View Full Version : Cork AUL 2009/10

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60

littleman
29/06/2009, 5:30 PM
;)Well lads its nearly time for pre season to start,tappin up is goin on big time so let the gossip start to flow and the rumors run riot till the important stuff start in August;)

casilles
29/06/2009, 9:05 PM
well littleman , wats the news from norrieland? quiet over here but forde on about puttin us all through a pre season before we return in Oct , plenty of free agents be arriving back in mid oct!!!

littleman
30/06/2009, 6:40 AM
Tell Forde we should be well on our way to fitness by the time ye get back.Pre season for the Gratts starts on the 14th July.Seems to be a great buz about O'Neill Park at the minute with the dressing rooms in place.Looking forward to gettin back to be honest,getin bored now big time on the weekends.

pacman
30/06/2009, 12:59 PM
July 14th seems to be the magic date that most teams are going back on.

Littleman,
I hear St Mary's have been sniffing around O'Neil Park again trying to grab a player or two. Any truth there?

bogwarrior
30/06/2009, 1:00 PM
Well congrats to all the grattan lads on the dressing rooms. Lots of hard work gone in there so nice to get a reward. Looking forward to seeing them this year.

Well lads Varian has gone to Everton. None of the lads begrudge him at all and wish him all the best. It was a big decision for him to stay with us last year and while I dont think it's a step forward he's a superb footballer and hopefully he gets to add to his Ireland caps.

Rumours abound about potential signings for Kinsale. Some top footballers being talked about but you must realise we cant talk about them until they are set in stone!! Feel free to speculate however;)..

littleman
30/06/2009, 1:45 PM
Their was a few tapped up alright but but we in O'Neill Park have done some tappin of our own so their will be a few surprises alright;).Like bog says though its all just talk till they sign so we expect a lot more sniffin an plenty more tappin:p..............

olachico
30/06/2009, 2:40 PM
isnt there a point at which the registration of players becomes void in Junior Football?? I thought it was the month of July so technically nobody is being tapped up??????????

casilles
30/06/2009, 3:19 PM
well littleman Who is the next Gaffer at the Gratts???????????????????;)

littleman
30/06/2009, 3:26 PM
The tappin goes on no matter what stage we are at, club players bein tempted away by promises of ours is better than yours an all that.Tis part an parcel of the game aint it.

On another matter I hope Varian has a right go at Everton,nothin better than seeing a ex Aul player showing the Msl lads how its done.Dont know if Everton are the right club for his talents but all the same Derek best of luck.

Any gossip about the possible new Aul manager,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

pacman
30/06/2009, 4:47 PM
All this talk of players isnt interesting unless we start throwing names about.

If he doesnt actually sign at the end of the day, so what, at least it will keep the thread ticking over until the football starts again.

Horse24
01/07/2009, 9:19 PM
Everton are a good club. I hope they suceed for both of their sakes. Derek Varian seems like a nice humble guy, who tries his heart out. Magic player too.

Early days of the tapping and sniffing, so to mention any names we are chasing wouldnt be the best.

We have a few promises of players, and if we get them it will definetly bring us on. No-one leaving to date.

At least 2 more of the AUL 11 on the move, one to MSL, one crossing the river?

When is the league kicking off?

bogwarrior
01/07/2009, 9:46 PM
Two on the move and one crossing the river?? I presume you mean the lee??

bogwarrior
01/07/2009, 9:47 PM
Shinkwin gone? Did i hear that off someone?

Horse24
02/07/2009, 12:38 PM
Two on the move and one crossing the river?? I presume you mean the lee??

