View Full Version : The Big Fat European Latest Thread
longfordjames
06/08/2009, 4:48 PM
www.saintsforum.net (http://www.saintsforum.net)
says RDS is unavailable and Rovers will be moved from Tallaght?
06/08/2009, 4:50 PM
Rovers will be moved from Tallaght?Surely Shams wont be moved elsewhere for a game? Oh wait...
www.saintsforum.net (http://www.saintsforum.net)
says RDS is unavailable and Rovers will be moved from Tallaght?
Will the second stand be done? Otherwise its only 3k or so tickets...
Tony Soprano
06/08/2009, 4:51 PM
I think this is the most impressive win ever by an irish side over two legs aberdeen, belenenses (1960s), hajduk split - beats all of these am i forgetting anyone else ?
SMorgan
06/08/2009, 4:52 PM
It would be great if Derry could do it this evening.
It will mean that both St. Pats and Derry would have done the league proud this season in Europe.
Tony Soprano
06/08/2009, 4:52 PM
Will the second stand be done? Otherwise its only 3k or so tickets...
would UEFA allow them to play in limerick ?
It's game over, sadly. If Pat's go through now I'll adopt a Shamrock Rovers avatar for a week.
bit late to the game but HA HA :)
Tony Soprano
06/08/2009, 4:54 PM
It will mean that both St. Pats and Derry would have done the league proud this season in Europe.
but how frustrating if both had to play the play off matches in stadiums limited to 3k maybe both can play in limerick :D
Razors left peg
06/08/2009, 4:55 PM
Just in from work and seen the result, nearly dropped my feckin laptop when I seen they came from 3 down.... fantasic Pats,well done
Billsthoughts
06/08/2009, 4:56 PM
By not specifying that it was an away goals aggregate win, indirectly infers that they were on about the game being played today. They didnt claim a famous victory, well they did at home, what they claimed was an away goals aggregate win i.e. they won on away goals. Did they "victory on away goals?!"
should be given a symbolic two week ban for begrudgery...
I won't bother starting a new thread for this. Would anyone care to explain to me what the hell the 'paper of record' is going on about here (http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2009/0806/1224252126207.html):
The League of Ireland side may have been flanked by a heavyweight total of three supporters but this was always going be a tough assignment.
I can't tell if it's a dig at Pats or just some garbled nonsense.
sonofstan
Only just found out now thanks to TV3 - after a long report from 'football mad' Dunmanway....."we're mad for Liverpool, we go and see them twice a year"
Unbelievable result - well done Pat's and Derry to join them
I think Bohs did well to be fair.
Looking at the league table and the respective positions of both Pats and ourselves this result really highlights how poor our efforts were in Europe.:mad:
06/08/2009, 5:00 PM
should be given a symbolic two week ban for begrudgery...
billsthoughts you are reading that post too literally.
I am very happy that Pats got through. :)
06/08/2009, 5:11 PM
My reverse-jinxing worked a treat! :D Just got in now, was 3-0 when I left for home. Unbelievable result.
I wouldn't be surprised if Dundalk were fielding bids for Fabio before the window closes. Regardless of his age, there are plenty of mid-ranking clubs around Europe who would be perfectly willing to take a punt on someone with that scoring record in Europe, almost sight unseen. Particularly when they could have him for buttons.
06/08/2009, 5:19 PM
Only just found out now thanks to TV3 - after a long report from 'football mad' Dunmanway....."we're mad for Liverpool, we go and see them twice a year"
Unbelievable result - well done Pat's and Derry to join them
ha ha yeah seen that
and the girl that "lives for Liverpool", well left her feck off and live there then:rolleyes:
06/08/2009, 5:20 PM
My reverse-jinxing worked a treat! :D Just got in now, was 3-0 when I left for home. Unbelievable result.
I wouldn't be surprised if Dundalk were fielding bids for Fabio before the window closes. Regardless of his age, there are plenty of mid-ranking clubs around Europe who would be perfectly willing to take a punt on someone with that scoring record in Europe, almost sight unseen. Particularly when they could have him for buttons.
Glad to see you're a man of your word :D
I'm glad I wasn't driving when I heard this on the radio, I think I'd have crashed if I wasn't in the passenger seat, the last I had heard was 3-0 down and out, amazing turn around, now come on Derry and make this a truly stunning night for the League of Ireland.
stamullendrog
06/08/2009, 5:31 PM
well done pats great result nice to see fabio fianlly get a european run,even if he made a **** of us when he left
06/08/2009, 5:31 PM
Any updates for the derry game?
HarpoJoyce
06/08/2009, 5:33 PM
St. Pat's join Vaslui from Tuesday's game.
Two years in a row into the competition proper, good stuff.
kingdomkerry
06/08/2009, 5:35 PM
Well done pats. Is the draw tomorrow?
06/08/2009, 5:38 PM
Brilliant atmosphere here already. There's a big van ith satellite attached so I presume there's/will be afterwards some coverage/highlights somewhere
06/08/2009, 5:40 PM
Brilliant atmosphere here already. There's a big van ith satellite attached so I presume there's/will be afterwards some coverage/highlights somewhere
Any radio coverage?
06/08/2009, 5:41 PM
Imagine if Pats got Dinamo Moscow!!!:p
Bate Borisov wouldnt be a bad one if looking to progress
06/08/2009, 5:41 PM
That Michael Lyster **** gave Pat's props for about thirty seconds and then launched into a rant about LOI teams not having enough local players, unlike his beloved Gah. Gimp.
