View Full Version : The Big Fat European Latest Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

07/08/2009, 12:50 AM
*throws tomato in direction of Derry*

A little bit further west and south and you'd probably get me..... :D

07/08/2009, 12:51 AM
Found a few photo's here. (http://www1.uefa.com/competitions/uefacup/photos/index.html) Scroll through to find them.

ColmM
07/08/2009, 1:26 AM
Barstoolers. :rolleyes:

Fantastic video.

Well done Pats.

soccerc
07/08/2009, 1:49 AM
Tired and emotional........................

.....aimed at harpojoyce the begrudger

Tony Soprano
07/08/2009, 2:54 AM
could pats play the next game at richmond park if they wanted to ? or do UEFA have different safety regulations for this round ?

not much of a problem for Dublin clubs but would Derry, Cork, Sligo, Dundalk etc have to move their games to Dublin if they ever got this far ?

brianw82
07/08/2009, 4:07 AM
could pats play the next game at richmond park if they wanted to ? or do UEFA have different safety regulations for this round ?

not much of a problem for Dublin clubs but would Derry, Cork, Sligo, Dundalk etc have to move their games to Dublin if they ever got this far ?

If the closest available stadium that fit all the criteria was in Dublin, then yes!

07/08/2009, 4:58 AM
A little bit further west and south and you'd probably get me.....

Pssst, London is EAST of Derry. ;)

Unless of course your on holliers in Galway or some such? :confused:

ciaraa
07/08/2009, 6:23 AM
Found a few photo's here. (http://www1.uefa.com/competitions/uefacup/photos/index.html) Scroll through to find them.

That photo of the small pats contingent in front of the grandstand is great! So happy for them and also Fabio the 'slightly-tarnished-by-joining-scumdalk' legend!

CuanaD
07/08/2009, 7:23 AM
Fantastic result for Pats & creditable one for Derry too - pity they aren't in the draw today :ball:

Roll on the draw now, let's see who we'll be shouting at in the RDS - have to sort out a re-mortgage now, just to pay for the half-time burger&chips! ;)

CuanaD
07/08/2009, 7:28 AM
Has anyone got details of European player appearances?

I'm wondering who has played the most Euro games? (including sub appearances)

I think Ollie Cahill was mentioned before as having the most from Cork & Shels appearances.
Also, Stuart Byrne would have a lot, from Longford, Shels, Drogs & now Pats.

Is there anywhere handy to get this info, or do I have to work through each LOI website?

CuanaD
07/08/2009, 8:06 AM
Group 6
FC Zenit St. Petersburg (RUS)
FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU)
AC Sparta Praha (CZE)
Aston Villa FC (ENG)
Odense BK (DEN)

Unseaded:
Genoa CFC (ITA)
SK Rapid Wien (AUT)
CD Nacional (POR)
Saint Patrick's Athletic FC (IRL)
NK Maribor (SVN)

Fingers crossed for Odense I think

07/08/2009, 8:13 AM

defnitely not. Very bad memories from there (although the town is great...)

Villa for money. We'd be massive inderdogs (again) so we can't really ask for an easy draw

My preference (in order)

1 Villa
2 Sparta
3 Odense
4 Steaua
5 Zenith

baddebt
Aston Villa would be a crowd puller for Pat's.

Duggie
Group 6
FC Zenit St. Petersburg (RUS)
FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU)
AC Sparta Praha (CZE)
Aston Villa FC (ENG)
Odense BK (DEN)

Unseaded:
Genoa CFC (ITA)
SK Rapid Wien (AUT)
CD Nacional (POR)
Saint Patrick's Athletic FC (IRL)
NK Maribor (SVN)

dont know about odense. id prefer sparta if pats want to get through. villa would get them big gates and some money i suspect.

baddebt
07/08/2009, 8:22 AM
i never thought of Prague , and its sucha class city to go to.
A few light vodka's in BOMBAY BAR , and then off to Darling's to Drop Da Bomb :)

CuanaD
07/08/2009, 8:30 AM

Villa for money. We'd be massive inderdogs (again) so we can't really ask for an easy draw

My preference (in order)

1 Villa
2 Sparta
3 Odense
4 Steaua
5 Zenith
Bad memories - good point, though it might be time to have another go at them.