Two from the one club, one to MSL and one crossing the Lee.

casilles
02/07/2009, 4:14 PM
ya heard Shinks was headin to Blarney seniors cause he was livin close by but he is back on the northside so??? Horse u got to start naming !!

pacman
02/07/2009, 4:40 PM
I reckon its either Grattan or Leeside he's on about anyway

Horse24
02/07/2009, 7:33 PM
Mr Keegan to Grattan

Mr Delea to Ringmahon

littleman
02/07/2009, 10:39 PM
Over the last 2 weeks I've spoken to the 3 of them,Delea was asked by Ringmahon but is waiting to see what else happens.He wants to try senior league and thats fair enough hes given Leeside fantastic service.I think Everton could be dark horses to sign him,especially as he is good buddies with Varian.:cool:

The talk with regards to Jason Keegan has him joining Minty at Casement.But half the northside has asked him to sign as well so only God knows where this one will end.:confused:

I'm not even goin to comment on where our players are supposed to be goin,the list is endless dependin on which bar your in.But we are confident we will hold what we have and indeed add a few surprises.;)

Question lads an i'd appriciate unbiased answers if possible as theirs none of us angels on here.I know there are a few managers of various clubs in various divisions of the Aul postin on this site and considerin my position goin forward this season,would it be best to log off for good or stay onboard.

casilles
03/07/2009, 6:01 AM
Question lads an i'd appriciate unbiased answers if possible as theirs none of us angels on here.I know there are a few managers of various clubs in various divisions of the Aul postin on this site and considerin my position goin forward this season,would it be best to log off for good or stay onboard.

cant see any reason to log off littleman? as u said yuorself plenty of active managers on this forum as well as Chairmen, Seceteries Ect. I mighten always agree with u but do love the banter between us!!!! As is often said "sure its only a game"

olachico
03/07/2009, 9:43 AM
I heard a rumour that i was going to Blackstone!!!! Can you confirm or deny this Horse??????? LOL . Dont go Littleman we love you!!!!!

bogwarrior
03/07/2009, 9:50 AM
What's your position going forward this season weeman? I'd prefer you stayed. Enjoy your posts i do!

Horse24
03/07/2009, 12:24 PM
Blackstones manager from last year unfortunately decided to move on. He took us to new levels, gave us a taste of new heights. We wish him well.

Our new management team is:

Vincent Forde(ex Castleview)

Kieran Tagney (ex Hibs & Glenthorn)

We are delighted with our new team, two experienced guys who seem interested in the both club and team.

Littleman, no matter what position you have, there are many conversations that you can join in without effecting whatever position it is you have.

pacman
03/07/2009, 12:41 PM
It wouldnt make any sense to stop contributing on here littleman. The reality is there is never too much controversy on this forum in any case.

Nothing wrong in giving us Norrie News, reporting on games etc

By the way, what is your new role?

pacman
03/07/2009, 12:42 PM
Vincent Forde(ex Castleview)

Kieran Tagney (ex Hibs & Glenthorn)

Is Vincie, John and Jason's father?

littleman
03/07/2009, 6:28 PM
Myself and Robbie O'Callaghan have been named as joint managers of Gratttans 1st team.So Bog,Tizz,Rebel,Park Boy,an Jungle lookin forward to havin ye as guests up in O'Neill Park.

Hosre I think ye made an excellent decision in yer replacements,Vincey is a top top bloke and knows football inside and out.Keiran has plenty to give as well so yer in good hands.

And lastly cheers lads for the honest comments an PS, I'm not really into animals but I love you to Oli,:D

03/07/2009, 7:08 PM
Ah stay littleman. Congrats too bud. Hopefully we get a chance to prove our worth against ye

olachico
03/07/2009, 8:16 PM
"Horse I think ye made an excellent decision in yer replacements,Vincey is a top top bloke and knows football inside and out.Keiran has plenty to give as well so yer in good hands.

