View Full Version : The Big Fat European Latest Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

longfordjames
24/07/2009, 10:57 AM
Dont you get like 390k for each round?Pats will have to spend a good bit of that on travel to Russia of all places?Will they all get visas?

24/07/2009, 11:00 AM
http://www.vimeo.com/1100834

He caught the ball and walked backwards over the line.

Thanks. I'll have to watch it when I get home, no video watching in work!

Rovers Maniac
24/07/2009, 11:07 AM
Bizarre stuff alright. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3kDQIZ7v9PI

I was watching the betting in-running in this game and deffo some bookmakers were way out of sync coming close to half time with where the price should have been even if Derry had been camped in their half. Just seeing that says a lot. But big well done Derry and Pats.

Redie
24/07/2009, 11:37 AM
I was watching the betting in-running in this game and deffo some bookmakers were way out of cink coming close to half time with where the price should have been even if Derry had been camped in their half. Just seeing that says a lot. But big well done Derry and Pats.

I think the kindest we can be to that keeper is that he thought it was going wide.

24/07/2009, 11:45 AM
I was watching the betting in-running in this game and deffo some bookmakers were way out of cink coming close to half time with where the price should have been even if Derry had been camped in their half. Just seeing that says a lot. But big well done Derry and Pats.1. It's "sync" or "synch".

2. A scoreless draw would've taken us through. That goal didn't matter in the end.

Rovers Maniac
24/07/2009, 11:49 AM
1. It's "sync" or "synch".

2. A scoreless draw would've taken us through. That goal didn't matter in the end.

lol what are you on about?:D, i agree with Redie the kindest thing we can say is the keeper thought it was going wide !

Hairy Bowsie
24/07/2009, 12:11 PM
Well done Pats and Derry, i'm delighted , if only because Hairy Bowsie must be sickened

I am. Wouldn't say it ruined my day now but i am sick

24/07/2009, 12:13 PM
A scoreless draw would've taken us through. That goal didn't matter in the end.

It did if you had money on Derry to win.

pól-dcfc
24/07/2009, 12:23 PM
Nice one. Well done to ye. Looks like a savage night was had.

Far too savage a night for me. Great result, not an amazing game, and an awful but fantastic goal. When Deery hit it there were about 10 people around me saying "look at the state of that ****e," finishing their sentance just as the ball nestled into the back of the net :D. I can't speak today.

24/07/2009, 12:25 PM
http://www.vimeo.com/1100834

He caught the ball and walked backwards over the line.
Different goal to the one's schumi's talking about alright. Not as funny either. :p

Rovers fan
24/07/2009, 1:12 PM
Second.
Worst.
Goal.
Ever.

Why.
Do.
We.
Have.
To.
Write.
Like.
This?

24/07/2009, 1:12 PM
I am. Wouldn't say it ruined my day now but i am sick

Your a sad person.

24/07/2009, 1:14 PM
Why.
Do.
We.
Have.
To.
Write.
Like.
This?
Because.
I'm.
Your.
Role-model.
for.
Cool?

Rovers fan
24/07/2009, 1:37 PM
Because.
I'm.
Your.
Role-model.
for.
Cool?

You're.
My.
Role-model.
For.
Everything.
Hiiii.
Stuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu!

24/07/2009, 2:01 PM
Feckin Sligo fans...

PartySaint
24/07/2009, 2:02 PM
Dont you get like 390k for each round?Pats will have to spend a good bit of that on travel to Russia of all places?Will they all get visas?

90k each round, It will cost the club a good bit for the trip to Russia but its worth every penny:D

Derry
24/07/2009, 3:11 PM
Jezus H, even in your moment of glory you can think of nothing but having a go at Nutsey ! yes, Fenlon deliberately got Rossi to balls up the back pass just so we would lose - well spotted. Truth is he was gutted we had got that close to progressing and was dreading that trip to Zagreb ! the fact that RBS are a better team than Skonto is, of course, irrelevant in the matter.

Again, well done Derry (including ex Bohs manager Stephen Kenny) and best of luck in the next round.

Any dogs a**e knows that if you play for a draw, you are likely to get caught out sometime in the game. The fact it was in the last three minutes is irrelivent. Fenlon was responsible as he had his players playing with their backs to the wall, when they could have been playing the game at the other end. As for RBS being better than Skonto, well they sure didn't look better than Skonto, as Skonto played very well, but RBS were rubbish. If Bohs had of taken the game to them, i'm sure they would have won.

