View Full Version : The Big Fat European Latest Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

MeathDrog
22/07/2009, 8:42 PM
Shocking that in the same week that a league game is re-arranged to accomodate a friendly but that none of our tems competing in Europe are afforded that privilage.
This.

Denis The Red
22/07/2009, 9:21 PM
Blame Rossiter, blame Fenlon, the FAI(which would be my first port of call over their fixturing), blame the groundsman. It don't matter, Bohs were 4 minutes from the next round and I for one am gutted for them. Gutted for what this could mean to their club and for what it could have done for the league.
It's my opinion that we all should support LOI clubs in Europe for the sake of the league and it's status and not take on, dare I say, a british attitude by enjoying seeing a team in the same league as themselves get beat by a foreign club just for laughs. Enjoy beating them yourselves but not support Salzburg or Helsingborg or anyone else to do it.
Best of luck Bohs for the rest of the season and best of luck to Pat's and Derry as well, hope you do yourselves, the league and the country proud.

Partizan
22/07/2009, 9:24 PM
Its Div 1 time for Bohs.

when you trade recklessly and send money you dont have, prepare to accept the consequences.

Really, i have very little sympathy.

hoops1
22/07/2009, 9:27 PM
Blame Rossiter, blame Fenlon, the FAI(which would be my first port of call over their fixturing), blame the groundsman. It don't matter, Bohs were 4 minutes from the next round and I for one am gutted for them. Gutted for what this could mean to their club and for what it could have done for the league.
It's my opinion that we all should support LOI clubs in Europe for the sake of the league and it's status and not take on, dare I say, a british attitude by enjoying seeing a team in the same league as themselves get beat by a foreign club just for laughs. Enjoy beating them yourselves but not support Salzburg or Helsingborg or anyone else to do it.
Best of luck Bohs for the rest of the season and best of luck to Pat's and Derry as well, hope you do yourselves, the league and the country proud.

I always cheered on the LOI teams in Europe. Even went to some of the games. But am really glad they lost and are in trouble now. This big club, we are invincible nonsense when they are obviously screwed means they deserve to be brought back to reality.

pól-dcfc
22/07/2009, 9:31 PM
IThis big club, we are invincible nonsense when they are obviously screwed

This is what annoyed most people. I was torn over whether or not to support them in this tie. I decided to support them, because I love the league more than I hate them.

sonofstan
22/07/2009, 9:35 PM
This is what annoyed most people. I was torn over whether or not to support them in this tie. I decided to support them, because I love the league more than I hate them.

Youse are all very sensitive is all I can say....

'The Big Club' stuff is, and always was, a joke.
The 'We are invincible' chant last season was pretty much a statement of fact. You'd have done it too.

misterk
22/07/2009, 9:36 PM
Fenlon needs to stop going nuts there at the end at the Salzburg manager.

I was at the game and didn't see this, what did Fenlon do? I saw Liam O'Brien and Stevens square up alright.

hoops1
22/07/2009, 9:37 PM
Not if we were up sh1t creek.

Denis The Red
22/07/2009, 9:38 PM
I always cheered on the LOI teams in Europe. Even went to some of the games. But am really glad they lost and are in trouble now. This big club, we are invincible nonsense when they are obviously screwed means they deserve to be brought back to reality.

I cheered you guys on against Madrid the other night, hoped you would get the draw you deserved but anyway back to the issue...
We all know the rivalry you have with Bohs and the likes and I'm sure few Bohs fans were shedding tears when you were relegated and in trouble yourselves but to be in financial ruin and on the edge of the unknown is the same as bringing them back to reality is a bit harsh, don't you think?

hoops1
22/07/2009, 9:41 PM
Find yourself a copy of their latest accounts. Shouldn't be too hard. Go through them and come back and tell me they havent asked for it.

Drogman.
22/07/2009, 9:44 PM
Youse are all very sensitive is all I can say....