And lastly cheers lads for the honest comments an PS, I'm not really into animals but I love you to Oli,:D"

Littleman I dont know whether to feel insulted or complimented by that last comment so I retract my previous comment :p
I´m an animal???

olachico
03/07/2009, 8:21 PM
On a totally different note I´m actually delighted to see that my old club Hibs have finally got a decision right - (ok it took them a few years but they got there!!!!) The appointment of Father and Son team of Eddie and Terrence McSweeney is a good one - Both have been involved in the club in the not too distant past and are more commonly associated with Ballinlough Celtic in the Nite Leagues - so they will have a few connections with players - maybe the club have finally realised that the locals just arent that interested!!

So and I say this sincerely I wish them luck!!

rebelhead
03/07/2009, 8:38 PM
Myself and Robbie O'Callaghan have been named as joint managers of Gratttans 1st team.So Bog,Tizz,Rebel,Park Boy,an Jungle lookin forward to havin ye as guests up in O'Neill Park.

Hosre I think ye made an excellent decision in yer replacements,Vincey is a top top bloke and knows football inside and out.Keiran has plenty to give as well so yer in good hands.

And lastly cheers lads for the honest comments an PS, I'm not really into animals but I love you to Oli,:D

Congrads on ur new post hope everythin goes well,well lads its a new season so i might tell everybody the club im involed is ballyvolane,starting pre season next week so roll on from there!

Horse24
03/07/2009, 9:36 PM
Is Vincie, John and Jason's father?

He is indeed. Jason played with us last season, and did very well.

Congrats Littleman - hope it goes well

Are Ballyvolane starting a schoolboys section?

Did anyone get a start date for the season or the date for the July AUL meeting?

rebelhead
03/07/2009, 10:09 PM
He is indeed. Jason played with us last season, and did very well.

Congrats Littleman - hope it goes well

Are Ballyvolane starting a schoolboys section?

Did anyone get a start date for the season or the date for the July AUL meeting?

Ya we are where starting up a youths team trying to make the club bigger,so hopefully it will work out for us,as this year our club is 40 years in the aul,thats no mean feet.

streetscene
03/07/2009, 10:11 PM
Lads put in a search on you tube for colm coveney or blackpool celtic and sit back and enjoy....what a goal..if this was on tele we would be raving about it..it was actually this years corianthians cup semi final..

streetscene
03/07/2009, 10:38 PM
Took a complete break,went on hols with the family,recharged the batteries and had a good think about the coming season and wether it was for me.. back for another year hopefully to go one better than last year..good news lads is that there will be no fairfield next year as we have managed to secure pfizer park for our home games next year..saw it last week and it is some set up to be fair..fabolous facilites and surface and should really suit us.. so that gave me the incentive i needed..not trying to say anything just thought that goal was worth seeing
welcome aboard littleman wont be long till the small amount of hair you have goes grey but it can be very enjoyable too...seems like we are not invited up to o neil park at all next year so we will have to take everyone elses word on the dressing rooms!!!!!!
lastly congrats to all concerned at grattan on the dressing rooms..passed them during the week ant they certainly look the part.. casilles saw your pics on facebook.stay off those pies for everyones sake

olachico
03/07/2009, 10:56 PM
Lads put in a search on you tube for colm coveney or blackpool celtic and sit back and enjoy....what a goal..if this was on tele we would be raving about it..it was actually this years corianthians cup semi final..

Which one????? Both are screamers!!!!!

littleman
03/07/2009, 11:11 PM
Ahhh theres always one ya forget an the first thing they do is remind ya.It was an open invite to all,sorry I shall give myself 20 lashes first thing in the mornin.;)

Welcome on board Rebelhead the more we have the better and there'l be no hard feelins from the Gratts,we lost fair an square last season an thats football for ya aint it.An I have all the respect in the world for clubs tryin to improve.On an off the pitch.

Street I heard the news about yerselves goin down to Pfizers a few weeks ago in the Anglers. If ue were gettin the Fairfield re done then I could understand it,but leavin it all together,,,,,,,,,tis a risky one for me.It wasnt great but it was yer own an ye could have done sometin with it along the way,terrible ptiy to see a northside club have to go to so far to improve.But I presume ye know what ye are doin.