06/08/2009, 5:43 PM
The oul paranoid Russians. :D
Guys, the next fixed match has been played. I do not have doubtless approvements but I can look through my eyes and make my conclusion:
1) This match again wasn't broadcasted on TV and other medias. I can't remember any time when Russian team wasn't shown on TV in eurocups. Even matches with Andorra teams were to be.
2) The process of match. Krylya easily were outplaying guests in first 70 minutes and led 3-0. But then they suddenly forgot how to play. Up to the moment when one player ever forgot where are guests' gates.
SHAME for Krylya!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
http://forum.bettingadvice.com/showthread.php?p=644942#post644942
Second stand at Tallaght will be finished for the game against Dundalk. August 22nd I think.
TheBoss
06/08/2009, 5:50 PM
Derry City
1 Doherty
3 Delaney
4 Hutton
6 Gray
7 Higgins
10 Stewart
12 O'Brien
15 Deery
17 Molloy
18 Farren
23 McManus
Bench
16 Jennings
2 McCallion
8 Martyn
14 McGlynn
19 McClean
20 Scullion
27 Nash
CSKA Sofia
1 Chavdarov
2 Vidanov
6 Kotev
8 Timonov
14 Svetoslav Petrov
15 Ivan Ivanov
21 Yanev
28 Malachias
30 Yordan Todorov
52 Minev
73 Stoianov
Bench
12 Karadjov
4 Stoyanov
10 Marinho Reis
11 Orlinov
18 Zehirov
99 Durmushali
06/08/2009, 5:53 PM
Any radio coverage?
there's an iCandy link a bit further back, I'll try to find it for you.
Derry City: G. Doherty, C. Delaney, P. Hutton, S. Gray, R. Higgins, T. Stewart, G. O'Brien, K. Deery, B. Molloy, M. Farren, T. McManus
Subs: E. McCallion, C. Martyn, G. McGlynn, P. Jennings, J. McClean, D. Scullion, A. Nash
CSKA Sofia: Z. Chavdarov, P. Vidanov, K. Kotev, T. Timonov, S. Petrov, I. Ivanov, K. Yanev, M. Markynios, Y. Todorov, Y. Minev, I. Stoyanov
Subs: K. Soyanov, R. Miguel, O. Orlinov, I. Karadjou, A. Zehirov, D. Saidhodzha
http://www.extratime.ie/liveupdate/
Boo_Boy
06/08/2009, 5:55 PM
CSKA Sofia
1 Chavdarov
2 Vidanov
6 Kotev
8 Timonov
14 Svetoslav Petrov
15 Ivan Ivanov
21 Yanev
28 Malachias
30 Yordan Todorov
52 Minev
73 Stoianov
Bench
12 Karadjov
4 Stoyanov
10 Marinho Reis
11 Orlinov
18 Zehirov
99 Durmushali
Yes, my job is boring.
No McGlynn? Always thought he was quality
Derry game live here: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/icandy-live
06/08/2009, 5:58 PM
BBC Radio Foyle link:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/realmedia/streaming/foylemw_06_08_09_nb.asx
Predator
06/08/2009, 6:00 PM
Ha, fair play to the lads on iCandy! There's a job at RTÉ yet, Maribor!
Tony Soprano
06/08/2009, 6:01 PM
surely dalymount would be better than tallaght for pats
06/08/2009, 6:12 PM
great result Pats !! best of luck Derry !
Absolutely sensational comeback from Pats well done and hope dodge and all the boys are having a sober nite ( Not ). Come on now Derry
longfordjames
06/08/2009, 6:25 PM
In fairness Lyster said omething about going to Terryland before Dubs started playing for Galway Rovers (They were Rovers,not the current United)at the time.
Fantastic result for Pats today out in Russia. Hopefully Derry will do just as well in their match aswell.
06/08/2009, 6:28 PM
Derry seem to be the best team so far anyway..
Youths4Ever
06/08/2009, 6:39 PM
Fair play to St. Pat's delighted for them with this result excellent for league hope Derry can do the same
Seem to be on top from the commentary but it may be biased :D
Derry seem to be the best team so far anyway..
Somebody should break that Markinov's legs he seem to spend more time lying on the ground and diving than he does standing on it.
06/08/2009, 6:47 PM
That sounded pretty close there.. Hopefully Derry can hang on until half time.
06/08/2009, 6:49 PM
A guy from Sofia on another forum says that the keeper that is now on for them hasn't played a first team game before, only under-21 games..
adamcarr
06/08/2009, 6:50 PM
CSKA are having all the chances but I think Derry can do this, the commentators seem unsure about the CSKA keeper who was subbed on.
marinobohs
06/08/2009, 6:52 PM
game over 3-2
Congrats to all at Pats. Great result for the league and especially all at inchcore ! Best of Luck in the draw tomorrow :D
Now come on City
06/08/2009, 7:05 PM
Markynios has spent more time on the ground rolling around than he has standing up.
Reminds me of when we were playing in Cyprus and they were exactly the same, leading Dan Murray to do his fake dive that he got booked for :D
Gareth
06/08/2009, 7:08 PM
I';m sure you knwo but ..http://www.extratime.ie/liveupdate/