View Full Version : The Big Fat European Latest Thread
Ezeikial
29/07/2009, 1:27 PM
good luck to both, pity there wasn't 3 teams still competing.
Do you mourn for Sligo or Bohs?
29/07/2009, 4:50 PM
Nope. In the past maybe I'd have hoped you progressed, but now it's clear that European progress is only likely to help paper over the cracks of massive overspending. And the sooner that stops the better for DCFC and indeed for the whole league.Europe is irrelevant to our overspending (unfortunately). The idea that's it's a money spinner is simply not true. The cost of transporting a professional set-up and hosting games eats up the money on offer for the early rounds*.
I'm fairly sure our die is cast at this stage anyway.
*unless you draw an English or German team in which case the TV money us huge.
Didn't Kenny say in the Journal though that if ye didn't make it past Skonto ye were more or less fecked? That's more or less what I based this on.
boneym
29/07/2009, 6:05 PM
Good luck to both teams tomorrow night. Do the League proud
*unless you draw an English or German team in which case the TV money us huge.
Not neccessarily. Last year there was 7 German teams in European action and some didn't get any live TV
29/07/2009, 8:13 PM
Last Wednesday night still hurts :(
it might hurt that bit more for ye, if you were to look and see zagreb are losing to red bull salzburg....:(
brianw82
29/07/2009, 9:55 PM
+1
All he best Pats and Derry, wish I could make the Pats game but I work away.
I'll be there on Sunday though, run yourselves into the ground and don't worry about Sunday it's not imprtant ;)
Yup, hope Pats and Derry get good results but absolutely knacker themselves in the process so that my bets on Sunday win. :)
Derry game being streamed here:
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=44923&part=sports
29/07/2009, 9:59 PM
Derry game being streamed here:
http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=44923&part=sports
A lot of those sites set up a page for every game even though there's not going to be any streamed there, you just have to check tomorrow nearer kick off I think.
irishultra
29/07/2009, 10:49 PM
good luck both teams
TheBoss
30/07/2009, 4:10 PM
League of Ireland v Bulgaria:
UEFA Cup: 2001/02
09.08.2001: Longford Town FC 1-1 PFC Litex Lovech
23.08.2001: PFC Litex Lovech 2-0 Longford Town FC
Cup Winners' Cup: 1962/63
24.10.1962: Shamrock Rovers FC 0-4 PFC Botev Plovdiv
14.11.1962: PFC Botev Plovdiv 1-0 Shamrock Rovers FC
Cup Winners' Cup: 1965/66
07.10.1965: Limerick AFC 1-2 PFC CSKA Sofia
13.10.1965: PFC CSKA Sofia 2-0 Limerick AFC
Cup Winners' Cup: 1995/96
10.08.1995: Derry City FC 1-0 PFC Lokomotiv Sofia
24.08.1995: PFC Lokomotiv Sofia 2-0 Derry City FC
Intertoto Cup: 2000
18.06.2000: UCD AFC 3-3 PFC Velbazhd Kyustendil
25.06.2000: PFC Velbazhd Kyustendil 0-0 UCD AFC
Derry City Inter Cities Cup/UEFA Cup/Europa League Record:
TOTAL: Pld:14 - W:4 - D:4 - L:5 - F:13 - A:17
HOME: Pld:7 - W:2 - D:2 - L:3 - F:5 - A:8
AWAY: Pld:7 - W:2 - D:3 - L:2 - F:8 - A:9
TheBoss
30/07/2009, 4:29 PM
CSKA Sofia
1 Chavdarov
2 Vidanov
6 Kotev
8 Timonov
10 Marinho Reis
14 Svetoslav Petrov
15 Ivan Ivanov
21 Yanev
28 Malachias
52 Minev
73 Stoianov
Bench
12 Karadjov
3 Mendes Silva
4 Stoyanov
11 Orlinov
18 Zehirov
30 Yordan Todorov
99 Durmushali
Derry City
1 Doherty
3 Delaney
4 Hutton
6 Gray
7 Higgins
10 Stewart
12 O'Brien
14 McGlynn
15 Deery
17 Molloy
23 McManus
Bench
16 Jennings
2 McCallion
8 Martyn
18 Farren
20 Scullion
26 McElhinney
27 Nash
TheBoss
30/07/2009, 5:52 PM
Derry look very comfortable in that half, they do not look a great team.
seanDCFC
30/07/2009, 5:59 PM
Derry look very comfortable in that half, they do not look a great team.
Yeah, its been easy for us so far, CSKA havent impressed me at all so far. Also their players like to dive a lot.
TheBoss
30/07/2009, 6:00 PM
League of Ireland v Russia/USSR:
European Cup: 1974/75
23.10.1974: Cork Celtic FC 1-2 FC Ararat Yerevan
06.11.1974: FC Ararat Yerevan 5-0 Cork Celtic FC
Cup Winners' Cup: 1980/81
22.10.1980: Waterford AFC 0-1 FC Dinamo Tbilisi
05.11.1980: FC Dinamo Tbilisi 4-0 Waterford AFC
Cup Winners' Cup: 1989/90
13.09.1989: FC Torpedo Moscow 5-0 Cork City FC
26.09.1989: Cork City FC 0-1 FC Torpedo Moscow
St Patrick's Athletic Inter Cities Cup/UEFA Cup/Europa League Record:
TOTAL: Pld:16 - W:4 - D:4 - L:8 - F:16 - A:29
HOME: Pld:7 - W:2 - D:3 - L:3 - F:9 - A:11
AWAY: Pld:7 - W:2 - D:1 - L:5 - F:7 - A:18
brianw82
30/07/2009, 6:01 PM
Yeah, its been easy for us so far, CSKA havent impressed me at all so far. Also their players like to dive a lot.