'The Big Club' stuff is, and always was, a joke.
The 'We are invincible' chant last season was pretty much a statement of fact. You'd have done it too.

Boll*X!

I remember a few years ago when Shels were in their prime and wiped the floor with the league and most of you lot were still going on about how great and better Bohs were....blah blah.

I'm not saying this out of spite, it's just true. Most other fans don't like Bohs for that very reason. Fair enough it's grand for the banter, but when you start to believe your own bullsh*t then that's when you have to start to worry!

sonofstan
22/07/2009, 9:46 PM
Not if we were up sh1t creek.

Liar - if you were playing like we were last year, and going on a unbeaten run of 30 odd league games, you'd have sung it too, even if, away from the actual games, you had worries about the future of the club. Remember too, that this time last year, the Danninger deal was still alive, the recession hadn't bit, the Albion judgment hadn't gone against us. Generally Bohs fans, and non- members in particular, didn't see all of this coming any more than you wise guys did, much as you might pretend otherwise.

sonofstan
22/07/2009, 9:49 PM
Boll*X!

I remember a few years ago when Shels were in their prime and wiped the floor with the league and most of you lot were still going on about how great and better Bohs were....blah blah.

What should we have done? sang something like 'we are Bohs, we're quite good, but not as good as Shels?'

Denis The Red
22/07/2009, 9:53 PM
What should we have done? sang something like 'we are Bohs, we're quite good, but not as good as Shels?'

I've heard that one, how does it go again???:D

hoops1
22/07/2009, 9:53 PM
What are you talking about read your forum or this forum in recent threads and there are Bohs fans talking about the big club. The last derby in Tolka you were singing we are invincible and we broke our tits laughing because it was clear enough you had some medicine coming. Dont tell me you didnt know then.

passerrby
22/07/2009, 9:57 PM
I cheered you guys on against Madrid the other night, hoped you would get the draw you deserved but anyway back to the issue...
We all know the rivalry you have with Bohs and the likes and I'm sure few Bohs fans were shedding tears when you were relegated and in trouble yourselves but to be in financial ruin and on the edge of the unknown is the same as bringing them back to reality is a bit harsh, don't you think?

not supporting bohs tonight had nothing to do with rivalry, and as for been on the brink of the unknown is a little OTT dont ya think

Denis The Red
22/07/2009, 9:57 PM
Find yourself a copy of their latest accounts. Shouldn't be too hard. Go through them and come back and tell me they havent asked for it.

As I said, to enjoy seeing them in ruin is harsh.
One question, will you want to see Pat's and Derry go out or is this just a jealous witch-hunt(I said Hunt) against Bohs?

Denis The Red
22/07/2009, 9:59 PM
not supporting bohs tonight had nothing to do with rivalry, and as for been on the brink of the unknown is a little OTT dont ya think

Do you know what will happen to them?

hoops1
22/07/2009, 9:59 PM
Love to see Pats and Derry win.

sheao
22/07/2009, 10:00 PM
Bohs were poor tonight and sadly got what they deserved. Derry and Pats hopefully will fare better.

22/07/2009, 10:17 PM
lads, reading the rte site made me wonder, it cant keep be hard luck stories, its more a case of getting punished far easier in europe than they do at home, these mistakes probably don't get punished that often and so aren't noticed, but they are seen as woeful individual errors in Europe, when it might just be the case that they have happened in domestic games and just don't get punished.

Anyway hopefully derry and pats will do better, but bohs still had the better chance of getting further(a la europa league).

22/07/2009, 10:28 PM
Tonights mistake was quiet like Kilbanes against Bulgaria. Just a silly error that could have been made against and punished against Pats or Rovers or anybody. Just a lapse in concentration. But in no way were they outclassed by in my view a poor Salzburg team who I am sure will be beaten by Zagreb as Bohs probably would have been too.

irishultra
22/07/2009, 10:40 PM
:( :(

never ever have i felt worse than i did when rbs put that ball into the net, and when i found out it was the 86 minute :mad:

I blame Fenlon, negative tactics cost us just like against Riga last season in Intertoto.

