View Full Version : The Big Fat European Latest Thread
Mayo Red
06/08/2009, 4:02 PM
damn shame its no co-efficient points but what the heck .........
2 more games to have a go at earning more though!!:)
06/08/2009, 4:03 PM
Incredible, well done Pats.
Would the next round be in the RDS again?
I'm guessing it would have to be. The UEFA ground restrictions get a lot tougher for the next round.
It's crazy how happy LOI fans can be about another team.'s fortunes. I'm loving it.
Disgrace
Just shows how tantalisingly close we are to getting a team into the Group stages.. what about Hertha again for Pats?
Burnsie
Great googly-moogly.
PartySaint
06/08/2009, 4:04 PM
Un****ingbelievable, im in shcok thought i was going to collapse,
Well done pats, good news for the league for once! Deserve everything you's got. Fabio signing of the season surely! Any guiness in that dressing room? To Martha!!!!!!!!!!!!
irishultra
Fabio O'Brien for Ireland...or Italy? :D
Not a hope in hell. Probably the worst team left.
And by worst you mean bestest ever?!
Not even the lowest ranked btw...
Still trying to move here. Heart not working properly
Right you're all invited to McDowells
Boo_Boy
Super for Pats - when is next round?
1st leg - 20th August
2nd leg - 27th August
GalwayRed
06/08/2009, 4:05 PM
Well done Pats. Amazing result. Hope they get a good draw now tomorow.
swinfordfc
Lads,
when you think of it ... motherwell and aberdeen are not going to get through this round - you have to hand it to St Pats ...... Cmon Derry - your next
Mayo Red thats very true :D
And by worst you mean bestest ever?!
Not even the lowest ranked btw...
Who's better than you? :)
Don't tempt me with beer invites...
longfordjames
06/08/2009, 4:06 PM
Would love to see them get Villa or Valencia!Friendlies get you a crowd but a competitive game against them is gonna help Pats coffers big time.Pity itll be in Tallaght or RDS.
Good luck to Derry tonight.
Mayo Red
It's crazy how happy LOI fans can be about another team.'s fortunes. I'm loving it.
That's what's probably a little bit unique about our League, despite our differences we have on here sometimes!;)
Good luck Derry too by the way!!
SMorgan
Well done pats, good news for the league for once! Deserve everything you's got. Fabio signing of the season surely! Any guiness in that dressing room? To Martha!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dundalk should recall him. Who cares if he isn't happy:D
Well done, fantastic result..
dubman
06/08/2009, 4:08 PM
thank god that over
why does extra time on foot.ie alway take longer!!!
TheBoss
06/08/2009, 4:08 PM
If Pats can qualify away from Home from being 3-0 down, than Derry qualifing over CSKA Sofia is far less harder.
PartySaint
06/08/2009, 4:09 PM
Come on Derry, Make it a unreal night, although it already is for us pats fans
redobit
06/08/2009, 4:09 PM
Shocked.
Checked on here and seen it was 3-0. Though the game would be over but I decided I'd come back to see how many they have lost by, and their through.
Fair play hope ye get a big draw.
irishultra
06/08/2009, 4:10 PM
Come on the candystripes!!!!!!
Mayo Red
06/08/2009, 4:10 PM
Mayo Red thats very true :D
Sure as you well know, Mayo men never lie!!:D:D
longfordjames
06/08/2009, 4:12 PM
Should they play it in Tallaght?Easy access from Goldenbridge on the Luas.
Black and White
06/08/2009, 4:13 PM
Lets not forget we have another team to cheer on now! COme on Derry lets make it a double!:D
06/08/2009, 4:14 PM
That's what's probably a little bit unique about our League, despite our differences we have on here sometimes!;)
Differences...?!?! :confused:
06/08/2009, 4:15 PM
Should they play it in Tallaght?Easy access from Goldenbridge on the Luas.
I think you need a certain number of seats.
