the Dundalk keeper falling over the line with the ball a few years ago?

24/07/2009, 10:19 AM
Second.
Worst.
Goal.
Ever.

Black and White
24/07/2009, 10:29 AM
Worse than the Dundalk keeper falling over the line with the ball a few years ago?
Am i missing something? Was that not Steve Williams for Fingal last season against US!! or Roy Carroll for Utd a few years back?

24/07/2009, 10:38 AM
Am i missing something? Was that not Steve Williams for Fingal last season against US!! or Roy Carroll for Utd a few years back?

I think it was the last time we were in the first division, 2004. Tony McDonnell headed the ball at goal, the keeper caught it on the line but lost his balance and fell over the line. I haven't seen the Fingal one, there isn't a video of it is there?

24/07/2009, 10:43 AM
I think it was the last time we were in the first division, 2004. Tony McDonnell headed the ball at goal, the keeper caught it on the line but lost his balance and fell over the line. I haven't seen the Fingal one, there isn't a video of it is there?

http://www.vimeo.com/1100834

He caught the ball and walked backwards over the line.