Mark Farren will feel comfortable so, if he gets on. :)
30/07/2009, 6:02 PM
Samaras lineup
31 Eduardo Lobos
4 Roman Shishkin
63 Alexander Belozerov
20 Jiri Yaroshik
3 Silva Leilton
7 Anton Bober
23 Vladislav Ignatyev
21 Ruslan Ajinjal
99 Oleg Ivanov
2 Timothy Kalachev
10 Yevgeny Savin
TheBoss
30/07/2009, 6:02 PM
St Patrick's
1 Rogers
4 Partridge
5 Harris
6 Lynch
7 Stuart Byrne
12 Fitzpatrick
17 O'Connor
18 Gavin
21 Guy
22 Stevens
23 O'Brien
Bench
20 Clarke
2 Maher
8 Dempsey
9 Leech
10 Cawley
14 Ryan
19 Haverty
Krylya Sovetov
31 Lobos
2 Kalachev
3 Leilton
4 Shishkin
7 Bober
10 Savin
20 Jarošík
21 Adzhindzhal
23 Ignatjev
63 Belozerov
99 Ivanov
Bench
98 Budakov
5 Kulik
8 Taranov
18 Pesegov
29 Budylin
47 Razdelkin
30/07/2009, 6:10 PM
any chance of an away goal or are Derry keeping it defensive?
30/07/2009, 6:20 PM
that was a superb chance.
Predator
30/07/2009, 6:24 PM
Would be great to see Nash and Farren come on for Derry. Nash for the height and Farren for the pace. Revert to 4-4-2 and run at them as they tire.
Doherty keeping them in this.
brianw82
30/07/2009, 6:26 PM
Derry under huge pressure now. You'd have to think the likelihood of them keeping a clean sheet is slim...
30/07/2009, 6:30 PM
derry are looking good on the break, they look fast, bohemian didnt have the same pace on the counter as derry have had. Lets just hope they can keep that clean sheet as i see htem having a really good chance when they get back to free derry.
brianw82
Derry concede...
jinx :evil:
come on derry get that goal/
Predator
30/07/2009, 6:31 PM
No!!
Last 15 now to pull one back. Come on!
30/07/2009, 6:36 PM
aw my god.savage build up play but i would have done better myself from there! maybe he wasn't expecting it.
30/07/2009, 6:37 PM
I'd take a 1 nil tbh.
Predator
30/07/2009, 6:38 PM
I'd take a 1 nil tbh.
Sorry, Derry fans don't take 1-0 defeats.
30/07/2009, 6:39 PM
I'd take a 1 nil tbh.
well its your team, but if i were you i would be very disappointed with a 1 - 0 defeat, derry have not deserved to lose this game, as they have played well, countered well, held up the ball well, showed for it and play some nice one-touch football, it is in complete contrast to the way that bohemians played away to salzburg the last day. I honestly feel they deserve more from this game.
30/07/2009, 6:42 PM
Sorry, Derry fans don't take 1-0 defeats.
Thanks for making my mind up for me....
NavanBohs
30/07/2009, 6:43 PM
held up the ball well, showed for it and play some nice one-touch football, it is in complete contrast to the way that bohemians played away to salzburg the last day.
Are you having a laugh?
longfordjames
30/07/2009, 6:46 PM
Pats go close.
30/07/2009, 6:46 PM
NO and another thing they do is hold the ball up and wait till there are men in support instead of hitting it forward to the lone man who is surrounded by 2 or 3 players and is only going to lose it.
30/07/2009, 6:50 PM
i can see derry wining at home but i can see these lot scoring too.
Predator
30/07/2009, 6:52 PM
Thanks for making my mind up for me....
No sweat.
Umberside
30/07/2009, 6:52 PM
1-0 ft
Not the worst result, they still have a very good chance at the Brandywell.
Mad Moose
30/07/2009, 6:53 PM
Sets the tie up nicely at the Brandywell next week. A draw would have been fantastic. This tie is for overturning.
I was afraid of pasteing before the match, but now i think we could take them at the brandywell, we should kick the tripe out of the diving cheats, ne a bad result though away
30/07/2009, 6:55 PM
I'd have taken it before the match so not really disappointed. A second goal would've ended the tie, but I'm not sure nil nil would've been that much better for us.
Bear in mind Derry have been struggling bigtime in the league so we need to be realistic.
All to play for next week.
Come on Pats.
30/07/2009, 6:56 PM
unlucky, still in the tie and that sets up a great tie for next week (isnt it next week?)
Would you think RTE might show it - cough cough:p
longfordjames
30/07/2009, 6:56 PM
Anyone else listening to it on www.saintsforum.net (http://www.saintsforum.net) commentary?
pól-dcfc
30/07/2009, 6:59 PM
Anyone else listening to it on www.saintsforum.net (http://www.saintsforum.net) commentary?
Link please?
30/07/2009, 6:59 PM
Like above, I'd have taken the 1-0 before kick off....no shame in that result at all. The ties still alive and thats all you can ask for ahead of the return leg at the Brandy.
Link please?
http://www.ustream.tv/channel/st-pats-live-commentary
Candystripe
30/07/2009, 7:00 PM
Glad this tie is still alive as I wasn't confident before the game.
After watching it I feel we have a decent chance next week as long as we have a ref who clamps down on all that diving they did.
Com on Pats.