I have 2 babies at home a wife an I do shift work,not to mention the club so grey hair par for the course.

pacman
04/07/2009, 5:58 PM
Streetscene, why are ye leaving the fairfield. Is it just this year or permanently?

pacman
04/07/2009, 6:00 PM
congrats on the job littleman. Will you be continuing as club secretary also?

Horse24
04/07/2009, 9:42 PM
I must admit Im suprised at the Faira move too. We were nearly there a few times, but we just fancied the off beat location of Monard. I always thought the Faira was one of the best pitches for taking a bit of rain.
They seem to working on the surrounds and I do think dressing rooms are in the plans there.Best of luck in Pfizer

Monard seems to have swung our way a bit more, the money for the new road wont be coming soon, houses wont be built there soon, so, long term, who knows?

Fair play rebelhed. Hope it works out. 40 years is a big achievement, we are 10 years this year and found out that of the 120 teams when we joined, 40 arent in the league anymore.

olachico
05/07/2009, 11:00 AM
Took a complete break,went on hols with the family,recharged the batteries and had a good think about the coming season and wether it was for me.. back for another year hopefully to go one better than last year..good news lads is that there will be no fairfield next year as we have managed to secure pfizer park for our home games next year..saw it last week and it is some set up to be fair..fabolous facilites and surface and should really suit us.. so that gave me the incentive i needed..not trying to say anything just thought that goal was worth seeing

To be honest i think ye are making a big mistake - its like loosing part of ye´re identity!!! As far as i know there is no Blarney Street in Ringaskiddy or Shanbally and the groundsman there is in charge not ye so if there is even a tiny bit of rain the match is off much like garryduff

Now dont get me wrong i wish ye luck but sometimes i feel these moves just dont work out - i´m prepared to eat my words if proved wrong!!!!

Shilts
06/07/2009, 1:48 PM
To be honest i think ye are making a big mistake - its like loosing part of ye´re identity!!! As far as i know there is no Blarney Street in Ringaskiddy or Shanbally and the groundsman there is in charge not ye so if there is even a tiny bit of rain the match is off much like garryduff

Now dont get me wrong i wish ye luck but sometimes i feel these moves just dont work out - i´m prepared to eat my words if proved wrong!!!!

Everybody has transport at the moment so a couple of miles should be no big deal.
Avondale's base is in Blackrock not Carrigaline and that works for them.
At least there are showers in Pfizers. The days of togging out in sheds should be put behind us once and for all.
I don't think a city team would like to travel back from Coachford or Kinsale in November without a shower and the feeling is mutual. Delighted to see them moving to a pitch with decent facilities.
Could help attract players too. :ball:

olachico
06/07/2009, 2:00 PM
Everybody has transport at the moment so a couple of miles should be no big deal.
At least there are showers in Pfizers. The days of togging out in sheds should be put behind us once and for all.
I don't think a city team would like to travel back from Coachford or Kinsale in November without a shower and the feeling is mutual. Delighted to see them moving to a pitch with decent facilities.

Ok as i said its only my opinion but i feel a club should have some sort of loose attachment to where its from! Avondales schoolboys play in Beaumont which is in blackrock thus maintaining their link!! And on the subject of Avondale Park in carrigaline at least they own that and I have been informed in the past that if they got a good enough offer they´d be gone in a shot . I just feel Blarney Street will be loosing a little something!! Younger people who will be the Blarney street Players of the future dont have their own transport so wont be able to get to games perhaps

pacman
06/07/2009, 4:38 PM

As Shilts points out all the other teams in the league will be delighted Blarney Street have moved. Nice pitch with nice dressing rooms and showers, now every team will look forward to their away fixture to Blarney Street.

Compare that to last year, how many teams enjoyed travelling up to the fairfield, getting changed in their cars or else in a crappy dressing room, having young fellas throw stones at you during the game. No team liked to travel up there and that was a big advantage to Blarney Street.