Whoever we get, we are in with the big boys (and Villa) now!

(Really really REALLY hope we dont get Villa - do not want to listen to the barstoolers sticking up for the foreign team) :mad:

07/08/2009, 8:31 AM
My preference (in order)

1 Villa
2 Sparta
3 Odense
4 Steaua
5 Zenith
Steaua above Zenit?

Duggie
07/08/2009, 8:33 AM
heard sadlier saying they would have to move from richmond so i suspect its rds again for this round ?

07/08/2009, 8:37 AM
Steaua above Zenit?

Absolutely. Russia = red tape and exorbitant costs

07/08/2009, 8:41 AM
Villa would be a massive financial boost for the club. Also would suspect that Villa won't field their strongest 11 if drawn against Pats - possible upset? :D

CuanaD
07/08/2009, 8:41 AM
Absolutely. Russia = red tape and exorbitant costsBe nice to have more than 16 able to get visas this time alright

I'm just hoping the away leg is first - i'm not in Dublin on the 20th :(

endabob1
07/08/2009, 8:44 AM
Villa are the cash crop
Odense & Sparta represent a chance to progress
Steaua & Zenit are the ones to avoid, hugely difficult away games without a lot of glamour for the home legs

Duggie
07/08/2009, 8:46 AM
get villa hopefully, take the money and your chances and run. how many supporters would pats bring to villa park aswell. would be a great night.

OneForTheFuture
07/08/2009, 8:47 AM

My preference (in order)

1 Villa
2 Sparta
3 Odense
4 Steaua
5 Zenith

Don't put yourselves down;)

07/08/2009, 8:48 AM

Lets not get carried away. We got beat by 5 in odense only 2 years ago

CuanaD
07/08/2009, 8:52 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OXqTf3Iez5A
Can someone tell me how this can be considered an 'own-goal' - I know the video is grainy, but it looks like a decent headder to me

Hairy Bowsie
07/08/2009, 8:53 AM
(Really really REALLY hope we dont get Villa - do not want to listen to the barstoolers sticking up for the foreign team) :mad:

Don't worry, i'll make so that it's a LoI fan sticking up for the foreign team :)

07/08/2009, 8:55 AM
Can someone tell me how this can be considered an 'own-goal' - I know the video is grainy, but it looks like a decent headder to me

Its a decent header from the defender...

07/08/2009, 9:04 AM
On seeing those teams Pats could draw, I'm partly excited, but mainly just feeling gutted all over again. :(

07/08/2009, 9:08 AM
Absolutely. Russia = red tape and exorbitant costs
Fair enough. Hadn't figured on the red tape. Reckoned Bucharest being supposedly a hole and not much of a draw would counter the cost element. but then I looked at the Zenit squad and didn't recognise anyone at all. So probably fair to put a big gap in between the top three and the bottom two!

Part of me wants to see a LoI side against a Premiership side; part of me doesn't want to see how many Aston Villa fans would crawl out of the woodwork (used to be a fair few when I was in school cos Villa came second in the league one year).

sullanefc
07/08/2009, 9:09 AM
Villa are the cash crop

Lets not get carried away. We got beat by 5 in odense only 2 years ago

And Sparta Prague comprehensively beat Cork City's best ever team back in 2005.

I'd take Aston Villa for the cash, and funnily enough, they would be the team I'd fear least.

Larry 'da' Wyse
07/08/2009, 9:13 AM

Class footage thanks. It is so grainy I expected to hear gunshots from a grassy knoll ;-)

baddebt
07/08/2009, 9:14 AM

I'd take Aston Villa for the cash, and funnily enough, they would be the team I'd fear least.

I would agree there, have to remember Sparta Prague are very experienced in Europe (especially the champions league)
Zenit.St Petersburg..................UEFA CUP winners just 2 years ago.
At least if Pat's get Villa, they will know a fair bit about Villa's players, and would give it a right go, and considering this round really is about the Money, Villa would be the best draw................................won't worry about the Plastics.
There would be plenty of LOI fans in either the RDS or Tallaght to Support Pat's

Duggie
07/08/2009, 9:14 AM

wasnt that was slavia prague mate...different team.

sullanefc
07/08/2009, 9:16 AM
wasnt that was slavia prague mate...different team.