22/07/2009, 10:44 PM
:( :(

never ever have i felt worse than i did when rbs put that ball into the net, and when i found out it was the 86 minute :mad:

I blame Fenlon, negative tactics cost us just like against Riga last season in Intertoto.

Had a game myself tonight so only going on match reports and the clips from the news, an awful goal to concede, really poor. If that hadnt have happened and Bohs had held out for another 5 or mins we would be more than likely praising the tactics. Bitterly disappointing, can only imagine how Bohs fans feel.

misterk
22/07/2009, 10:45 PM
yeah I have to agree about Fenlon, he was waving the midfielders back with 15 minutes to go, we could have been a bit more attack minded and gone for a goal, or at least a chance. They were not vastly better than us, that's the most annoying thing.

irishultra
22/07/2009, 10:50 PM
they weren't vastly better at all your right, more agile and quicker but they were very unimaginative in midfield, we let them have the ball like when ireland played italy they let ireland have it. i feel sorry for cronin(was it?) tbh i'd hate to be him now.

i don't know whats going to happen now but it aint gonna be good :(

mandrake
22/07/2009, 10:59 PM
home from game, bohs never pushed up at all, never got anything out of crowe or byrne, didnt play the their strenghts, i thoght it was a decent tactic to play but when the ball went farward bohs shoulda done more with it... rbs were crap didnt know what to do and were waiting for a mistake
did fenlon not remember shels v malta about 8 years ago... he done exactly the sme and got punished....as a drogs fan i think doolo is the best manager in euro games..

TheBoss
22/07/2009, 11:21 PM
Just going through all the games, Bohs were the only team that scored an away goal in first leg not to go through.

22/07/2009, 11:23 PM
Didn't see the game so wandering blindly into this thread guided only by reports, but surely given the tiredness of the Bohs players and the fact they had a tough game just 3 days ago, was it not a better tactic to play for a 0-0 draw in the knowledge this would take you through? Rather than go for a goal that would mean little given it would be much the same outcome regardless; if RBS scored and won outright they'd go through, if it was a 1-1 draw, the RBS players woud be fitter and less tired and so more likely to win anyway? In terms of probability, attacking means more chance of RBS scoring and either winning or taking it to extra time. Far be it from me to stand up for Fenlon, but given how the team would probably have fared over 30 mins of injury was it not more prudent to try to keep it tight?

hoops1
22/07/2009, 11:24 PM
Just going through all the games, Bohs were the only team that scored an away goal in first leg not to go through.

Thats the spirit always take the positives from it.

pól-dcfc
22/07/2009, 11:26 PM
Didn't see the game so wandering blindly into this thread guided only by reports, but surely given the tiredness of the Bohs players and the fact they had a tough game just 3 ago, was it not a better tactic to play for a 0-0 draw in the knowledge this would take you through? Rather than go for a goal that would mean little given it would be much the same outcome regardless; if RBS scored and won outright they'd go through, if it was a 1-1 draw, the RBS players woud be fitter and less tired and so more likely to win anyway? In terms of probability, attacking means more chance of RBS scoring and either winning or taking it to extra time.

Gothenburg.

I think they at least should have played on the counter, rather than just hoofing it back to Salzburg. It didn't seem like they wanted any time on the ball at all during the second half. If you ask me Fenlon got it wrong, and with the tactics they were playing, it was only a matter of time til Salzburg scored.

23/07/2009, 8:54 AM
Salzburg also had a league game last Sunday, by the way. I'm all for giving our clubs every chance in Europe, but it seems a bit much to be complaining about having to play a league game between the European legs. Pretty much every league does it.