I remember playing Park one day up there with Villa, where there were fellas on motorbikes on one side of the pitch, fellas on horses on the other side, and young fellas throwing stones at thier full back. He asked me if this happened every week up there, and you could tell he had zero interest in the game. Now i know its only a small thing, but the small things add up.

I also feel that they belong on the northside where all the players live. On the other side pfizers park will probably suit their style of play more.

littleman
06/07/2009, 8:54 PM
My days of bein secretarty are gone,well gone.Ambition dosent stop when you hang up your boots,or well it shouldnt anyway.Theirs things I'd like to achive still and who better to achive them with than with your own club.Its a 2 man job an Robbie Callaghan has vast experience an between us we should be ok.Lots of new ideas that we think will bring the best out of the players,an a few new players will only add to an already top squad.As they say in life one door closes an another opens an I feel its the right move.Only time will tell.

With regards to the Street,I hope it works out for them.An as some one said it will suit us all havin a nice surface to play on.

Streetwise
06/07/2009, 8:59 PM
pacman i think u hit the nail on the head with your last post about the fairfield.why we are considering moving is exactly what happened during one of our games only one of our players kids was narrowly missed by one of those guys on the motorbikes and he lost all interest in playing not just
for the remainder of the game but the season.as shilts said about teams togging of if i can recall two teams used or container last year.as intimidating as a pitch can be you still have to be good enough to win.
keeping in the northside is our priority and hopefully we will be able to do it.

casilles
07/07/2009, 11:45 AM
Streetscene, why are ye leaving the fairfield. Is it just this year or permanently?

I must admit Im suprised at the Faira move too. We were nearly there a few times, but we just fancied the off beat location of Monard. I always thought the Faira was one of the best pitches for taking a bit of rain.
They seem to working on the surrounds and I do think dressing rooms are in the plans there.Best of luck in Pfizer

Monard seems to have swung our way a bit more, the money for the new road wont be coming soon, houses wont be built there soon, so, long term, who knows?

Fair play rebelhed. Hope it works out. 40 years is a big achievement, we are 10 years this year and found out that of the 120 teams when we joined, 40 arent in the league anymore.

As Shilts points out all the other teams in the league will be delighted Blarney Street have moved. Nice pitch with nice dressing rooms and showers, now every team will look forward to their away fixture to Blarney Street.

Compare that to last year, how many teams enjoyed travelling up to the fairfield, getting changed in their cars or else in a crappy dressing room, having young fellas throw stones at you during the game. No team liked to travel up there and that was a big advantage to Blarney Street.

I remember playing Park one day up there with Villa, where there were fellas on motorbikes on one side of the pitch, fellas on horses on the other side, and young fellas throwing stones at thier full back. He asked me if this happened every week up there, and you could tell he had zero interest in the game. Now i know its only a small thing, but the small things add up.

I also feel that they belong on the northside where all the players live. On the other side pfizers park will probably suit their style of play more.

Well lads as ye can see there has been a fair amount written about the streets move to Pfizers Park, lets havea look of it

As pacman has said playing there has at times been lets say suprising. bikes Horses the firing of rocks and even one time up there a player chased by a spectator with a knife{not a Street game} these are all not a welcome attraction to both home or away sides. The reason we moved up there last year was on the promise of the coporation that the track around eas been tarred, fencening was been placed around the ground and dressing rooms were been built, now in this economic climate only the first has been half done. iagree with pacman on it was not an expierince to look forward too readin the echo on monday finding out sat afternoon you were headin to the Fairfield i would imagine was not a great feelin.

While at home for a few weeks last month i was talking to both managment and commitee about maybe a move if the developments were not forthcoming the consenses i got was we would look at maybe Temple, Castleview, St Marys and leeds to see would the be interested in hiring out there pitchs, the idea be hind theses moves was to attract a few players of quality with the incetive of sat football good pitch and shower afterwards all looked at these days by the players{sorry but it is the truth}

The facilities in pfizers are top notch now granted the groundsman makes the call on the pitches down there but the only time that will really effect you is in the FAI or MJC abd if we were to progress outside of cork Mayfield or blarney might be on stand by.