Juanace
24/07/2009, 3:23 PM
Any dogs a**e knows that if you play for a draw, you are likely to get caught out sometime in the game. The fact it was in the last three minutes is irrelivent. Fenlon was responsible as he had his players playing with their backs to the wall, when they could have been playing the game at the other end. As for RBS being better than Skonto, well they sure didn't look better than Skonto, as Skonto played very well, but RBS were rubbish. If Bohs had of taken the game to them, i'm sure they would have won.

I was at the bohs game and RBS were on another planet when it came to football ability, technique and strength and conditioning of their players.

If Bohs had come out and played they would have lost handily. They played the only way that gave them a chance - 10 men behind the ball and ride their luck.

Doesn't matter who the team is, breaking down an organised 10 men is difficult as RBS showed. Thats why this game is great, it gives inferior teams, with less quality and ability, a chance of upsetting a superior teams.

Anytime Bohs tried to play ball they lost it in dangerous areas and gave RBS a chance to score. In fact they never looked like conceeding when they didn't have the ball such was they defensive organisation.

But to suggest that they should of gone on the attack for the game, and that the result would have been anything other than a whopping defeat I think is unrealistic - much as i day i hope to be wrong.

irishultra
24/07/2009, 3:27 PM
No they weren't on any other planet or anything like it. Ireland played Italy a while back and Italy completely set off Ireland allowing players like Whelan to appear as Xaviesque.

When Bohs actually got up and supported and actually looked to play positive football they looked just as much as a threat as Salzburg. Red Bull had absolutely no creativity...AT ALL. They never looked like scoring.

Duggie
24/07/2009, 3:29 PM
I was at the bohs game and RBS were on another planet when it came to football ability, technique and strength and conditioning of their players.

full time clubs like bohs this shouldnt be a problem. but i suppose when you look at the european side we come up against we do look a bit weak. do LOI clubs do much work in the gym ??

24/07/2009, 3:34 PM
I don't know I thought the Bohs players looked just as good technically and if anything looked physically stronger, Salzburg were certainly faster and looked a bit fitter too. I though Bohs losing posession in dangerous areas was largely down to the players unwillingness to move forward into space to create a pass, there seemed to be an inferiority complex that wan't justified. Bohs looked far more creative around the Salzburg box, the pity was they didn't get there often enough.

Redie
24/07/2009, 3:35 PM
Far too savage a night for me. Great result, not an amazing game, and an awful but fantastic goal. When Deery hit it there were about 10 people around me saying "look at the state of that ****e," finishing their sentance just as the ball nestled into the back of the net :D. I can't speak today.

The very essence of supporting your football club captured to perfection in this single post. Long live Irish Soccer!!

Best of luck in the next round:)

irishultra
24/07/2009, 3:42 PM
full time clubs like bohs this shouldnt be a problem. but i suppose when you look at the european side we come up against we do look a bit weak. do LOI clubs do much work in the gym ??

Irish people are pretty small.:o

My friend sees the Bohs players down at the Elite GYM in DCU, don't know what they lift or anything.

24/07/2009, 7:56 PM
Evening all.

You can see the Pats goal here http://www.timesofmalta.com/articles/view/20090724/sport/video-highlights-of-yesterdays-valletta-game

Highlights don't really show the game as they show virtually every second valetta had the ball. They sat back and invited us on, an dwe eventually made the breakthrough

They're a poor team, but that win was incredible in that heat. Reached 40 degrees during the game, and referee decided to have a time out in the mid way point of both halves

We worked hard and deserved the win.

As ever, cheers to the well wishers, and g'luck to the begrudgers...

24/07/2009, 9:52 PM
My friend sees the Bohs players down at the Elite GYM in DCU, don't know what they lift or anything.

Mostly weights, I understand.

Though some talk of shirts and other people's wallets as well.....

24/07/2009, 11:37 PM
Evening all.

You can see the Pats goal here http://www.timesofmalta.com/articles/view/20090724/sport/video-highlights-of-yesterdays-valletta-game

Classy reaction to the goal from the Maltese.

24/07/2009, 11:40 PM
Doesn't reflect their fans in fairness, who were superb to us before, during and after game

Black and White
24/07/2009, 11:44 PM
Dodge any word on when our game is with ye next week seen as though ye have Europe now next Thursday!

24/07/2009, 11:47 PM
Nope, club still in malta today, they'll need to get going for Russia too

It'll either be Sunday or a number of weeks

Black and White
24/07/2009, 11:50 PM
Nope, club still in malta today, they'll need to get going for Russia too

It'll either be Sunday or a number of weeks

Probably Sunday so, ye might then be suffering from a European hangover!:D

25/07/2009, 12:25 PM
When over in Riga, we met this fella

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zovEA5C_oTk&NR=1

He's heading around Europe collecting football tops and then cycling to South Africa.