23/07/2009, 9:17 AM
Horrible way to lose the game. Great crowd turned up on the night and it would have been good to see them go through, the Connaught St was full of various league of Ireland fans and daytrippers, I saw Pat's, Shels and Derry jerseys as well as overhearing quite a few conversations along the lines of "I haven't been to a game in years", or "that's the last game I'll be at for years" :(

Bohs were very comfortable despite sitting ridiculously deep in the second half, Salzburg had zero creativity, if anything Bohs looked technically better on the ball, but Salzburg looked faster, Crowe as a lone front man was a weak link, he just doesn't have the legs anymore, Brennan and then Anto Murphy were both awful and Keegan lacks a yard of pace at that level. Gary Deegan is just turning into a fantastic player, every time I see him he's the best player on the pitch, I can't see him staying in the League of Ireland much longer, Murphy in goal was also very solid and unlucky with the goal, he was left with no chance by Rossiter.

WindmillWarrior
23/07/2009, 9:20 AM
Strasburg were complete sh*te. If Bohs had a bit more balls about them they could defo have won that game tonight. Glad they didnt tho, f*ck them!

Larry 'da' Wyse
23/07/2009, 9:36 AM
yeah I have to agree about Fenlon, he was waving the midfielders back with 15 minutes to go, we could have been a bit more attack minded and gone for a goal, or at least a chance. They were not vastly better than us, that's the most annoying thing.

So true. The result is so annoying. RBS were poor and thats wah makes it worse. Would have preferred to have been outplayed by a top team and lose 3-0.

pól-dcfc
23/07/2009, 9:38 AM
Strasburg were complete sh*te.

Yeah, Strasbourg just didn't show up at all... ;)

WindmillWarrior
23/07/2009, 9:51 AM
Yeah, Strasbourg just didn't show up at all... ;)

:D :D

Straightstory
23/07/2009, 10:17 AM
The Red Bull players and management looked like they'd won the World Cup at the end. I saw Fenlon kick the frame of the dugout in frustration. Any true fan of the league would have wanted Bohs to win tonight. Anyone who didn't is a short sighted begrudger. A good run in the Champions' League is the only way - THE ONLY WAY - to raise the profile of the LOI and ultimately improve the match going experience for ALL FANS of the league. As it is, we're second class citizens regarded as weirdos and eccentrics. I, for one, am fed up with it. I'm not even a Bohs fan, but I've rarely been as disappointed leaving a ground in almost forty years of following football.
Best of luck to Pats and Derry later today.

Duggie
23/07/2009, 10:25 AM
its our mentality, we think oh red bulls salzburg they must be better than us. turned out they werent but we still went out. :mad:

Hairy Bowsie
23/07/2009, 10:44 AM
Any true fan of the league would have wanted Bohs to win tonight. Anyone who didn't is a short sighted begrudger.

Won't argue with any of that. I ceased be a LoI fan years ago anyway, i'm a Shels fan and i'm f*cking delighted Bohs lost.

Can anyone give me a staright answer as to why they think i HAVE to support other LoI teams in Europe?

Happy shamrock
23/07/2009, 10:50 AM
Can anyone give me a staright answer as to why they think i HAVE to support other LoI teams in Europe?
Of course you don't have to. But to good european results mean more irish football fans sit up and take not of the league, more people going to games, more money, better players, better facilities etc etc.
Bohs going bust is going to make those fans look at the league and laugh "typical, the LoI is ****e, look what happened to bohs".
If you can't see that negative press is bad, positive press is good, you're a lost cause

Duggie
23/07/2009, 10:59 AM
Won't argue with any of that. I ceased be a LoI fan years ago anyway, i'm a Shels fan and i'm f*cking delighted Bohs lost.

eh league co-efficient for one. what you like seeing our teams go out to other leagues. you like other leagues disrespecting us.

23/07/2009, 11:00 AM
eh league co-efficient for one. what you like seeing our teams go out to other leagues. you like other leagues disrespecting us.

Are you calling my league's pint a puff?

23/07/2009, 11:00 AM

Can anyone give me a staright answer as to why they think i HAVE to support other LoI teams in Europe?Of course they can't.