Apologies, you are right. But Sparta are regulars in the CL, so they are to be feared.

Duggie
07/08/2009, 9:19 AM
Apologies, you are right. But Sparta are regulars in the CL, so they are to be feared.

oh ya i know but from that list i think pats would have the best chance of going through against them. id say they would be of the same standard as sovetov.

Hibs4Ever
07/08/2009, 9:21 AM

Speaking as a ST holder at Slavia Prague and someone who knows the Czech league really well I think Sparta would definitely be the best draw for St Patrick's. We'd be more than capable of beating them over the 2 legs IMO

07/08/2009, 9:25 AM
get villa hopefully, take the money and your chances and run. how many supporters would pats bring to villa park aswell. would be a great night.

Id probably head up to this to be honest as id say a few london based people might

07/08/2009, 9:26 AM
Class footage thanks. It is so grainy I expected to hear gunshots from a grassy knoll ;-)

It was filmed by a samara fan on his mobile.

Duggie
07/08/2009, 9:36 AM
please draw us against St. Pat's Athletic.......would be a nice little trip potentially and we should be able to take a healthy crowd over there.....plus they're probably ****e

http://www.villatalk.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=54452&start=75

what there saying.....

07/08/2009, 9:37 AM
Let them say it. Compared to them we are gick. Every club in the draw wants us.

nice to feel loved tbh ;)

baddebt
07/08/2009, 9:39 AM
typical Arrogances from the br1ts................what else woudl you expect

07/08/2009, 9:42 AM
typical Arrogances from the br1ts................what else woudl you expect

What the? What was said was completely true!

07/08/2009, 9:49 AM
Highlights from samara :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ImF3lukgNQ

baddebt
07/08/2009, 9:52 AM
i wouldn't agree , I think Pats have to be given a bit of respect given there fantastic result against Samara

CuanaD
07/08/2009, 9:55 AM
please draw us against St. Pat's Athletic.......would be a nice little trip potentially and we should be able to take a healthy crowd over there.....plus they're probably ****e

http://www.villatalk.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=54452&start=75

what there saying.....Yes, keep telling yourself that we ARE probably ****e, BUT I doubt that Zenith would like to see Pat's in Russia again.

You know, I am getting a bit fed up with being 'nearly there' - how many times in the past few years have we had a team only 1 game away from the group stages (CL or UEFA), only to bow out (normally after a loss & 'creditable' draw). I don't think Pat's are the real deal yet (Fabio gives them an edge they were missing tho), but I'd really like to see them finally make that breakthrough this year
:ball:

07/08/2009, 9:58 AM
well said cuana. If they got to the group stages, they could well get an english side, and/or a top european side, which would give ye even more money and also great experience. The only thing is ye would need to qualify again next year :D

Duggie
07/08/2009, 10:01 AM
lads when is quigley back from injury ??

07/08/2009, 10:01 AM
UEFA Europa League 2009/2010:
1st qualifying round: 90.000 €
2nd qualifying round: 90.000 €
3rd qualifying round: 90.000 €
Playoffs: 90.000 €
Group stage: 1.000.000 €
Group match victory: 140.000 €
Group match draw: 70.000 €
1st knock out round: 200.000 €
2nd knock out round: 300.000 €
Quarter-finals: 400.000 €
Semi-finals: 700.000 €
Final: 2.000.000 €
Winning the final: 1.000.000 €

It has to be Odense. The Danes are beatable despite the result of 2 years ago.

07/08/2009, 10:02 AM
Highlights from samara :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ImF3lukgNQ

Downloadable files

http://rapidshare.com/files/264684333/Krylya_Sovetov_Samara_v_St._Patrick_s_Athletic_-_UEFA_Europa_League.wmv
http://www.mediafire.com/?dngzdjzzzty
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=EDF4GJGY

Many thanks to "fatfood" the Samara fan on our forum