He's over in Ireland in a while. His site is www.theshirt.no

25/07/2009, 1:09 PM

ya i was thinking the same thing watching the second leg, the upper body strength didn't seem to exist and were thrown off the ball far easier.

25/07/2009, 1:11 PM
Mostly weights, I understand.

Though some talk of shirts and other people's wallets as well.....

Lots of dubs, whadaya expect?! :D

VinnyDCFC
25/07/2009, 11:50 PM
Some fans footage from Block J at Brandywell on Thursday 23.07.2009

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZO491tvQ2o

When the option becomes available, click on HQ

The goal is here but if you're looking for match coverage I assume that there'll be some on RTE's MNS on Monday night?

Enjoy http://www.derrycitychat.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_e_wink.gif

Vinny

pól-dcfc
26/07/2009, 11:57 AM
Some fans footage from Block J at Brandywell on Thursday 23.07.2009

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TZO491tvQ2o

When the option becomes available, click on HQ

The goal is here but if you're looking for match coverage I assume that there'll be some on RTE's MNS on Monday night?

Enjoy http://www.derrycitychat.com/forum/images/smilies/icon_e_wink.gif

Vinny

I'm in there somewhere. Half steamin and elated. Ninja style...

kdjaC
26/07/2009, 12:43 PM
Dodge any word on when our game is with ye next week seen as though ye have Europe now next Thursday!

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/bohemians-pay-a-high-price-for-baffling-fixtures-gamble-1841398.html

according to that i think we trying to postpone it. Dundalk on fire so would prefer if we did for ehh European reasons :D

27/07/2009, 6:25 PM
Latest news are that Derry City are flying to Sofia in one of those ATR prop planes that Aer Arann fly around Ireland.

I flew to Sofia for the Ireland game and it was 4 hours in an Airbus......from Heathrow.

It sums up the state of the League at the minute.

I imagine it'll be like one of those old cinereel Pathé News films of Amelia Earhart, with a map showing the journey hopping from country to country, stopping for fuel every hour.

Although, it will likely not surpass the plane the club chartered the last time the played in Sofia in the mid 90's which allegedly still had the bombing sights in the floor of the cockpit.

27/07/2009, 6:37 PM
Those ATRs lose about 20 minutes per hour compared to say an AB319! Fun if ye like flying-terrifying if a nervous flyer:D

27/07/2009, 6:44 PM
Although, it will likely not surpass the plane the club chartered the last time the played in Sofia in the mid 90's which allegedly still had the bombing sights in the floor of the cockpit.

They were added especially, for the flight over Belfast.... :D

marinobohs
28/07/2009, 6:56 PM
best of luck to Derry and Pats in this weeks euro adventures, I would hope all real Irish fans would add their best wishes

28/07/2009, 11:50 PM
best of luck to Derry and Pats in this weeks euro adventures, I would hope all real Irish fans would add their best wishes

+1

best of luck to both.

mcgonigle
29/07/2009, 9:54 AM
+1

best of luck to both.

+1

All he best Pats and Derry, wish I could make the Pats game but I work away.

I'll be there on Sunday though, run yourselves into the ground and don't worry about Sunday it's not imprtant ;)

CuanaD
29/07/2009, 10:18 AM
+1

All the best Pats and Derry
+1
I'll be at the Pat's game - getting the tickets today

:ball:

29/07/2009, 10:18 AM
good luck to both, pity there wasn't 3 teams still competing.

Boo_Boy
29/07/2009, 10:20 AM
Good luck to both the teams this week!

29/07/2009, 10:37 AM
Good luck to Pats in their European tie.

This of course comes with the proviso that if you're going to lose please get annihilated so we can laugh at you.

29/07/2009, 10:58 AM

This of course comes with the proviso that if you're going to lose please get annihilated so we can laugh at you.

Understood, and expected.

29/07/2009, 12:28 PM

This of course comes with the proviso that if you're going to lose please get annihilated so we can laugh at you.Did you choke on your best wishes to Derry?

The Betting Man
29/07/2009, 12:49 PM
good luck to both, pity there wasn't 3 teams still competing.

Last Wednesday night still hurts :(

29/07/2009, 12:59 PM
Did you choke on your best wishes to Derry?

Nope. In the past maybe I'd have hoped you progressed, but now it's clear that European progress is only likely to help paper over the cracks of massive overspending. And the sooner that stops the better for DCFC and indeed for the whole league.