Also - the floodlight requirements are properly tougher at the next round (no idea what standard Rovers' lights are. Hopefully at the top of the regulatory tree).
Drumcondra 69er
06/08/2009, 4:16 PM
Big congrats to Pats, unbelievable result.
Makes me all the more gutted when I think how Red Bull fluked through against us, could have been an amazing year for LOI football in Europe.....
06/08/2009, 4:17 PM
well done pats - tremendous result
06/08/2009, 4:18 PM
Dear, dear Lord. I heard it was 3-0 just half an hour ago.
Came online to find it was 3-2.
Un. be. Lievable.
Well done Pats!
In terms of actually getting through a round this has to be up there with the best Irish results, in fact probably the best. Really extraordinary stuff. :)
06/08/2009, 4:20 PM
Jaysus lads - can we ease off on the pressure on City though !
I'm not expecting anything from our game tonight..... :o
Radio Foyle stream and a pizza for me tonight. Listening to important games by radio is painful btw. The most nerve-wracking experience known to a football fan. Sheer nervous tension....
prince20
06/08/2009, 4:22 PM
Fantastic and well done.
Hope Derry get through as well.
06/08/2009, 4:22 PM
"However, Jeff Kenna's men refused to give up and dramatic goals from Stuart Byrne (72) and Declan O'Brien (79) saw the Richmond Park outfit claim a famous victory."
it wasn't a victory....
"However, Jeff Kenna's men refused to give up and dramatic goals from Stuart Byrne (72) and Declan O'Brien (79) saw the Richmond Park outfit claim a famous victory."
it wasn't a victory....
Eh it was.
They won they tie. They were victorious in the tie....
06/08/2009, 4:25 PM
Anyone got any team news for Derry v CSKA Sofia
06/08/2009, 4:25 PM
Who can Pats draw in the next round?
Karl Phillips
06/08/2009, 4:27 PM
Delighted for Pats, looking forward to the next round and the scramble for Tcks
06/08/2009, 4:28 PM
Who can Pats draw in the next round?
See two pages back. I'll link now to bump it.
Edit - here we go (http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1206966&postcount=1278).
06/08/2009, 4:29 PM
the game wasn't a victory though. anyway doesn't really matter, im just a pedant.
It doesn't claim it was. It claims the goals led to the victory, which they did.
06/08/2009, 4:30 PM
If it's pedantry you're after, the report didn't mention anything about being victorious in the game.
Grey Boy
06/08/2009, 4:31 PM
Well done Pats. Wouldn't say too many on here expected that. Hope you get the draw you deserve tomorrow. Now for the Candystripes.....
No way, are you?:D
What a result. Well done to Pats.
cheifo
06/08/2009, 4:35 PM
Absolutley fantastic. Well done Pats.
Media please do your job, shut up about the EPL and give this the airtime and column inches it deserves.
06/08/2009, 4:37 PM
If it's pedantry you're after, the report didn't mention anything about being victorious in the game.
By not specifying that it was an away goals aggregate win, indirectly infers that they were on about the game being played today. They didnt claim a famous victory, well they did at home, what they claimed was an away goals aggregate win i.e. they won on away goals. Did they "victory on away goals?!"
06/08/2009, 4:37 PM
See two pages back. I'll link now to bump it.
Edit - here we go (http://foot.ie/forums/showpost.php?p=1206966&postcount=1278).
Cheers.
I thought last year Pats could only have been drawn against one of five teams? Has it changed this year?
06/08/2009, 4:39 PM
Should be the same, but those five teams won't be drawn until everyone's in the next round. Obviously Pat's are the first to go through from this round (everyone else either enters at this stage or has lost in the CL). Won't know the five (assuming it happens that way) till 11am tomorrow or so; that post was just a taster.
longfordjames
06/08/2009, 4:40 PM
So they could get a CL team?
06/08/2009, 4:41 PM
Yup..
Someone like Shels.
carrickharp
06/08/2009, 4:48 PM
Well done Pats great result.