The best scenario was to have a place of or own owned by the club but unless a benifactor comes in with a figure with at least 6 figures in it that wont happen for a while. I agree travelling down to Shanbally every second week isint perfect but its the best option at this present time. We like to believe we are a footballong team and i believe on some of the better pitches last year it suited us more than our own ground, Played well in my opioion down Kinsale twice, Coachford, The Farm, Little Island and the Cross . Big flat open pitches suit our type of football and maybe with a few signings we might challenge this year

olachico
08/07/2009, 10:16 AM
Congrats to Casilles for using the most quotes in one post that i've seen on here!!! Now i'm off to read the Cobh Ramblers section - some class arguing in there!!! Aint that right Bella ;)

olachico
08/07/2009, 3:34 PM
Seeing as no one else is posting i said i'd do it - How many teams do people think will not reappear for the new season?? A second point there seems to be a lot of clubs looking for managers - where are all the old ones going ??? Are they getting sick of the thankless job that is football management at junior level??

pacman
08/07/2009, 3:57 PM
Seeing as no one else is posting i said i'd do it - How many teams do people think will not reappear for the new season?? A second point there seems to be a lot of clubs looking for managers - where are all the old ones going ??? Are they getting sick of the thankless job that is football management at junior level??

a lot of clubs will start with about 13 or 14 players and these are the teams that will begin to struggle around november. I think most clubs will start the season but some will be gone by xmas.
As for the managers, i think people are getting sick of calling to fellas doors on sunday mornings dragging fellas out of bed. arranginging pitches to be lined, getting gear washed etc.

The clubs that inevitably succeed are the clubs with school boy and youth teams as they have a constant stream of new faces each year.

littleman
09/07/2009, 2:20 PM
Seems like everybody is of the same opinion that we will lose teams again this year.Its hard to admit it but it will happen,maybe we or should I say the Aul have just reached breakin point after years of accepting club after club.We all saw this comin but we are powerless to do anythin about it.Right now every club will feel they are strong enough to start the league.But as Pac said give it a few months and wait for the weak ones to start to crumble..........

Remember theirs a big difference between havin a bad season/gettin relegated and a club folding.A club folds because the core element of the club actually loses the will to carry on.This can be because of a lack of players or a lot of ither issues.Poor finance,playin facilities lack of interest from commitee members,all these will eat away at the true clubmen,in the end if the heart goes,the club wont last much longer.I could name 5 or 6 clubs on the northside alone,clubs run by maybe 2 or 3 lads at best,that I would think will be near the edge this season.

With regards to the turnover of managers in the Prem or even the Aul in general,I can understand why guys are steppin away.If your winning its easy to keep focused,if your not its a long hard road.Players now adays want facilities,top class ones now,not this season now and who ever has them is far more likely to sign those players than a side without.I cant blame players really in this day an age but a little understanding would help a lot of strugglin clubs to stableise. If you manage to have 15 or 16 lads who have commitment,good commitment guard them with your life because your the lucky one.

On the rumor front my sources tell me that Paul O'Mahony and Shane O'Neill are heading to Casement,along with Jason Keegan and amybe Graham Keane from Leeside.

Derek Delea is lookin for a senior league club and we know Varian is headin to Everton.

Any thing else lads

Horse24
09/07/2009, 7:54 PM
Did anyone go back training? What was the attendance like? What was the attitude like?

Whats the story with Public Liability Insurance? We are with O Driscoll O Neill?Any better alternatives out there?First Ireland

We have the Personal Insurance with them too. Bones of a grand, and I think we have claimed once. What do other clubs do?

Are there managers or players getting "expenses" in the AUL?