But can you give a valid reason why you dislike other clubs so much when all you care about is Shels?

Either you live in a vacuum or you don't. Claiming not to care when other teams do well and then celebrating when they fail is duplicitous.

Hairy Bowsie
23/07/2009, 11:17 AM

I don't give a sh*te about co-efficient and i don't care if other leagues "disrespect" us, although i'm not sure what you mean by that.

Straightstory
23/07/2009, 11:23 AM

Reasons to support other LOI teams in Europe:
Solidarity with other LOI fans; respect for the league; the belief that advancement in European competitions might raise the profile of the league and gain it some much needed attention from the media - which would lead to greater attendances and more money coming into the game from increased gate recepits and sponsorship resulting in better facilities and greater match day experiences for all fans; patriotism (not something I'm particularly in favour of myself, but it might appeal to some people).

Reasons not to support other LOI teams in Europe:
Begrudgery, pettiness, small mindedness, the acceptance of second class status for the League and its fans, jealousy, bitterness, fanciful imagined rivalry with other teams, narrowmindedness, lack of imagination and spite.

Hairy Bowsie
23/07/2009, 11:23 AM
Either you live in a vacuum or you don't. Claiming not to care when other teams do well and then celebrating when they fail is duplicitous.

If i claimed that i didn't care when other teams do well then i apologise, where did i say that? I do care, because i genuinely enjoy them being beaten, like Bohs last night and just like i'll be over the moon if Pats and Derry go out tonight.

All 3 teams are rival clubs of Shelbourne, regardless of what division we're playing in and i, in no way, want to see them do well. Why would i cheer on my rivals? Them progressing in Europe benefits them only and in no way helps Shelbourne or me for that matter

The notion that if LoI club gets to the group stage of the Champions league, every LoI ground will be packed to the rafters is ridiculous. It won't make one bit of difference.

Hairy Bowsie
23/07/2009, 11:28 AM
Reasons to support other LOI teams in Europe:
Solidarity with other LOI fans

No thanks

respect for the league

The league is a joke, if i could stop going i would.

the belief that advancement in European competitions might raise the profile of the league and gain it some much needed attention from the media - which would lead to greater attendances and more money coming into the game from increased gate recepits and sponsorship resulting in better facilities and greater match day experiences for all fans

That sums up the dream land LoI fans live in. It's never going to happen.

patriotism (not something I'm particularly in favour of myself, but it might appeal to some people).

Eh no. I don't even support the English B team.

Reasons not to support other LOI teams in Europe:
the acceptance of second class status for the League and its fans,

I have to laugh at this :D You don't believe that the LoI is second class to say the Premiership or La Liga or Serie A?

trevy
23/07/2009, 12:03 PM
Salzburg also had a league game last Sunday, by the way. I'm all for giving our clubs every chance in Europe, but it seems a bit much to be complaining about having to play a league game between the European legs. Pretty much every league does it.

I agree. Damien Richardson was whinging on the radio that the mistake the Bohs player made that lead to the goal was because they played on Sunday and the FAI didn't postpone the game:rolleyes:.
Full time clubs should be able to play 2 games in 4 days and cancelling games sets a bad precedent because games will get backlogged at the end of the season which happened with Cork City a few years ago.

brianw82
23/07/2009, 12:41 PM
Fenlon's tactics lost the game for Bohs. They played well in the 1st half, but far, far too deep in the 2nd. The substitutions were baffling too - Anto Murphy on the left wing? Glen Cronin on the right, in place of your top striker? Crowe left on the pitch when he can't even run and didn't get a kick all game?
If Fenlon had any guts he would've subbed Crowe with Madden. He may be young, but at least he has pace and would've been something for the Salzburg defence to worry about. Throwing big McGuinness on as a striker for the last few minutes was a travesty of a decision.
On the plus side, Bohs weren't outplayed by any means. Murphy absolutely commanded the area, he claimed everything. It's a pity he was left in no man's land for the goal. Such a horrible goal it was, too.